Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Mazda 3 Reviews

Useful links:  777 Used Mazda 3 in stock
Mazda 3

Welcome to the Mazda 3 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Mazda 3 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£15,995 - £23,995
AA Cars Average
£11,610
MPG
24.6 - 62.8
CO2 (g/km)
119 - 299
Tax Band
C - M
Noise Level
68.0 - 74.0

Mazda 3 | Excellent value

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 5

This is the best car I've ever had, which admittedly may not mean much as my previous car was a Rover Streetwise, the most horrendous and expensive car I've ever had both in terms of reliability and performance.

Having suffered from every fault possible on the Rover (from a blown head gasket to a boot that kept flying open whilst driving), the Mazda 3 has been a dream to drive. The car is smooth running, not bad on performance and extremely reliable. It's comfortable to drive for long periods, vital with a commute of 150 miles a day. And regular servicing means I haven't had any major shocks or bills.

A couple of negatives, but they're not minor issues for me:
1. Road noises seem very loud inside, the first time I drove it on a motorway I went past a lorry which sounded so loud I though I'd left the window open. But I've got used to that as it's been 5 years since I bought it.
2. Visibility out of the rear window when driving in the wet could be improved by the addition of a windscreen wiper. But hey, what are wing mirrors for...

When I decide to another car, I'll definitely be looking at the Mazda 3 first.

Mazda 3 | Mazda 3 Takara Auto

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

First Mazda I've had and very impressed. Pretty quick and really good handling (the downside to that is mildly stiff suspension but not uncomfortably so).

Best auto gearbox I've ever had which includes the ability to move into semi-auto mode when it then acts as a clutchless sequential shift - a dream of a gearbox.

Very comfortable - lots of seat adjustment for both front seat occupants and comfortable and versatile rear seating for up to three adults with reasonable leg room.

Well specified with very intelligent climate control, dash-mounted 6CD autochanger, MP3 input and good quality radio. Lots of storage space in doors, central console and massive double-depth glove box. Good sized boot with easy drop-down rear seats in a 2/1 split.

For a mildly sporty automatic I think the fuel consumption is pretty reasonable too.

I can find nothing really bad to moan about - in my opinion a really nice medium size hatch with just a touch of sportiness and bags of style. It's a real joy to drive and I'd definately have another one - no hesitation in recommending it.

Mazda 3 | Pleasantly surprised

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2009
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I have driven Mazdas for over 30 years, principally the 6 series models, and been very happy with the whole experience (all of the above Rating criteria). Four years ago I decided to downsize to the 3 series since I felt a smaller vehicle would be more appropriate for my lifestyle. I studied the manufacturer's literature and brochures and opted for the 1600cc petrol engine. Having ordered it I had occasion to visit the doctor's surgery and picked up a motoring magazine in which there was a review of the (new) Mazda 3 TS. It was generally very positive and I had a good feeling, that is until, at the end of the article, the reader was told "Whatever you do don't buy the 1600cc petrol engine version"(sluggish performance)! The warm feeling promptly evaporated and I was very apprehensive until I took delivery a few days later. I needn't have been concerned, since time has shown that it is an excellent vehicle and , in addition to the other criteria above, has, for me, an excellent performance. Moral - don't believe all of the so called 'experts'!

Mazda 3 | Smooth running

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1996
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 5

I bought my Mazda second hand and it's my 6th car. I researched a few different makes and models this time due to a very unhappy experience with a previous car. I bought the 'boot' version as I'd had enough of hatchbacks and wanted a 'grown-up' car.

My Mazda 3 is very comfortable, roomy and is the smoothest runner I've ever owned. It's great for long journeys, which is good as my commute is a 150 mile round trip. Steering is light and easy, simple dash layout.Three years in and I've had to replace very little, other than tyres, brakes and battery and the usual annual service consumables.

Downsides - fuel consumption is slightly higher than the car I owned directly before the Mazda, and cabin noise is pretty high, but after the first week of driving it I no longer notice the noise of other road users. Minor gripe - a rear window wiper would be welcome, I realise that many cars with a boot don't have a wiper, but some do.

All in all, the best car I've driven and the positives for me, more than outweigh any negatives.

Mazda 3 | Reliable and practical

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1999cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The 2.0l chain cam engine was the reason for buying this particular model.(Owing to various cambelt problems in past.)
It has proved to be relatively economical in its class. (A regular 33-34mpg and up to 40mpg on a run during summer months - 10% less in winter).
The performance is adequate rather than sparkling. It handles well and is good to drive, feeling solid on the road.
The size and accommodation is practical as a family car - up to 4 persons, but is a compromise for luggage space.
With the rear seats folded down it can swallow a fair load.
I bought it 2nd hand at £5000 with 40K miles on but needed to replace wheel bearings, suspension bushes and brakes soon after (probably age rather than wear related.) Have done 50K miles in 3 years since without problems.
I would recommend Mazda 3 to others seeking a straightforward mid-range hatchback.

Mazda 3 | Mazda 3 Takara Auto

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

First Mazda I've had. Love it! Handles like a dream, best auto box I've ever had includes a manual override to a sequential change, brilliant.

Good trim level, well equipped: climate control, 6-cd autochanger built into radio, plenty of storage space with the bigest glove box I've ever seen in any car, let alone a mid-sized saloon.

Cheesy as it sounds, I really can't find anything bad enough to complain about. Some people say the suspension is a tad hard and choppy, but that's the price you pay for a somewhat sportier handling saloon. Personally I've never found it a problem.

I'd strongly recommend it to anyone wanting a medium sized saloon with a bit more pzaz than your average family car.

I'll have another in due course.

Mazda 3 | Smart, Practical and enjoyable

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is my second Mazda. Like the first (Mazda 6, 2.0 petrol) it has been extremely reliable, practical and comfortable. It is very economical on longer runs, and gets a consistent 50+ mpg when used locally. I can't comment on the cost of repairs, it hasn't needed any!

The car is very much the family workhorse, it looks and feels strong, doesn't complain when well loaded, and handling feels safe, even in bad conditions. Unlike it's cousin, the Focus, it looks smart rather than flashy.

The only niggle I have is over rear visibility when parking - the sensors fitted by the supplier are very helpful.

Mazda 3 | Mazda 3

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1999cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Generally a good comfortable mid-range family car. Stacks up well against rivals. Unfussy level of equipment, all works well.
Road-holding and ride reasonable.
2 litre chain-cam engine is smooth, and needs only minor maintenance. Performance is adequate but needs higher gearing for long distance cruising (6 speed gearbox a marginal improvement on 5 speed)and economy
Moderate luggage/storage space - soft bags pack better than cases. Rear seats could flatten to improve space for larger load, but versatile.

Would recommend and consider later model next time.

Mazda 3 | Mazda 3

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I changed from a Nissan Almera to the Mazda and I found it less smooth to drive. It had been serviced so it wasn't a faulty functionality; it requires more revs to start up and drive off, so is therefore less economic. It's otherwise enjoyable to drive, with good extras such as anti skid.
It is very reliable.
The boot space is limited.
Servicing costs are very expensive.
Running costs are expensive as it requires super unleaded fuel.
The windscreen wipers only have 2 standard settings; it is not possible to adjust the wiper speed settings.

Mazda 3 | Nippy Mazda 3

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A nippy little car, easy to drive and park and running costs good but I think the service charge every year rather steep considering we only do 5k a year, (we have a second car.
As far as comfort, I think the seats are hard and after 50 miles I need to stop and stretch, it could be I an use to larger cars ie Volvo, but it's not a bad little car and my wife thinks it's great.

Mazda 3 | Quick when needed

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

My 2.2 Diesel Sport has plenty of power when it's needed and that makes overtaking much safer. The car is small but comfortable and has plenty of features which make driving easy,(auto lights, auto wipers, good air-con etc.)Fuel consumption is also excellent. Seats are supportive.
This is the second Mazda 3 Sport I've owned, and they have both been very good.

Mazda 3 | 2010 Mazda 3 TS Saloon

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

A great small car that has been reliable and economic to run. (it has now 35000 miles on the clock.) Being double overhead cam, it is quite nippy as well.The dashboard is well laid out with all info. easy to read and the steering wheel buttons and switches are easy to get used to. It has good suspension which makes a comfortable and safe ride.

Mazda 3 | My Mazda

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have owned it from new and have had only one problem with it. My air conditioning system broke down and had to be replaced. Unfortunately expensive but not extraordinarily so. A further part was needed but this was provided and installed free by the garage. Beyond that extremely reliable and fulfilled all my expectations.

Mazda 3 | MAZDA 3

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2007
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is a nice car to drive - responsive and handles well, but there is quite a bit of road noise and the engine is quite noisy too. It isn't very fuel efficient using super unleaded. I've had no problems, so a high score for reliability. There's sufficient passenger space for 3 adults, but the boot space is only average.

Mazda 3 | Mazda 3 Sport Diesel

Added: 20th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Good all round hatchback, relatively quick and has good handling. Rear wheel arches don't intrude into the load bay very much, so has a useful load area.
Slightly disappointed with the fuel economy averages around 43 to 44mpg, but that is with spirited driving, will do much better if one pussy foots around.

Mazda 3 | Mazda 3TS

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1598cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Bought this car second hand from a dealer & it has had very few problems in the 5 years of ownership. It passes its MOT without needing major work & the only glitch was a failing battery after 4 years & an altimeter that needed changing. However, the annual road tax is quite high & increases every year.

Mazda 3 | Mazda 3

Added: 12th of January 2016
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2008
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Was very impressed the way the sales person conducted the sale I didn't feel at all uncomfortable or pressurised into the sale. Awaiting notification of vehicle being released after faults being rectified and seviced and new mot ,when i receive the car i will then be able to give a proper review

Mazda 3 | Mazda 3 Tamura

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Have only owned the car for a few months but very pleased with it so far. Fairly nippy, comfortable and reliable. Came to us in very good condition from only one previous lady owner. Not as cheap to run as I was hoping - road tax bracket is still fairly high.

Mazda 3 | downsizing.

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

having nearly always driven mazda 6 or 626s downsizing has some disadvantages. the comfort is not quite as good and with long legs you miss the extra couple of inches for them. otherwise the car is very good and i will get used to the lack of space eventually.

Mazda 3 | Japanese reliability!

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Comfortable and practical car with good fuel economy. Only one problem in 7 years - car refused to start one morning due to particulate filter. This highlights only negative comment - occasional nasty surprise of high-cost maintenance items for diesel car!

Filter Mazda 3 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.