Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Kia Sorento Reviews

Kia Sorento

Welcome to the Kia Sorento review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Kia Sorento cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£26,500 - £35,105
AA Cars Average
£17,069
MPG
22.4 - 47.9
CO2 (g/km)
155 - 299
Tax Band
G - M
Noise Level
70.7 - 74.6

Kia Sorento | Best 7 seat 4 x 4 by far

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

For a large 6 speed,automatic 4 x 4 it uses very little fuel.
Gear changes are hardly noticeable and it has an 'eco' setting that slightly reduces acceleration but improves fuel economy.
The 7 year warranty is the most important consideration and it only cost £550 for the first 5 years servicing, this was included in the cost of the vehicle. A Range Rover with a similar specification would have cost at least £25,000 more. I have ridden in various Land Rover products and I really think that the ride in the Sorento is better and they are equal on wind and road noise. it also has superb brakes. There is no doubt that nothing beats Land Rovers on traction in severe 'off road' conditions, but to be fair, how often does the average motorist drive their car in this type of terrain. One thing is certain and that is the Sorento will not spend as much time in the garage having faults repaired... It is a well known fact that Range Rovers break down with monotonous regularity.The car also has a full size spare wheel. That may not sound very important, unless you are touring in Europe and get a puncture, miles from anywhere. The car is the top specification model and it takes a while to learn how to use all of the 'gizmos'.You have to be pretty sure of the reliability of your cars to give a 7 year warranty. Badge snobs will not buy one, but that is their loss!

Kia Sorento | Kia Sorrento

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Bought for practical purposes including towing caravans and trailers, this vehicle is an excellent workhorse, more than capable of cruising with a full load and trailer at legal speed limits on all roads. Unlike some 4 x 4's fuel economy doesn't fall off a cliff when you hitch up to the caravan, in fact on occassions a long journey with a load on can return better fuel performance than popping to Tesco's!

Cabin comfort suits me at over six foot tall, and can comfortably cope with five people. The auto 4 x 4 has proved reliable in all on and off road conditions including the last two snowy winters where you simply get in and drive even in over six inches of snow on a sloping drive and one in six access road with ordinary road tyres.

Some spares can be pricy, for example it's annoying that you can't replace a blown bulb in instrument switches, you have to replace the switch / bank of switches, and don't even talk about the cost of electric radio aerials.

Overall though a reliable performer that gets the job done and gives a comfortable ride with acceptable performance in most conditions

Kia Sorento | Kia Sorento

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

My first car from the far east, which I bought based on other peoples reviews and the fact that they have a good reliability record.
Had the car three years now, got it at 24,000 miles and it hasn't missed a beat. Passed every MOT with flying colours.
Space, practicality and comfort are first class. The economy wasn't as good as I was hoping for, but is still good compared to my previous vehicle. This is a 2 ton machine so was never going to be truly thrifty but then I didn't buy it for that reason alone. Engine is noisy when cold but soon settles down when warmed.
The 4 x 4 works a treat and in snow / ice it has an uncanny way of gripping the road. Great for towing as well. It gets loaded with bricks, blocks, wood in fact all kinds of stuff I need to carry which I would never get into a conventional vehicle and it still maintains stability and you wouldn't know it was heavily loaded when driving.
I will be buying another one when I come to change and indeed have already started looking around.

Kia Sorento | Kia Sorento

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2497cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Couldn't be happier with our Kia Sorento. The only suggestions that I have that could improve it are that I would change the cheap door handles on the inside of the car, and the middle seat belt in the back of the car releases a little too quickly causing it to whip back. The boot has ample space inside for luggage and shopping, and passengers have plenty of personal space. There is enough room on the back seat for two child seats and an adult to sit in between. Our two kids, who are 7 and 4, love the car and there are numerous charging points throughout for all of our electronic devices to charge on long journeys.

Kia Sorento | kia Sorento

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Overall this car does what we purchased it for .Its used daily for commuting to and from work ,weekends and towing a caravan.Reliability is not a problem .Performance is never going to compare to a normal car as its a large 4x4. Servicing , tyres etc costs are reasonable . On the down side the gearbox is notchy and the engine management system can holds the revs high on occasions (both completely normal according to kia).This brings us to another problem would not trust kia main dealer with repairs.

Kia Sorento | Kia Sorento

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Purchased a brand new manual version in 2007 and enjoyed power, comfort, towing ability and specification so bought a second hand replacement in March 2013.
This one is an automatic with a similar specification, 7 seats and slightly less power but towing and general driving is very good.
Running costs are reasonable given the amount of towing, although I wish it was a little easier on fuel consumption.
Plenty of space and quite comfortable with good visibility.

Kia Sorento | Brilliant car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2199cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Very impressed with the car, bought it from new. It is very nice to drive, very comfortable and has all the little ad dons you would expect of a high spec car. There is a huge mount of space both in the boot area and for front and rear seat passengers. But best of all is the 7 year warranty, it gives me confidence in the vehicle if the manufacturer has the confidence to give such a comprehensive warranty.

Kia Sorento | Kia Sorento

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2497cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Brilliant family car. Lots of room for luggage & shopping, and room enough on the back seat for two car seats and an adult to sit. Plenty of charging points for the various electrical devices for long trips so the kids can play on their hand held game devices without fear of the batteries dying on them. Lots of features that you would generally find on higher end cars.

Kia Sorento | KIA Sorento

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

Flywheel failed after a few months leading to total loss of power. Fortunately this happened on a quiet road or it could have been very dangerous. Our holiday was ruined as a result. KIA fixed the vehicle under warranty and were generally helpful but they denied this was a known issue despite the mechanics at the dealers being well aware of the issue.

Kia Sorento | Sorrento 4v4

Added: 17th of April 2015
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Bought used. Test drive (at 30mph) no problems apart from a slieight vibration in transmission. Dealer replaced a drive shaft. Collected car and on way home on A1 discovered a 'knocking' noise.. Back to dealer, 2 weeks later, replaced another drive shaft. Waiting for dealer test drive. Hope to pick it up on 19th.

Kia Sorento | Kia Sorento Diesel Auto

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Reliable and affordable 4x4. Comes featured with equipment found in much more expensive continental 4x4s. Fuel economy is surprisingly good for a car capable of seating 7 in comfort reliability is excellent - only needed consumable items replacing so far - 40,000 miles and three and half years.

Kia Sorento | kia sorento

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 3500cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

Has proved,over the last 6.5 years ,to be a sturdy and reliable workhorse.Excellent value for money but fuel costs are high.Only repairs required have been due to a poor engine design (mitsubushi) crankshaft pulley mounting.( a recall in America,but not in GB as so few petrol models here!

Kia Sorento | KIA Sorento

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I bought the car when it was 1 year old and have used it daily since. It is used for towing a twin axle caravan at all times of year.
It has power to spare when towing and is extremely comfortable and reliable.
Performance is excellent whether driving solo or towing.

Kia Sorento | Great for towing

Added: 19th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2495cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I have owned this car for 4 years and regularly tow a large caravan. It tows with ease and also drives very smoothly with or without the caravan. I would recommend a Kia Sorento to any one.

Kia Sorento | sorento

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Reliable and economical to run .Comfort and performance suffer with it being a large 4x4 . Absolute rubbish gearbox major downside which would put me off having another.

Kia Sorento | Sorento

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 3500cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

A great car - really comfortable and easy to drive. My fav car ever owned. Only downside is 18-20 mpg (ouch!) but luckily only do 70-80 miles per week

Kia Sorento | A beaut!

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

This is a wonderful vehicle! It does all that I want of it and performs better than I hoped. I use it as a tug for my caravan too,at which it excels

Kia Sorento | good for Kia

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Excellent car, served us well. essential to have 4 wheel drive as option during icy/snowy weather as we live "out in the sticks"

Kia Sorento | Great car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

The Kia Sorento has fulfilled all I expected, reliable, comfortable, spacious.

Kia Sorento | A Scottish user

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

The best 4x4 in its class, only beaten by Land Rover but at double+ the cost

Filter Kia Sorento Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.