Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Mercedes C Class Reviews

Mercedes C Class

Welcome to the Mercedes C Class review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Mercedes C Class cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£26,100 - £56,900
AA Cars Average
£20,031
MPG
20.6 - 68.9
CO2 (g/km)
109 - 326
Tax Band
B - M
Noise Level
67.0 - 75.0

Mercedes C Class | Used C-Class

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1998
  • 1996cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

aside from rust this has been to date a good teutonic car with adequate equipment. It doesn't match my older W124 sitting on a farm in Australia for build quality, nor the excitement of driving a BMW or my newer Saab 9-5 for space etc but it does all the right things for a cheap car. It corners and grips the road better than basic model new cars, space is sufficient, everything works on board and it has been very reliable. I'm currently preparing it for winter, shall have it serviced and perhaps change the tyres - yet newer cars have more annoying technology and I find ABS, TCS, Brake Assist adequate - even that impedes driving pleasure. Performance is ok - these days I can't see why you need more power and I don't use it to tow. It is a nice cruiser and a mini-S Class but more economical. I don't use it much so I am not worried about fuel except on long journeys, also I do not like diesels. My concern is rust - it is a poor effort by MB and on that and pure design in engineering I'd take a thirstier W124. Next year I may upgrade, yet I am hoping the next MOT isn't too expensive and it will see through another year - these cars are not worth selling unless they are dead, little wonder they get a new life as 3rd world taxis!

Mercedes C Class | Mr. R Britton

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 1998
  • 2300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

My car is a 1998 Mercedes C230k sport which I have owned for 3+ years, and I tend to buy older low mileage vehicles at auction because the deprecation is so much less.
The performance is stunning and still matches most newer cars when required, but at my age 71, I use it rarely.
Running costs are very reasonable i.e. 24mpg around town and 33mpg on a run provided you don't use the komp. too much. It's chain driven so no belts to be changed and parts are cheap i.e.1/3rd to 1/2 of Merc. prices if you use distributors like Euro Parts. The body is prone to rust around the wheel arches so needs constant watching.
Comfort is exceptional although a little hard in the sport. The seats mould around you and the driving position is very good but there is a lack of legroom in the rear for tall
people.
It is one of the most reliable cars I have owned. I cannot fault it.
The space is adequate inside but the boot space is massive for the size of the car.
It's one of the best cars I have ever owned.

Mercedes C Class | Mercedes C Class 2006

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1800cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have had the Mercedes since new in 2006 and apart from the annual service I have seldom needed any works on the car. Most significant repair was to replace a bush on the transmission in 2010, £1 parts but 4 hours labour. Air con recharge after 7 years is reasonable (at 60%). I have the wheel alignment checked annually due to high no of speed bumps in local area and does need adjustment.

I originally purchased the car for the high level of comfort and safety features. Climate Control excellent. I don't have the Merc navigator which had mixed reviews in 2006. This is my second C Class Merc and I would consider another in a few years time, again a C Class which is now a little bigger, or possibly the E model.

Fuel consumption around town is around 25 to 30 mpg, and rises to 42 to 46 mpg on the motorway and that has been consistent since new. I would like the next model I buy to be more frugal but this was good for 2006 in a car of this quality.

Mercedes C Class | Comfortable long distance cruiser

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 2147cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

A well constructed car with a generally well designed and comfortable interior. The majority of controls are well placed but the cruise control lever can be confused with the combination indicator light/windscreen wiper lever, both being on the left side of the steering column. The windscreen wipers cannot be switched on/off without removing a hand from the steering wheel. The steering is precise and nicely weighted and the ride stable in all conditions. The wheel mounted paddles for manual gear changes move with the steering wheel and may not always be in an easy position to effect a gear change; it has little benefit over the automatic system as it will change of its own accord when certain rpm is reached. The heating/air conditioning system is effective with a quick warm up.

Mercedes C Class | Lots of niggles

Added: 6th of December 2014
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2001
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Got it at 3 years old with 23000 on the clock now has 150000 and been serviced at independent Merc specialist. Parts expensive especially as had to have broken coil springs and suspension bushes replaced on a regular basis. Ventilation/heater motor gear broken - parts cost about a tenner but £800 labour to take remove the dashboard to put it in! So have put up with cold feet for years.

Heavy on petrol ( 30mpg overall), but refined drive. Sweet, smooth gearbox. Bulletproof engine - no leaks and still quiet.

The facelift model ( after 2004) is the one to go for, especially the diesel. Apparently, Mercedes had sorted these niggles out by then. Find a good Merc specialist in your area and costs can be contained.

Will buy another

Mercedes C Class | JGM Mercedes

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I bought this car second hand in 2008 with 52000 miles on the clock - since then I have racked up a further 133000 miles without much problem - lately there has been a problem with the engine management light coming on - intitially showing a cat converter problem but it was reset and now is not comming on at all - car has had the bonnet resprayed due to stone chips but no other areas are showing rust - interior is leather and is very comfortable - the biggest problem with the car has been the number of springs that have been replaced - this is not due to the car or the parts but the state of the roads ( potholes ) in the area - especially when I was at work in Glasgow
Generally very satified with my Merc

Mercedes C Class | I Love My Merc!

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1800cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

I bought my Merc C180 with 6000 miles on the clock in immaculate condition. 4 years later, with 23000 miles on the clock, it is still in perfect working order. What's more, it looks brand new! The paintwork is amazing - still shiny silver with no fade, and yes I know I should be talking about petrol consumption and performance but these are just taken for granted.
This car is amazing. I have NEVER had a minute's trouble with it; it has sailed through every MOT; it has never failed to start or broken down; and it drives like a dream on the motorway. Petrol consumption is extremely good too.
What more can I say? Buy one of these!!!!

Mercedes C Class | Nice Car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2007
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Coupe
  • 3

I love my car. It's stylish, comfortable, quiet, reliable and easy to drive. The diesel engine is quiet - yes, quiet - and very economic. (50+mpg)

The downsides are the cost of servicing, road tax and tyres - I only get 18000 miles per set and at £400 for a new set they are expensive. The acceleration could be better but that's my fault for only getting the 125hp model.

Depreciation is a killer so I will have to keep the car 10 years to get my money's worth.

Hate the foot parking brake - can't hill start with it - but I've come to terms with it.

All that said I'd buy it again.

Mercedes C Class | MERCEDES C CLASS

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

The car is almost 6 years old and I have owned it since new. It is a comfortable car that has given reliable service, with no problems worthy of note. The seats are supportive, and the ride comfort is generally good. The automatic transmission is generally satisfactory, but there is sometimes a jerk when changing from first gear to second gear when the engine is cold. It is an excellent motorway cruiser. However, servicing costs are high, and fuel consumption at an overall 34mpg is nothing special. Rear legroom isn't as good as it should be for a car of this size.

Mercedes C Class | Mercedes C230K sport

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 2300cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

Excellent reliable car which has done nearly 150,000 miles with very little trouble. It is fast, not terribly economical but comfortable and smooth. The load space is large and has been extremely useful for transporting washing machines, gas cookers etc. The car is fun to drive. When we test drove it, we were planning on buying something else (ok, Audi A6 estate) but the Mercedes was instantly involving and fun to drive and we changed our minds there and then. It is now very long in the tooth and will need replacing fairly soon but I will be sorry to part with it.

Mercedes C Class | Mercedes C220 Sports coupe review

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Coupe
  • 2

A lovely, solid, comfortable and reliable car which is comfortable and easy to drive and gives a feeling of safely.

There are a few negative points though : with the car having just 2 doors, the seat belts are set far back and are difficult to reach when the doors are closed. Also, the metal tongue on the seat belt can slide down the strap when not in use and sit at such an angle that it crushes the speaker cover on the door - which means costly replacements.

The worst thing, though, is the car's dreadful handing in snow and ice.

Mercedes C Class | MY MERCEDES CAR

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

My car is a tool/machine to make life easier. Large
Mercedes are cheap to buy when a few years old, with say 60K miles on the clock and with minimum repair costs can be taken up to 200K miles, or more. If a repair would be expensive, then scrap the car and buy another. Depreciation can be as low as £250 per year, with all the comfort, space, carrying capacity, power, high spec you can wish for. Tax disc and fuel costs are greater than the newer models !
If you are looking for cheap motoring, this is one way of achieving it.

Mercedes C Class | GREAT C240

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1999
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

GREAT CAR BOUGHT AT 140 OOO MILES HAS FOR 5 YEARS, NOW 170 000 MILES, OTHER THAN A REGULAR BASIC (OIL, PLUGS FILTER)SERVICE NO MECHANICAL OR ELECTRICAL FAULTS.

ONLY DOWNSIDE IS RUST ON WING AND ON BOTTOM OF DOORS AND ON BOOT BY THE LOCK, BUT WHAT WOULD DO YOU EXPECT FOR OVER 10YR OLD CAR. OH ALSO RUSTED PASSENGER SIDE SHOCK MOUNT- COSTLY WELDING

DESPITE THE DOWNSIDES THE CAR IS A GOOD LOOKING CAR ESP THE INTERIOR WITH IT'S LEATHER SEATS, DRIVES GREAT, HANDLES WELL GOOD SPACIOUS AND COMFORTABLE. QUALITY CAR.

Mercedes C Class | New Merc

Added: 16th of September 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2014
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Purchased this C220 Bluetec SE Sport in January 2015. This car is a vast improvement on my 2013 model in just about every department. Fuel consumption in excess of 70mpg on long motorway runs and £20 road tax. It does not come much cheaper than that. A very comfortable ride with more than sufficient performance. The car is very secure on wet roads and visibility is great. The gadgetry is also very useful with reverse camera, park assist, collision warning, cruise control and sat nav. Well done Mercedes Benz.

Mercedes C Class | Mercedes CGI

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1896cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

Good comfortable car to drive. Feels well - engineered and has been reliable. Performance and economy is good in all conditions and carrying capacity is good. Servicing is expensive largely because of the need to use Mercedes - accredited workshops. This may well contribute to the reliability (so far!). That said, as with most modern vehicles, there is very little maintenance that can be done "at home". I will certainly consider purchasing another Mercedes when it becomes necessary to change the car.

Mercedes C Class | Mercedes Appraisal

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1800cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

My Mercedes was purchased in February 2008.
It had covered 64,000 miles at that time. To date, the mileage is 153,000.
There have been no major problems with the vehicle - it has, to all intents and purposes performed flawlessly.
I would say that, without doubt, it's the best car I've owned (out of about 25) after 35 years of driving.
I am happy to continue driving it for as long as it remains economical and strongly suspect it will last at least another 10 years - or 150,000 miles.

Mercedes C Class | 1998 merc c200

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1998
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Having bought the vehicle at 6 years old with 42,000 miles,
I have had very reliable and cost effective motoring for
over 30,000 miles. As a disabled driver it is comfortable and roomy and I can travel far and wide without any problems. Costs are less than I had with previous cars and spares are cheap and plentiful as supplied by the garage that has looked after me and my car for over 9 years.
I will certainly keep to this model in future.

Mercedes C Class | Good reliable vehicle

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 4

This is the fourth C Class I have owned, and the best so far. This new one is an inch or two bigger and therefore has a little more space for the rear passengers. It's 'Eco' features make it a remarkably economical vehicle to drive in these years of expensive fuel. Each model improves the ease of driving features and this one makes even long tedious journeys on crowded roads tolerable. It probably won't be the last Mercedes I own, I hope

Mercedes C Class | Mercedes C200 Elegance

Added: 17th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1860cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

A very pleasant car to both own and drive. The ride is very good as is comfort inside the car.It has, to date, proved very reliable and I hope to but another C class, perhaps next year. The only downside is the parking brake. Although the absence of a conventional hand brake provides a useful storage box, the parking brake is a wretched device. However, no car is perfect and I have become used to living with the aforesaid brake.

Mercedes C Class | The best car I have ever had

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2143cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

My Mercedes is now getting quite old and had done 92000 miles. It still drives like new and has been extremely reliable. I bought it from new.
I considered buying another new Mercedes, but there seems no point ( my Mercedes mechanic agrees ) as until something major goes wrong it still performs like the day I first bought it.
I have had a whole load of Volvos previously, but the build quality of my Mercedes is far superior.

Filter Mercedes C Class Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.