Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Range Rover Reviews

Range Rover

Welcome to the Range Rover review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Range Rover cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£71,295 - £98,395
AA Cars Average
£42,769
MPG
17.2 - 30.1
CO2 (g/km)
253 - 398
Tax Band
K - M
Noise Level
71.0 - 75.0

Land Rover Range Rover | GOOD BUT EXPENSIVE

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 3800cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

IT IS THE BEST CAR I HAVE EVER OWNED BUT WHEN IT GOES WRONG (AND IT DOES ON AVERAGE ONCE BETWEEN SERVICING) ITS EXPENSIVE TO REPAIR.
ON THE ROAD ITS COMFORTABLE, QUIET AND FAST ENOUGH TO CRUISE EFFORTLESSLY FOR MANY HOURS ON END. REAR SEATS ARE NOT GREAT BUT COMFORTABLE
ON AND OFF ROAD, IN THE SNOW AND WET IT IS FANTASTIC. IT HAS NEVER GOT STUCK
28MPG IS ALL THAT IS EXPECTED WHICH IS NOT BRILLIANT
INTERIOR IS BRILLIANT AND THE DRIVER AIDS FROM HEATED STEERING WHEEL TO THE REAR VIEW CAMERA ARE WELL EXECUTED AND EASY TO OPERATE.
RANGE ROVERS HAVE A PRESENCE ON THE ROAD AND THE HIGH DRIVING POSITION AND TOP END PRICE CONTRIBUTE TO THAT REPUTATION. MOST ARE STATUS SYMBOLS AND NEVER SEE THE ENVIRONMENT THEY ARE DESIGNED TO EXCELL IN.
DOING AROUND 1000 MILES A WEEK ON AVERAGE AND I CAN THINK OF NO OTHER CAR I WOULD WANT TO SPEND THAT AMOUNT OF TIME IN.
IT WOULD BE A HARD VEHICLE TO REPLACE.
RANGE ROVER OWNERS PUT UP WITH THE FAULTS BECAUSE WHEN ITS WORKING NOTHING CAN MATCH IT. WITH A THE PRICE TAG JUST SHORT OF £100K YOU WOULD EXPECT IT TO BE GOOD AND IT IS BUT OTHER CAR COMPANIES SCREW THEIRS TOGETHER BETTER.

Land Rover Range Rover | Why Landrovers are kings of the road

Added: 15th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1997
  • 2495cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

My 1997 P38 Landrover is the most reliable and low cost car i have every owned. If you go to a local landrover specialist and NOT a landrover dealer then maintenance and servicing costs are quite reasonable. In the last 7yrs I have spent just over £3000 in service and maintenance costs for a car I paid only £4000 for 7yrs ago, where as my previous land rover discovery cost over the same amount of time £12000 on what was (used car) £12000. Servicing only once a year (every 6000 miles) between £180 to £260 (small or large service), £225 car tax and £235 fully comp insurance. Parts if you go for the genuine, but NON landrover marked are a lot cheaper to buy than the originals, but better quality than the cheaper Brit parts and last longer. Add together cheap running costs with large comfortable leather seats with wooden dashboard, auto gearbox and air suspension in a car that can go literally anywhere is really good value for money and half the cost of Landrovers made from 5yrs later onwards.

Land Rover Range Rover | 2009 Range Rover Westminster

Added: 23rd of May 2014
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 3600cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

A lot of car for the money. It looks stunning, it drives great and it's up to date with servicing.

The leather was grubby and scratched but buy a leather repair kit which is very cheap, clean, colour and top coat the scratched or damaged areas and it's back to new again!

They are a little costly to run but no more so than any other big 4x4, if buying one check it carefully to make sure everything works and get a new set of Tyres thrown in if they are worn out, because a lot sell them with low tread.

I had a blocked rear washer, missing rubber seal for lower tailgate button and a couple of cosmetic bits, all fixed easily myself.

Some have a bit of corrosion under the upper tailgate (mine did) don't let this put you off they have a 6 year anti corrosion warranty which means Landover will fix it free of charge providing service history is up to date.

The most important part of buying, get a warranty (at least a year) to cover unseen issues and make sure it has full service history.

Land Rover Range Rover | 19 years old going great

Added: 15th of August 2015
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1996
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

got this p38 3 years ago last owner had for 10 years full service history up till then I have done all servicing and it's been great never let me down always got me home have rebuilt Air compressor changed a couple of air bags even upper lower ball joints all parts readily avaluble cheaper then dealer prices on line never failed an MOT past first time all the time I have had it it has run on biodiesel getting 28 to gallon 85p liter ,I'll in all a great car ideal if you have kids or large dogs load space is great with seats down will go anyware off-road poformance is second to none. if you can do some of the jobs yourself it can be a cheap car to keep , if I had to use main stealers all the time I could not afford to keep just as example upper lower ball joints quote from dealers £750 do it yourself (plenty of info how to online ) £100 DIY

Land Rover Range Rover | Absolute rubbish - be prepared to throw good money after bad

Added: 1st of July 2016
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 3600cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Bought 6 months ago with 130,000 miles on the clock and a full main dealer history. Have had nothing but problems:
- alternator failure, car broke down at roadside and needed recovery. £680 non-dealer repair bill
- wiper linkage failure, car had to be recovered after the wipers packed up in pouring rain. £560 non-dealer repair bill
- rear brakes seizing on despite pads and discs both being fine. £350 repair bill
- air suspension failure, car not safe to drive after full suspension collapse and needed recovery. Repair bill awaited.

Unless you have hundreds of pounds to spare keeping your car fixed (in addition to normal maintenance costs like tyres, servicing etc) this isn't the car for you. And if you do have that type of money to burn, get something better and newer.

Land Rover Range Rover | Saving Government Money

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 4600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 4

I have to have this car as I am asthmatic and my partner has cancer, and I may need to get to A&E in an emergency.
The ambulance won't come out here (deep in farming countryside) and as we get very deep snow, I need to be able to get out at any time. Only RRs and farmers' tractors can cope with the snow in winter, so the RR is our emergency vehicle. Great - saves the emergency crews from having to get off their arses and get us to A&E.
All my pension goes into paying an horrendous road fund tax and high fuel prices because of this emergency aspect - I may go into an asthma attack or my partner may have a bleeding episode. It all means that there is little money to use the car for other purposes and I probably get out of this open prison about once a month.

Land Rover Range Rover | Range Rover 4.6 V8 HSE

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1999
  • 4554cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

Having bought a 1999 Range Rover Petrol with a big 4.6 V8 I thought it would be very expensive to run. It has proved very reliable so far, with excellent build quality and great features for such an old vehicle. It has been bought primarily with towing in mind and does the job perfectly. Fuel consumption hovers around 20mpg if used sensibly, but will drop considerably if used to its full potential. This doesn't matter too much for us as we are limiting the mileage we are doing. It has been got for a purpose, and it does the job brilliantly. The serene nature of its handling means you have to be careful in the corners - it does weigh 2280KG - but given its size, it does very well. And there is so much space, what more could you want.

Land Rover Range Rover | Luxurious Practicality

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 3600cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Running costs higher than average but balanced out by the comfortable ride, go anywhere capability and the cavernous interior for passengers, driver and luggage. I have had many cars over the past 50 years and this Vogue SE is by far the easiest to drive and park and the most comfortable car I have ever owned. With Pirelli Scorpion tyres it sticks to the road like glue and takes snow and heavy rain in its stride comfortably. The feature I like most is the remote controlled diesel heater, which clears snow, ice and frost off of all windows and the car is toasty warm if I switch it on for 20 minutes whilst I have my breakfast. Pricey car, but a very good secondhand buy between 3 & 4yrs old. You get what you pay for.

Land Rover Range Rover | A car for all seasons

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1998
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I bought my P38 in 2006, it having had one owner from new. The condition after owning it for seven years is still outstanding. We run a small farm business and this has been ideal for our needs. Whether we need to cross a field,
deliver produce or spend a day at leisure, our P38 ticks all the boxes. I am particularly happy with its comfort and visibility. The capacious load space when the seats are folded down is perfect in area and height... you can transport almost anything. This vehicle's reliability has been exemplary and tows our stock trailer quite happily.
Granted, it may not be the most economical car to run, but balanced against its all round versatility, its a winner with me.

Land Rover Range Rover | V8 and LPG

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1998
  • 4600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

The Range Rover P38 is one of the best Range Rovers made without too many pointless gimmicks, but with amazing abilities to cope with any conditions, and supremely comfortable and fantastic visibility.
The 4.6 V8 is actually economical to run with a LPG conversion, as LPG is currently £0.65 per litre, and I can get around 30 mpg on motorways, thus costing me less that commuting by bus in my area.
The Range Rover P38 takes total practicality and reliability to a new level in my experience, but it would be worth noting that I live in East Lothian, and we do get seriously bad weather and usually snow in winter. I don't think I would say the same if I still lived in West London.

Land Rover Range Rover | Luxury

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2996cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Always wanted one, absolutely love it.

Accept not the cheapest car to run but keep a light right foot and not too bad and no worse than expected.

The RR is sheer luxury, whilst 7 years old now, it's on private plates and looks 3 years old and still gets admiring looks.
It is also amazingly practical, great for the dog (although he does need to take a run up to jump in!) fantastic on short or long journeys but was amazed at how good a) off-road and b) round the Nurburgring.

Only downside is parking - need to either go to quieter areas of car parks or use "larger" spaces as won't fit in a lot of spaces!

Would I buy another one - hell yes!!

Land Rover Range Rover | Range Rover

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2003
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I have owned the car for six of its ten years, it has covered 54000 miles, I only use it for long journeys and therefore cover 3000 miles max per year. The build quality is very poor, the mechanical repair costs are huge each year, this year the biggest repair was £3500 for rebuilt gearbox, torque converter and oil cooler. These costs each year are the reason I have been unable to replace the car. We also run a second car and have had it from new, 2005, Vauxhall Corsa, no mechanical or bodywork repairs, 30000 miles, in comparison a far better car in all ways.

Land Rover Range Rover | Strong old P38 Rangie

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1997
  • 4800cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

Bought for less than £3,000 with huge list of replaced parts and work done. Had it converted to LPG for £2,500. Have had to replace a couple of suspension air bags and the transfer box fluid coupling, and have the brake compensator fixed and an air-con condensate pipe re-attached. So, not cheap or particularly reliable to run, although gas at 65-76p/litre helps (16mpg on petrol and 13mpg on gas), but it's super comfy, strong and effortlessly tows full-size cars on my trailer, even in snow. Just what I need - no complaints.

Land Rover Range Rover | Towing with Range Rover

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 4400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 4

Apaprt from some reliability issues and high running costs, which you would expect, the Range Rover makes and excellent tow car, very easy on motorway for overtaking or going up long steep sloops in the west county. You can maintain what ever speed you require.
Lots if room inside for all your items, have large top box, no effect in performance.
Would be buying a newer version in years to come

Land Rover Range Rover | Good for towing

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 4400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 4

My range rover (my sixth) is very comfortable but big, I have one to be able to tow a double axel, heavy caravan safety. Servicing by a non land rover garage isn't too bad, parts are very expensive if got from land rover. Fuel is the biggest problem at 22mpg at best and 16 mpg average and the price it is now does stop me doing as much as I would like.

Land Rover Range Rover | Big old beastie

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1990
  • 3950cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

Its a big old beastie & I love it to bits. It has loads of room , a good high driving position, the V8 sounds brilliant and if I ever get the gas working & paint it, it will be perfect.

And: IT DOESN'T BEEP AT ME CONSTANTLY FOR EVERY LITTLE THING UNDER THE SUN!!!

Land Rover Range Rover | Range Rover, Vogue.

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 4400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

I have owned this car for some years and cannot imagine a more complete vehicle. It has almost go-anywhere capability with adequate space for people and luggage. Offers great performance for a car of its weight and is comfortable on long journeys.

Land Rover Range Rover | personal view

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1997
  • 2495cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

my car was bought "used" two years ago and has served faithfully since purchase.i am most satisfied with its performance considering it is a very large vehicle and its comfort suits my physical needs.,which I have to pay extra for.

Land Rover Range Rover | Range Rover

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 4000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

Extrememly comfortable to drive and ride in - heavy on fuel though. Practical vehicle living in the countryside, especially in winter. Elaborate security system can be problematic if something goes wrong! Would get another though.

Land Rover Range Rover | alternative fuel

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1995
  • 4000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

Older vehicle but converted to LPG cutting the running cost down, making a large 4x4 vehicle with comfort affordable to run.

Vehicle was bought on a trail basis to compare for myself the running cost for a larger vehicle.

Filter Range Rover Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.