Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Mazda 2 Reviews

Mazda 2

Welcome to the Mazda 2 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Mazda 2 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£10,500 - £13,500
AA Cars Average
£9,095
MPG
26.2 - 68.9
CO2 (g/km)
107 - 257
Tax Band
B - M
Noise Level
66.7 - 73.4

Mazda 2 | An excellent car for the 21st Century.

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 1340cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

It is a good size for a modern car; I am 5'9" and four of me would fit comfortably into the vehicle. Conversely it is also small enough to be easily manoeuvred through town traffic. It has adequate power from it's 86 BHP, revvy motor but it is also relaxed at cruising speeds on the motorway and has good economy at legal speeds.
A best of 54.8 MPG and overall 47.3 MPG.
Five doors provide added convenience.
On the three door model, once tipped forwards, the front seats do not return to their previously adjusted position.
The handling is fun and the roadholding reassuring.
The standard Toyo R27 185/55 R15 tyres have performed very well and after regular tyre rotation each has 5mm of tread left, after 26000 miles.
The seats are comfortable and supportive, if you position the backrest sensitively.
The boot space is enough for day to day needs; a shame the extended boot floor is not flat as in the current Polo.
Visibility is good to the rear unlike many contemporaries with their kicked up C pillars but the angle and thickness of the passenger side A pillar and wing mirror combination obstructs the view of the kerb during left hand turns.
The gear change is precise and the brakes perform well under normal conditions but new brake discs were needed after 26000 miles/5 years of use.
I stopped using the main dealer even though they supported me in getting the lacquer bubbling alloys replaced. Why? ...I booked the car in by appointment so I could wait for two of my tyres to be switched to new alloys, balanced and refitted. How long? ..one hour.... two hours? ...2 hours 47 minutes!!
Event tyres recently fitted 4 new tyres to my wife's car in 40 minutes!
The fitter was asked by the receptionist to bring my car to reception as I had waited so long.
The fitter took it to a space 100 metres away by the main exit from the dealership and then in full view, instead of bringing my keys directly to the reception started throwing snow balls into the garage area presumably at his mates.
Faults; the lacquer on all 4 wheels, including the replacements, is bubbling up and one of the rear parcel shelf ties has frayed where it hooks onto the rear hatch and broken.
A metallic twang from the driver's side window lift was 'cured' hopefully by removing the door card and oiling the moving parts. Otherwise the car is holding up after 5 years.
I would have liked a trip computer; now standard on later models and an electric sunroof but it was a relatively cheap car at £9500.
Overall a fun means of transport without necessarily risking life and licence to enjoy it's driving virtues!

Mazda 2 | 2008 Mazda 2

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 1348cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

We bought the Mazda in 2011 and so far it has been perfectly reliable, comfortable and quite nippy. It was bought to replace a Fiat Panda which we had for three years from new. It has been a little improvement over the Fiat but my wife does not like driving it. After the Fiat she finds the controls, seating and view from the drivers seat not to her liking.It is also less practicle and more difficult to carry large or awkward loads. I feel the Mazda, like most cars, is not perfect for all drivers and we are looking to replace it in the next 6 months with something slightly larger. This time I will insist that my wife and not just myself will take it for a test drive.

Mazda 2 | mazda 2 tamura

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1359cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

i love the styling of this car but it is quite basic, despite not being the cheapest model in the range.
i have a number of petty complaints such as the indicators dont cancel themselves properly but as this is a fairly cheap small car these things are to be expected.
one thing i do struggle with is the size of the fuel tank. i drive a lot and need to fill up far too often compared to my last car which was a similar size.
so far it has proved reliable at 2 years old all i have needed to replace is the tyres.
i would probably not buy another although i like the car it is more for the styling than the performance/comfort and gadgets.

Mazda 2 | Mazda 2 Sport Hatchback

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2008
  • 1498cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

When I was looking to buy a newer car I was considering another brand. I saw the Mazda and liked the looks - drove it and loved it. Instantly comfortable for my dogy back unlike many other brands. Good ajustable seat position. Plenty of power to get you going when overtaking and on longer it runs well and is very quiet and comfortable.
Not the cheapest car for fuel economy and the back seats do not fold flat which is an issue.
I will proably buy another one when I need to replace my car.

Mazda 2 | Mazda 2

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2016
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is the third Mazda I have owned and I am generally very happy with it. I bought new for the first time as I have recently retired and wanted a car I could rely on. It is simple to operate and very economical. It's not the most comfortable but I don't do many long journeys so it's not really an issue for me. To be fair, it may be that I need to adjust the seat to be more suitable for me. I would definitely recommend Mazda for reliability and economy.

Mazda 2 | A joy to drive Mazda 2 SE-L Nav Auto

Added: 2nd of February 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2015
  • 1498cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This car is a joy to drive - the steering is light, but the feel is still good and it holds the road even better than my old Mazda 323 did. It is very comfortable with a good level of trim and equipment. Average MPG was 39.3 when it was delivered and this figure is rising as I drive it further. So far I can't fault it and I am very pleased with my choice. I found Perry's Mazda Blackburn an excellent dealer and would recommend them.

Mazda 2 | Mazda 2 Antares 1.4 TD

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I bought the car new in 2006 and have not been disappointed.
It's very economical on fuel and I've only had to have a few parts replaced.
It's still running on the original battery and always starts first time.
Although it's only classed as a small car, I'm over 6ft tall and can do long distance trips without discomfort.
I've now done 68k miles and hope to have it for a few years more.

Mazda 2 | Mazda

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 13000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 2

On the whole I have been very pleased with this car, it is the first car that I have had from new.

I chose this model because I needed a large boot and it has proved to be very roomy.

The front seats are very comfortable for long journeys.

I doubt I would have a petrol version again as it has been very costly on fuel compared with my previous car that was a Vauxhall Corsa.

Mazda 2 | Good for the price

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Smashing little shopping trolley. Boot is a bit limited but with the back seat folded I have transported all sorts of bulky items. My car lives outside and the bodywork is standing up well to UK winters.
Equally at home around town and piling up and down the motorway. Very economical on long runs, managed Yorkshire to London and back on one tankful!

Mazda 2 | Am I content!

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

It`s never let me down since having it from new. Mazda servicing pricing seems a bit expensive for simple item changes. AC top up lasted 4 months , never bothered after that. I`m 6` 2" and more than comfy for me. Fuel consumption is good provided you drive carefully. It`s nippy if you do put your foot down. I`d consider another one.

Mazda 2 | mazda 2

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2010
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Good little car, had no problems with it despite doing reasonable mileage. About to have first child though and not convinced a three door is really suitable for putting a car seat in and out of. Reasonably fuel effective though small tank, tax price is ok and boot size good. Quite comfortable, no gadgets though. Would own another.

Mazda 2 | Nice but growly

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I find that this car needs a more aggressive style of driving than is normal for me. In particular, I find I need to select a lower gear than I have been used to in other cars. It also makes a very growly noise, which I don't really like, although others might. However it is a very nice car overall and very reliable

Mazda 2 | Performs well on all counts

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Very impressed with the Mazda 2. 5 doors, 5 seats, low CO2 rating, 5* NCAP safety rating, good performance, relatively cheap to buy, well made, good service interval, £20 road-tax, low insurance group. No wonder it was chosen by motoring journalists as their "World Car of the Year" (in 2008, I think it was)

Mazda 2 | Super Little Car

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1198cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

This is the best little car I have ever had. It is supper to drive. Room in the back is a little restricting but I do not travel far with rear seat passengers. My only complaint is that the front wheels have rusted in just 3 years and Mazda do not accept any responsibility.

Mazda 2 | Great for carting mower

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I use this car for general use and as a 'van' for my part time gardening job. With the back seatsb folded I can carry mower + strimmer, rotavator and any ammount of forks spades etc.
The only problems have been two broken front springs from hitting potholes.

Mazda 2 | mazda 2 sport

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2010
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Downsized from a 2 litre, I am short on space for luggage etc. On a long trip I have to keep topping up with fuel as the fuel tank is much smaller than previous cars. However, for a small car the engine performance, and acceleration is good.

Mazda 2 | mazda 2

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1400cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Great car. But we bought it thinking that the road tax would be cheaper.Because it is automatic and 1400cc it is still about £170 pa. Seeing as my brotherinlaws new 2000cc Audi is tax free we feel cheated.

Mazda 2 | Reliable Japanese Car

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Having driven my Mazda for over 10 years, I cannot fault it for reliability. I know the car will always start, even on a cold frosty morning. It has been fairly economical to run and very easy to drive.

Mazda 2 | Mazda 2

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2009
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

A suitable runaround for an urban area. Very good petrol consumption. Would prefer a 4 door for ease of access. Comfortable for smaller journeys. We use our other car for longer trips.

Mazda 2 | Mazda2

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have had a few Mazda cars over the years as well as my husband we are a family of 4 we all have different Mazdas and never had any problems with any of them a good motor car

Filter Mazda 2 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.