Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Kia Rio Reviews

Useful links:  401 Used Kia Rio in stock
Kia Rio

Welcome to the Kia Rio review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Kia Rio cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£9,245 - £14,145
AA Cars Average
£7,308
MPG
32.1 - 88.3
CO2 (g/km)
85 - 207
Tax Band
A - K
Noise Level
68.9 - 74.0

Kia Rio | Kia Rio

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is the first Kia I have ever owned, I've had it for over a year now and I love it. It is economical, nippy and comfortable. The only faults I could find with it are a somewhat over-enthusiastic security system (the car alarm frequently goes off when I am loading the boot, and almost every time I start the car I have to click the key remote to unlock the ignition), and I could wish that the back seats folded down flatter to make more space in the boot, instead of lying at an angle. These are small things, however - generally, I'm delighted with this car.

Kia Rio | very impressed at te price

Added: 16th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I purchased my Rio in March 2002 and i am extremely impressed with the reliability comfort and handling of it. After 11 years it has never broken down and is always a pleasure to get into and drive. I originally paid £7100 for my car and was hoping to get 10 years reliability from it as i had only had second hand ars before which were all unreliable, 11.5 years later and the only money i have spent is on tyres and brakes and my yearly MOT.

Kia Rio | Kia Rio 1.4

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Bought as part of the Government "scrappage scheme" in 2009, and therefore a real bargain. This car has been a pleasure to own, although it didn't reach it's full performance potential (either acceleration or economy wise) until it had a few thousand miles on the clock. My only point of dissatisfaction is that I don't find the seats very comfortable on longer trips - anything over an hour or so and I need a break.

Kia Rio | small car price, bigger performance

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1125cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is a great car and I've been really pleased with it so far. It has the biggest boot of any similar sized model I looked at. You can fit 3 adults in the back seat reasonably comfortably.
Despite having a small diesel engine it has good acceleration even going up hill, and these give a pretty good fuel economy. On a mostly urban driving style, the car's on board computer tells me my average mpg is 54.3.

Kia Rio | love my car to bits!!

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

My Rio does around 400 miles for a whole tank which costs £45. It has 6 gears and although it's only a 1000cc and a diesel, it's not a slow car and drives lovely at the national speed limit. It's spacious inside both in the front and the back. U would definitely recommend this car to anyone and I always do!

Kia Rio | Kia Rio Lx

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1345cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The car is a little under powered for it's engine size and has never matched the published fuel consumption figures.

On the other hand, after nine years and 72000 miles it is still very reliable and has never let me down or needed any major garage work.

I like it.

Kia Rio | Bring back the Kia Rio 1.5 Crdi

Added: 8th of December 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1493cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 5

What a real shame that the 1.5 Crdi engine in the Kia Rio is no longer available - it makes the car a 'pocket rocket.'

I guess that we have to blame EU Regulations on emissions but it has real 'oomph!' - I will hang onto mine now until it 'dies.'

Kia Rio | Driving a KIA

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 5

After driving only BMW's for over 35 years, it came as a bit of a culture shop to drive a KIA. Apart from the harder suspension and less engine power of the KIA, I am really happy with the change.

Kia Rio | Kia Rio 2

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Its a great small family car, with a lively, economical diesel engine. Inside plastics are easily scratched and not the best quality but overall comfortable and spacious enough for a small car.

Kia Rio | Personal Experience

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1349cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Fuel consumption not up to manufacturer's claims but much improved on long-distance motorway driving at 70mph.

I have had the car for nine years and have not experienced any major problems.

Kia Rio | Great Car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Second Kia Rio I have owned and find it to be a very reliable and safe car. For the price it is excellent and with a seven year warranty gives good peace of mind. Local agent is Excellent.

Kia Rio | From New

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

My Rio is a basic, no frills model purchased under the scrappage scheme and with a seven yar warranty is likely to be my last car and I'm more than content with it

Kia Rio | Kia rio crdi

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Excellent car with low running costs of £30 a year road tax and returning 58 mpg. Comfort and loads of gadgets in the car and maintainance costs very reasonable.

Kia Rio | kia rio 1.4 cdi

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

this is a new car and currently performing extremely well. the company is an extremely efficient and considerate and would be highly recommended.

Kia Rio | good little car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Kia Rio is very good little car with a very large boot compared to cars that are much larger. Very reliable and relatively cheap to run.

Kia Rio | Kia Rio

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Kia Rio 2002, 1800cc, economical, comfortable, easy to drive, all controls within easy reach of driver. Spacious for a car of it's size.

Kia Rio | First impressions

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Running costs and reliability for this car are based on a period of ownership of only 2 months but so far I am pleased with it

Kia Rio | Rural Kia Rio

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A practical and reliable car when a car is needed to get anywhere. Cheap to run and with low emissions good for the enviromeny

Kia Rio | Kia rio

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2012
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Got it last month and it is up to my expectations.
Only problem is replacement radio is still to be changed after 4 weeks.

Kia Rio | Quality

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2009
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

My previous car was also a Rio but my current car lacks the quality of finish of the previous one. It is reliable, however.

Filter Kia Rio Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.