Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Land Rover Freelander 2 Reviews

Land Rover Freelander 2

Welcome to the Land Rover Freelander 2 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Land Rover Freelander 2 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£23,705 - £36,905
AA Cars Average
£13,332
MPG
25.2 - 47.1
CO2 (g/km)
158 - 265
Tax Band
G - M
Noise Level
68.0 - 73.0

Land Rover Freelander 2 | Happy Long Distance Driver

Added: 23rd of August 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2014
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Previously a Freelander 1 owner, I had the usual run of expensive technical problems with that, but the ride and off road capability was excellent. I bought the Freelander 2 from new as I wanted one with a sunroof and they didn't appear on demonstrators. I do fairly high mileage 35000 miles in 18 months. The economy is much better than the mark 1. The driving position is better too, though I replaced the standard seat with a Recaro made to measure seat, that I had made some years ago. This gives a slightly lower driving position, useful as I'm tall and like to be able to look across the screen under the rear view mirror. Off road the car performs very well (I pulled a Jeep out of the mud, one day). On the road the car handles very well with less noise than many say that it makes. I recently had a rear tyre blow, at high speed, and only noticed an increase on noise level, handling was unaffected. That sort of thing gives you great confidence in a car.

The only complaints that I have are that I miss the rear opening window (available on the old Freelander), the boot is definitely on the small side, and Land Rover have stopped making it which means I can't buy another new one!

Land Rover Freelander 2 | My first freelander

Added: 2nd of February 2015
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2014
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

This is my first FL and a joy to drive. The command drive position gives excellent visibility, alongside the large front and rear windscreens and large side mirrors. The drive feels assured and no matter what the elements throw at you still feel confident at the wheel. Heated seats are a real pleasure on those cold mornings and the armchair seats with lumber support make any journey comfortable and effortless. Despite the reports of wind noise at high speed and body roll in corners, I have never found these to be problem and no worse than that in previous vehicles I have owned (i.e. Peugeot, Audi). Fuel consumption is average (again, no worse than previous cars owned)and boot space is adequate for what I need. Yes, the FL is expensive compared to rivals, but as with everything in life, you pay for what you get, In the FL you get the confidence of a go anywhere premium vehicle with a stylish comfortable interior. My model is the SE Tech with sat nav, auto lights and wipers and other toys as well. The Meridian audio system gives a real premium sound quality too. Glad I took the plunge into LR territory and doubt I will ever go back if I can hep it! :)

Land Rover Freelander 2 | Freelander2 TD4e white/black special edition

Added: 27th of September 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

This is one of the best and worst cars I have ever purchased! I bought it in 2014 from a franchised dealer with 36000 miles registered. It is a lovely looking vehicle which is ideal for family motoring and towing our caravan. Fuel economy is as expected and it is spacious and comfortable. However it did have a towbar fitted when purchased suggesting previous towing activity of some sort which leads me to believe that it must have had a hard life prior to my ownership! After only 50000 miles the clutch was showing signs of wear necessitating clutch/ flywheel replacement. Shortly afterwards the dreaded warning appeared on the dash" transmission fault.traction reduced" which results in vehicle running in 2 wheel drive. This appears to be a common problem with the Haldex system fitted to Land Rovers and is VERY expensive to repair. Additionally the tailgate at one point refused to close/ lock, the battery is showing signs of wear and an " engine system fault" warning light comes and goes at will, possibly electrical? So Freelander 2 ownership is not always a bed of roses!

Land Rover Freelander 2 | Land Rover Freelander 2 -3 years on

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Having just returned from and extensive tour of Scotland, I have found the Freelander to be a superbly capable and comfortable vehicle. It is not the most economical vehicle however the ability to do anything you ask of it is easily recompense for this.

This is my third Freelander- previous models suffered the usual faults and cost quite a lot to keep running. The mark 2 is a completely different car, powerful, comfortable and reliable although the servicing costs are still on the high side. I would definitely buy another one and it is now interesting to see that Land Rover Freelander 2 is in the top 10 cared to pass the first MOT. The only thing that seems to have a mind of its own is the 'Stop Start' function that sometimes works and sometimes doesn't!

I have the S model which does not have the 'bells and whistles' but I do think that LR could give you a bit more for your money rather than having to stump up an extra £5k for the GS model - a rear parcel shelf should be standard as should a spare wheel, after all 4X4s are built to be used!

Land Rover Freelander 2 | Happy owner

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2179cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I bought this vehicle almost 2 years ago with 137,000 miles on the clock with a full service history. I cannot fault the vehicle apart from the mpg which averages about 33 urban and 38 on motorway.It has a 6 speed automatic gearbox which is very smooth and also has sports mode to select if you want to drive it like a manual car but without a clutch.It has terrain response which you select for different road conditions like snow,gravel,sand and deep mud.It has a wading depth of 450mm which is handy if you come across flooded roads and it is also very reassuring in the snow.I also love the comfort and cruise control for long motorway journeys, and the best thing about the automatic is when you drive into towns or city's and you have all the congestion there is none of the annoying gear changing you have with a manual.I would highly recommend this type of vehicle and will certainly be looking for more of the same when I do go to replace it but that will probably be after it has done about 200,000 miles.

Land Rover Freelander 2 | freelander 2 xs td4

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

A very underestimated vehicle i have found it very reliable and have covered approx 12000 miles in the last 9 months also using it for towing a trailer & a caravan. The vehicle is used of road and have found it to be very capable even with the standard road tyres. I cant understand that when you read reviews they state the car is noisy on motorways i would say its no noisier than any other vehicle i've ever owned or driven When I bought the vehicle Landrover provided a off road course which was very informative & fun

plus ponts
NIce commanding view of road
Comfortable on long journeys
Very easy to drive
Decent size fuel tank
Heated windscreen excellent
Terrain response system works well and the vehicle is very capable off road
500mm wading depth does mean no problems with localised flooding
Its a Landrover. Badge means a lot to some people

negative points
Only average fuel consumption
Boot space adequate not large

Land Rover Freelander 2 | 2014 TD4 SE Tech

Added: 4th of June 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2014
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Bought brand new in September 2014 with panoramic sunroof and privacy glass options. I have done just over 21,000 trouble free miles. One service so far at under £200.00. My previous car was a 2012 Audi TT roadster (mid-life crisis car) and since I've had the FL2 I don't miss the TT one tiny bit. My FL2 is the best car I have ever owned and would recommend to anyone. As a freelance photographer it's awesome for getting to the job in comfort and safety and swallowing up all of my gear with room to spare. Great power, great driving position, quality interior and all very well put together. Oh, and there's little or no wind noise from the mirrors, even at high motorway speed! I went for the manual gearbox as I expect to do over 130,000 during my ownership and not sure how the auto gearbox would cope. Any high mileage autos out there?

Land Rover Freelander 2 | Superb British built vehicle.

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

This is my second Freelander 2, the first I owned for 18 months and my latest acquired new, mid 2010. I have had NO problems with either. They are built in a very modern factory in Halewood, Liverpool, not the West Midlands, and the quality and reliability reflects this.
The latest versions even use less fuel, although 2700 miles around Europe last month with 100mph runs for hours on the Autobahns on occasions, still returned a not too shabby 32.6mpg overall.
A delight to drive and own. My local Dealership is a pleasure to visit when the servicing is due and overall running costs are good.
We ought to encourage the Police, Motorway Services and other tax payer funded organisations to replace their BMW/Volvo/others with British built products!

Land Rover Freelander 2 | Freelander 2

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2007
  • 2179cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I bought this vehicle second hand for several reasons, mainly; high seated entry due to health needs, comfort, 4x4 due to location, feeling of safety because of it's size, it meets my personal performance requirements and it's a very good towing vehicle for caravaning. Space and practicabilty is given 3 stars due to the boot space could be larger; no good for more than two people's baggage if going away that's why I have a roof bars added for this purpose. A "parcel shelf" on the front nearside passenger's seat would be useful. Running costs; fuel consumption is a bit disappointing, servicing costs seem to be higher than some other makes. Given the opportunity I would I would relish a new vehicle and continue running Land Rover Freelanders

Land Rover Freelander 2 | Landrover Freelander 2 TD4 GS

Added: 12th of April 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2009
  • 2179cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Great 4 x 4 and performs well as a general road vehicle. To go off road you need more robust tyres. I purchased this vehicle to tow a caravan. Although I was within the recommended weight limit the vehicle did tend to wander. With the Freelander the tyre pressures are very important. Running costs do not relate to any official figures given by the manufacturer but have found that by careful driving I manage to get an average of 30mpg, which for this engine is good. The freelander 2 is comfortable to drive and to date has not given me any problems. The only small niggle is the size of the boot space when the rear seats are up. However when I go caravaning the seats are down and I do have sufficient space for all the camping gear.

Land Rover Freelander 2 | The only car you need

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

This is my second Freelander 2 and both of them have been totally reliable over the last five years. Having driven over 40 Company owned or privately owned vehicles in the last 45 years covering in excess of 1.5 million miles the Freelander2 has proved to be the most comfortable, flexible, carry almost anything, take you anywhere in any conditions reliable transport I have known.
The fact it is manufactured in England, stands out against its contempories and allows me to enjoy a sense of occasion each time I drive it just adds to its impressive abilities.
The only car I may consider exchanging it for would be a diesel electric hybrid version when it becomes available.

Land Rover Freelander 2 | 2011 Land Rover Freelander 2 - I love it!

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2011
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

This car is very capable and comfortable. I have had no reliability issues, and apart from servicing costs the only additional expenses from new have been 2 new tyres and a set of rear disk pads. Fuel consumption is not great around town but improves markedly when driving on motorways. Land Rovers are expensive to buy and the agents servicing costs are extortionate. The Freelander 2 has now been superseded by the Discovery Sport and I guess this will be my next purchase as I am convinced that the extra cost is worth it. One drawback of the Freelander 2 is the lack of space in the rear compartment as the Freelander is a few inches shorter than most family estate cars.

Land Rover Freelander 2 | Freelander 2 after 5 years

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Very much as expected - BUT the delivered MPG is, of course, much lower than the quoted figures because it is relatively low mileage and Mainly local(ish) journeys but performs better on longer journeys: the 6th gear is somewhat a waste of time as the revs at 70+MPH are only just over 2k and any slight slope drags at its heels at that speed (better if one travels normally at 80+MPH); servicing is ludicrously expensive through main agents and, as ever, there is no way of monitoring whether it is done properly and therefore if you are getting proper value for money; minor spares from manufacturer(e.g. wiper blades, footwell mats) are, again, ludicrously expensive.

Land Rover Freelander 2 | Freelander 2 SD4 HSE Diesel Automatic

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

An excellent 4 x 4. Very surefooted in all conditions. Off-road tyres much better for anything more than a muddy field but handled extremely well with normal road tyres in demanding conditions during "Landrover Experience". Superb for towing. Driving position,solid build and safety features give confidence. Very comfortable especially on long journeys. The SD4 engine is very responsive. Well equipped at this level. The Sat Nav is particularly good. Easy to park with front and rear sensors even though it is big. Not cheap to run (32mpg to date with lots of local driving). Boot space is not generous. Expensive!

Land Rover Freelander 2 | Freelander2 Review

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2190cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I bought the vehicle as an ex demonstrator. in Nov 2007. So far it has been very reliable and comfortable, both on road and occasionally off. Practical and spacious, well equipped and a pleasure to drive. It replaced an earlier model petrol Freelander, and I hope to replace it with another as anything else would be too big. I like the 5 door layout and the HSE model (which mine is),has all the features I need.
Even a lottery win would not tempt me to purchase anything more exotic.

Land Rover Freelander 2 | Outstanding performance

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2250cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

This is my first Landrover and I bought this new after several test drives and considerable research. The car has been 100% reliable and although the weight of the vehicle and size of the engine will never make it the most economical car on the market it is nevertheless competitive in this respect. Living in rural Scotland it has coped with flooding, ice and snow as well as long motorway journeys; this is an outstanding all round car. I will buy one again.

Land Rover Freelander 2 | freelander 2 xs

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Will buy another next time if I can find the correct model etc at the correct price
Loads of power, even more torque.
We live in the country,have 80 acres of land on which we do not always want to use the tractor. drive to france to ski each year.pull a variety of trailers,but are now retired and on a comparatively restricted income. A freelander is just about the perfect compromise between pulling power, space, cross country ability and running costs.

Land Rover Freelander 2 | My Freelander 2

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Well specced car, drives and handles well for it's size but is not as good as the original Freelander for me as it has grown too physically large; won't go in my garage and is sometimes a pain in public car park spaces. Finish is a bit fragile with thin paint and plastic that scratches easily, for example brushing road side vegetation. Thirsty, certainly nowhere near published figures. I have had five Freelanders, this is likely to be the last.

Land Rover Freelander 2 | Don't know yet

Added: 28th of May 2014
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 2179cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I have taken it for a test drive and then bought it.
We do not pick it up until the 1st of June, so don't know much else.
The comfort was great.
The running cost rating is based upon the MPG
The reliability is based upon talking to several people whom have one.
There is loads of space and it is going to be perfectly practical for our needs.
The performance seemed really good on the test drive. It was very responsive.

Land Rover Freelander 2 | Brilliant to drive

Added: 29th of August 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 2079cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Looks stylish on the road and feel confident and sure footed off road. I had the FL1 which was very good but became expensive when things started to go wrong. I haven't had the FL2 long so can't vouch for reliability but it goes well. I have the Eco which is returning about 40 to the gal (av). Which is only slightly down on the manu official figure. It has a full LR service history which gives me confidence.

Filter Land Rover Freelander 2 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.