Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Mitsubishi Shogun Reviews

Mitsubishi Shogun

Welcome to the Mitsubishi Shogun review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Mitsubishi Shogun cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£30,099 - £41,799
AA Cars Average
£18,589
MPG
19.9 - 36.2
CO2 (g/km)
206 - 339
Tax Band
K - M
Noise Level
68.0 - 76.0

Mitsubishi Shogun | Big comfortable machine

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1997
  • 2900cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

I've only had this car for a few moths but I love it already. It's a big old comfortable car with a boat load of bells and whistles to keep you happy, such as locking rear diff, variable suspension, heated seats, cruise control, overdrive, full electrics etc.

I owned a Nissan Terrano previously and loved that too but I wanted an automatic which is why I got the Shogun. It is bigger than the Terrano and it's more akin to driving a small bus but if you've reached the stage where blistering performance comes a distant second to reliability and comfort, this could be the vehicle for you.

Like all big 4x4's it loses marks hand over fist for fuel economy but if you go looking for a 4x4 with good fuel economy near the top of your list of needs, then you're probably looking at the wrong car.

The only area where I would criticise this vehicle is that it doesn't have air-con. It's a European version and only the very top euro models have air-con where as the Japanise imports have it as standard.

Mitsubishi Shogun | Shogun

Added: 9th of March 2015
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 3200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I have had the 3 door Shogun a few years ago, as I'd had swb 4x4's before and continued the trend with this one. Though with the amount of equipment I sometimes carry, that the 5 door would be more suitable. Then moving onto the Land Rover marques of Defender and Range Rover Vogue, felt more comfortable with the Mitsubishi Shogun for long term reliability, and so bought a 5 door Shogun to replace the Range Rover, having gained 100,000 miles at trade in time, and a year of faults, items needing replacing, and broke down leaving me stranded. I do feel more content with my new Shogun and intend that it is with us for 10+ years.

Mitsubishi Shogun | Mitsubishi Shogun

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1996
  • 2822cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Fairly thirsty and of slightly lower performance for its capacity than most more modern equivalents, but stll more than adequate. Very good resistance to corrosion.

Very reliable, with only a few well documented and easily fixable general faults even with higher age and mileage. Other than for fuel costs fairly economical to run. Mechanically very simple for maintenance, which is responsible for most of the cars good points.

Makes an excellent tow vehicle, which could be bettered only by being slightly longer in the wheelbase. Long distance comfortable and internally spacious.

Mitsubishi Shogun | Shogun 3.2 DiD

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 3200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 3

The Shogun is a specialist 4x4 with good towing ability, which is why I bought it. It is excellent in that respect. Although it has done only 117k miles, the dual mass flywheel has had to be changed. The fuel filler pipe (neck) and vent pipes rusted to the point where they parted company; there is also rust on the brackets holding the steps to the frame. I found this very disappointing. The vehicle is too reliant on electronics, under the bonnet. Apart from that it drives well and has lots of power so can tow up to 2.8 tonnes. I guess it's 'horses for courses'.

Mitsubishi Shogun | My Shogun

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 3200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

My Shogun is great. It is reliable, roomy, comfortable, tows extremely well, cruises at 70mph easily and is not that expensive to run. So far I have from new driven 105,000 miles in it and expect to drive many more. I have no present intention to buy a new Shogun despite mine being 10 years old in December. However, when I do reach the replacement stage, I hope the Shogun's engine will have been replaced with a totally modern unit - the present engine, although very reliable, is now outdated.

Mitsubishi Shogun | shogun

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 3200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Recently changed to a Mitsubishi Shogun Diamond vehicle to be used for general daily use and to enable caravan towing, having had an older Shogun for a few years. So far this vehicle has 'done exactly what it says on the tin'. Cannot fault it apart from the excessive cost of the Road Fund Licence which as a pensioner is ridiculous bearing in mind that ALL vehicles using the road systems should make some contribution to the wear and tear on roads.

Mitsubishi Shogun | Shogun

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 3200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I have had the car for two years and used it for local runabout and log journeys through Europe. It is very responsive and east to manoeuvre despite its size. On the long runs it is very comfortable and I arrive stress free and relaxed. Not the most economical getting about 24 miles to the gallon rising to about 30 for the motorway runs if driven gently.

Mitsubishi Shogun | Shogun

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 3500cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Great big car, safe, comfy and roomy, but at 25MPG and 18,000 miles per year, it is costing a fortune to run. Add in high road tax and virtually no tax break (it is financed through my company)it is really proving to be uneconomic so, much as we love it (and we are a tall family) we are looking at changing it, probably to a Volvo XC60

Mitsubishi Shogun | Shogun

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 3200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Nice car. Can tow a battleship with no worries. Running costs are high. Road tax is extortionate. Capable of high speed but at a cost in fuel. But large load carrying, elevated driving position and go anywhere ability negate the downsides. I will almost certainly look for another when time to change.

Mitsubishi Shogun | Shogun great

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 3200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

My Shogun is simply a reliable and robust workhorse that does everything that ask of it without any moans or groans. It tows well 3.5T up dale and down valley and just keeps on going on and on and on - faultless (although like any thoroughbred, it loves a drink and does swallow my diesel !)

Mitsubishi Shogun | shogun

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 3200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

had shoguns for the last 10 years best cars i have ever owned feel confident in it have never encountered any road/weather conditions it couldn't cope with also tow a large twin axle caravan put the shogun in cruise mode and don't even know its on the back next car will be a shogun

Mitsubishi Shogun | Great car

Added: 15th of April 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 3200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Purchased with a view to towing my caravan. Brilliant to car. Very comfortable. Not cheap to run but I guess if wanted a low cost car you wouldn't buy a Shogun. It my 3rd Shogun, this is the best of the bunch

Mitsubishi Shogun | Good reliable workhorse

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 3200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

With 8 grandchildren, the 7 seats comes in really handy. Much more reliable than my previous 2 Discoveries. Not very good on fuel, especially climbing hills. Barely achieves 24mpg.

Mitsubishi Shogun | Shogun Shosure

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 3200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

A totally reliable car that does everything and more that is asked of it. A workhorse that goes on for mile fter mile without being grumpy.

Excellent

Mitsubishi Shogun | SHOGUN

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1992
  • 2440cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

THIS IS GREAT PULLS MY CARAVAN WITH NO TROUBLE, IS RELIABLE.
CARRIES ALL MY GRANDKIDS IDEAL FOR MOVING STUFF PLENTY OF ROOM.

Mitsubishi Shogun | Shogun Commercial

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2011
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 3

I have been spoilt by being an ex Landcruiser owner, but had to change to a Shogun Commercial. Looks a bit "hairdresser".

Mitsubishi Shogun | Shogun

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 3200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I tow, my Shogun is a superb tow car, comfortable, all the extras I need and want and reliable. Thats it !

Mitsubishi Shogun | A bit of a tractor when cold

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2001
  • 3200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Ok for reliability and not to bad on comfort, but only averages 29mpg on a run

Mitsubishi Shogun | My shogun

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 3200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

I love my Shogun as it feels big and safe and tows my caravan beautifully.

Mitsubishi Shogun | Shogun

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 3500cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 2

Excellent car. Great build quality and extremely reliable.

Filter Mitsubishi Shogun Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.