Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Mazda 6 Reviews

Useful links:  710 Used Mazda 6 in stock
Mazda 6

Welcome to the Mazda 6 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Mazda 6 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£19,595 - £27,445
AA Cars Average
£13,027
MPG
26.2 - 54.3
CO2 (g/km)
138 - 257
Tax Band
E - K
Noise Level
68.5 - 73.4

Mazda 6 | 6 Positives

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

1) The mazda 6 is a good looking car. I appreciate other people might not place that high on their priorities when choosing their car, but I do. The car has excellent proportions, nice design touches and has a good presence on the road.
2) It's a quiet, comfortable car. The cabin is a nice place to be in, the seats give good support and nothing rattles about when you're driving. Quality finish of the plastics and fabrics makes it feel nice to sit in too.
3)It's practical. I moved house using this car. with the rear seats folded flat, the boot space is excellent. I can also get 3 guys sitting in the car with their 3 mountain bikes in the boot (wheels off but still stowed in the car)Excellent.
4)Performance & economy is very good for a 2 Litre petrol engined 5 door saloon. It's a good trade-off between acceptable performance & economy. The 6 gives you a choice between the two. If you're on a long motorway journey, plug in cruise control, and you'll be happy with the range you can easily achieve.
5)Normal servicing costs from Mazda dealership were ok. Replacing brake pads by myself on all 4 corners was easy and required no special tools. Reliability is excellent. No issues at all.
6) It's a good car to drive. Electric power steering has a good weight and feel, the gearbox is positive and the clutch light and progressive. The ride can feel a bit firm on poorly surfaced roads, but is smooth and poised on better surfaces.

Mazda 6 | Extremely Reliable

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

I have owned the car from new and have covered almost 99000 miles in it. Beside normal maintenance costs (Tyre, bulbs brake pads etc)it has cost just £245 (for one item) in additional maintenance in all that time. I do however have it serviced by a Mazda main dealer which, no doubt, is more expensive than using an independent garage but with this sort of reliability the £250 annual service costs are worth it. Even the brake pads didn't need changing until 91000 miles!

It is a little noisy at speed and uses a little more fuel than the advertisements but I guess all advertisers push the numbers a bit.

It's big enough for five adults and a reasonable amount of luggage space and is huge with the rear seats down.

The main gripe is visibility. Although an estate the rear window is quite high resulting in posts used in car parks being below the window height and therefore invisible. As for the front I have little idea where that is but have no problems asking my wife to direct me. I would not buy another without front and rear parking sensors.

Mazda 6 | Maxda Xedos6 SE (not in drop-down menu, above)

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1998
  • 1995cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I call my car 'The One K Kar' because I only paid £1,000 for it in May 2011, but it's one of the best-looking saloons on the road - of any age. It's also rare and that is important to me as I hate to drive the same thing as everyone else.

STRENGTHS
? Much lighter than more modern cars, so is fairly quick.
? Smooth and powerful (140 BHP) V6 engine
? Responsive chassis: it handles well
? Moderate running costs (30-35mpg, no depreciation)
? Well-appointed (leather, ABS, electric seats, climate control, cruise control, good stereo, electric tilt/ slide glass sunroof, etc)
? It's rare and handsome

WEAKNESSES
? Age is beginning to undermine its good performance - and its good looks!
? Tends to wander in cross-winds at motorway speeds
? Poor sealing around dashboard - draughty
? High-ish level of road noise
? Parts can be a problem
? Firmly damped, so low-speed ride is jittery.

Mazda 6 | Excellent Practicality and economy

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

The car has now done 20k miles and it's been faultless. Fuel economy is very good giving over 500 miles of a tank of diesel. It's an estate and supremely practical - I bought a non-Mazda/3rd party boot liner to protect the boot and,for me, that's been an excellent investment.

I noticed one strange item - If I leave the trip computer display on mpg, the figure sometimes drops considerably for a short period, but I'm told this is due to extra fuel being used to clean up the DPF - the exhaust particulate filter (and apparently other cars also do this). Overall the economy is still very good.

The (manual) gearbox is still a little notchy but is improving over time; the steering could do with a little more feel; performance-wise it's best to consider 6th gear as a overdrive and change down if in a hurry, but it does give relaxed cruising on a motorway.

Highly recommended.

Mazda 6 | First mazda

Added: 10th of November 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have only had this 6td2 for a month and it is back in the garage with oil pressure problems it has done 54000 miles with service history until 38000 the garage are at present repairing and I hope to get it back tomorrow ,the car is very good on fuel I get 56mpg and it is very comfortable and not tiring to drive looks good ,another issue are the lights only can say pathetic on main beam, hands free blue tooth first class, and like the 6disc cd changer,blind spot indicator is a good addition as is the electronic rear view mirror dimmer all in all a very pleasing car to drive if no more problems surface ,and loads of storage space in the boot, could do with folding mirrors when locking the car this model has manual folders via a switch

Mazda 6 | Mazda 6 Estate

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I have owned my Mazda 6 estate now, for almost 6 years and in that time, I have been very happy with it. The climate control system has let me down by not really blowing out chilled air, when it was above 22/23c or so, it has been serviced, but still well below par. The fuel pump failed, after 115k, which seems to be a common fault with this said vehicle, around that mileage. It was repaired by fitting just a new, suction control valve thankfully and not a new fuel pump, which would have cost as much as the car was then worth!..Overall, a comfortable car in general and good on diesel, considering the age of the vehicle. Rust is now becoming a problem though, so will no doubt change the car in 2014, it will then be 10 years old.

Mazda 6 | Mazda 6

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

My current Mazda 6 is my third such car.

It's comfortable to drive, a practical size for carrying 5 passengers and their luggage, the boot area is particularly roomy without having to fold the seats.

I get around 51 mpg on mixed A & B roads. The models with 6-speed gearbox are significantly more economical on motorways than the older models with a 5-speed gearbox.

Cost of servicing is average, I use a Mazda dealer, but tend to phone around a few to get prices before choosing one.

My only problem with this car was underbody rust when delivered new. I complained to Mazda UK, but they were unhelpful. The dealer who supplied it has resolved the problem by having it cleaned and treated.

Mazda 6 | Could do better...

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Although generally it's a nice looking car, the overall build quality is rather disappointing.
The trim has a 'cheap' feel to it and the refinements are considerably less than our previous older car (1.8 Nissan Primera on a 'Y' plate).
The fuel economy is also poorer than the Nissan, despite the engine size being the same.
Having said that, it's a comfy, reliable car. Minimal service costs and has only let me down once in the way of a flat battery (had a cheaper after-market battery when we bought it which went flat after being stood for 2 weeks...bump-started instantly though!)
As a low budget car it's fine, but I'm sure I could have got something better had I looked around more.

Mazda 6 | Mazda 6 Sport

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have found the vehicle very reliable,comfortable and easy to drive.
Having a large engine makes the vehicle rather thirsty if you do not control the right foot but the high acceleration helps to get you out of trouble if necessary.
The rear radar is very useful and helps to eliminate the blind spot in the mirrors.
The head lights are very good but I would appreciate a more powerful reversing light.
The vehicle is not very good in snow as the wide low profile tyres sit on top of the snow not cutting through it like the old narrow tyres.

Mazda 6 | Good car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is my 2nd Mazda 6 and after 6 months ownership I can hardly fault it. Lots of space for a very active family of 4. Pleasant to drive though it has to be worked harder than the older model to be driven quickly but as a steady crusier, which is the vast majority of my driving these day, it's great.
Runnng costs are as expected.
Only small issues are:
1)replacing the tyre repair kit with a full sized spare requires a diy bodge to get a boot floor back. (plywood over the spare wheel)
2) Speaker quality isn't great.

Mazda 6 | Mazda 6

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1999cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have now owned 4 Mazda models 626 and 6 and 2 model 323's

This is over a period of about 20 years.

My first an older car had slight electrical problems but not one of the others has ever let me down or indeed needed any mechanical work other than periodic servicing. My last was 13 years old and over 75,ooo miles without even an exhaust replacement.

They are extremely reliable, comfortable and for automatics quite economical. I would, and have recommended them many times.

Mazda 6 | Too early to tell!

Added: 17th of September 2014
Performance
1/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
1/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
1/5
  • 2014
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I bought the car yesterday so cannot possibly comment on most of your rating subjects. As your system will not let me submit the review without a rating I have added a nominal one star. It has the looks, spec and practicality I was looking for so I am hopeful that it is at least as good as my last car .... also a Mazda 6. I bought the car from Holdcroft at Stoke on Trent and I would recommend them unreservedly. They were very helpful and courteous ... and the price was right.

Mazda 6 | Mazda 6 mk 2

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

Excellent as always. We only buy Mazdas. Have had a 626, 323, 3, and two 6's. None of them have ever let us down. Great value for money, comfortable and good looking. The latest one is a bit heavy on petrol, but we knew that when we bought it, due to its 2.5L engine. However it's a lovely car and we have no regrets. Hope to keep it for many years. Still have a mark one 6 that is 7 years old and as good as the day it was built.

Mazda 6 | Mazda 6

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is my third Mazda 6 and they have been better each time. I won't hesitate in recommending the car. Dealer experience is also good both sales and servicing. Mazda care about the quality of their product. On occasion they will contribute to out of guarantee repairs resulting from a premature failure. My only sorry is that the hatch back has been dropped from the very latest line up. That could affect my decision to buy another.

Mazda 6 | Mazda 6 TS

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

bought 12 months ago off of Ebay. bit of a gamble but needn't have worried. had done 77000 miles but sound engine and running gear. very clean, tidy and good spec inside. body work showing signs of stone chips and general wear. overall good car for what i paid. Drives very well and comfortable. Did not miss a beat on recent trip from Devon to London and back. been very reliable last 12 months and sailed through MOT.

Mazda 6 | Mazda 6 TS

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

Reliable and dependable. Handles very well for a non-sports model. Well weighted controls and isn't stodgy and unresponsive as some cars are to make them seem solid. Good capacity as an estate car. Passengers find it comfortable for long journeys. Overall very pleased as it represents a good mix of the practical and fun, for a moderate outlay. Surprised at the fuel consumption, which is lower than I expected.

Mazda 6 | Mazda 6 2.0 Tamura

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Bought as a family car as Bora TDI was getting too small . Depreciation is high at 30 months old market value is 50% of initial purchase price!! Using car round town only getting 30 mpg a little better on a run but not great . Great car for space boots big and adults in rear seats have plenty of room . If buying another mazda will go for mazda3 MPS as probably as heavy on fuel with increased performance.

Mazda 6 | Mazda 6 TS Hatchback

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The Mazda 6 is a pretty family car. It has plenty of space and all the advantages of a Hatchback. It is loaded with lots of useful gadgets, the best of which is a warning if you decide to change lanes and another vehicle is in your blind spot, on either the driver's or passenger's side of the car. It is not the fastest car on the road, but has been totally reliable during its 4-year life.

Mazda 6 | 2008 Mazda 6 5 door

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Great car. Engine a little noisy & fuel economy not spectacular for a diesel but looks great & is good to drive & very reliable. Should have chain cam as belt costs a lot to replace every 75000 miles. Generally very pleased with it having covered 90,000 miles so far. Won't be buying another though because they no longer do a 5 door, besides which I no longer need such a large car.

Mazda 6 | Mazda 6 Sport

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2196cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Great car, plenty of leg room for all passengers. Bose stereo, heated seats, dual zone climate control etc.

Would be nice if it had been available in a broader range of colours, and would like a sunroof.

Used to be very economical - 55 mpg, but has never been the same since it was serviced. Though this is typical of all cars I've had! Now only 48 mpg.

Filter Mazda 6 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.