Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Kia Picanto Reviews

Kia Picanto

Welcome to the Kia Picanto review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Kia Picanto cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£7,795 - £11,195
AA Cars Average
£5,874
MPG
47.1 - 67.3
CO2 (g/km)
99 - 143
Tax Band
A - F
Noise Level
71.9 - 73.9

Kia Picanto | Kia Picanto Halo 1:25 auto

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1248cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Bought new 28th October 2012. (Dealer offer £1700 off list.) as a retirement car, I spent a considerable amount of time researching this class (city car) before making my decision. I previously owned 2 Skodas over 7 years, but my nightmarish experiences with the dealer in Aldershot were SO appalling, I ruled out the Citigo (+ the other VW variants) as it wasn't (they weren't) available in auto.
The Kia ticked all the boxes, excellent build quality, space & comfort, drives nicely & the kit (far too much of it to list here-it even has a heated steering wheel, Dammit!) puts some lower end large cars to shame.
Extras, dealer fit cruise control, 3 year/30k service plan & steel spare wheel.
No problems to date.
Some reviews have placed it below class leading for handling, also, reports of MPG being lower than the manufacturer claims, I get around 43 mpg around town & best on a run so far is 55 mpg (seems to be improving steadily & It handles fine as far as I'm concerned).
First service due 28th October 2013, will've done roughly 3.5 k miles at that point.
And the 7 year warranty? Nothing matches it.
Downside, as with many other manufacturers nowadays, is no spare wheel as standard, that's bad, the gooey, sticky, gunge kit supplied to supposedly repair a puncture is very poor option.
Apart from that, this car does it for me, I really like it, you can put your phone in the armrest pocket provided (it "bluetooths" up straightaway, answer an incoming call on the steering wheel & click off-also on the steering wheel-all without taking your eyes off the road. I would have given it 10/10 for (slightly) better fuel consumption, better midrange (50-70mph) acceleration & perhaps a more powerful stereo system, (but that's just a small gripe).

Kia Picanto | More than just a small car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I moved to a Kia Picanto from a Ford Mondeo almost 10 years ago - quite a change in size of car. It was a change that took a bit of getting used to, the thing that took me the longest to get rid of was the HUGE reduction in the boot size. Such a small boot in my Kia!

However this has never been a major problem. I helped my daughter move house packing by putting the seats down and getting a reasonably large space available. It was pretty amazing what I fitted in that car.

The running costs went down considerably - the cost of the road tax is so low that I am not offered the chance to buy 6 months worth. Also I went from using Diesel to Unleaded Petrol with this change of car, another cost saving.

Having a smaller car has meant that it has been a lot easier to park - getting into my own drive was sometimes not possible at home with the Mondeo as other motorists hadn't left me enough room to turn in. I have never had that problem with my Kia.

The only problem I had last year with this car which I haven't had with any other car was that the wheels were rusted and damaging the tyres so I had to buy new wheels. That said I have covered a lot of miles in my car, much to the amusement of my local Kia garage who can't keep up with when my services are due.

Most recently I went on a short road trip around the UK, driving almost 800 miles in a week. People who have bigger cars than me make fun of my car and think I shouldn't drive it long distances but what is a car for, if not driving? I love my Kia and when I change cars it will be to another Kia :-)

Kia Picanto | Kia Picanto bought second hand

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 999cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I bought my Kia Picanto four months ago so I need to see how it runs in winter. So far I love the comfort of my Kia, this is the first time I have had four doors which is handy. I enjoy driving it, visibility good, annual road tax £30! The down side is that water gets in the boot ( although it has a plastic bottom so it will not rust). I have read that this is a common problem, I think it is the water jetter that leaks when used on the rear window so I avoid using it. Also, you cannot fill the front reservoir too much or that leaks out .... strange. Small boot, no spare tyre, one of those puncture kits but thankfully I am with the AA if need them. The after sales service from Kia is non-existant. I did not get a handbook with this car and Kia do not have downloads like other dealers so I had to buy one. My experience with their customer service was dreadful. Because of this bad experience I would probably not buy another Kia, sad as I think they are probably reliable cars.

Kia Picanto | Kia Picanto

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1040cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I have had this car for about 1 year, It had 1 previous owner and had done about 26,000 miles - I have driven about 4,000 miles of mainly short journeys but also some motorway journeys of 80 miles or so. So far it has been faultless.

Over the year I have been averaging 48 - 50 miles per gallon. Mostly I am on my own and there is enough boot space for the weekly supermarket shop or luggage for a night away from home. I have also carried 3 adult male passengers on a number of occasions over 20 mile trips without them expressing adverse comments about comfort or space.

The performance is more than adequate for my needs living in an area without lots of hills. Steering is precise and the brakes and lights are very good.

A very efficient heater and air conditioning make for good comfort, although after several hours, I find the driver's seat a bit uncomfortable.

Avery practical car with low running costs (£30.00 car tax) that is ideal for mainly short journeys,

Kia Picanto | Kia Picanto (basic)

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This car has all the features I want. It is responsive enough to drive in most conditions. I like its smallness - good for parking, good for the environment. Yet it has held (with roof box) me + 2 teenagers + camping gear for 10 days.

I have driven it down France and up again 3 summers running with camping gear aboard; it is as fast as regulations allow on the autoroutes (though for economy and environmental reasons I do not drive at max speed). I have been comfortable all the way.

It takes a lot of stuff to the tip! and the occasional bike (with a squeeze) to the bike shop.

I suspect is is less comfortable in the back if you are tall - and at 5'6" I have the driver's seat pushed back to its furthest.

So not for the the tall, for those wanting "high performance" or older families. But fun, practical and economical.

Kia Picanto | KIa PIcanto

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This car was my choice because it was cheap to buy and low cost to run. It has not disappointed. At eight years old (it was bought new) it has never let me down and has had no major faults. It has now done over 100000 miles. The boot space is small; however, the back seats come down and give generous capacity. In the sense of ?you get what you pay for? this car has offered excellent value for money. Not surprisingly its weakness is lack of power, but it will cruise at 70 on a motorway, it just doesn?t have the power to accelerate which can be a little frustrating when overtaking or pulling out on a motorway, one just has to have patience and think of its many other virtues. Overall I have been very satisfied with this car.

Kia Picanto | Good Basic Car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2009
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

The car is a small hatchback that is very cheap to run. It is fine for local driving with two people, but a bit small for four people or if there is any luggage. Most of my driving is by myself and under ten miles so it suites me and is great value with a good MPG and low car tax and insurance. I have used it for longer journeys (100 miles plus) with two people and luggage and it performs well even on motorways, but I would not choose this car if I was using it for long journey on a daily basis. A good overall town car that is OK for occasional longer journeys.

Kia Picanto | Kia Picanto

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1040cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have had my Picanto for just over 12 months and use it mainly for local journeys and occasional motorway trips of about 100 miles. It is ideal for my needs being retired and has taken 3 adult males passengers with no problems. I get about 50 miles per gallon, parking is relatively easy and I find access easy. Overall running costs are good. The brakes, air conditioning and heater are all very effective. The only downside is that it is a bit noisy when driving at 65mph and above.

Kia Picanto | Kia Picanto

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 999cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Very happy with my Kia, I purchased the cheapest no extras version. On reflection I would have had a couple of extras like a clock for instance.
Car has never ( fingers crossed) let me down and the only thing I dislike about it is the large hooter button - the complete centre of the steering wheel and easy to knock by mistake.

Kia Picanto | Kia Picanto

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 990cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Excellent small car/hatchback. Loads of space. 2013 model has some nice extras that the 2010 model didn't have. Probably not so good on lots of long journeys but perfect for town driving. Only drawback - aircon reduces fuel consumption dramatically. Would like Kia to come up with this version as a hybrid or electric only.

Kia Picanto | Love my car

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I love my car as I hit a deer one winter evening and there are hardly any marks on the bodywork. I feel very safe in it, it is comfortable,well laid out and easy to park. The only thing that lets my car down is the lack of va va voom acceleration in high gear and very poor windscreen wipers and dipped headlight bulbs.

Kia Picanto | Excellent car

Added: 29th of September 2014
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Got this car for work and it's been running for 5 years with 3 drivers without any major problem.

The car almost reached 200000 km and still running great, with 50 mpg average

The performance is not empressive but what do you expect from 1.1 50mpg entry level car?!

Will upgrade to the 2015 1.25 picanto soon

Kia Picanto | Fuel consumption

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

We read that the fuel consumption is about 60 miles to the gallon. On a long motorway journey at a steady speed (65 mpg) in good weather we manage to achieve 54 mpg. Over the summer months with the air con on and carrying out shorter trips we only achieve 46 mpg - far removed from the 60+ advertised

Kia Picanto | New Kia picanto

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 5

Vehicle very cheap to run...small but compact, plenty of room for 5 people. On a long journey recently got nearly 100 miles to the gallon. Easy to park
Boot small but enough space for suitcases if parcel shelf is taken out
Overall good car and very happy with it. Would definitely recommend it

Kia Picanto | My Kia

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2011
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I love my Kia. It is a cracking little vehicle, easy to use, quick to respond, easy on petrol--I could go on and on. I never want another car--and I hope I won't ever need to buy one (I'm pretty aged and am sure I won't need one!) I have no idea what a T&C is so don't know what to "accept".

Kia Picanto | Kia Picanto

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2004
  • 999cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

A very reliable little car that is very cheap to run and has low emissions and car tax only £30 a year, Insurance also low. On longer journeys though it can be uncomfortable, and because it is a very small light car it is not very good in strong winds, otherwise I do love my car.

Kia Picanto | second car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1040cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Only had this car for about 3 months. It is a reliable car and economic. It struggles up hills with 2 people, but is pleasant and fun to drive.
Good leg room in front - never sat in the back whilst moving. Good instruments and clear to see.

Pleased with this car

Kia Picanto | My car

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

great small car, excellent for around town but also good on long journreys. Can be bit noisy on motorways just need to turn radio up! very economical especially on long journeys.
small boot but can be made bigger by putting back seats down
i love my little car!

Kia Picanto | neat little run around

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2013
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The picanto is an ideal small car. Cheap, economical and relatively comfortable for a small car. Ideal to run around town but can perform on motorways without shaking!
Paid up front for 5 years servicing, no road tax and 50+ miles to the gallon.

Kia Picanto | KIA Picanto

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Cons: Fairly noisy drive, paint very thin and scuffs easily, metal body panels very thin and flexible.

Pros: £0 tax, 49mpg average across all road types, air bags all round, abs as standard, disc brakes all round and traction control.

Filter Kia Picanto Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.