Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Jaguar XJ Reviews

Useful links:  218 Used Jaguar XJ in stock
Jaguar XJ

Welcome to the Jaguar XJ review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Jaguar XJ cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£56,260 - £121,020
AA Cars Average
£26,030
MPG
20.2 - 40.1
CO2 (g/km)
184 - 330
Tax Band
I - M
Noise Level
68.0 - 74.0

Jaguar XJ | Grace with Pace

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 4200cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Having owned each previous model of Jaguar XJ, I can state that the alluminium X350 is the best of the bunch so far, though I do not include the current XJ as I haven't owned one yet. The X350, in XJR supercharged form is an incredible machine. As reliable as previous models and as comfortable but the performance is in Ferrari, Porsche teritory which for a large four door saloon it just should not be, 0-60mph in 5 seconds dead and as chuckable a machine as you could wish for. Then there is the economy which while not a frugal car, which is not a reason you by a car like this, The XJR manages 25+mpg round town and well over 30 on a run, much better than the non supercharged, steel bodied XJ 3.2 Sport that I ran Previously.
I have clocked up 65000 miles in the four and a half years I have run the XJR and have thoroughly enjoyed every moment.

Jaguar XJ | Surprisingly Practical

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 4200cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have run a Jaguar Xj as my daily drive for many years and previous to my current 2004 XJR Supercharged ,which I have owned for five years, I had a 1996 XJ Sport 3.2.
I have found Jaguars to always be reliable, I have never been left stranded in one, and comfortable with brisk performance. My current alloy bodied car is exceptional, very comfortable , very fast and surprisingly economical aswell. Compared to the previous six cylinder car which never bettered 18mpg around town and around 23mpg on a run, the XJR manages 21 to 23 around town and between 28 and 32 on a run even if you use the V8's grunt, aluminium makes a big differance.
I will be replacing this car next year having already covered 65000 miles in it so far and will not hesitate to buy another Jaguar.

Jaguar XJ | Jaguar XJ6 - X300

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 1995
  • 3200cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

This car is superb apart from the tiny boot. Miner is slightly smaller as it has been converted to run on LPG with the LPG tank occupying the spare wheel well and the spare wheel taking up valuable space. Despite the fact that this car is 17 years old it has no rust and hasn't let me down once since I bought it a year ago. As I run it on LPG it costs me £32 to fill the tank and I get over 250 miles to a tank so it is cheap luxury. It is very smooth and quiet and Jags don't have a particular image problem that some brands have with the type of drivers that own them unlike a certain German brand. I would definitely recommend these cars with the straight six engine as the early V8's that superceded them had reliability problems. The straight six is dependable.

Jaguar XJ | My Car

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 1997
  • 3200cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

My present car is my 4th Jaguar and I've owned it now for 5 years. While there have been occasions when problems (Crankshaft sensor & Water pump failures) have caused difficulties it has been a most reliable vehicle. All my servicing is carried out at a garage that specializes in Jaguar's (It is NOT a main agent) and they are both highly competent, reasonably priced and will always look for the best and least costly way of doing all work required.

Inevitably age, as well as some deterioration to the body work, makes it likely that I will find a change necessary in the next 18>20 months I will replace it with another Jaguar as, while they might not be the most economical, I find them really reliable and very pleasant to drive.

Jaguar XJ | Jag XJ8

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1995
  • 3200cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

An oldie but a goodie, a touch of luxury and prestige motoring that I'd never be able to afford new. All the reliability and build quality you'd expect but not a lot of maintenance you can do yourself so costs get stupid until you can find a good independent specialist mechanic. I love it though thanks to the habit of the idiots in charge of our roads of salting them at the mere hint of frost, it's rotting like a peach underneath. My beautiful car will have to go thanks to the dickheads who panic in cold weather and simply have to see the gritters out because they can't drive safely!

Jaguar XJ | Just a Jaguar Freak

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1998
  • 3824cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Had a number of old XJs plus one S-Type and all have been excellent. The current car is an XJ8 Sport and although 15 years old has only done a genuine 70,000 miles and is in immaculate condition. Unlike modern boxes it is stylish and stands out from the crowd and I have absolutely no intention of changing it. It's a pleasure to drive and, whilst not practical as a daily runabout (bearing in mind the highway robbery that poses as petrol prices) it is the best hobby car I could wish for. It's a tremendous amount of motor car for what I paid for it.

Jaguar XJ | Jaguar XJ

Added: 13th of February 2014
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 2997cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Having had this 2012 Jaguar XJ very low mileage car for almost a year, I'm like a kid with a toy. It has more power than any car I've ever had - and I've had some powerful cars. It's just a joy to drive, even going to work!

The ride is somewhat like a sports car as it has low profile tyres and you have to be extra careful not to kerb the wheels.

Being hypercritical the voice command system is a little "long winded" but that doesn't spoil ones enjoyment of a beautifully built and joyful drivers car!

Well done Jaguar you have a winner!

Jaguar XJ | My Jaguar

Added: 18th of February 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 2967cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Owned 4 Jaguars from 1994 all XJ's 1994, 1997, 1998 (V8) and finally 2004 Aluminium body V6 3 litre. purchased for £2,500 in April 2014.Mileage 134,000. Took it to Main Agent in Leicester for a check over, and subsequently spent £1,000 Approx on sorting out the previous owners neglect. This is now a beautiful Red Cruiser, and makes you feel good, sailing along the Highway, with the quality sound system playing "Glenn Miller favourites," with the occasional Frank Sinatra CD. Perfect for Retirement. Only problem is " High insurance premium".

Jaguar XJ | Jaguar XJ8 1988 model

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1998
  • 3200cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have owned this car since 2001. It is a pleasure to drive, comfortable, powerful. Having the pleasure of driving a V8 with the accompanying sound is worth the fuel cost. When I look at people paying £20 to 30k for a new car and I look at my by now non-depreciating car, I think I am getting far better value for money in spite of my fuel costs. It has been pretty reliable too. If it gives up on me I might get another, or an XJR of similar vintage, else a V8 XF fo about £20k hoping it will have similar longevity.

Jaguar XJ | An Old Jaguar

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1998
  • 3200cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

This is my fourth Jaguar - much prefer the older XJ models. This is an XJ8 Sport with a genuine 78,000 on the clock. It's a lot of car for very little money. Why anyone pays tens of thousands for something newer but not as good is beyond my understanding. Spares and servicing are both very reasonable and the old girl is very reliable - it has never let me down. I have no intention of changing it in the foreseeable future.

Jaguar XJ | Jaguar XJ8 Sport

Added: 19th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2001
  • 3200cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

This is a good looking, luxurious and comfortable car. It needed some tlc after the previous owner neglected it but it is now a joy to drive. The previous owner was a smoker and it took a long time for the smell to subside and could do with an interior valet. I will be buying another Jaguar to replace this as it is an eye-catching car you can be proud to drive and is not just another run-of-the-mill clone.

Jaguar XJ | SUPERCHARGED PERFORMANCE

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2001
  • 4000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

My fourth Jag-I've gradually worked up the performance scale and have just clocked 130000 miles,with very few problems.
I rigidly stick to the 10000M service intervals and the car is looked after by a Jaguar specialist.
The performance is awesome,but not the fuel consumption.
I would not swap for another make,but I have to say that I do not like the shape of the new generation Jags-particularly the XJ

Jaguar XJ | Jaguar Sovereign TD Vi

Added: 1st of June 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2722cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

This car is just total quality, everything about it says class. Its roomy, very comfortable, it has obviously been very well looked after. When I drove it home, I was on the motorway, doing 70 under cruise control, and this car was pulling over 50mpg, which I am delighted with, I bought the car to be used, I would recommend this car to anyone.

Jaguar XJ | Jaguar XJ8

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 3500cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

A lovely old car; I love it. It has always been extreme;y reliable but it is now beginning to show its age (it is 10 years old now) and it has let me down a couple of times in the past couple of years. But it's not terribly clever on fuel consumption (a little over 24 mpg).

Jaguar XJ | Meets my needs

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1999
  • 3200cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Although an old car with 130,000 miles on the clock, my Jaguar is still highly reliable, comfortable, safe and stylish. I was born and bred in Coventry, home of Jaguar, and have driven Jaguars for 25 years. I shall keep this car until it dies and then replace it with another.

Jaguar XJ | JagXJ8

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2000
  • 3200cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I love this car. It is one of the best they built. Every time I see it parked up I look at it and still think wow what a looker. Comfort is great and on a motorway at a steady 70mph its not too bad on fuel. It will be a classic in a few years time.

Jaguar XJ | Jaguar Super V8

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 4200cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Performance and comfort are 5 star. The car is expensive to run and maintain, everything is expensive (a light bulb investigation and repair cost over £200) The space and practicality is only let down by the size of the boot.

Jaguar XJ | Steering

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

A great car but just now I am having steering problems. I had the front wheels balanced a few weeks ago but now I still have vibration at 50 or 60 mph. I guess one pot hole could have done the damage. I'll get it done again

Jaguar XJ | Jaguar XJ-S

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 1987
  • 3600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

Not the most practical vehicle but I like to be different, I am not one of the eurobox herd commuting to and from work every day.The Jag has proved to be extremely reliable and I carry out all maintenance myself.

Jaguar XJ | Space and comfort

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2015
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Main selection of car is for the interchange between homes in France and England
with space for luggage and wine, comfort and economy,
with easy adaption for driving on left or right

Filter Jaguar XJ Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.