Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Land Rover Defender Reviews

Land Rover Defender

Welcome to the Land Rover Defender review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Land Rover Defender cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£24,415 - £33,000
AA Cars Average
£26,629
MPG
25.5 - 28.3
CO2 (g/km)
266 - 299
Tax Band
K - M
Noise Level
73.0 - 76.0

Land Rover Defender | defender xs

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
1/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
1/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2007
  • 2400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

It is a pity the manufacturer does not seem to care much about quality. With care in the manufacturing process and attention to a few design problems they could iron out many of the issues and have a real classic on their hands. They seem not to wish to bother and are to discontinue production. The vehicle is long established but based on my experience and conversations with other owners faults are common( water leaks, rust - why not galvanise the chassis? - electrics , clutch, most things rattle, rear windows roll down of their own accord) . Running is not cheap; best to use specialist aftermarket service organisations , they seem to care more and offer better value - the main dealers are poor and expensive. I say this as a long term owner ( five and a half years now on this one) who had more problems with a nearly new 2005 Range Rover 4400cc Vogue that was a disaster. Beware,for a big vehicle the Defender is cramped for passengers and six foot plus passengers have trouble in the back.However the Defender is ( when equipped with the right tyres) one of the best off road vehicles you can buy, it tows well and for all its faults and turning circle of a bus , it is enjoyable to drive ( for shorter journeys).

Land Rover Defender | Landrover Defender CSW 110 1996

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1996
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

The vehicle in question is my choice for my day to day driving, it allows me to deal with the objectives I set for my work and normal driving. The ground clearance of the vehicle is adequate, the wading depth without modification meets most normal requirements. The maintainability of the vehicle is enhanced by the fact that it does not rely on electronics, there is not a item on the vehicle that I cannot repair or rebuild, the controls are not complex and are easily repaired. The interior is comfortable, but allows the vehicle to cleaned easily. The cargo space in the rear of the vehicle allows access to large bulky objects and also to move a larger complement of personnel. The abliity of the vehicle to be taken off road is extremely important, as is the ability to manouver loads and recover other vehicles.

Land Rover Defender | Defender

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I have owned this vehicle for 7 years, during which time it has covered 120,000 miles, it has been serviced regularily and had several components replaced, turbo charger, fuel pump and has suffered a warped exhaust manifold.
Despite the above problems owning the vehicle has enabled me and my family to lead a more adventurous and active lifestyle, being able to access remote areas of the country to conduct our outdoor hobbies, it also gives us confidence in adverse weather conditions and instills us with a sense of self reliability.
Our children love the vehicle as it's robust, roomy and "cool". I will keep it for as long as I possibly can as I haven't found any other car that can accomodate our families wants and needs. It is also British (at heart)being ex military I am somewhat patriotic!

Land Rover Defender | Defender LWB CSW

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2449cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

You either love them or hate them.
Land Rover Defender is an acquired taste and not built for comfort or economy in terms of fuel or servicing but these drawbacks are far outweighed by the huge advantages of practicality and versatility when used as a family vehicle, when transporting children, dogs,(and other livestock!), shopping, household goods, doing DIY, going on holiday, camping, the list could go on and on! Oh, nearly forgot the school run and taking children and friends to the cinema, bowling etc.
If you have the engine 'chipped' you also get a surprisingly good turn of speed and actually save on fuel consumption too.
I could not go back to driving an ordinary car now and would not survive without my Land Rover.

Land Rover Defender | Good if you like mending things

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 3

For a vehicle supposedly designed for ruggedness and dependability it is surprising how much cheap and flimsy material goes into it. The trim and upholstery is particularly badly affected by poor design and cost cutting with a good deal of reliance on flimsy plastic of the kind that becomes brittle with age clipped together. Mechanical parts too are apt to wear and break, and owning one is a constant process of renewal. Fortunately I like working with my hands, and am working my way through the vehicle renewing worn and otherwise defunct components and rustproofing as I go. If I wasn't mechanically minded the costs of ownership would be prohibitive.

Land Rover Defender | Legend

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 2401cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 3

The best vehicle I have ever owned, strong build quality, bullet proof reliability to date, safe, practical, superb driving position. If this vehicle can't get you to your destination, nothing will. I have no time for soul less eco boxes, my driving enjoyment and ultimate safety are paramount.Then there is the question of almost unrivaled low depreciation and longevity which makes this a very sensible buy. Consider also that most people keep Defenders decade after decade, which probably makes them the greenest car on the planet. In conclusion, this is my last car, I don't want anything else, I absolutely adore it, the greatest vehicle ever built.

Land Rover Defender | Problems with dealer

Added: 23rd of December 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2014
  • 2198cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

The deal would have gone ahead except that the dealer wanted me to travel 340 miles to his premises to sign finance documentation and then travel 340 miles back home. The only alternative he offered was for me to travel to the nearest office of the finance company, which is Livingston (which is 120 miles away) to the office of the finance company and to sign them there. I found this unreasonable and incredible as I am an existing customer of that finance company and have been with them for three years. This was the make or break point of this deal and I gave him three days in which to resolve it, however he failed to do that.

Land Rover Defender | It all depends what your requirements are!

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

This vehicle suits my lifestyle and although not the most economic on fuel still gives a better return on travel than rail transport from the Southwest, and there is no bus transport from the village where I live.
It is a comfortable drive even on long journeys, cruises well on the motorways, yet is robust when I need it for journeys on minor roads in the South West. It is reliable has space for everything I need to use it for both business and pleasure.

Land Rover Defender | Land Rover Defender T90

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
1/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2003
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 3

Land Rover - No wonder people buy Japanese 4x4s! If I ever get the chance to buy a LR again, I won't! They leak, they fall apart, simple things which ought to have been got rid in the 1960s still feature and all in all, LRs take the Mickey out of people who need reliability and practicality as standard. Not looking for frills; just a vehicle which can do the job, again and again, without falling apart and/or doing my back in!
Tows well though.

Land Rover Defender | Man up its a Defender

Added: 14th of December 2014
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 3

By far the best 4x4 you can have/own. Had many types over the years and this is a mans 4x4 who don't mind the cold,wet,noise and sheer thrill of driving this machine. So if your soft or need to hold mummy's hand then move on and get something safe! by the way over 60% of Land Rovers ever built are still on the road.... They cant be that bad can they!

Good luck if your thinking of buying one of these amazing machines....

Land Rover Defender | Landy

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

My Land Rover Defender is a perfect all-rounder,
the driving position suits me far better than a car ,
This is an all British vehicle of the old school, not to be around much longer though.
I have run these since 1975 and find the newer ones much more driver-friendly with reasonable economy, improved performance, and some degree of comfort from improved seats and quieter running.
You love em' or hate em' !

Land Rover Defender | landrover defender 90

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2470cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 3

A classic design, possibly not to everyones taste. Always been reliable and the ultimate bad weather car. Repairs are easily handled by a competent DIY mechanic and parts are relatively cheap and available. The driving position takes some time getting used to but the increased height gives a great driving experience just don't expect to go fast.

Land Rover Defender | Useful tool

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1998
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 3

Used as every-day transport and for carrying tools, etc. for the allotment this is a versatile vehicle.

In fifteen years it has proved reliable as it is serviced regularly and properly. I suspect I would be on a second, or even third, car by now.

A little noisy and the heating leaves a lot to be desired but it fulfils its function well

Land Rover Defender | If you don't like Land Rovers ................................you are wrong

Added: 18th of September 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1999
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Its an anti-modern same old same old family car, sooooooooooo much fun, the kids love it, everyone you pass smiles and I smile all the time I drive my 1999 110, handles fine, a drivers car and I can get late 20's MPG on a good run, which Ib for Ib is better the most modern family 2Ltr diesels, try one you will probably fall in love with it

Land Rover Defender | Defender 110 CSW V8

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1990
  • 3500cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

The ultimate family car, does anything, anywhere, anytime.
12 seats, superb reliability (190,000 miles with no breakdowns) you do have to tolerate its foibles, but it's a cult car with a dedicated fan base, it has far outlasted its intended manufacturing run, all this adds up to a fantastic machine that is all things to all people.

Land Rover Defender | Most practical vehicle

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 3

A Land Rover Defender 90 County is in my view the most practical vehicle, a people carrier, workhorse, recreational vehicle, although not the most economic. Bullet proof and easy to maintain! A shame it is going to be discontinued, with such a history and following!

Land Rover Defender | Reliability on wheels

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1993
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 3

I've had my Land Rover Defender for 20 years, it has never let me down. It still starts first time every time in any weather conditions. I drive it off road, through rivers and once through a wall, if I ever kill it I will buy another Land Rover.

Land Rover Defender | td5 90

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 3

A excellent car, it has taken me to the Sahara and back with no problems and was fantastic off road. The engines had a remap so its reasonably fast as well because the standard car is slow. On the down side its noisy and has a bouncy ride.

Land Rover Defender | Landrover 110 CSW

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1993
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Scores low on the rating here, but it is what is and it does what I want.

Tows 3.5 ton, gets me where I want to go in any weather.

'Its a Landrover thing!'

Often breaks, costs a fortune in spares - I'm glad I'm a mechanic!

Land Rover Defender | Lsnd Rover Defender

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Fantastic car for holidays, ferrying kids about, moving students between houses, moving furniture and generally getting about. You get to see far more of everything because you are so high up compared to everyone else.

Filter Land Rover Defender Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.