Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Peugeot 206 Reviews

Peugeot 206

Welcome to the Peugeot 206 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Peugeot 206 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£470 - £6,535
AA Cars Average
£1,615
MPG
32.8 - 65.7
CO2 (g/km)
112 - 204
Tax Band
C - K
Noise Level
71.0 - 75.0

Peugeot 206 | Peugeot 206 Diesel Estate

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I bought this car used around 5 years ago, it has proved to be very reliable and economic in that time. I do around 20k miles per year. It has had a few faults during that time, front suspension spring, an injector, bottom pulley and the battery died. Nothing you would call major and with over 120,000 on the clock I have no complaints. It is comfortable to drive, great driving position for me. Being fairly square it is easy to load, I have moved home twice with it. Carried the equipment for three band members and the main PA. Mobile disco, holiday touring in France etc. It is a fantastic all round little car. I will also go quite fast if you want to!
It will cruise all day at 70 and has plenty of get up and go for overtaking, the drive is rock solid at speed and I have great confidence in its stopping ability. The driving lights are in my opinion are amongst the best for night, rain and light fog. If you have the option of lower fog lights then go for it, I sometimes wish I had them. Tax and insurance is quite cheap on this vehicle, TAX is around £38PA insurance for me is under £200. When this one is worn out I will get another.

Peugeot 206 | 2004 206 1.4hdi

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 2

Fantastic car, downsized from Peugeot 406 HDI 2.0l but when I filled up the diesel tank at a cost of £102 I thought it was time to get rid.

Easy to work on and car fully serviced right through, including belts swap, pulley's, water pump, brakes, clutch, glow plugs, oil's and filter etc, and even when I snapped a glow plug in it, I was able to removed the sheared element from the engine without having to remove the cylinder head.

Current economy runs between 58-64mpg depending how much lead is on the underside of my shoe! I am debating installing Climate Control in place of the current air con. Also a pity the car doesn't have auto-locks so when you drive the car locks itself, so until I can find someone who can read the BSI code and alter it to operate door locks above 5mph it will have to do.

Still a fantastic and easy car to work on, able to change clutch reasonably easy although it was a 2 day job. Beware of noisy gearboxes and clogged egr valves.

would recommend to anyone and definitely one of the most reliable cars I have driven.

Peugeot 206 | Convertible

Added: 12th of November 2015
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2002
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

Loving the looks, especially with the apple green I chose and the spec in the interior feels classy with its leather seats and steering wheel. The console and dash feel a little more robust and look more expensive than the run of the mill. The rear seats are a complete waste of time and the limited space in the rear could have been used for something more useful imho. The roof works well and looks good down but makes the boot space tiny but those buying this, like me, are not looking for luggage space and child seats but a compact car with a bit of sexiness and this has that. The gearbox feels 'roomy' but as this car is 13 years old I can forgive that but bodywork held up remarkably well as did the interior and everything works! My only issue is with the engine management system which keeps giving a Anti-Corrosion error, which is giving my garage hives!

Peugeot 206 | Peugeot 206 XS

Added: 21st of December 2012
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

This was the first brand new car I ever owned.

The whole buying experience from Peugeot was amazing, from specifying all the options to choosing the colour (firedance which was basically a gold/orange), the dealership (Bristol Street in Waltham Cross) made me feel great and they kept in regular contact to update me on what was happening.

I even got 2 years free insurance with the car which was a nice touch.

I ran the car for 5 years with no problems whatsoever. It was really, really cheap to run and really comfortable. It didn't have great boot space - could just about get a set of golf clubs in - but made up for that with good interior space.

The car warmed up quickly on cold mornings and visibility was fantastic. Would say it's too small for a family car with kids but for a single person or couple the Peugeot 206 is ideal.

Peugeot 206 | Reviewing Peugeot 206

Added: 16th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 1184cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I find this car perfectly reliable and comfortable, but my wife finds the doors too heavy and prone when she is trying to get in to fall towards the shut position or towards the point where it is at 45 degrees to the side of the car. For space and practicality it works for a family of three with not too much luggage, and has been used with not more than two people in it to transport small items of furniture. The running costs seem to me not excessive, but I am sure a more recent car would have lower running costs. The one problem is the slow acceleration, which would be dangerous in certain circumstances, but which is mostly an irritation when moving away from a roundabout or traffic lights; my cruising speed on a trunk road is at the national speed limit.

Peugeot 206 | Love my car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

My Peugeot 206 suits me perfectly. My last car was a 205 and I had it for 12 years with only some problems towards the latter years. My current car, touch wood, has been fantastic. I only do about 8,000 miles per year, so probably this car is considered a good little run-about. It's a good enough size for me, though short of leg space for passengers in the back. However, in my case, I don't often carry back seat passengers and when I do, the journey is usually not long. I've had the car serviced every year and had no major repairs done. My biggest gripe is that storage features in the front (for odds and ends like CDs, water, hand wipes, etc.) are not very useful, but hopefully the newer version will have improved this.

Peugeot 206 | Not big or clever

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2001
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This car feels like the Peugeot designers made and the just shrugged their shoulders at all it's flaws. The A/C is perfect if you like your environment cold, but on a cool day even with the temp turned up the cabin still has a cold feel. The steering rack fouls your left foot when depressing the clutch (I'm only a size 10). The clutch itself has minimal play, the cabin is noisy at motorway speeds, the electric window controls are placed by the handbrake, there is no intermittent wiper setting, it's got 'automatic wipers' which basically mean they are on if there's the slightest hint of moisture in the air and don't forget the pointless 'Sun Window'. Needless to say, I wouldn't recommend a 206 or consider buying another.

Peugeot 206 | Not big or clever

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
1/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2001
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This car feels like the Peugeot designers made and the just shrugged their shoulders at all it's flaws. The A/C is perfect if you like your environment cold, but on a cool day even with the temp turned up the cabin still has a cold feel. The steering rack fouls your left foot when depressing the clutch (I'm only a size 10). The clutch itself has minimal play, the cabin is noisy at motorway speeds, the electric window controls are placed by the handbrake, there is no intermittent wiper setting, it's got 'automatic wipers' which basically mean they are on if there's the slightest hint of moisture in the air and don't forget the pointless 'Sun Window'. Needless to say, I wouldn't recommend a 206 or consider buying another.

Peugeot 206 | Peugeot 206 Sport Rocks!

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I wanted one of these for ages, but had the lovely reliable VW Polo, far too dependable to change. But when it was written off by another driver, it was the perfect excuse.
The 206 Sport is a small runaround, but has a fab sporty feel (people still comment on the red fabric inerior, shint metal gearstick and foot pedals, and bucket-style seats - nice!) It meets all my requirements for a small car; economical - around 45-50 mpg, easy parking, but still big enough for my family needs: unlike some of my friends' small cars, the boot on the 206 is actually big enough for a week's shopping (just).
Its six years old, and I've driven it for the last three, and I still love it like its new.
Totally recommend it!

Peugeot 206 | 206SW

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Nothing exciting but it is a bit like ronseal - does what it says on the tin. Not the most confortable car but not as bad as some I drove in the past. Handles ok but has the turning circle of a super tanker, which is a surprise as it's a small car! Brakes are ok but don't fill you with any confidence when braking hard. Metal work a bit thin, I dented a front wing by leaning on it when I was washing it!
I keep a good record of all costs and it is cheaper than the previous Rover400 I had to run. Tracking is the biggest issue it only has to see a pot hole for this to go out of alignment, let alone hit one.

Peugeot 206 | Peugeot 206

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1360cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have had this car since 2004, bought second hand only a few months old, had been used as fleet car. Bought in almost new condition and looks very good still. Only problem has been exhaust system needed to be replaced last month. Very economical to run, drives well, good acceleration. Very reliable. Very comfortable ( I have spinal fractures). Only slight problem is limited rear view vision when reversing, and my husband finds the brake and clutch pedals positioned too closely together for comfort, but as a five foot two female I find it very easy to drive. I would buy another one.

Peugeot 206 | my little baby

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
1/5
  • 2004
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 3

having waited for quite a few years to own a put down top car i can say she is great, looks great and handles well, not very good for putting shopping in if the roof is down but great if you only want a car with really enough room for 2 people economical if kept to revs but can guzzle going up hill as not a great deal of push good on long runs at 60-70 mph in 5th gear, spares can be expensive and can creak a bit on the roof hinges,can have a bit of trouble on the side blind spots but these are minor when you have the plus sign of easy parking and great with the roof down

Peugeot 206 | Peugeot 206

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Having driven large engine cars for my jobs over the last 35 years, when I took retirement due to health reasons, I chose a small comfortable car that was suitable for the driving I now do. I will drive anywhere in it if I have to. In this time of recession my car is still very sparing on fuel usage, especially when motorway driving for long distances. I could not afford a large engine, and do not have to get from A to B quickly or by a certain time, anymore. So my car is perfect for me. My mother had a Peugeot 205 for years, so I new what I was looking for.

Peugeot 206 | ten year anniversary commentary

Added: 14th of December 2015
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

Our 206 is a 1.6 petrol, 5 door hatch, bought new (with free air-con). 65,000 miles later it has never had a major problem - touch wood. Mostly local driving, occasional 200 mile return run, and one faultless 3000 mile trip. Bodywork as new. Front seats go back a good way. so great for 2 people, but will take 4 readily. Delighted with this car. Does everything we want it to do. So, as we have kept it well serviced (e.g. a cam belt change is scheduled) and hope to get another 5 years similar from it and feel no need to get a replacement. Thank you Peugeot.

Peugeot 206 | Peugeot 206 Zest

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I have had my car for over 8 years from brand new. Overall it has been an excellent runner and is economical on petrol and insurance. It has been excellent in snow and icy conditions where I have seen many other cars fall by the wayside.
My only comment against would be the cost of the parts when they go wrong as over the last 2 years I have had to spend out on cambelt, water pump, radiator, clutch and a few other bits and pieces but I do drive a lot of miles each week.

Peugeot 206 | Peugeot 206 estate

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

This is a very practical car. It is nippy enough and handles well enough to make it good and fun to drive on any road. I can take huge loads, but is still easy to park. It delivers 55+mpg across urban and motorway usage. Running costs in terms of servicing and repairs so far very reasonable.

I test drove the 207 but found it to be less nimble and less practical (not enough cubby-holes, less pleasant place to be).

I'd give it 4 *s across the board.

Peugeot 206 | Good all round car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

My father bought this car brand new in 2003.
After three years it passed to his grand daughter and after a further four years was bought by his son who is the current owner.
In view of it being a hatchback and the split rear seating it is highly adaptable and practical.
Over the years it has been very reliable and the running costs are well affordable.
Whilst it is now a 'bit long in the tooth' it is still a reliable and rust proof car.

Peugeot 206 | Its getting old now

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
1/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 1999
  • 1995cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I own a 1999 GTi (130bhp). I'm sure the car was great new. but 14 years later and just passing 100k, its clunky, the ride is awful, the economy is bad (30mpg driving like a saint). The dash electronics are starting to fail. I want to get rid of this car, but right now its easier to keep it and not spend time looking for a new one.

But I do love the look of this car. If you cant any plus side to it.

Peugeot 206 | Peugeot 206

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I've had this car for 9 years and always found it a pleasure to own and drive. Apart from normal wear and tear it's had very few problems and always starts first time even if I haven't driven it for a while. The space for driver and front passenger is good and the boot is quite a good size too. The only issue I have is that the inside front windscreen is prone to icing up in very cold weather.

Peugeot 206 | Peugeot 206

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2003
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I currently run a 206 which was given to me. It's not a model I would have chosen to buy but in the two years I have owned the car it has needed:-
New main communication unit
Full exhaust
clutch
Rear break cylinders
Head gasket
It currently has a tendency for the petrol pipe to detach itself from the injector rail.
The car now has 75000 on the clock and was garaged for most of its life.

Filter Peugeot 206 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.