Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Mitsubishi Colt Reviews

Mitsubishi Colt

Welcome to the Mitsubishi Colt review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Mitsubishi Colt cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£9,520 - £14,729
AA Cars Average
£3,287
MPG
33.6 - 61.4
CO2 (g/km)
119 - 198
Tax Band
C - J
Noise Level
69.0 - 76.0

Mitsubishi Colt | Mitsubishi Colt Ralliart

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1450cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

To a casual observer, there are few visual signs to distinguish this car from the more pedestrian versions of the Colt. External clues are the small Ralliart and Turbo badges, a modest rear spoiler and side skirts, a large oval exhaust outlet and the purposeful, low stance on wide 16" graphite-coloured alloys.

Apart from the snug-fitting sports seats, the interior too is much the same as other Colts. But start the engine and the pleasant exhaust boom immediately hints that this could be an interesting drive. Pull away and the firm suspension and positive steering confirm that this is indeed a no-compromise hot hatch. The weight of the controls is perfect - good feel through the steering wheel and brakes that are not over-servoed, so heel-and-toe downshifts won't risk standing the car on its nose.

The engine pulls smoothly from low revs, with a decent kick as the turbo spins up and the revs rise above midrange. The combination of an eager motor and a light car gives push-in-the back acceleration and means overtaking is almost as easy as on a motorbike, helped by the nicely-spaced upper three gear ratios. Driven enthusiastically, the car is a hoot, and can surprise much more exotic machinery away from the lights or at roundabouts.

Such antics of course do have a penalty in terms of fuel consumption. But on the other hand, a light right foot and sensible driving can easily return in excess of 40 m.p.g., as displayed on the onboard computer which it shares with the rest of the range.

Apart from the computer, and the inevitable ABS/EBD/ETC, the car is mostly devoid of electronic gimmickry, other than cruise control operated from slightly fiddly buttons on the steering wheel. Though one feature I could do without is the flashing of the hazard lights when braking hard - I have only triggered this a couple of times when traffic lights have changed at the last minute, but it would be a real distraction if I ever wanted to try the car on a track.

For what at first appears to be a compact hatchback, the interior is surprisingly roomy, with plenty of leg- and headroom for full-sized adults in front and back. As with any three-door hatch, access to the rear seats is not recommended for inflexible elderly relatives. Luggage space in the boot is limited by the car's length, but is adequate for a big family shop or luggage for a week away. Folding down the asymmetric split rear seats gives a really useful flat loading space with just a single step.

To sum up, this car is most definitely a Jekyll-and-Hyde character. Around town it's economical and in terms of practicality only really loses out to its softer siblings because of the firm ride quality on poorly-maintained roads; some might also find the steering a bit on the heavy side. Or it can happily carry a full load from one end of the country (or even of Europe) to the other. And then, when the driver is in the mood and the right kind of road comes along, it can remind you just what fun it is to bond with such a sweet-handling, responsive piece of machinery.

Mitsubishi Colt | Tardis on wheels!

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1300cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is such an individual car. My wife usually drives it and she loves it. We would never have thought of it except that we saw it at our local Mitsubishi dealer, and it just happened to be an auto, which she needs. So we had to go for a run in it. At the end of it she couldn't think of one reason not to buy it!

It is like a very short people carrier - it has a high seating position and a high roof (I need steps to be able to wash it!). For a car of this type, it looks very smart, in black. It's well equipped inside, and so flexible - you can fold the rear seat backs down, tip the seats forward, or take them out altogether. With the seats out it is like a van. We actually put a normal size fridge in it, upright! (Which saved having to leave it for 3 hours before use, as we would if it had been lying down.)

Driving-wise, my wife is 100% happy. Personally, I find it a bit quirky. The auto is really an automated manual, and it changes gear as if there was an invisible man working a clutch and gearstick. I prefer something a bit slicker. The 1300 engine is "gutsy" but unrefined, and not that economical at speed due to the high body line. You can do good manual gear changes, but it would be nice to have steering-wheel-mounted paddles for that. Ideally I would prefer a 1600 diesel with a DSG type box, like on a VW.

But my wife couldn't care less about any of that. She just loves it as it is!

Mitsubishi Colt | Colt Equip ( triptronic transmission)

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1300cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Performance - even semi automatic runs circles round a fiesta. Abit too torky for the wheels to cope with, sharp turning a even moderate speeds cause understeer and oversteer!!!
Running cost - cheaper than a Fiesta.
Comfort - you get what you pay for, seating for 4 individuals...comfort? Comfort doesn't feature on the Colt, you get seats and that's as far as it goes. Also, daft design of driver seat means you have to crank it back into position each time you get in,( abit stupid really ).
Reliability - 10/10,( its a Mitsu, not a Ford).Chain driven, not belts, excellent.
Space and practicality - its a relatively ugly car, a mini MPV if you like. Tons of space in such a small car. Windscreen pillars obstruct vision alittle on this model, other than that can't fault it.

Mitsubishi Colt | Nice small car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2006
  • 995cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Cost effective small car. 3 doors bit of a issue when carrying more than 2 people - front seats do not leave a lot of room to get into the rear. Good fuel economy, but struggles on the motorway. Boot a little small, but rear seats do slide forward to provide more storage space if no-one sits in the rear. Main agent servicing costs are reasonable. Small rear windscreen is obstructed by rear head rests - I removed them to provide more rear view. Aerial is on the rear of the roof - this caused a problem with the up and over door as driving in forwards, the aerial jams on the door, however it can be easily unscrewed and does not seem to affect radio reception. Car is surprising wide and will not go into a standard garage door opening without folding in one of the mirrors.

Mitsubishi Colt | Colt CZ2

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 1332cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Colt Cz2 - This is the second Colt I have owned from new (I had a Colt Black before). Like the majority of Mitsubishi cars, the build quality is excellent and the car has been extrembly reliable over the five years I have owned it - never once breaking down. It handles well and is good on fuel. The various adjustments allowable to the rear seats makes it a very versatile car.
The only down sides are:
a) because this is a three door model, it is difficult for passengers to get in and out of the rear seats.
b) the very thick front windscreen pillars create a large dangerous offside blind spot, such that you can have great difficulty seeing cars approaching from the right, particularly at junctions and roundabouts.
Good value for money and overall a great little car.

Mitsubishi Colt | Mitsubishi Colt

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2008
  • 1300cc
  • semi-automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The running costs of my car are excellent. I average well over 50 mpg and I am not light footed. The interior trim looks a bit cheap but acceptable, just. It is serviced by Colt Cars once a year and has not given any trouble even on long high speed journeys on the continent. The only mechanical problem experienced is that the hand brake can lock on temporarily if the car is left standing for a number of days. Lubrication solves the problem which means that better protection would alleviate it completely. The major problem, I have found, is that the fornt drivers door pillar and the area infront of it is quite large, allowing room for the air-bag housing, and severely restricts vision to the front right which can be dangerous at cross roads and roundabouts.

Mitsubishi Colt | Mitsubishi Colt

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Comfortable and nice to drive. Very economical as an eco version. Easy to use controls and lots of information given. Lacks a bit of umph in acceleration but coasts along very nicely which suits me. Very good visibility, some good features added like reversing bleepers.

Boot is a bit short but adequate but has a nice hidden compartment below. Superb when back seats are put down together or individually and gives a nice continuous flat space for loading. Great for camping or if you need to transport a lot of luggage.

I like using it and it serves my purposes very well.

Mitsubishi Colt | Mitsubishi Colt

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 1300cc
  • semi-automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have taken my car across Europe on many long journeys, in all temperatures and experienced no problems at all.
I am not a slow driver but even so the car has averaged 52+ miles per gallon.
The climate control could be beefier but has always maintained a comfortable temperature except when the sun is shining directly through the windscreen.
In colder weather the blower must be directed onto the windscreen to keep it clear.
The only major problem, I have found, is the blind spot forward of the drivers door which can be dangerous particularly at roundabouts

Mitsubishi Colt | Mitsubishi Colt

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2009
  • 1350cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I bought this car after having driven a Vauxhall Astra for several years. The Colt is a superb replacement, having more extras (e.g. electric windows all round, cruise control, remote locking), the only feature less than the Astra being the heated door mirrors. The Colt is far more economical on fuel (50mpg vs 30mpg) and I prefer the triptonic gear change as opposed to the normal automatic box. The main downside of the Colt is the lack of luggage space, otherwise I am highly delighted with the car.

Mitsubishi Colt | I Love My Car!

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I had to transfer to an automatic car due to ill health. The Colt cz2 has been perfect for my needs. I had previously driven an automatic years ago and was not impressed, but this car was a totally different kettle of fish. Smooth driving, smooth gear changes and smooth braking & reasonably quick 0-30.

Even though it is five years my garage bills are quite low. As I have only done 38,000 mls approx, I hope it lasts another five.

Mitsubishi Colt | good all round car

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1200cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have had this car from new for almost 3 years. It has exceeded all my expectations. Economy of over 50mpg can be achieved with sedate driving. Motorway driving is very good and acceleration more than acceptable for the size of car. Visibility is very good too and it is easy to get in and out of! Converts quickly to provide extensive luggage etc. space. I am so pleased with it that I shall be keeping it for another three years.

Mitsubishi Colt | Best Mitsubishi car I have ever owned.

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is my tenth Mitsubishi car since I bought the first one in 1979. The current one is a CZ2 Colt model.
For the first time ever I have a car with Cruise control
Radio controls on the on the steering wheel are ensures greater safety. There is one thing I am not too happy with, and that it has low profile tyres. It certainly is a fine road holder, but I do not like the slightly bumpy ride they produce.

Mitsubishi Colt | Happy Driver

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2009
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I have only had the car for approximately 6 months but so far have been very happy with it. It is a handy size for parking and is comfortable on the motorway. It has all the features I require plus an additional Stop and Go feature which means the engine stops when the car stops and starts again when the clutch is depressed. This gives a great saving on fuel used.

Mitsubishi Colt | Very Good Dogmobile

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Bought for flat floor when rear seats lowered. Seat tips up and backrest with headrest lowers into cut out in rear seat so floor is completely flat for my two dogs. Also being ClearTec only £20 road tax

Mitsubishi Colt | Town car

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
1/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2009
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Nippy not so little car and whist it reaches decent speeds on longer journeys it is not ver comfortable. Absolute nightmare to park as it is impossible to see the front of the car.

Mitsubishi Colt | Good Value

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A versatile, economic and practical car for everyday use. Reliable and comfortable.

Mitsubishi Colt | Review

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1330cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

It's a car to get from A to B, no frills but it does what it says on the tin.

Mitsubishi Colt | Mitzi Marvel

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1300cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is my 5th. Mitsubishi. All have been excellent vehicles.

Mitsubishi Colt | Colt

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1350cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Good town car but not very comfortable on long journeys

Mitsubishi Colt | Gina mapp

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

A practical convertible.lovely to drive.economical &fun.

Filter Mitsubishi Colt Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.