Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Land Rover Freelander Reviews

Land Rover Freelander

Welcome to the Land Rover Freelander review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Land Rover Freelander cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£23,705 - £39,815
AA Cars Average
£12,614
MPG
22.7 - 37.2
CO2 (g/km)
205 - 298
Tax Band
K - M
Noise Level
68.0 - 74.1

Land Rover Freelander | Does the job

Added: 16th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 3

Having moved "down" from an early Discovery we were uncertain whether the "baby" Land Rover would do the job. As it happens it has been very good with all aspects of the variety of motoring we do - including frequent long motorway journeys and occasional time on a farm. Long distance comfort is fine and use either off road or in snow and ice has been surprisingly satisfactory.
We have an occasional requirement to tow a medium-capacity trailer which the Freelander fulfills with no issues.
Because of the advancing age of the vehicle the fixed costs (insurance, servicing) have come down significantly while over a week of a variety of fairly energetic motoring the fuel consumption has returned just shy of 35mpg all in.
As a three-door the access to the back seats for larger adults can be awkward on occasion but this is a comparatively rare requirement. The large doors - also a function of being a three-door - can be slightly awkward in tight parking-spaces. Loadspace is an occasional issue if we need to carry passengers but the roof bars do allow for a roofrack to be used for lighter objects.
For a vehicle of this "stature" the level of equipment is fairly basic - including the lack of hooks from which a suit or jacket can hang (a function of the removable rear roof section); however, we're not particularly concerned with having more gizmos which - ultimately - are just other things to go wrong. However, as a tall driver preferring a fairly upright driving position the top of the speedometer (around 70mph) is obscured by the steering wheel.
Something which works well is the automatic transmission with "command shift" for manual changes; this allows my wife to drive the vehicle as an automatic while I do so as a manual. It's my belief that the manual changes are smoother than the automatic ones.

Land Rover Freelander | Our lovely Freelander

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1996
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 3

We bought this vehicle second hand about 6 years ago. We noticed straight away that it seemed to have been designed with the comfort and needs of the driver and passengers in mind. It is excellent for long trips to Cornwall where a few of our family and lots of friends live and to go all over the British Isles on holidays and trips of exploration. It is also useful just to bung things in the back eg rubbish to the skips etc. We've had some bills and breakdowns but no more so than any other vehicle. We're in the AA and they've been splendid when needed. It is a little expensive on fuel but we can cope with that bearing in mind the advantages of this kind of vehicle. Just one problem - our next one would have four driver/passenger doors. When we bought our present vehicle we also had a four door Peugeot runabout and our son lived with us with his own four door car. Now we regularly need to take someone shopping and on other trips and as I have mobility problems the passenger has to go in the back and I keep having to get in and out to let them in and out!! Bear this in mind anyone who intends to keep this kind of vehicle for a few years.

Land Rover Freelander | Grown on me

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I hated this car for the first couple of years I owned it but it's grown on me. It had a completely new engine (via warranty) at under 1000 miles on the clock and a number of other niggling problems including the use of a suede seat material inserts which did not wear well. I had the seats recovered in leather. Problems largely stopped (apart from normal wear and tear)and the car has now done nearly 200000 with the clutch alone lasting 160000. It has its fair share of scrapes and chips but still performs much as it did when new. Driven sensibly despite the 2 litre engine and biggish body shaped like a breeze block with a brick on top on a run I usually get 50 mpg. Where it is outstanding is in its load capacity with the seats down and it would be quicker to say what hasn't been transported in it. Also in the bad winters of the last few years I have been able to get out when many couldn't. My wife and I did the complementarity 4X4 training which has proven to be invaluable. I shall keep it until it falls of its wheels.

Land Rover Freelander | My Freelander experience

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

Very safe, comfortable car to drive, with lots of space and excellent off-road capability. Great for safety and security in poor weather conditions. I like being high up for better vision, both for safety and the aesthetic experience. However it has very expensive running costs:poor fuel consumption (around 25-30 mpg), especially town/city driving, and road tax is high. I have to budget just to go for a run in the car for the day! Repairs are also very expensive (though I've not had anything major yet - that's when I'll have to say goodbye to it!). It is not a car for speed or quick maneuvering - it's for relaxed, elegant driving. I'll maybe stretch out another year of enjoyment from a car I love to drive, then will lower my sights and nearly break even with costs by getting a new or newer car with low tax, low fuel consumption and less likelihood of repair expenses. But I'll not love any other car nearly as much as my jeep!

Land Rover Freelander | Our Landy

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1996
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 3

Brilliant, comfortable, ideal for towing, and carrying stuff like rubbish to recycling. It's height allows good views all around and there's plenty of space inside.

The problems - with only 3 doors it's so inconvenient when giving people a lift. When we got it we had another car as well(4-door) AND we were all a lot younger and more supple so scrambling into the back was just good fun. We don't need it for towing any more either as we sold the caravan. The biggest bone of contention is having to pay so much car tax when we cause so little harm to the environment.

In brief we'd have another Freelander - 5-door this time - if we could afford it, but we can't and as we know all the ins and outs of the one we have we're content just to carry on enjoying it!

Land Rover Freelander | Freelander

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Feels very secure, much more comfortable ride than expected, reasonable economy and amazing for getting around in the snow. Whilst it is very practical in snow, there is not as much space as I would like, in particular I don't think it could take the standard IKEA pack in the load space behind the front seats. At 25,000 miles the car would still be on its original tyres but for a puncture which resulted in replacement. I have some reservations about the effectiveness or reliability of the stop/start on ours - it rarely seems to work. I have also managed to fool the engine management system when messing up on starting up, but rebooting the car by locking and unlocking it seems to work

Land Rover Freelander | FREELANDER 1 2006

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

...living in a rural location with a variety of terrain, this vehicle has proved to be reliable and fit for purpose...it is used on a daily basis by my wife and I mainly for shopping and social visits...in winter conditions it has performed well..load space is limited on occasions...family live in Aberdeen, Glasgow and Fife..find it comfortable and safe when we undertake these journeys...regularly serviced by Hamish, at Highland 4x4, we expect a few more good years from this vehicle.......73,000 miles completed at this point...tempted to update but being pensioners we will remain canny at this particular time...

Land Rover Freelander | Excellent car for the price

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1998
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 4

Can't fault a car which is 15 years old, cost just over £1200.00 over a year ago and is in very good condition for the year. Its practical, quite nippy, despite its size, not great on petrol but averaging 30mpg isn't impossible. Feels safe, being that much higher up than an average saloon car. Better in adverse weather conditions. Everyone tells me how smart it is but then I've always been enthusiastic about cars and their maintenance. You don't see that many on the roads any more so it sticks out from a lot of the newer, much more expensive cars which actually don't do anything different from mine.

Land Rover Freelander | Old Freelander TD4

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2001
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Had the Freelander over 3 years now, bought it with 124,000 miles on the clock and it has now clocked up almost 140,000.
Mechanically the vehicle has proved on the whole reliable, needing only a cam sensor, alternator and prop shaft electric bearings replacing. The electric sun roof mechanism packed in last year and the vehicle has needed a door locking mechanism fitting and a window winding mechanism fitting. The bodywork is in very good condition for a 12 year old vehicle.
Overall I am very pleased with the vehicle.

Land Rover Freelander | Land Rover Freelander

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1951cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

We bought our 2003 Land Rover Freelander in 2006. Other than a problem with the rear 'diff' which was fortunately covered by our AA breakdown repair cover it has been a very reliable vehicle. We have travelled to Europe and extensively throughout the UK. Its getting old now but just keeps going is comfortable and perfectly meets our needs. Its a pity that our model has been replaced as we would not replace this Freelander with the new model.

Land Rover Freelander | happy

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I am quite happy with my car,it does the job that I choose it for.It will not get stuck in mud like my previous one did,although I'm not silly with it I don't drive through thick mud,I value my car too much,the traction is quite good so I don't skid on rougher ground,it accomodates my two large dogs and myself.
In short it does everything expected of it,although it is fairly expensive to run.

Land Rover Freelander | Freelander Sport Auto

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

A very comfortable car which is very easy to drive and fairly economical considering that it is a 4X4. The handbrake is not an efficient design and causes concern when stationary in traffic as it will not hold the car fully when in Drive. Apart from that only small issues with the Viscous Coupling Unit showing signs of wear after 107,000 miles. No rust or other signs of ageing on the car.

Land Rover Freelander | Land Rover Freelander 1

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I have had my Freelander for 6 years and find it a car you either love or hate. Fortunately I love it even though parts are very expensive and performance is measured by a calendar rather than a stop watch. It is very reliable in all weathers and extremely comfortable. When it becomes time to change it (not for a while I hope) I'm quite sure it will be for another Freelander.

Land Rover Freelander | Freelander 2.0 diesel sport

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Relatively high spec vehicle that is comfortable to drive over short or long distances, but has two major shortfalls.
1) Electric window mechanism are subject to failing as a result of water ingress to inner doors, which in turn rusts the wire cabling that snaps.
2) Vehicle is 5 gear but, is uneconomical/strained above 60 mph. A 6 gear box would have been a revelation.

Land Rover Freelander | Freelander

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 3

Disappointed withh latent defects eg Cylinder head gasket failed at 55k miles.Transmission balancing device failed at 80k. All expensive and inconvenient repairs.

On researching the above defects I found that they are quite common and would have been avoided if I knew that before I bought it. Otherwise it does very well the job we intended.

Land Rover Freelander | Can't beat Land Rover

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I have horses and so need a reliable car I can use to transport hay etc., be reliable in all weather conditions but also be comfortable, Freelander does it for me. I've had the car since new - 11 years now - and I'm really happy with it. I know I could get a smaller more economical car but it just wouldn't do the job for me.

Land Rover Freelander | reliability in all weathers

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I have heard some bad reports from people about these cars, but i can only say after 5 years weve not had any major problems yet with our car! snow most years on steep hills where we live is not usually a problem, great! for towing caravans , although care reversing with the caravan on is advisory.

Land Rover Freelander | my freelander

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1994cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I work cor the ambulance service so it is essential I can get to work 24/7 365. The car does exactly what is required of it. It is a practical workhorse and is not as expensive to tank up with diesel as many believe it would be. It costs approximates £50 from half tank. Comfortable too.....

Land Rover Freelander | Great winter car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I live in a remote highland area on the moors. This car is great for reasonably deep snow and icy roads. Comfortable car all round including driver's position. Plenty of room for 5 adults. Only downside is the folding rear seats which reduce load space somewhat.

Land Rover Freelander | Sound Workhorse

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1951cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

As country dwellers living in a narrow lane, difficult in winter, liable to being ice-snowbound, this is the perfect reliable workhorse. As elderly people the high, upright sitting position (and good all round view, is more practical than a modern low saloon

Filter Land Rover Freelander Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.