Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Nissan Primera Reviews

Nissan Primera

Welcome to the Nissan Primera review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Nissan Primera cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£1,428
MPG
29.8 - 47.9
CO2 (g/km)
155 - 220
Tax Band
G - K
Noise Level
67.0 - 73.0

Nissan Primera | Primera 1.8 petrol - A Great Car!

Added: 21st of May 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The Nissan Primera 1.8 Flare is a great car. It drives smooth and is comfortable. Reliability is superb and after 77,000 miles it still drives perfect. No major problems and 1.8 petrol engine should give years of worry free motoring. The little extras like the heated door mirrors and auto dimming rear view mirror and auto windscreen wipers are useful. Cruise control is simple to use as is the fuel computer. Car is mainly used for rural driving and you can expect to get up to 43mpg on a run. I regularly get 40 mpg most weeks however in town would be much less. Car is easy to park with the colour reversing camera and seats have height, bottom and lumbar support and steering wheel can pull forward as well as up. Cd player is brill and room for 16 c.d,s in cases. Glove box and boot have lights and all passengers have a light each too. Overall the Primera is a fantastic car to own and drive, Road tax is £225 and parts are reasonable.

Nissan Primera | Reliable

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1995
  • 1597cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I purchased my car in November 2001 paying a couple of thousand pounds for it. Soon had to replace the headlight dip switch and electric driver's window. I purchased a new CD player/radio to replace the cassette/radio that came with the car when new. Also replaced the driver's seat belt and two new tyres. Have also had a new battery and alternator during the last five years.

Every year it passes the MOT. Has an annual service (I only drive 2000 miles per year max). Has been reliable for which I'm very grateful. As I'm about to make a longer journey than I usually make, very soon, I don't want to praise it too much in case I put the mockers on it!

I keep it clean regularly and it looks superb when done (it's dark blue) but of course shows the dust/pollen etc.

I shall be sorry to say goodbye to this car, it has been a "good buy" for me.

Nissan Primera | Nissan Primera

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Admittedly the car is nine years old, but we have had the car since 2009 and although we are now 'used to it' and it's little foibles, there are still things which we have never been happy with.
The three main ones are, firstly, the rear window pillars are fairly wide and cause a blind spot on either side when reversing.
The second is that there is hardly any turning circle on the vehicle and where other vehicles may be able to complete a turn in one move, the Nissan Primera takes two, sometimes three.
Finally, when the sun is bright to the side or rear of the vehicle, it is difficult to see the dials on the dashboard and certainly, when wearing sunglasses, they cannot be seen at all.
Our previous car was a Nissan Almera which was better in many ways.

Nissan Primera | Nissan Primera Saloon '99

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1999
  • 1997cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Excellent car with zero street cred, prestige or visual carisma. However a real joy to drive, very simple and reliable, anything better would be sheer luxury. Excellent fuel economy for an old car 40mpg average/combined. Performance is nippy and adequate. Lots of extras on my SE that are practical and still work perfectly i.e. electric sun roof, heated front seats, trip computer with real time fuel use/consumption. Bought second hand 2001 with 19K miles on clock. So far clocked up 200K miles, engine runs very smooth steering precise, gear changing smooth.
Cons; Road tax is appallingly high (£200)for such a green and reliable car. Boring interior and exterior but none the worse for it.

Nissan Primera | Primera and diesel rant

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A good diesel workhorse bought for diesel fuel cost and to last on retirement. However I am resentful of the subsequent extra cost of diesel over petrol and cannot understand why it is more expensive since it is cheaper than petrol in most countries and the lower octane level should offset any additives needed for 'cleaning'. It is no coincidence that as an energy source becomes more attractive so the government seeks to benefit more from it. Beware levies on electric cars in the future for some tenuous reason! Seriously, happy with the performance and comfort of the Primera which was bought new but cheaply as it was going out of production.

Nissan Primera | Nissan Primera

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is the third Primera we have owned.
Plus points:
Extremely reliable and sturdy build.
Emergency safety features very strong (from first hand).
Built-in sat nav and rear-view camera a big plus.
Diesel 2.2 good performance, and lower insurance and tax than 1.8 petrol.
Generous seating and boot space.

Negative points:
Turning circle of a bus.
Home maintenance difficult - strain to even get headlight bulbs changed due to lack of space.
Built-in hands-free but only connects to the old Nokias, therefore cannot use at all.

Nissan Primera | 2nd User Primera 98 SRi

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1998
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Although 'old' in the numbers sense this car has performed very well and had only minor problms with the exception of clutch replacement. I knew before buying (from a dealer) that the Primera had a name for clutch problems. In all I have had to raplace the clutch three times but, because of its overall performance I can accept this. My local garage that does the replacement has now got the price down to £300.

Interestingly (after about 120,000 miles) it still drives like a new car - everything nice and tight and feeling good.

Nissan Primera | Primera

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I had an S registered primera that was the best car that I have ever owned. IT did 170,000 miles before its demise. Since thenI have owned 2 further Primeras, a 2002 hatchback that became uneconomical to repait when it needed a new windscreen wiper set up and new catalytic converter and then my current 2001 primera which, at the time of writing, is in the garage with possible drive chain problems. In the main they are great cars but I prefer the older style as they seem to be less gadget laden with less to go wrong.

Nissan Primera | 1st car ever owned

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 1999
  • 1998cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have driven new company cars since 1970, averaging 35,000 - 40,000 miles a year and this is the first time i have had to buy a car. My main choice was reliability which is generally good. It is an extremely comfortable car to drive in urban, suburban and motorway conditions.
It is a little thirsty being a 2 litre automatic but I do not stress the car with acceleration or brakes.
Overall I am pleased with the car and it is suitable for my needs now.

Nissan Primera | Nissan Primera 2.2 Dci

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2187cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

An excellent car in almost all respects. It has typical Nissan reliability and high spec although it does have a tendency for minor electrical problems. Performance is very good. The ability to accelerate very quickly to overtake safely is very important to me as I live in rural North Devon. Even on these roads I am getting an average fuel consumption of 46 m.p.g. which has to be impressive for a car of it's size and weight.

Nissan Primera | Old Warhorse.

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1999
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Bought 7 years ago so it was already 7 years old. Has been totally reliable and I have had to spend very little except usual service charges etc. In fact have only had to buy a new exhaust, and a sensor for brakes, total under £1000. Not the most exciting of cars but it gobbles the miles on motorways. Not the most economical but I 'get about 35 mpg on motorways. Not pretty, more 'tank like, but it just keeps on going.

Nissan Primera | Reliability

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1993
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

It performs very well for an old car and has only let me down when in 2 areas.

When components wear out.
When I encounter kerbs higher than normal because the skirt at the front is low and will mount the kerb but not come off it easily.

The only other problem is self inflicted. I fitted mud flaps and if I reverse against a kerb the mud flap rides up against the wheels and pulled the apron down when I drove away

Nissan Primera | My Nissan Primera

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1998
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Am excellent car. Has had little spent on it for new parts, always a ready starter, the most reliable car I have ever had. Its mileage is low (65000 apro.)as I no longer use it to travel to work since I retired,but it has done long journeys for holidays in Scotland and Brittany. There is plenty of room for our 2 Irish Setters and our luggage. I do not expect to replace it in my lifetime.

Nissan Primera | Good family car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I've found the Nissan Primera (1.8L) a reliable family car (my current car is my second one). My current Primera is now 7 years old and still running well. It's comfortable to drive and be a passenger in and has a really spacious boot. Each service/MOT has been reasonable, but the petrol consumption is a little higher than I would like really.

Nissan Primera | Good things about my car

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2001
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Has done more than 120,000 miles, but still starts with first turn of the ignition key. Has never let me down and is still on the original Nissan clutch. Apart from having to have injection pump refurbished at a cost of £1,000, it has never cost me more than a couple of hundred pounds a year to keep on the road (apart from servicing costs)

Nissan Primera | Nissan Primera

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1992
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I am reasonably happy with my car despite it's thirsty appetite for fuel. It's a solid, reliable and comfortable car. It was not overly used before 1999 and could be said it led a charmed life before I acquired it.It's in good condition and advised by professionals in the motor trade has plenty of reliable miles on the clock.

Nissan Primera | Faults

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A fault that Nissan know about but that will cost you the owner . the wiring at the back can go faulty and this means when you indicate the car will slow and jerk this is a fault on this year off car i was informed and Nissan have a piece made up for this at a large cost the abs sensor can also fault at big cost

Nissan Primera | Good Car

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1995
  • 1990cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have had this car for nearly 17 years, in that time the car has never broken down or failed to start. It uses no oil and only had to renew CV joints ,exhaust pipe & tyres .
I am getting a 2013 Qashqai dci on Wednesday only because it will be safer, more economical & less pollution .

Nissan Primera | Nissan Primera

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2001
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have had this vehicle since it was 6 months old with 15000 miles on the clock, it has now done over 150,000 miles and I have found it to be extremely reliable,and the way I drive reasonably economical. The only criticism I have is that visibility while reversing is very poor.

Nissan Primera | Old Primera

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1992
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Our old Primera has never let us down and we have driven it far and wide for so many years. It is large enough to take our children and all of their things and has become almost like a trusted friend. I don't think they make things this reliable any more.

Filter Nissan Primera Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.