Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Nissan Note Reviews

Nissan Note

Welcome to the Nissan Note review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Nissan Note cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£11,500 - £14,800
AA Cars Average
£7,948
MPG
40.4 - 67.3
CO2 (g/km)
110 - 166
Tax Band
B - H
Noise Level
70.0 - 72.0

Nissan Note | Lots of features but poor build quality

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I bought the diesel version for economy - it delivers around 65mpg with modest driving and the road tax is low. However the engine is particularly noisy, even for diesel. There are lots of features - particularly useful are the Bluetooth integration, USB connection for playing audio from a phone or memory stick and of course the sat nav. However, map upgrades for the sat nav would cost considerably more than a complete new (3rd party) sat nav. The interior space is flexible, with lots of pockets, a lidded compartment on the dashboard above the centre console, the boot has a sub-shelf to bring the level to the same height as the tailgate, but there is more space underneath the sub-shelf if you need it, and the rear seats slide forward to make more space. On the downside, the build exudes lack of quality: there are annoying buzzes and rattles that can't be located, something in the rear door sounds loose but can't be located, the windows always seem about to fall out of their tracks (although the garage assures me they are OK). The car also pulls intermittently to the left, although on repeated visits to the garage I'm told they can find no problem. I've had to have 2 repairs done to the suspension, presumably as a result of driving through too many potholes, but they are the same potholes that other friends' cars drive through and they don't need fixing! Overall, it could be a great car if it were built better.

Nissan Note | Be aware that this vehicle is a time bomb!

Added: 19th of November 2015
Performance
1/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2006
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

I acquired my vehicle as a second owner three years ago and my repair costs have outweighed my initial cost. The parts I have changed and repaired so far includes: Car boot door hatch, air conditioning, driver window wind up switch and just this week while driving the car stopped without any warning in the middle of the road, locked itself, the gear level couldn't move, key was stuck in the ignition. AA team could not diagnose the problem since the car was non responsive, they contacted Nissan team over the phone who reckoned the problem was gearbox had locked itself. The vehicle was towed to Nissan dealer garage, took them four days to diagnose and eventually reported the problem as main wiring harness costing
£1800 but not definite solution.
No need to pay such money without any guarantee and all inconveniences. So, it means scraping it off! and left without any car after all the repairs and replacements.

Nissan, if you are aware of the manufacturer faults with this model, why not just recall them. It is not ethical for genuine customers like me to suffer like this. Before I bought this Nissan note, I had a Hyundai accent for 11 years and no issues at all, I thought I was upgrading little did I know I was degrading myself.
I am happy to do all in my ability to bring awareness to innocent Nissan Note owners who might experience the same in the future or have but think it is their fault.

Nissan Note | Nissan Note

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I bought the car at 2years old in 2010 with just under 10000 miles on the clock. Since then I have added 20000 miles each year and it has proved extremely reliable and economical. Apart from replacement of brakes and tyres the only other parts are the usual light bulbs and wiper blades. For a 1400cc engine it performs surprisingly well; I was expecting to need to change gear far more frquently than my previous car as I live in a particularly hilly area but this was not the case. I often need to transport guitars and amplifiers and the boot is plenty big enough for this, especially if the rear seat is slid forward.
My wife is not a particularly confident driver and wouldn't consider driving my previous car, a Nissan Primera, apart from in emergencies. She is very happy to drive the Note on a daily basis as its size is easy to manouevre in traffic and easy for parking.
We regularly travel long distances for holiday or weekends away and find the car very comfortable and well suited to long stints on the motorway.
The only drawback from my point of view is that it is slightly too tall, making it difficult to reach when washing or putting bicycles on the roof carrier. I look forward to seeing the new model.

Nissan Note | a great little car!

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1398cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

While not a very big car on the outside, it is like a tardis on the inside. It seats 5 adults comfortably with the back seat in the back position, lots of leg and head room, even my 6' 5" husband can sit in it reasonably comfortably. My version features some boards in the boot which make it easy level loading for small amounts of shopping etc, but if I am carrying a lot, the boards come out leaving a hollow and the back seats slide forward to give a very generous boot space. The back seats also fold forward easily to enable quite large loads to be accommodated. I do quite a lot of short and medium journeys and average about 40-42 mpg which is very satisfactory, the insurance is quite low, and yet it is quite happy to cruise along at 70mph without strain. The slightly higher driving position is excellent for those with mobility problems and short people.
A great vehicle for anybody!

Nissan Note | My Nissan Note

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A great car! I will have had my Note for 8 years by the time I replace it next summer (and I already have the buyer lined up).

For versatility (ability to switch between carrying people and loading with 'stuff', 100%. For running costs, 100% (best I've ever known). for hiding places for keys and money, 100%.

Sometimes, on long journeys (around 5 hours) I have experienced leg pain but I can fiddle around with the seat settings and find a more comfortable seating position for driving.

My only criticism would be the car's appearance which is very boxy, and its least attractive feature (didn't put me off buying one though!). However, the new Note has sorted that out and that is what I will be buying next Summer when I have the funds.

Nissan Note | Boring but perfect for the dogs

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I bought the Note second-hand when my Labrador started to struggle getting in and out of my elderly Range Rover. I chose it because I already had a Nissan 350Z which has proved to be reliable, it is built in England and I don't like any of the shooting brakes currently available. It has proved to be a super little car. It takes off quite fast and cruises very happily on the motorway. The downside is that it is a guzzler of fuel for a relatively modern small car (35.8 to the gallon, which is only marginally more than my 20 year old Discovery!) I intend to keep it until it falls apart but I'll never become emotionally attached to it the way I was to the Rangey or am to the Disco.

Nissan Note | Nisson Note

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

It has proved to be a good family car which both myself and my wife are happy driving,
The design makes it easy to get our two small children in and out and the sliding rear seat makes useful additional luggage space when the children are in the back.
Fuel consumption is good averaging about 45mpg.
The car has proved reliable and was delivered fault free and had no faults at it first service which is tribute to the Nissan quality.
The Nissan Garage provide a good quality service.
The roof mounted luggage box provides additional luggage space for family breaks.

Nissan Note | Practical and Reliable

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is my second Nissan Note, the first bought second hand at three years old, this bought new a year ago. I find them a very practical car, especially for head and leg room and access, as I carry occasionally elderly people. The luggage space is very versatile, especially with the rear seat sliding forwards to give more storage space when necessary.

Nissan Notes appear to be highly reliable, I had few problems with my first car and none with my current one. Fuel consumption has been reasonable given that I do mainly short journeys.

Nissan Note | Practical

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

This is my second Note and find them practical even if somewhat dated in technology these days (hence the new model out now). Driving position and seat comfort for me (with back problems) far outweigh any other difficulties. MPG is not as brilliant as more modern engines, but is adequate as I don't do high miles. Practical in load space and design, sitting slightly higher than an average saloon has many advantages. Sadly the new model has been lowered - a mistake in my view.
All in all, not an exciting motor, but we don't all want that.

Nissan Note | My downsize

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I previously owned the top Nissan X Trail auto in which I did 107000 miles in seven years.It was fantastic so I chose another Nissan and improved Mileage from an average 24mpg to 44mpg. It does everything I want including frequent Grandchildren transport and taking me to clay shoots as a shooter and International referee. Plenty of room except I no longer take 4 - 6 bags of rubbish to the tip. It could take 4 but it is new! May miss the heated leather seats in the winter but the in car 'phone is a plus and the computer easy to operate.

Nissan Note | The Note

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1598cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

The car is surprisingly spacious inside, seating 4 adults comfortably. Visibility is good at the front and sides,but the rear pillars are wide,obscuring too much. If the rear window were deeper it would improve rear visibility.Storage space is excellent and the car has a good range of features. It would benefit from having rubber sidestrips for protection of the body. The spare wheel should be a normal wheel ,not one for short use only.The car has been very reliable and I have achieved 60m.p.g.The tyres do seem prone to punctures.

Nissan Note | NOTE diesel

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I love the interior shaping & versatility. When the rear seats are put down it gives a completely flat surface. The shaping of the rear door giving a square back means equipment & my bee keeping hive parts can fit in easily which if the door was sloping would not be the case. The flat surface when the seats are down is level with the bottom of the rear door, there is no lip to lift items over. There IS a spare wheel, be it a space saver. There is also a storage area under the floor area.

Nissan Note | Nissan Note bought from Nissan Preston

Added: 16th of October 2015
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Excellent friendly service from Howard Roberts, Not pushy at all.
Car appeared to be as described or better. Very clean inside and outside.
After owning the car for only two days we are so far very satisfied. Drives well, very roomy and feels like less than the 21,000 miles recorded.
The only hiccough one of the remote keys did not work but this is being fixed. The car was somewhat pricey for it's age.
Very satisfied, Excellent service. Les and Edna Dawson.

Nissan Note | Very Practical

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Now on my second Note, and find them very practical. Love the driving position, and I find with back problems one of the best seating layouts for me. Many similar vehicles have got the seating wrong, and are not comfortable on long journies. Petrol consumption is not brilliant, but the payoff is the rest of the car in practicality and comfort for me.
New model looks interesting and much improved, but not quite so happy that they've lowered the height of it.

Nissan Note | Nissan gives its vehicle owners safety and satifaction.

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1598cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Having owned my Nissan Note from nearly 12 months old, have found it very reliable(it stands out at night, and always starts-what ever the weather).The running costs are not to heavy-being a pensioner and living in the country I need a low running cost vehicle of a certain size to do what I and my wife like to-mainly going on holiday. I find the Note fits my needs perfectly, and will soon be in the market for the new model.

Nissan Note | Less-mobile passengers

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I bought the car mainly for my less-mobile, older parents. They both find it relatively easy to get in and out of the passenger and back seats. When the back seat is pulled all the way back there is plenty of legroom. There is also plenty of headroom in the back. I find the ability to move the back seat to increase the luggage or passenger space very useful. I would recommend this car to any one with older passengers.

Nissan Note | Nissan Note

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 1590cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Purchased as "one previous owner" in excellent condition.
After a couple of (new) Corsas the difference in comfort was most satisfying. We go from Huddersfield to our daughter's in Newcastle quite often and the journey is far less tiring. My main gripe is that with a very sensitive accelerator I find it quite easy to over rev. and have had to have a couple of new clutches as a result! Must get an automatic next time!!!

Nissan Note | My Note

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2008
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The Note has enough head height for me to sit and drive comfortably. It fits in the garage at a tight squeeze. It comfortably carries my wife and me, shopping and bags for travel. A guest can be easily accommodated when needed. It has not broken down yet, but has had a battery replaced and sensors replaced. a bit of a shock, didn't know anything about sensors.

Nissan Note | Nissan Note

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Not our first Note and we remain highly satisfied. Our first diesel though and amazed at the fuel economy this gives over the petrol version.

The vehicle is roomy, comfortable and an easy drive. We can take our grandchildren with us with no problem

As a retired person the ease of access to the vehicle is very important, our Note ticks all the boxes.

Nissan Note | Fit for purpose

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The Note is good for our lifestyle as my husband is disabled and the higher front seats make it easier for him to access. It is a comfortable ride in the front. I like the higher seats and good driving position. It's performance is good around town and on motorways. The facility of being able to move the back seat to get a larger boot is a great asset.

Filter Nissan Note Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.