Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Mazda MX5 Reviews

Useful links:  475 Used Mazda MX5 in stock
Mazda MX5

Welcome to the Mazda MX5 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Mazda MX5 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£18,495 - £23,695
AA Cars Average
£10,606
MPG
29.8 - 40.4
CO2 (g/km)
167 - 232
Tax Band
H - K
Noise Level
68.0 - 74.0

Mazda MX5 | Mazda MX5

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 1999
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

Bought my Mx5 as a toy after suffering a heart attack,loved the drive,wife hated it with a passion,dont expect a nice motorway cruise with a 1.6,engines reving it's head off at 70mph,mpg down to 30/35 if your lucky,take it on the B-roads or a track and you'll discover why this little car is so popular,amazing handling,tail-out on roundabouts and gets the smiles per mile off the clock,very reliable engine and box..
Now the downside...
PLEASE CHECK FOR RUST
this car is so disappointing in that department,everything underneath looks like it's lived on a beach in next to no time,rear arches and sills are renowned bad bits,if it's bubbling don't think its surface rust,a hell of a job to get done right,patching just doesn't do it and is a waste of time,if seller says it's been done ask for photo's or walk away,problem starts with people not cleaning out the various drain holes,find where they are are do it regularly, it's also now becoming more common for the front chassis rails in the engine bay to practically rot away like a 70's AlfaSud/lancia etc, cant be seen with the under tray on so it's get under and get it off and have a prod,again,due to the design of the front legs under-sealing/injection etc doesn't stop it, there is good cars out there but please take care,mine was an import with low miles and spotlessly clean but I just couldn't afford to keep it knowing what could be looming round the next winter or two.. Very disappointing for a modern Japanese car.

Mazda MX5 | Chris's Mazda

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

This is such an outstanding car!
I am perfectly happy with the performance of the 1600cc engine but I am aware that the 1800cc version is more powerful.
Having used the car for long journeys across Europe I have been quite satisfied with the petrol consumption.
Servicing costs have been positively minute over the past 13 years and the car is still running on both the original exhaust and battery - brilliant!
This 2-seater is extremely comfortable (but would not be the best for a very tall person) Some people find it rather low for getting in an out of - but that's an age-related problem - not the car's fault!
Aerodynamics with the roof down are excellent with little wind disturbance in the cabin. Moving at speed, you keep dry when it is raining, such is the wind flow.
The car is absolutely 100% reliable. I have had literally no non-service jobs over the past 13 years, except for new brake pads & tyres at expected intervals.
The boot is remarkably big for such a small car. We can accommodate two suitcases plus cool-bag and other bits and pieces when we spend three weeks touring on the Continent.
Putting up or taking down the manual soft-top literally takes 3 seconds and it is still completely water-tight, even in torrential rain!
I really hope that this car will continue to give such pleasure for years to come. A true Classic!

Mazda MX5 | Great fun for little cash

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

I've owned my MX-5 for five years and I love it. It makes me smile every time I drive it.

Mine has a relatively low mileage for its age - 53k at 13 years old - and with the exception of a dodgy coil pack that was replaced as a DIY job, it's been totally reliable.

It isn't especially fast but it's quick enough, it's very comfortable for my small frame and the ride is pretty good for a roadster. The best bits are the wonderfully feelsome, communicative steering and the nicely mechanical short-throw gearchange.

Ok, it's less economical than more modern cars, it's rubbish on the motorway, and there's nothing premium about the interior, but none of those things matter. Get a big car for long distances and an MX-5 for fun.

It's a perfect introduction to rear wheel drive, properly chuckable.

For a cheap, fun but reliable car, nothing else comes close.

Mazda MX5 | Mazda MX-5 2008

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

Having previously owned a 2nd-series MX-5, I had no hesitation in buying the updated version.

It is superb. Fun to drive, though distinctly hairy in ice/snow, comfortable, economic and practical enough for every day & trip to supermarket.

It is not fast - no faster than all the Fords on the road - and there are no frills. The hood on the 3rd-series is much improved, and can be easily lifted from the driver's seat, a big improvement over the previous model.

A lovely driving position, and the instruments are well laid out, though there is a lack of internal storage space compared with the previous model. I believe this issue has been addressed in more recent years.

Steering is precise; it goes where you point it. The gears are a joy. It is also beautiful to look at, so all in all the best car on the road. Certainly the best I've ever owned.

Mazda MX5 | Great little Car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2011
  • 1999cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

corners wonderfully, nice torky acceleration even though Absolute 0-60 figure not that impressive. Wonderful to drive - puts a smile on your face. Motorised convertible roof (hardtop)works a treat and very quick to put and down. excellent standard fitings - all leather, nicely finished, aircon and heated seats. Fuel consumption initially quite poor (around 27mpg) but became quite reasonable once it had chance to run in - typ 33-35MPG on a long trip depending on how hard its driven can drop to around 27mpg if driven hard. Not that practical or spacious - but thats not what I bought it for! nonetheless it will comfortably fit a couple of 50L rucksacks in the back + walking boots & jackets etc. Looks great and very sporty too. OK doesn't compare with a Porsche, but .....

Mazda MX5 | MX5 Review

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 1993
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

I've had my 1993 MX5 Miata since 1994. I bought it second hand in Florida then shipped it to the UK in 1996 when I moved here. It has the most comfortable seats I own and because it is rear wheel drive it responds better than most cars in rain and snow (surprisingly!)

It's been pretty reliable (occasionally something needs replacing so it's not perfect) and even a left hand drive is pretty easy to drive here and in most places other than really tight country roads with hedgerows - clearly the right hand drive would be easier.

It's not a roomy vehicle though but I've moved things in it that would surprise you!

Even 20 years later it's still a sexy and sporty car and good for getting around London and great in the countryside during the summer.

Mazda MX5 | year round fun

Added: 3rd of August 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 1990
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

For a sports car is a bit slow. For a small car it's not very economical. It has the luggage capacity of small shopping trolley. I'm only 5'10", but I have to press the seat back as far as it will go. The chassis isn't stiff. Tin worm is a serious issue, and worst of all, is a little bit embarrassing to be seen in. Despite all this, it's still my all time favourite car. Simple, reliable, affordable free revving and tail happy. Drop the top on a crisp winters day and hit the B roads and you'll not stop smiling. Lower it, stiffen it, treat yourself to a track day and really see what it can do. Mine is a faithful friend l want to keep forever.

Mazda MX5 | Monty The Mazda!

Added: 18th of June 2014
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2004
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

Only purchased this car today due to having a mid-life crisis and loving every minute! I felt it was "my" time for fun and the Mazda MX5 is my "toy"! A treat to myself for ..well.. deserving it! Completed an 800 mile round trip to collect and well worth it. It drives and feels like a classic car and due to its age and condition (very good for the year), it also has a look of a classic. It is far from practical, but I believe this car is not meant for practicality!! I found it very comfortable for a long trip and it managed good mpg en route home. I have never heard a bad word about the Mazda MX5 and so far, no complaints from me.

Mazda MX5 | Live while you can

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1996
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

The MX5 is just one of those cars that makes you smile when you drive it. From the responsive acceleration and good handling as well as the amazingly reliable mechanics and electrics to the sheer enjoyment of open top motoring made possible by a very effective heater this car is a winner. The Mk 1, with the pop up headlights, is very reminiscent of the classic British sports cars and has a vintage feel to the interior which adds to the romance of it without the hassle that a real British classic can wreak. I love my car and can honestly say it enhances any journey.

Mazda MX5 | Small but very friendly

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2003
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

The car puts a smile on my face as I drive about. Over the past three years I have had a bit of cosmetic work done to remove rust on rear wheel arches and replaced all four tyres. Apart from the usual service I have had no problems with the car. Space is limited but there is enough room in the boot for luggage for a short break or the weeks shopping. In the cabin everything is within easy reach and you feel part of the car as you drive.
A very basic car with little to go wrong. Would buy another without doubt.

Mazda MX5 | Impractical fun

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2002
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

The Mazda MX5 is the classic budget, two-seater sports convertible. It is what it is, a hugely enjoyable but impractical toy, a joy to drive especially with the top down on a summer's day. A car more for country roads than motorways. Utterly reliable. Skittish in the wet, very little luggage space, room for one passenger only...it's useless for most practical purposes but the MX5 is a car that puts the fun back into driving and I absolutely love mine.

Mazda MX5 | Mazda MX5 Sport Tech

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

This is my second MX5 and was bought having been so impressed with the first one. I moved up from a 1.8 sport to the 2.o Sport Tech and was pleasantly surprised by the improved fuel consumption even though the engine was larger. The trim and instrumentation is impressive as is the hard top which folds into the space between the boot and seats, and not into the boot so the space you see is the space you have in the boot. All in all, an excellent car.

Mazda MX5 | mx5 fun all the way

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

Mx5 probably the best small roadster around.
Mine is 13 years old, cost around 3k, i drive it every day and it is a joy to drive.
With planning you can even get a weeks camping gear in it. And I've got 6 or 7 bags of shopping in the boot.
Mpg is mid 30s, insurance the same as a medium size saloon.
You can lower the roof while waiting for the lights to change.
Cheap,fun,practical and sporty, why drive anything else?

Mazda MX5 | MX5 fun champion

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2009
  • 1999cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

This is my third MX5. My job was evaluating and estimating whole life costs for all types of cars and I worked in the Motor Industry for over thirty years. In my experience the MX5 is the best value for money fun on four wheels. It comes with the added bonus of bullet proof reliability. A great touring car - O.K.with a boot rack. Servicing is reasonable and dealer experience has been above average.

Mazda MX5 | Perfect summer car.

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 1999
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

I bought my little MX5 (called Maisie) on eBay 7 years ago when she was 11 years old, she is now 18 years old.
The car has always been reliable, comfortable and sheer fun to drive.
She is only used in summer, and generally only on sunny days.

Never had any major issues with the MX5, but only suitable as a second car as it is only a two seater, so one cannot go out with friends in it.

Mazda MX5 | Mazda MX5 Mk2

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 1999
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

In over 40 years of car ownership having run (i.e. owned or run as company cars) over 20 different cars this is the best car I have ever owned. I would only replace it with another MX5.

P.S. I work part-time as an agency driver and have driven an even wider variety of cars, vans and trucks, some of which I could never afford. As a daily driver the MX5 beats them all.

Mazda MX5 | cracking little car

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2011
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

If you like seat of your pants driving this is the car for you, but at the same time it is also very sensible, easy to drive and surprisingly practical. Goes round corners as if on rails, reliable, 40mpg and a good sized boot. It is the same concept as British sports cars such as Triumphs and MGs with the main difference being it doesn't let you down.

Mazda MX5 | Unexpected problems

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2015
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

The car is excellent to drive and overall running costs are reasonable, although service costs are high.

I have been disappointed with two problems that have arisen in the first year of ownership with repairs needed on the rear differential and also on a faulty driver's seatbelt. These have taken the shine of owning Mazda's new MX5 model.

Mazda MX5 | Mazda MX5 Venturer

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1800cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

I love everything about my car! It's simply a joy to drive, and to look at. It's economical despite taking super unleaded and once you're used to being a little heavy on the accelerator when first setting off you'll be making excuses to go out in it. Stylish, comfortable even on long journeys and a generous boot. I can't fault it.

Mazda MX5 | Puts a smile on my face

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2000
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

Had this MX5 since new.
Still puts a smile on my face.
Reliable and surprisingly practical.

Long journeys on motorways can be tiring.
Smooth driving and careful choice of tyres can give ~40mpg.
Car clubs / specialists give good prices on spare parts.

Comfort and Space score low : only in comparison to other "family" cars.

Filter Mazda MX5 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.