Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Jaguar XF Reviews

Useful links:  710 Used Jaguar XF in stock
Jaguar XF

Welcome to the Jaguar XF review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Jaguar XF cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£29,945 - £79,995
AA Cars Average
£21,634
MPG
21.7 - 52.3
CO2 (g/km)
149 - 299
Tax Band
F - M
Noise Level
68.0 - 74.0

Jaguar XF | Love my XF

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

In Jan 2013 I bought a new XF 3.0D (Premium Luxury) to replace my upgraded 7 year old Seat Leon Cupra R.

You can't really compare the two, so all I will say is that buying a new Jag via a dealership was an unprecedentedly pleasant experience; the additional services such as warranty are great (luckily haven't had to use the warranty) and the car itself is a delight to drive. It feels so light and manageable on windy roads, despite being a big car, and while the ride is pretty smooth it still has enough road feel and feedback to feel like a proper car, not a barge. The automatic gearbox is great and in Sport mode the car really comes alive. Even driving to the supermarket feels special - you press the pulsing Start button, the drive selector rises out of the console and the air vents open. It's fabulous.

The one thing performance-wise I would criticise is the somewhat jerky pickup in Dynamic mode - I get that it's meant to be "dynamic" but I find it inconsistent and unpredictable. That doesn't stop me having it switched on all the time.

I also think the optional metallic paint could be better - it seems to scratch and mark very easily even with the additional dealer protection that I bought.

I don't get to drive it often as I commute by public transport, but it does go on long runs to France and it's a perfect touring car - it's relatively economical fuel-wise and so much less tiring than my fun but boisterous little Cupra used to be.

Yeah - I love it.

Jaguar XF | Jaguar XF Diesel

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I bought this car because of it's stunning looks and because it received consistently very good reviews on reputable review sites. I have not been disappointed. It is relatively good on fuel, though I have never got close to the MPG combined figures quoted on the specifications, at about 44mpg. Servicing etc is not especially cheap, nor or tyres or spares but it is a luxury saloon so I do not expect economy in that area. as a diesel it runs well though sometimes feeling a little underpowered. That said it has all the attributes I need for both rural and urban driving. I had a little problem with the battery, but I understand that is an issue with this model, that said it has not let me down yet (just a warning light from time to time). It is comfortable for driver and passengers, and I have never owned a car which has received so many positive comments from people I know. I bought the 2.2D to combine luxury with relatively economical performance and so far I have been pleased with every aspect of the vehicle. I would definitely have another.

Jaguar XF | Jaguar XF

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

My XF is the 2.2l diesel 163. This is the smallest engine that Jaguar make at this time but its performance is terrific. Acceleration is dynamic, if needed, and it cruises in near silence. At 70 mph on a motorway it can be doing between 60 and 70 mpg and on an average journey will do over 50mpg. Around town it does something like 43mpg. It rides firmly but very nicely for passengers. Its handling across country is truly remarkable.
The interior makes you feel special with lots of space for spreading out and a huge boot. It has all the toys like automatic headlights, wipers, headlight washers, reversing camera and front sensors which are important on a fairly large car. The rising gear knob and air vents are still fun. The 8 speed gear box is very smooth although it does have paddle gear change if you need it.
So far it has lived up to all our expectations and it is, for us, a real privilege to drive around in such a beautiful car.

Jaguar XF | BRILLIANT CAR!! BEST LOOKING OUT OF ALL MID SIZED EXECUTIVE VEHICLES!

Added: 28th of December 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have owned this premium luxury S version of the XF for nearly a year, I also own an Mercedes E350cdi, and previously I have owned many luxury saloon cars. I have to say this car is very quiet and comfortable. It's a nice place to sit be in especially at high speed. It's mid range acceleration is impressive there won't be many cars that will be any quicker without spending silly money. It's been reliable so far and that's approaching 50k. Running costs are reasonable, fuel consumption is about 38 mpg and that's with my heavy right foot!
Ultimately the Germans have a more than capable rival here by jaguar, for me personally I don't think I'll be buying a BMW, Audi or Mercedes again in the near future.

Jaguar XF | Treat yourself!

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2995cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I purchased this car after having a BMW 5 series for a year as a treat after getting a serious illness early in my retirement.
The Jaguar when bought was less than a new Focus, Golf etc. and gives performance comfort and much enjoyment. Service and MOT throw up the usual stuff but no big disasters. The petrol engine is probably not as fast ,economic or torquey as the diesel but it is not too bad locally and on the occasional A road trip. At least it sounds like a jaguar if you turn down the zillion watt 14 speaker dab stereo with auto changer for cd.
Buying a used car like mine enables you to hold out for most optional extras without paying a fortune for a new one.

Jaguar XF | Jaguar xf sportbrake review

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I owned an xf saloon for two years and changed it for an xf sportbrake when they were released. Both proved to be excellent cars but the sportbrake in Italian racing red is just perfect and easily beats all the competition. Handles like a sports car, does 0-60 in 6.5 seconds returns an average of 42.6mpg (3 litre diesel) honest, tows my large caravan with no effort at all and is just a joy to drive. Only had 1 minor fault on a sensor between both cars which didn't stop me using it.

My advice to anyone is don't look at the competition ....

Just buy one


You'll love it as I love mine.

Jaguar XF | Best of Britsh?

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 2700cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

The Jag has not failed to live up to expectations, it has not missed a beat and continually gets admiring comments and people want a ride. The only little down is it does suffer from turbo lag, but you can use the flappy paddle gearbox to get round that or buy the 3.0ltr, and the boot, although large can be difficult to pack with large suitcases.
It is very comfortable and economical. Covered over 2500 in 2 weeks on holiday with a mix of very high speed and high speed journeys to and from Spain along with 10 days of pottering and averaged 39.6 overall, which was far better than similar journeys in previous cars.
I will certainly buy another one.

Jaguar XF | WOW, even better

Added: 18th of June 2015
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 2700cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Since owning the early X-Type 2.5 auto petrol (down point - small tank) then the 2.2 diesel Sovereign (manual), both undeniably affordable to buy and run - I decided to upgrade to the XF and haven't looked back. Great car to drive, plenty of space inside, although I find the boot opening small for the capacity. I agree with comments regarding the turbo lag but as stated, with the use of the paddles I have all but overcome that minor issue. I love my car and in the past have never been a 'brand' person, but having owned and driven many makes of car I am now convinced that Jaguar have very nearly got it perfect! I will definitely upgrade again.

Jaguar XF | Enamored!

Added: 20th of April 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have just bought this premium luxury xf from a specialist dealer and the car is awesome! I have owned many makes and models previously and nothing compares to the Jag! It is quiet and refined and quick enough with terrific handling, but it is the elegance which captures the heart. It has all the toys you could ever want and the swivelling air vents and rising auto selector add an air of specialness. Luxurious, comfortable, elegant, all the praise from car testers is well earned and over 50mpg to boot! I would recommend the xf to any potential purchaser without hesitation.

Ian - Stourbridge, West Midlands.

Jaguar XF | Jaguar XF (Sport) Estate

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I've had this car for 6 months now. It's very comfortable and quiet with masses of room for my family of 5, the boot in particular is very roomy. The ride is sublime and the automatic gearbox is very smooth and quick I hardly notice gear changes. Fuel economy is very good, I get about 45MPG on my short run to and from work in partly urban conditions and upwards of 60MPG on the Motorway. As with most diesels there is a bit of lag when you put your foot down but the car is more than powerful for quick and smooth overtaking when the revs kick in. I love it.

Jaguar XF | Jaguar XF 3L Diesel

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 3

Ignore all the published road tests and rave reviews, this car is even better than that.

Supremely comfortable, gorgeous to look at, well kitted out, 30 mpg around town, 40+ on a drive.

Completed 12k miles in 6 months, she has not put a foot wrong and the only trip to the dealer was for a routine service and 2 tyres.

I love this car.

PS It has the benefit of not being a BMW 320d with all the associated negative imagery (it's where Mondeo Man has emigrated to)

PPS I've had BMW's in the past, this is not in the same league...way better.

Jaguar XF | Jag xf

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 2700cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

The jag xf looks the part. One of the best cars to drive and very comfortable. But and the big but is reliability is terrible. I have a very long list of problems with the car. Lucky for me all fixed under warranty. It would have cost over £1000 in repairs. My first car to go back to dealer on breakdown truck. Is it really worth buying a car for the badge??? Its like i said great to drive and comfortable but spending more time in repairs worth it for a nice badge on the front?? Not worth the money!!

Jaguar XF | Jaguar XF Premium Luxury 3.0d

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Most of the bells and whistles required.

A few niggles. Rattles from driver's door; sound of fuel thumping in fuel tank when 3/4 or more full; annoying carpet clips; slow response from screen console at times; driver's seat bolsters needed replacing; no spare wheel (repair foam and inflator).

All of these small faults have been rectified by the main dealer.

Overall a very comfortable and competent car. But is it as good as my previous BMW 5 Series? Time will tell.

Jaguar XF | Fantastic jag

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 2700cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

In the 18 months of ownership and 40k miles it has not missed a beat. It is very comfortable and a pleasure to drive. It regularly gives 40plus to the gallon. This year we went down to Spain in it and did almost 3000 miles in 2 weeks which included some very high speed driving as well as plenty of pottering about. Overall we averaged 39.6 mpg for the holiday, far better than any other car we have done a similar trip. Will defiantly buy another one, when the time comes

Jaguar XF | Jaguar XF

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

This vehicle has been very reliable and the performance is excellent for acceleration, road holding.
I have only used standard (summer) tyres but it is not good during snow as traction is readily lost.
The boot is relatively small for a large family car but this is reduced by having a split rear seat. Would be even more practical if the rear parcel shelf was removable but maybe this would add a risk of vibrations from it. As it is, there are virtually no vibrations.

Jaguar XF | Jaguar XF

Added: 16th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2009
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Great motorway cruiser,comfortable and gives effortless acceleration when needed. Great road holding when cornering at speed. Controls are well laid out except for fog light controls. only fault is a regular fault warning on parking break which re sets if you turn ignition off and on again. Best performing car I have owned in my 50 years. A pleasure to drive, still turns heads fair/good fuel consumption for a 3 ltr car.

Jaguar XF | Jaguar XF 3litre diesel sport

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

The car is excellent, it drives like an ordinary saloon when you want it to but has tremendous power and acceleration as required. Under normal driving conditions it is reasonably fuel efficient and it is very comfortable. Although I have only driven 14,000 miles in it so far, it is very reliable and I would strongly recommend it. Also the guy Salmon Jaguar dealership give personal and reasonably price service.

Jaguar XF | Best Jaguar

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have driven Jaguars constantly since 1969. The quality was indifferent in the 70's and 80's but in recent years it has been excellent.
Whilst the XF is perhaps not as smooth and opulent as the earlier XJ6s, it is the best car I have ever had. With a smaller engine, the performance is fine and the fuel consumption at 45 mpg of diesel is 100% better than I got in Jaguars 10 years ago

Jaguar XF | Jaguar XF

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 5

I have owned my car now for 18 months and have found my ownership experience as faultless . The car is quiet comfortable and reliable . Its simply a joy to drive and also my experience of the jaguar dealer is as excellant as the car. If anybody is contemplating buying one dont hesitate . I have previously owned and driven Mercedes BMW and Audi equivalents and the Jag is leagues ahead .

Jaguar XF | Jaguar XF

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I enjoy the Jaguar XF for its combination of handling, quietness, performance and comfort. It is also a beautiful car to look at and often attracts comment from passers-by. It is quite simply the best car I have owned and I would find it difficult to improve on except in the area of running costs, but these are acceptable and are improved in the latest model .

Filter Jaguar XF Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.