Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Jaguar XK Reviews

Useful links:  157 Used Jaguar XK in stock
Jaguar XK

Welcome to the Jaguar XK review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Jaguar XK cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£65,465 - £103,465
AA Cars Average
£27,094
MPG
22.5 - 25.2
CO2 (g/km)
264 - 304
Tax Band
K - M
Noise Level
71.0 - 74.0

Jaguar XK | A pleasure to own.

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2001
  • 4000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

I always wanted a convertible, and I always fancied a car that really accelerates. The Jaguar XKR fills both of these roles admirably. It is the first car I have had in which you can feel the acceleration push you back in your seat!
It isn't the only car I have of course, but it is quite practicable to use. The boot is a good size for touring and is not compromised by lowering the hood. I have occasionally used it to take rubbish to the tip (and got some funny looks), and I also carried a ladder in it - an advantage of not having a roof! I've even carried passengers in the back, properly seated, although not very far as you have to put the front seats a long way forward to do it. Another 6 inches length inside would have been good!

Around 23 mpg on short runs is a bit expensive on petrol - sometimes when I fill up I am thinking "how much more is it going to take?" I try to remind myself how that used to be normal for any car - my Dad's Hillman Avenger 1300 only did about 26 mpg!

Whatever the colour the looks are to die for - it would be worth buying a non-runner just to decorate the driveway! People look wherever we go. They're probably disappointed to see that we aren't movie or rock stars. I reckon that if the old XJS can be a classic - which some of them are now - then the XK should follow on. It looks as good as an E-Type, which would cost a fortune. And unlike Mercedes and BMW convertibles, there aren't too many of them - I haven't seen another one in our village of 3000 people.

Jaguar XK | Lovely to drive

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 1999
  • 3998cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

Following a major life change, I decided to purchase this special car. The number available in Northern Ireland was limited so I ended up buying it through Auto Trader from Blackpool. Still, that gave me a nice first drive up through England and Scotland to the ferry. Nobody buys a sports coupe for fuel efficiency - I am managing to get around the published combined figure of 24mpg. Tyres and other major parts are quite expensive and surprisingly some of the best prices are direct from a Jaguar dealer for some parts. Performance wise, the power is there when needed and gives a surge of adrenalin every time the right foot goes down. Reliability wise, since I bought it nearly 3 years ago, I have replaced the rear shocks and all four tyres. The biggest issue has been a lack of compression which ended up being fixed with a new mass air flow sensor (cheapest source being the local Jag dealer). I now use higher grade fuel and run cat-a-clean through it every 3 months. All in all, I love having a head turning car.

Jaguar XK | British made

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2003
  • 4000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

We run three cars, a Range Rover and two Jaguars. I try to buy everything possible made in Britain. The Jaguar XKR was bought as a three year old (we always buy at this age ) and has been totally reliable now reading 62000 approx. The tyres are expensive but we drive with consideration of this fact. We knew this would be quite expensive to run but the cost is well outweighed by the great pleasure the car gives. We have the roof down in winter with the heated seats and the car heater set high !. I take advantage of the amazing performance to stay on the wrong side of the road for as shorter time as possible as I consider overtaking to be one of the most dangerous aspects of present day motoring. As I have been driving for fifty years I have passed through many changes in reliability etc. I consider this Jaguar to be the finest car I have ever owned. ( We have had XJ saloons of different models for the past 30 years too ) We consider ourselves fortunate to have been able to run such lovely British cars.

Jaguar XK | Jaguar XK8

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2003
  • 4200cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

The car is very stylish, supremely comfortable and sufficiently practical for everyday use. Despite the soft-top the inside of the car is quiet and well-insulated. With the top down, the road noise can be excessive above 60mph although the detachable wind-deflector makes big difference. The hood does not intrude into the boot space. Rear seats are unfit for even small children or the shortest journey. The performance is more than adequate although the exhaust note is very muted except under hard acceleration. Grip is very good, you'd have to push very hard to go beyond its capabilities. The car is not frugal but 28 mpg is not unreasonable. Service costs at a specialist garage rather than dealership are fair. If you shop around for insurance, you should get well-priced cover.

Jaguar XK | Love It!

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 4000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

The XKR is a beautiful looking car and easy and a delight to drive. Although I have not given it 5 stars for running costs and space, I didn't anticipate a five star rating when I bought the car; in other words it is as I expected. The car, bought used, was very reliable for a number of years and the maintenance costs very low indeed; in fact, much better than was anticipated. In recent times various components have started to fail and the car has become more expensive to repair, although not unduly so. However the main problem has been with certain electronic components which, unlike the more traditional mechanical components, garages find difficult to diagnose and treat any faults that develop.

Jaguar XK | 1999 Jaguar XK8 Coupe

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 1999
  • 4000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

Burr walnut, Conelly leather and graceful lines oozes quality and style. Fitted with 20inch Daytona wheels which look superb and are very easy to clean. Comfort, performance and reliability exceptional for the price that a good '99 example can be bought for. A true grand tourer. Main downside is mpg - averages 23mpg - although I obtain 27-30mpg on long runs if driven sensibly. Also, rear seats only usable by young children. Boot is nevertheless adequate for luggage of two adults. Overall, an absolute joy of aesthetics and driving experience - though would not suit all as only available with (very smooth) auto box.

Jaguar XK | 1999 Jaguar XK8 Coupe

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 1999
  • 4000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

A very comfortable and beautiful tourer with loads of leather, burr walnut, proper dials and with plenty of performance. Although average 23.5mpg mpg may not be economical for high mileage drivers, it is capable of upto 30mpg on a long journey at motorway speeds and the low used purchase price (when compared with the new price) means exceptional value for money. If you enjoy driving, don't mind an auto box and do modest annual mileage, then I would have no hesitation in recommending this soon-to-be classic British luxury touring coupe.

Jaguar XK | 2008 Jaguar XKR

Added: 31st of October 2014
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2008
  • 4200cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

My 2008 XKR has been a problem since I bought it 4 months ago from Stratstone. A series of minor problems and faults followed by a major engine failure and complete engine replacement. The warranty covered most of the cost but Stratstone have been rubbish.
The car is great to drive and very comfortable and I haven't seen any other reports of engine failures or other stories about unreliable XK's maybe mine is just a lemon.
My advice is make sure you get a good warranty with the car and don't buy it from Stratstone.

Jaguar XK | JAGUAR XKR Convertible

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 4200cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

One of the most reliable and cheapest to service cars I have ever owned.
Remarkable considering the performance

The V8 is naturally relaxed and effortless performance but the supercharger is always there when you want it. A perfect match with the Auto box. I very rarely feel the need to use the paddle shift or sports setting.

I have owned many very fast cars, but this combines brilliant performance with comfort, style and the highest level of safety - it inspires confidence.

Jaguar XK | XKR 4.2 Convertible

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 4200cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

The most reliable and cheap to service car I have ever owned. A very pleasant surprise for such an expensive and high performance car.

Considering the performance, fuel consumption is pretty good although the fuel tank is annoyingly small for a car than is otherwise a perfect Grant Tourer.

Very comfortable, but still great handling and instils a lot of confidence in its inherent safety.

I will definitely buy another - the 5.0l XKR is reputed to be even better.

Jaguar XK | XK8 convertible 2006

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2006
  • 4200cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

A great car to drive, very refined, delivers it's power smoothly and the V8 growls convincingly producing a fantastic exhaust sound I could listen to all day. A very good looking car and certainly catches the eye of passers by. Running costs are a little high but small price to pay for the joy I get from the car. One criticism would be the rear seats which really serve no purpose at all. Jaguar could have made better use of the space.

Jaguar XK | Jaguar XK8

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 4000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

Very comfortable and reliable high performance car. Potentially a classic but now just old, so completely worthless. Only one unscheduled maintenance issue in over 5 years of ownership and it didn't immobilise the car. 26/27 mpg a bit steep but offset by low maintenance costs and now no depreciation.

Jaguar XK | Jaguar Xkr

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 1999
  • 3998cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

Have owned my 1999 Jaguar for ten years. Other than annual main dealer servicing, I have only recently had a repair bill - differential oil seal and cv joints. Not bad for a fourteen year old car! It still drives and looks like new! Although I have to admit my Xkr has only covered 30k miles.

Jaguar XK | XKR-S Model

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2012
  • 5500cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

very enjoyable grand touring car with very good looks and
performance although not very good miles per gallon.
Understand that depreciation is high so overall cost per mile is very high.

Jaguar XK | Jaguar XK8

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2010
  • 5000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

Simple the best GT on the market without equal.
Other than thirst,which are actually good for this level of car, the rest of the running costs are very good.

Jaguar XK | Jag xk

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 4200cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

Comfortable, quiet, excellent performance. Poor radio, some controls not obvious, don't like the touch screen system which is too distracting.

Jaguar XK | JaguarXK

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
1/5
  • 2006
  • 4200cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

Electronics and Software unreliable. Dealer servicing overpriced.

Bodywork bubbling.

Would not buy again

Jaguar XK | Jaguar XK8

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 4200cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

Overall an excellent car: good performance, comfortable and enjoyable to drive

Jaguar XK | Pure joy

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 5000cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

I love everything about this car from its power to its docility in traffic

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.