Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Nissan Micra Reviews

Nissan Micra

Welcome to the Nissan Micra review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Nissan Micra cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£7,995 - £12,595
AA Cars Average
£6,246
MPG
38.2 - 68.9
CO2 (g/km)
95 - 175
Tax Band
A - H
Noise Level
65.8 - 74.0

Nissan Micra | Surprising Micra Sport

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

My head told me this would be a great car, but my heart was a bit worried: yes, it's a neat little sports car, but is it a bit girlie? Yes, a totally sexist thing to even think. But at least I'm being honest.

Well, it turns out that all my mates in the pub, who love taking the mick, don't take the mick out of my Micra Sports, because they see how versatile it is, what a massive boot it has, how I can roll the roof back in 20 seconds at the flick of a switch, and cart round all sorts of weird shaped objects from noticeboards to bales of straw.

The only problem it's ever given me is the screech from the alternator belt whenever it is damp and the temperature is below 10C. At this point it doesn't look chic enough to combat the associations you get with that noise with a clapped out auld cartie! And,sadly, no garage has ever silenced it. I squirt some chalky water over it - low tech solution!

There is one surface feature which is awesome: the paint job (I think it's called "mink") is EXACTLY the colour of the mud round here on the country lanes. So come winter time, all that happens, is it changes from a gloss finish to matt, and no need for endless carwash experiences.

I love my Micra Sport.

Nissan Micra | Micra 1600 Sport

Added: 18th of July 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2006
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

Bought the car for my wife who is thrilled with it especially as we seem to have just entered a heat wave, being able to put the roof down at the press of a button is so easy. I do feel that the car lacks something when on the motorway especially as it is revving very highly at 70mph and it feels as though it wants another gear!! Having said this it's a great car for around town.
Bought it from Coastal car sales in Ferndown after searching the internet for one, they were very efficient and included a 6 months warrantee but when I took the car to Halfords Auto centre the preferred garage three days later to sort out the rattling roof it was not covered by the warrantee and I had to pay out £50 to have it ajusted (not a happy bunny) Emailed Coastal car sales but clearly they don,t respond to email as this was the third email that was ignored!

Although Halfords Auto Centre fixed the fault I will be looking for a reliable garage to maintain the car as I will not be returning to Halfords any time soon after this experience.

Nissan Micra | Nissan Micra - can't be beaten

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1997
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 5

This is the sort of car I'd not get rid of until it was dropping to bits. Its reliable, starts in all weathers, is comfortable and although small is not cramped (however I am small myself). It has a decent size boot and being an older model many of the odd jobs on the engine I can still do myself without a PhD in Electronics! I'm dreading the day it starts rusting, yes, at 16 years old there's not one spot of rust on it yet and is apparently like a tank underneath still.

I will most likely buy a new one which I've been saving for for years when this goes in the hope it lasts as long. Its a basic model, no SatNav or anything but I prefer a map anyway and I can't praise it enough. A reliable little runner and great on petrol both round the doors and longer journeys.

Only thing it isn't good at is handling snowy weather. Better than a Renault Clio, but not as good as a Vauxhall Chevette!

Nissan Micra | Does the job

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2002
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I need a car for my independence, having a collapsed spine. The little Micra is perfectly adequate for a widow like me to do the essential things associated with daily life. I can go the 45 mile journey to visit my daughter and her husband - seldom in the winter as we can often have a deep fall of snow. It is very gratifying to be able to do my own shopping but have to do a 22 mile round trip to be sure I can park. That facility is not available in the village. I put 2100 miles on the clock for the past 12 months and would think the make and model is quite adequate for a single person household. As Jemima is now 11 years old it may soon be time to part company. When that time comes I would be very happy with another Nissan and would certainly recommend it as a good and not expensive to run vehicle.

Nissan Micra | Marvelous Micra

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I love my little Micra. It has never broken down in the nine years I have had it. It has what's known as an intelligent key, meaning you only need to have to key fob in your pocket to unlock the car and operate the starter switch. The driver's seat height and steering wheel position are adjustable. The 1500cc diesel engine supplies adequate power and it buzzes along easily, with great acceleration when required. £30 road tax and superb mileage rates.

The rear seats fold down easily, but not flat which is the only bugbear in my mind. The rear seats can also be slid forward to give more boot space - great, plus lots of leg room at the back, even with seats moved forward.

Alas Nissan no longer produce this model, so when I replace it it's going have to be something else - unfortunately

Nissan Micra | I love Micras

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

The model I have now is 10 years old, has never been garaged, starts first time even in the coldest of winters or if left 2/3 weeks when I am on holiday, still gives me 60mpg in summer , 56mpg when it is colder, a running total of almost £3,000 has accrued over the 10 years taking in tyres, exhaust, brakes and MOTs. At the last MOT (July) I am told rust at the front could prove costly so I will have to look for a replacement sooner than later. Very sad. I bought my first Micra, brand new, in the early 80's (C reg)when I stopped smoking and changed them every 24/30 months as they were used for work and a mileage payment helped with finance but since I retired seven years ago I have become attached to this one and am really loathe to part with it. Will I buy another Micra? Almost certainly.

Nissan Micra | Nissa Micra 4-door

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

A practical small car with a very tight turning circle, easy to park and reasonably cheap to run. The big disadvantage is the lack of keyhole in the doors, meaning that the doors can only be opened electronically. My husband lost one key and it's going to cost nearly £200 for a replacement as the cheaper replacements will only start the ignition and not open the doors. The steering is also very sensitive and we have to concentrate hard to keep the car straight at high speed (70mph +) on motorways. I also do not like the deep boot which makes it hard to lift out large and heavy objects; I preferred my older Nissan micra model for this reason. But in general I am satisfied with the car, which was bought second-hand and serves me well.

Nissan Micra | Nissan Micra Equation

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1998
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

A superb little workhorse. My car is 15 years old and is still going strong. It is comfortable, very spacious and economical. Small enough to fit into tiny spaces but, with the seats folded down, big enough to transport a range of large items comfortably. There is a lot of window in the Equation giving maximum visibility all the way around unlike more modern cars. A little more engine power would be preferred, especially when overtaking but as a basic model you feel you are controlling the vehicle rather than the vehicle controlling itself. Definitely no frills! If this model was still in production, I would wish to replace my current vehicle with an exact copy when the time came.

Nissan Micra | Can't beat a Micra

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have enjoyed driving Micras since the 80's. This one has been exceptional, probably the others were too but I only kept them 30 months because I was working, receiving expenses, however when I retired I had to stop that nonsense and this one has never ever let me down. It has sat every night in a public car park which accounts for the scrapes and colours on the bodywork, however that has not prevented it from starting first time, even in the coldest of weathers. I still get 59 miles to the gallon in summer, down to 56 in winter, and I do not drive like a li'l old lady. Friends have always commented on the comfort and space in it. Yes, everyone loves my Micra - especially me.

Nissan Micra | Nissan micra

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I have run this car for the past 9 years with very little running costs apart from the usual tyres,brakes etc.I have just had an exhaust back and middle section replaced which is the only thing that has gone wrong with it until today when my powered steering let me down in the town hopefully it is just an electrical fault but worst case replacement is the only problem since t he purchase of the car. I would happily recommend the Nissan Micra to anyone who wants a small reliable and comfortable car I get around 52mpg on the motorway and 40 urban running what more do you want

Nissan Micra | KEEPS ON GOING

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 2

this is a great little car. It is a special with alloy wheels and a few other cosmetic features.
I bought it at 3 years old and and have had no major problems with it
I commute to work daily (20 miles each way) and use it for leisure trips
over the past 3 years I have been waiting for it to become un economic to drive or maintain.this hasn't happened and when I had it serviced and MOT this year the mechanic described it as 'mint'
I average 10,000 miles per year - this little car has been a star
I will probably buy another nissan when this one dies

Nissan Micra | RELIABLE

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2001
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

After 12+ years my car is still reliable. I have left it standing for 2 months whilst being away from home, and even though there has been ice and snow, it has always started first time. It has passed its MOT each year until this last test; there was rust underneath the body of the car. The only other repairs in the 12 years has been to replace part of the exhaust. The remaining expense has been for things such as tyres and windscreen wipers which I would have had to replace on any other car I might have had.

This car does not owe me a penny.

Nissan Micra | satisfaction

Added: 2nd of June 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1198cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have to fully recommend Bristol St Motors for their excellent service, especially David.
I found the car I wanted on their Website,so i sent a email to say i wished to buy and have it delivered.
David was excellent he phoned back,organised every detail.Service,,Tax,Valet,and delivery.
The result was I received a beautiful car within two weeks from finding it.
If you need a Car do not hesitate,you will get the very best of service.
Well done David keep up the good work .also thank you to the young man who delivered my car.

Nissan Micra | My Micra

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I have had this car for 6 years, it was recommended by my mechanic as he never seemed to get any in his garage. The running costs are great £10-15 per week running around town & in the 6 years ive owned it, all it needed was 2 sensors replaced. It takes a little longer to get up to 70mph on the motorway but once there it just cruises along. I have no intention of getting rid of this car. I have kept this one longer than any previous venicle. If you want a trouble free great little run about look no further than a Micra.

Nissan Micra | Nissan reliability

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

I bought my Micra from new and have owned it for 9 years. It used to be a low rate for road tax but over the years has crept up to £175 with the changes in emission rates. It has always proved to be a very reliable car and reasonably cheap to run. The seats can become uncomfortable on long runs though. I have found it to fit in with my lifestyle very well and there has always been enough space for luggage and my dog along with passengers when going on holiday.
I would buy another Nissan when the time comes.

Nissan Micra | bullet proof micra

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 1275cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

these are brilliant all round motors for newly qualified & experienced drivers. also used as entry level rally cars due to them having a super tough engine with reliability that in my mind cant be equaled. not the best on fuel due to it being old and having 2 cat-boxes in the exhaust system and the coil packs sometimes give the car a bit of a miss-fire but all in all i cant complain as all ive spent on it since buying it is the actual price of the car and fuel. never broke down (fingers crossed).

Nissan Micra | Well-mannered Micra

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 1993
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

A very convenient runabout but suitable for occasional longer journeys. Fairly quiet for a small car; surprisingly lively, particularly when driver only; reasonable access to service station; excellent lights for night driving. No major problems but a few niggles - most recently, windscreen wipers developing a mind of their own.
Emergency spare wheel only - used once, surprising amount of wear.
Would consider another Micra but it has become a very different car so would need careful study.

Nissan Micra | Not as reliable as hoped

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2003
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I got a micra as I had one before (the earliest model) and it was very reliable despite being nearly 20 years old. The 2003 model is much less reliable, little things are consistently going wrong with it and it's not nice to drive. The keyless start is an annoying fad especially when the key batteries die and it's not possible to start the car. However, it is fuel-efficient, and the 1.2 litre engine feels much more powerful than my previous 1litre car, with no obvious increase in running costs.

Nissan Micra | Micra

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I have had this car since new, it has been reliable and is easy to drive around town and long distances. It is a second car in our household and is used for short distances, but is equally useful for longer distances and has moved us to and back from France. When asked by Nissan if I was thinking of replacing this car I replied that I was more than happy with at would not be changing in the foreseeable future. Much prefer this model (2003), than the newer model.

Nissan Micra | Basic but cheap to run

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
1/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
1/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 1995
  • 998cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

This was a car I was given free after writing off my old car. It is very basic indeed: manual windows, no central locking, no back doors, noisy ventilation/heater (no air con), but it is easy to park in small spaces, fits 2 adults, 2 children in car seats, a buggy and a little luggage, and costs very little to run. Cheap to insure - my insurers gave me money back to transfer the policy, and that was after paying out for the write-off!

Filter Nissan Micra Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.