Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Nissan X-Trail Reviews

Nissan X-Trail

Welcome to the Nissan X-Trail review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Nissan X-Trail cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£26,215 - £31,700
AA Cars Average
£17,681
MPG
28.3 - 44.1
CO2 (g/km)
168 - 237
Tax Band
H - L
Noise Level
66.2 - 72.8

Nissan X-Trail | My experience

Added: 26th of September 2015
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I am a farmer so the vehicle has to be dual purpose.
Pulling a 3 ton trailer is no problem but you don't need the top gear for that job.
I have never had the vehicle stuck whilst driving in very wet fields.

I have twice had problems with the DPF and it's has had 3 regeneration burns.
After the first burn it only lasted about 3 weeks before the dpf light came on again.
I asked about having the dpf taking out but was told if it was removed it would fail the MOT.
I'm contemplating having the inner core removed.

The engine isn't no where near as good as the previous x trail 2.2 diesel. I realise there is 200cc difference, but the performance is under powered a lot more than the 200cc difference would make. Maybe it to do with restriction because of emission, and having to push exhaust gases through a dpf.

Bad points.
The sat nav is rubbish. A small Garmin runs rings around it, I just wish I could find a away of downloading the garmin software into the nissan sat nav.
To give an idea, going through a local town the sat nav thinks a layby is the road. I'm in my 60's and I've always known that as a layby and never a road.
The sat nav software is 2013. so it should have picked that up.
It also doesn't do postcode search.

The load space is good but anything put in the boot has to be secured down, otherwise it just rolls around.

Nissan X-Trail | It takes some beating!

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Living in a reasonably remote place, on my own, and along a muddy track that is constantly potholed by the local farm traffic, I find my Nissan X-trail a necessity in life. I bought the top of the range as it has leather seats; this is because it is also used as a workhorse to take equipment and materials around a 2-acre garden that is in the throes of being designed and the seats constantly need cleaning! It also pulls a trailer very well. The good thing is that it is not too 'butch' a 4x4 and I can use it in cities as well as in The Highlands where I live. It is the best car I have ever owned and driven, always feel safe driving through some pretty snowy and icy areas of the Cairngorms in the winter and plenty of room if I do have to stop to sleep in it. Would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone and even the fuel lasts well on a long journey - 47-50 miles per gallon. The rear camera is a lovely perk and saves a lot of getting in and out of the car to see how much more space I have in supermarket car parks. My local Nissan garage were really helpful and didn't patronise me as a woman, which has happened at times. This is best new car decision I have made, and I am hoping it will last at least 10 years - and then I shall buy another new one! Hope they still make them.

Nissan X-Trail | Why does the UK have to suffer.

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

The xtrail has been with us now for about 3 years, a nice suv but always feels very heavy and bulky when behind the wheel. Fuel wise it's quite good, 25-28mpg which in my fleet is outstanding. Have had a few issues with electrics, mainly window switches not working. easy though to take apart and clean the contacts, have done it so often now it only takes about 20 minutes to remove, take apart, clean and reinstall. Normal issue with UK roads has meant, new shocks, drop links, bushes and springs. If the battery goes or is disconnected you can lose all the settings including the idle speed becoming irradict, this means having to tell the engine to relearn the idle speed, procedure is on the web and takes about 10 minutes.
Just one major gripe, to unlock you have to press the fob twice for all the doors and as the buttons wear this becomes increasingly difficult. Not a major problem you'd think except like a lot of modern cars you can't unlock the car with the key. Minor gripe, again like a lot of modern cars you can't lock the car with the windows open, which on a hot day is a royal pain when parked on your own drive.

Nissan X-Trail | 09 plate dci X-Trail

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Initially bought to pull a horse box with 2 horses, and to cover 20k+ miles a year. A service it performed exemplary for over 5 years. While for the last year it has been more of a 'commuter' vehicle it has performed excellently for almost 7 years. My only gripe is the DPF as the light has come on a couple of times recently, triggering the EML. It has been into a local garage as well as the dealers, and the problem resolves briefly, having changed parts, before the light comes back on. I now ignore it and have driven @1000 miles like this.
The boot space is really big, which is a plus with 2 teenage girls when we go on holiday with all of their stuff!.
It gives good vision, is comfortable, and regularly achieve @44 mpg in rural to urban driving, as we have no motorways where I live.
If they still made this car I would happily buy another if I could now get it in petrol, only due to the reduced mileage I am now doing with it, as it no longer justifies a diesel

Nissan X-Trail | nissan x trail

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 2100cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

Great car - reliable and cost efficient. I live in the country and have to drive around 7 miles to get to a road and I know the x-trail will get me there, regardless of the weather. It is comfortable - great for long journeys and with plenty of storage space.

I sometimes need to off-road, and although I am not claiming I could pull a caravan to the top of Snowden, it is rugged enough for me to be confident off tarmac. I have 4 wd when I need it, which, it turns out, is not that often. 2wd is pretty much enough.

The engine is really responsive and it drives like a much smaller, lighter car - you don't worry about acceleration -it's there when you need it.
It has all the usual features you want - there is no skimping in the x-trail, air conditioning, panoramic sunroof, electric seats.

My favourite feature is the seat warmers - great on a winter morning!

Nissan X-Trail | Mt tank

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 20000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I like my Nissan for the space and ability to carry so much stuff about. I have used the space a lot. I don't like the fact that despite long journeys I still have to get the dorsal particle filter recharged quite often,
I think the dealership tried to charge me £1000 for a new turbo charger and so I took it to a local garage and they say I do not need a new turbo charger, that was 3 years ago and I have not needed a new turbo charger. The dealership also charged extra for things that i felt should have been included in the service charge after all you wouldn't pay £200 just to have someone look at your var and then tell you what they are going to do and how much it is going to cost?

The car is expensive run but is like a work horse for me and I feel I have to balance that out.

Nissan X-Trail | Nisan X Trail

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Bought as a demonstrator with 7k miles some problems (DPF, turbo dump valve eventually sorted under warranty by local dealer Glyn Hopkin Chelmsford but I was not happy with their service department they were incompetent in diagnosing and rectifying the dump valve problem but they did "re programme" the Engine Management system re the dpf regen programme. GEneral maintenance OIl filters brakes etc I do myself. I will use a local independent for anything else.
I tow a caravan and this is an excellent towcar, very capable on muddy fields and very good in snow and ice. I have used Pirelli Scorpion tyres as I found the original fit Dunlops uselesss in the wet. The only reaL ISSUE WITH THE CAR APART FROM THE DPF ISSUES NOW RESOLVED IS THAT THE STEERING IS VAGUE AND WOOLY

Nissan X-Trail | 59 plate X-Trail

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I bought this as an ex-demonstrator - so it was 4 months old when I got it. The brakes needed sorting as I think they had been used and abused in this capacity - but since that point in time I have had no issues with the car (apart from the usual wear and tear).
I get an average 45.4 mpg from it in 2 wheel drive mode in a mainly rural environment with some town driving.
The large boot has taken everything in it that I have needed, and with the front seat down this has included house doors!.
It was bought to tow a horse box, and with the 173bhp engine has always had more than enough Torque to pull this, without us ever feeling it was struggling.
Overall I am very impressed with it

Nissan X-Trail | xtrail experience

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

This is a very reliable and practical vehicle. It is so well set up that the tyres at the rear lasted for 50,000 miles and those on the front lasted for 44000 miles. I changed both sets eventually because of the age of the tyres, they were still passing MOTs. At 60,000 miles plus it has had one tyre change a set of wiper blades and one set of disc brake pads. All light bulbs are still going. It is the first Japanese car I have owned and the most reliable car I have had and I have been driving since the mid sixties. I am awaiting the new shape xtrail in 2014 and will probably swop for the new shape although I am tempted by the new shape Skoda Superb which is also coming out in 2014.

Nissan X-Trail | Not great

Added: 16th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

My wife's car actually, we've had it for quite a while but it has not proved particularly reliable and we've had some really big bills including a partial engine rebuild plus repeated work needing to be done on the brakes and suspension. Not nearly as robust as you'd expect it to be given that it's supposed to be an off-road vehicle. The positives are that it's comfortable, good to drive and came with plenty of equipment, plus it's huge inside and will fit both of us, both my boys, the dog and a fair amount of luggage without needing a top box. Oh and the 4 wheel drive is very effective in mud or snow.

Nissan X-Trail | Nisan X Trail

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

Practical and car like to drive with minimal engine, road and wind noise. Good view of the road and long journeys are not tiring. Running costs could be better but acknowledge the transmission is the older type automatic therefore fuel economy can suffer and some engine power is compromised. Total permitted braked towing weight of 1350kg for the auto transmission is a little low. I would recommend the car.

Fuel economy:

22mpg urban
34mpg long journeys
26mpg combined

Nissan X-Trail | X trail

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Great car, plenty of power and very economical , I think the early problems with turbo trouble may have been due to people trying to pull to bigger caravans, I am getting nearly 50 mpg out of mine I do not boot it everywhere and my dogs love it with plenty of room for them and can get out of fields and muddy lanes with ease with the selectable 4wheel drive, these cars are not cheap but with the jap reliability who wants an unreliable land rover!!

Nissan X-Trail | best car we have had

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

This is the most reliable car and most practical that i have ever owned. it is built to last and has never let us down, we give it a full service every year and it pays dividends to do so. we live by loads of awkward hills with side gradients etc and during the winter when it snows the cars that are abandoned can provide a challenge to navigate around but with the Xy it is not a bother.

Nissan X-Trail | X-Trail

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

My Nissan X-Trail is superb - ultra-reliable, economical (for the type of car), comfortable and has a million gadgets but most of them are actually very useful. I just couldn't live with a lesser vehicle now! After almost 50 years of motoring in goodness-knows how many different cars, this is the first car that I've literally been over the moon with! It ticks every box and more.

Nissan X-Trail | My Xtrail

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1994
  • 1998cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

A very comfortable car to drive, to get into and out of. In 7 years it has never let me down, Servicing is easy and replacement parts cost are reasonable. Boot space is excellent and extends wonderfully with simple rearrangement of rear seats. Handling is easy and sits fair and square on the road. A car to feel safe in. Just wish it did more miles to the gallon

Nissan X-Trail | My perceptions of the X Trail

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

This is the second X Trail that I have owned and this model is far better than the first - quieter, more responsive and more economical. I very much regret that this will be the last I own since I always buy knew and the original 4x4 concept has been replaced by a cross-over 'big' car model that is not what I bought an X Trail for in the first place

Nissan X-Trail | Very satisfied

Added: 2nd of February 2014
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1995cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Very impressed with this dealer, excellent response, attention to detail and keen displays - spent more than we had intended, but couldn't walk away from the deal!! A very pleasing experience, would certainly go back to them in the future, wouldn't hesitate to recommend the salesmen, they know their business.

Nissan X-Trail | Nissan X Trail

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1088cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

An Ok car expensive on fuel hard ride round corners OK on long runs high ride good visibility Boot space doasappointing. Tyres expensive to replace body work many bits of plastic inc front wings metal easily dented and scratched.
For my present circumstances I would not get another one!

Nissan X-Trail | My X-Trail

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Love the car - it is my third X-Trail and suits my purposes admirably (apart from the dreaded DPF!). Use it for towing a horse box (carrying donkeys!!) and find it not only a good 'work horse' but also a good car to drive with plenty of space, good all round visibility, and comfort.

Nissan X-Trail | X-Trail

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Nissan X-Trail is great for what i need it for which is travelling around and visiting friends mainly in Scotland so we have to carry a lot of gear, including a dog and a Kayak, bikes etc, while not economical round the doors this is outweighed by it`s practical uses

Filter Nissan X-Trail Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.