Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Mercedes SLK Reviews

Mercedes SLK

Welcome to the Mercedes SLK review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Mercedes SLK cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£30,000 - £55,000
AA Cars Average
£12,982
MPG
23.5 - 56.5
CO2 (g/km)
132 - 288
Tax Band
E - M
Noise Level
71.0 - 76.0

Mercedes SLK | My Mercedes SLK230k

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2001
  • 2300cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

I've had my little Mercedes SLK 230K for about 9yrs. and in all this time it's never actually broken down on me.There have been a number of electronic faults over the years, and one major fault with the gearbox, but all in all it's been pretty reliable.It has developed some rust points on various body panels, but again nothing major.

The looks and styling are still very modern even though there has been facelifts and new models introduced over the last few years, and I personally think that it will be a minor "classic" in the future.

Performance is still very good with 0 to 62 still around 7.4 seconds and well over a 100mph. with ease.Fuel consumption is not very good with around 24mph. on urban driving. Handling is good but can get "twitchy" on twisting roads particularly in the wet when the tail has a tendency to "break" out of line fairly easily, but easily controlled.Interior is still fairly comfortable and has worn well. Everything on the car still works perfectly including switches and instruments etc.

Insurance for me is very good, with last renewal coming in at £140.00 for fully comprehensive annually. Tax is higher (unfairly in my opinion) and comes in at around £215.00 per year.

Having had the use of some brand new cars long term with my work, I have had the opportunity to compare these with my SLK and I would still have my car first every time. Some of the "new" features appearing on these new cars, have been fitted to my 2001 car since it was built.

I have no desire or plans to change my car anytime soon.

Mercedes SLK | SLK 200

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1797cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

Although I have only had this car a short time I am very pleased with it. Very smooth running, the instruments on the dashboard are easy to read and conveniently located for ease of use when driving. The seat adjusts vey well for short people (like myself) so that I am able to drive with confidence. There is excellent all round visability and the wing mirrors move very smoothly when adjusted.

Although not as economical as a small car, I still find that the petrol consumption is not high especially when driving on faster roads (dual carriageways etc) which I do everyday.

Obviously it is not a family car but for one or two people it is ideal, there is a surprising amount of room in the boot especially for the size of the car which is good as there isn't really any space for luggage in the car itself.

Mercedes parts are always quite expensive but they do tend to last a long time.

All in all I would recommend this car to anyone looking for a 2 seater model.

Mercedes SLK | Tremendous fun car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2007
  • 1800cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

Surprisingly copious boot for this class of car even with the electrically operated roof taking up space. With the roof down and with a moderate amount of sunshine and the heater operating, comfort levels are perfectly satisfactory, contrary to the opinion of many who think that convertibles are not for this country.

Fuel consumption in my case is in the mid thirties according to the car's computer but I'm no boy racer! On longer mixed road journeys 40+ mpg is easily achieved.

Comfortable seats, nicely arranged instrument panel and a radio, CD player and telephone all add up to a great driving experience, in my opinion. Just two more observations: there are those admiring glances from the public and the magnificent reflections in the shop windows!

Mercedes SLK | Disappointed

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
1/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2008
  • 1900cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

Saved up for this car, wanting an open top, but not a cloth top. I took a long time to find the specification I wanted -sports pack, wheel size, etc.

So far, am not going to have a love affair with this one. I have found it to be very sluggish; the weight of it means it is very slow to pick up, and also greedy on fuel. It's much better for cruising/motorway driving and long journeys.

I am used to a small boot space with a sports car, but with the retractable hard top, there is not much of a gap to pass items through into the boot.

I suppose the answer is the SL55, but then we wouldnt get far on a gallon.

Mercedes SLK | I love my @00AMG

Added: 24th of August 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

I really don't want to trade my baby in.It's white and beautiful and the AMG styling really makes a difference to its looks.I would only change it for a newer version noy the newest blunt nose style as they have lost all the looks of the mcclaren styling.It's speedy and hugs the road like glue.Very little extra noise when the top is down and with air scarf in winter I have it down unless wet!!.Lots of boot space-enough for 2 for a week.Running costs are ok so far-low insurance and great m.pg-25-27 on short runs but 45 approx. on long trip on Mway etc.

Mercedes SLK | Mercedes Umm...

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 2297cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

Only had this car for 2 years as second hand. A really nice sports car, drive it sensibly and I get about 34 MPG, drive it fast ie allow the turbo to kick in and hello to just 25 MPG.
Have a big problem with rust that has appeared, the manufacturer refuse to deal under the 20 year warratee as it's not got a Mercedes full service history. Tried everything but they refuse.
Expensive repair costs if something does go wrong but its really rare that something does. Touch Wood!
Would I get another one? No... next one will be another make..

Mercedes SLK | Mid-life crisis!

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2004
  • 1998cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

I nver had a sports convertible when I was younger. My wife said "get a 2-seater convertible, it'll make you feel better, and you won't be constantly asked to give people lifts" No children at home, just the two of us, boot big enough for weekly shop etc. and the "hard top" convertible gives the car a secure feel when the roof is up.It is comfortable , pleasant and easy to drive. The down side is highish running costs. Reliability is good (It's nearly 10 years old).Overall I am very happy with it.

Mercedes SLK | Mercedes Sports

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2010
  • 1990cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

I downsized when the children left home - a lovely little fun car for short journeys with the added bonus of a convertable for good weather - even in winter as good heating system.
No good for large shopping trips and only suitable for overnight and weekend breaks as boot too small. Great for me and the dog (and husband occasionally). We do have a 4x4 as other car so have the best of both worlds.

Mercedes SLK | Good comfortable cruiser

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2006
  • 2996cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

The SLK280 is a fast and comfortable 2 seat car, but is more of a cruiser than a sports car. Driving is comfortable and the steering very responsive but the suspension can be a bit harsh on poor road surfaces. Acceleration is a little better than average although not overly fast. Boot storage is poor. Reliability thus far has been good. I enjoy driving the car, particularly with the roof down.

Mercedes SLK | My SLK

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2006
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

Its a fab little car for someone who does not need to drag the family around with them - not the most comfy on long journeys but performance makes up for that - it is not economical and road tax is rather expensive but I knew all that when I bought it. Like any vehichle you buy with your heart and not your head most of the time and this was certainly one of those buys - but I still love it

Mercedes SLK | mercedes slk

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

It's a great car to drive and has excellent features such as cruise control which I use a great deal even at 30 mph to keep within the speed limit. It goes very well with ample power and comfortable. It's great to have a hard top convertible although when the roof is down there's not much space remaining in the boot.

Mercedes SLK | Merc SLK

Added: 20th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2001
  • 3200cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

Responsive on motorways, comfortable at speed, not practical bumpy at town speeds, easy to park, terrific acceleration and braking, excellent grip, antisocial, impractical, brings out the worst in other drivers, a hoot to drive, wish I'd bought one earlier.Does 16mpg short runs in town, 29-31 on long runs.

Mercedes SLK | SLK280

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 2996cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

Stunning looks, good performance. Get the highest spec car you can find, one with full history and all the toys.Very tail happy in wet and greasy conditions if one is a press on driver. Expect around 19mpg if driven briskly with the roof down or 30 on a good run roof up driving within speed limits.

Mercedes SLK | A great convertible

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2010
  • 1990cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

A lovely small runabout but not that comfortable for long distance journeys. Only ideal for small shopping excusions due to boot and even less space when roof down but a great second car

Mercedes SLK | I won't give up my car

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 2300cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

As the cost of maintenance and fuel escalate, I am being more careful to reduce using my car. However, I love my car, and am not prepared to trade it in for a more economical model.

Mercedes SLK | I love this car!

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2005
  • 3500cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

Least practical car on earth but I love it! Good performance but guzzles petrol. Looks great', roof lifts off electronically. Boot pretty small but just about sufficient.

Mercedes SLK | MY SLK

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 1998
  • 2300cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

I HAVE OWNED THIS CAR FOR 4 YEARS I LIKE IT AND AS I NEVER TAKE MY CAR TO A GARAGE TO GET IT RUINED BUT HAVE ALWAYS MAINTAINED IT MYSELF FIND THE CAR VERY RELIABLE

Mercedes SLK | My Baby

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

My car is my baby & I love it but the costs surrounding it eg. car tax, repairs & servicing, petrol MPG & insurance are horrendeous. I still love my car!!

Mercedes SLK | My SLK

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2009
  • 3500cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

What a car..........great for the summer we've just had being a convertible. Lots of power when you need it but easy to drive even in town.

Mercedes SLK | slk250cdi amg sport

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Convertible
  • 2

great fun to drive. Roof retracts easily into boot. economical--- 45 to 50 mpg. comfortable . easy to drive. looks great.

Filter Mercedes SLK Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.