Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

MINI Cooper Reviews

MINI Cooper

Welcome to the MINI Cooper review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of MINI Cooper cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£14,900 - £25,335
AA Cars Average
£7,754
MPG
35.8 - 52.3
CO2 (g/km)
127 - 189
Tax Band
D - J
Noise Level
72.0 - 74.0

MINI Cooper | Friendship with the classic Mini

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1996
  • 1275cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 2

Apart from having had my very first few driving lessons in a 1929 Austin 7 in the mid 'fifties from my then husband, I had my first proper driving lessons with a qualified driving instructor in 1966 in a Triumph Herald and passed my test - in Hendon - the first time I took it.

The first car I then bought in 1966 was a very slightly second -hand Florida blue Mini which I had for the next 13 years which was followed by several other Minis through the years until 1996.

I'm really a Mini driver and don't know whether I could drive any other car now.

The last Mini which I bought - in 1996 - was my Equinox which is still drive and which is so far still x=completely authentic, and which is in pretty good condition, I love the most of all the beloved Minis I have ever had.

Despite a certain degree of lack of comfort and more modern driving support, the Classic Mini remains my absolutely favourite car of all time.

I like to think that mine does minimal ecological damage, particularly as I don't drive very much any more anyway.

All in all I have had some of the greatest pleasure in my life by having my own car and that car being the divine Mini. Issigonis for ever.

MINI Cooper | Mini with Maximum Qualities

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1599cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

I adore my Mini Cooper Estate because it looks good and my client's get to travel in style as I look after dogs and the boot space fits two big hounds (mine's a German Shepherd)and the height off the ground into the boot is perfect for dogs. It handles really well and although not the fastest car off the grid it is perfectly adequate, especially in today's traffic! I best point out that previous cars have been high performance (RS6)so it's not likely to impress me on the 0-60 front. It is so comfortable and very smooth and stable on the motorway whatever the weather. It has been well built and I feel safe in it. It has good visibility and is very economical to run. The only annoying feature I can find is that the indicators don't cancel out easily and I often have to do it manually. I'd highly recommend buying one as it's a good all rounder with class.

MINI Cooper | Small Car - Works For Me

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

I bought a second hand Mini this year after pranging and writing off my trusty Ford Ka. The boot space isnt' as generous, but the back doesn't curve as much so it's more comfortable for back seat passengers, as well as the Mini having a host of extras that I still wouldn't really take for granted in basic cars (central locking, tyre sensors, temperature etc etc). The only problem is the light telling me I have a puncture keeps coming on; I've had it checked out and I do not have a puncture, but the sensor is very alert to any change of pressure, and where I carry a lot of musical equipment round, I think this has affected it. The Mini is more expensive when it comes to fuel, road tax, and I dread to think how much it will cost to get things replaced as they wear, but it's a fantastic little car and a head-turner which does the town runaround I need it for.

MINI Cooper | Mini Cooper

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1598cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I understand that a mini isn't for everyone but when I swapped my Ford Mondeo 2ltr TDCI for one I never looked back. If like me you hardly ever use the back seats to transport adults about then they may be worth a look. I live on an Island and I get over 40 miles to the gallon and that's with a petrol engine. I'm not a slow driver by any means but the fact that my Mini returns such good M.P.G is an added bonus.
The other added bonus is that the service schedule is every 2 x years or 18,000 miles, which ever comes first. As long as you keep a check on the oil level and top up if necessary then you shouldn't have any problems.

MINI Cooper | Mini Magic

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2010
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I love my mini.

All except the computerised information system that keeps telling me that within xxxmiles I need yet another service. Although they are covered in the TLC pack it is the constant regular 'popping' to the garage that I don't like. The car itself is great. The size is perfect as mostly it is just me in it. I can get a whole weeks shopping in the boot. If the weather is bad it heats up really quickly. The style is great...funky. I love being able to change the 'mood' lighting inside. I'd definitely think about getting another mini.

MINI Cooper | Super Mini Cooper

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2004
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

Overall a great car. I have owned it for 9 years and still love it. Relaibility has been exceptional with just the alternator and steering pump requiring attention above and beyond service items.

My Mini has proved itself as both a commuter car and a long distance Pan European cruiser.

Prior to owning my Mini I used to change my car on a regular basis, perhaps every two years or sooner. 9 years on and the Mini still captivates me. I can't think of a better means of personal transport for someone not requiring a proper 4 seater family car.

MINI Cooper | SUPER MINI!!

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1598cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

I have had my Mini Cooper from new and I love it!! It is extremely stylish, comfortable, reliable and has a lot more space inside, especially the boot, than most people think. The running costs are on a par with most small hatchbacks - I definitely get more miles to the gallon on long journeys, but I generally use it for getting around town and short trips. It attracts admiring glances wherever it goes and I would not change it for anything!

MINI Cooper | A mini with space

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2010
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

I have always liked the Mini, but was put off by the lack of space, then the Clubman came out. Different from the standard hatchbacks, fun to drive, comfortable, and even space for a medium size dog crate. The roof bars add to the practicality, bike racks fit in minutes and roof box when more space is required.
People critise Mini for expensive extras but the safety features and alarm are standard, this isn't always the case with it's rivals.

MINI Cooper | Mini Review

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2003
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I love my Mini. Having taken the IAM Challenge I had learned to drive it to its potential and I have so much fun with it.
It is nippy, economical, pretty inexpensive to run (more so because it gets regular servicing)and excellent seats with lumbar support - perfect for the 500 mile one way trip up to see my mother in Scotland. And here it shows its reliability and comfort. The Mini, me and the ipod. Heaven.

MINI Cooper | Mini Cooper

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2007
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I have owned my mini for only 2 months and, to date, I am very satisfied with it. Insurance is very reasonable whilst fuel efficiency is excellent: 49mpg average from a 1.6 petrol! Road tax at £125 for the year is also very good. Enough space in the back seats for 2 small children only.
Ride is firm but car is a joy to drive. I would definately recommend my mini cooper to anyone.

MINI Cooper | Mini Cooper

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2002
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Superb handling little car, very appealing shape. Downsides include not very good economy, tiny boot space and worst of all - no spare wheel! I use run flat tyres as squirting foam into a flat tyre at 3am on a motorway is just not acceptable. The tyre then becomes unusable afterwards, a very stupid design feature. Will never again buy a car without even a 'get you home' tyre.

MINI Cooper | I LOVE My MINI Cooper

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2001
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Quite simply my MINI Cooper is a fantastic fun car to drive. True, It's not the quickest car on the road, but perfectly fine around town and on longer runs, too. You would never know the car is 12 years old either.Still looks stunning.. I just LOVE my MINI, and so pleased she's ours!!

MINI Cooper | Mini's are FAB

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2001
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

It is a fun car to drive and holds the road brilliantly however it has a design flaw which makes driving through standing water catestrophic! £4,500 worth of damage from a big puddle when I needed a new engine. I would still buy another one though but this time a soft top.

MINI Cooper | Mini Cooper Mk2

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2007
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

This car is expensive for what you get. The packaging is a joke. It is moderately economical to run and the dealer service it good. But, it's a real pleasure to own and drive, and that trumps everything!

MINI Cooper | Mini Cooper

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

The Mini Cooper is the perfect car for me, it does exactly what I want it to do. Great for short journeys into local town. Very comfy and economical on long motorway journeys.

MINI Cooper | Great car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

This is the best car I have ever owned , the room inside never fails to amaze me . I have had the car three years and never had a problem in fact I don't want to sell it

MINI Cooper | Mini Cooper

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2005
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

I love my Mini ! It's nippy, comfortable, holds the road superbly, and is a lot of fun when the weather is good and i have the roof down !It's a pleasure to drive

MINI Cooper | mini automatic.

Added: 21st of March 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2005
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Excellent car only slight problem with gearbox which has to be re taught by the garage .Overall very pleased with global cars london and AA cars.

MINI Cooper | mini cooper

Added: 19th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

For a big bloke like me its like a tardis. bigger on the inside than it looks from outside.
Fun car to drive and cheap to run.

MINI Cooper | Mini Cooper

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2009
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Fun to drive yet economical.

Fortunately have had no issues with reliability.

Only downside is lack of space in boot.

Filter MINI Cooper Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.