AA Cars uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.

Add your postcode for better results
Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Kia Sportage Reviews

Kia Sportage

Welcome to the Kia Sportage review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Kia Sportage cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£17,305 - £28,515
AA Cars Average
£14,466
MPG
24.4 - 54.3
CO2 (g/km)
135 - 275
Tax Band
E - L
Noise Level
70.0 - 74.0

Kia Sportage | Kia Sportage KX4

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

This is the first 4x4 I have owned. We recently moved house and getting out of our street in the snow in my previous car was a big problem. So when it was time to replace I decided on a 4x4.
The Sportage seemed the best value for money on the market and I could afford the top of the range.
After 6 months I love the car. It is a joy to drive and it has loads of gadgets all of which are very useful. This is my first diesel car and I really like that. It is so much more powerful at low revs than a petrol engine. I also love the automatic so much I cannot imagine ever going back to Manual.
The only downside I have with the car is fuel economy. I only get about 32 mpg where my son gets 50 mpg in his BMW with same size engine. I knew this before I bought the car and as I do not do a big mileage it is not that important. However it may be important to other potential buyers.
I am now looking forward to the snow in the winter to see if this 4x4 actually works.
Overall I am very happy with this car and would recommend it to others unless fuel economy was important to them.

Kia Sportage | Worth a Look

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1700cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

With the top spec you get many extras you would only recently have seen on cars costing twice as much (Built in Satnav, auto wipers/lights, parking sensors etc), and these really add practicality to the car. For the money it's a good a car which is easy to drive, comfortable and with the Kia warranty you get piece of mind with it.
For the 'car connoiseur', it must be said that everything feels a bit 'detached', i.e move the gear stick and it's a bit vague to the gearbox, turn the steering wheel and it's a bit vague to the road wheels, but unless you're fussy and/or are more used to much more expensive cars you won't notice these foibles.

Kia Sportage | A first class family medium sized car

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2014
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Selected for both caravan towing and local day to day use, somewhat large for parking in confined spaces and some restrictions on view. Not a cheap car to buy, but commendably economical for every day use. A a tow car it performs well though frequent gear changes amongst the closely related higher gears appears to give a better performance. Some passengers find it a little high to enter and leave, but in general they like it. I would have preferred a car with a little lower profile, but would readily buy another. Petrol was chosen to avoid possible problems with particulate filters.

Kia Sportage | Value for money

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2015
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

A good looking car in which traditional engineering is a merit - easy to maintain and pretty fault free. Without going over the top the technology, including the built in satnav/phone and rear view camera, is good and easy to operate. Performance and manoevreability is pretty good for the size of vehicle but fuel consumption is a bit disappointing. Biggest flaw for me is that the front seats are uncomfortable and that there is no height adjustment on the passenger side - I've experienced more comfortable and supportive seats in much cheaper cars.

Kia Sportage | Safe and comfortable

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

After 6 months I find this car very comfortable and easy to drive. My previous car was a 5 door saloon and I was concerned that this vehicle would be heavy to drive, totally the opposite. It is extremely light and manourverable and very easy to get in and out off. I would recommend this vehicle to any age group.
Although I do not obtain the figures for mpg that is stated in the vehicle brochure it is still better than my previous 1600 cc Renault Megane 2010.

Kia Sportage | Very comfortable

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

Excellent comfort.
Fuel economy fairly good for 1600cc petrol engine.
Very roomy with plenty of room in all areas including boot.
Handling is very good and is very easy to park with the large rear view mirrors.
Heater extremely warm in the winter makes you want to stay in the car.
Had Renault cars for the last 22years very good vehicles so was concerned that Kia would not match up to these but I was so wrong.

Kia Sportage | KIA Sportage - good or not?

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

My KX2 has been a joy to live with. Having retired my mileage is now quite low but I do need a car that's reliable and able to cope with all that mother nature throws at us. That's why I chose this car as it has a decent ground clearance (able to cope with flood water) and four wheel drive (able to cope with snow and ice).

It's a comfortable and well appointed car so I'm very happy.

Kia Sportage | Kia Sportage

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

The Kia is reliable and eminently suitable for pulling a caravan, which is why we bought it. It will go almost anywhere a Land Rover will go at a much more reasonable price and in ideal in bad weather. The cruise control takes the strain out of driving. If it has one fault, it is that the heater takes a while to warm up but this is a common fault in most vehicles.

Kia Sportage | Kia Sportage

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

It is pretty economical for a 4 x 4, getting just over 40 mpg on mixed driving. Well specified, lots of toys. But the main reason for buying is the 100,000/7 year warranty.
Had a VW then an Audi, both of which cost a fortune in electrical and mechanical failures just after the 3 year warranty period.
So nice to know that I just call Kia if anything goes wrong.

Kia Sportage | Kia Sportage.

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

This is a very comfortable economic car which we use to tow a caravan, hence the 4x4. The long warranty of seven years from new encouraged us to think about Kia in the first place and was favourably priced. It was not bought new, but was the dealer demo which meant we saved a lot of money against a new one...

Kia Sportage | Kia Sportage 2006

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1961cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I have had this from new and is still worth more to me than as a part exchange. Generally good but have found some strange symptoms from time to time as it gets older. I like this model and I cant see myself getting a modern version as they appear to have gone backwards in what's offered new.

Kia Sportage | Does the job.

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2015
  • 1995cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Bought new and has lived up to expectations, it's not a Porsche but it can go fast enough for state of roads currently, motorway driving is pleasant. It's a crossover and does what you would expect. I use it for work, not just there and back no complaints so far, done 20k so far.

Kia Sportage | Great car

Added: 15th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2015
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

This is my second sportage and never had a problem, very nice cars. The only thing I've been disappointed with is the MPG, around town it averages between 24 - 28 MPG and on a run between 35 - 40 MPG. Very good in the snow and well equipped, it's a car I'd be happy to recommend.

Kia Sportage | Kia Sportage my 2 shape

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

A very underrated vehicle, with Kia doing themself's no favours by making the present day Sportage a people carrier rather a get up and go, put the dog in the rear, type car. If you were looking for this type of vehicle, then a mk 2 Sortage could be what to look st.

Kia Sportage | Kia Sportage

Added: 16th of August 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

This is my 2nd Sportage great cars and good value for the money. Pulls the horse box with ease. Good on fuel and can change from 2 to 4 wheel drive with the push of a button. Great family car and very comfortable on those long runs
Wellsy from Kelso

Kia Sportage | Kia Experience

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1995cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

This is the second Kia I have owned, both cars have been very reliable, comfortable and economical.

The service from the dealer has been very professional and all services have been efficiently carried out.

Would recommend Kia to anyone.

Kia Sportage | delight

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1995cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

a delight to drive. Reliability has been excellent - the only purchase necessary in 30,000 miles has been one tyre which had a nail in it. The only times it has been to the dealers is once a year for 20,000 mile service. it has had no faults.

Kia Sportage | Brilliant car

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Have driven Sportage for 13 years. Bought current (used) vehicle last year as needed an automatic followings a wrist injury which made gear changes difficult on long journeys. Brilliant car and good vfm. Want the new model!

Kia Sportage | Complimentary

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2900cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

Even though my car only does 18.5 mpg (average since 2004) I don't care - it's very comfortable and handles extremely well in all road conditions. It is serviced by a local dealer and neither car nor dealer have let me down.

Kia Sportage | Great Car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Had my Sportage for just over 2 years, it's never let me down, was great in the snow, it's a comfortable ride on long trips and does around 36 mpg. It's turned out better then I expected and will happily buy another one.

Filter Kia Sportage Reviews

Related links