Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Jaguar X-Type Reviews

Jaguar X-Type

Welcome to the Jaguar X-Type review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Jaguar X-Type cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£4,193
MPG
26.6 - 50.3
CO2 (g/km)
149 - 254
Tax Band
F - L
Noise Level
69.0 - 75.0

Jaguar X-Type | Under appreciated quality

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

The Jaguar X Type diesel has been much maligned by a biased motoring press without appropriate consideration or justification. I have had 3 interrupted by a brief period of BMW 3 series ownership. If you believe the motoring press the Bavarian mid range executive car is the ultimate driving machine. In my experience it was the quickest route to putting my back into spasm due to the offset driving position and the quickest route to boredom on a journey of any length. With a cockpit of black plastic and brushed aluminum it purports to be cutting edge but is in fact like something out the seventies with little by way of gadgetry to keep you amused. Compare that to the sumptuous leather heated seats of the Jaguar which hold you firm and keep you comfortable mile after mile guided by your 7 inch SAT NAV guided climate controlled environment. The steering on the BMW 3 series may be fractionally tighter and more direct but that is marginal and is more than compensated for by the the limpet like road holding of the Jaguar in all road conditions in all seasons. Road holding on the BMW is fine April to September, if its not too wet, but you need to invest in winter tyres to drive with any confidence in the winter road conditions, where I live for the rest of the year. In the 18 months I owned a 3 series nobody ever stopped me to say I really think your car looks great. It is a weekly occurrence with the Jaguar X Type. The BMW is a triumph of marketing over engineering. The Jaguar X Type is engineering excellence which was victimised by negative press marketing. The BMW 3 series left me cold, I always leave my X Type with a smile on my face and looking forward to my next trip.

Jaguar X-Type | I love my first Jaguar

Added: 4th of January 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 2100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I needed a lot of badge for peanuts, Something that looks great and can transport my family in style and comfort. I did not want a bank loan and to be honest there was almost nothing that excited me in a sea of boring white goods and intergalatic miles autobarn fliers. Then i cast my eye over the 'baby' Jaguar. I didn't want a diesel as i really enjoy driving and like to enjoy a proper power delivery. I needed a smooth and quiet petrol engine. Also, it needed to be manual for better mpg plus driving involvement. An AWD 2.5 was the answer... however, after looking at quiet a few i decided to go check out a 2002 silver SE 2.1 and after a test drive i was so impressed i brought it. FSH, low owners, just 76k miles. What can i say? I am smitten. It's a beautiful car and i've had family and collegues thinking i paid from £3k to £15k for it. Bonus. It's a lovely car and i get comments wherever i go in it. Mature attractive women smile at me in supermarket car parks and i get called 'Sir' a lot (including at drive throughs). My young son also thinks i am some sort of super dad now which is great. Only problem is my wife keeps stealing it! This will not be my last Jaguar. It's a fantastic car and i can't recommend them enough. I will have another X Type in a few years then an XE as these baby luxury saloons are a bargain. Just make sure to take your time. Buy on condition with a FSH and as low miles as possible. You will love it, and you can feel good saying "let's take the Jag".

Jaguar X-Type | CONTENTED

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 2099cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I had always fancied myself driving a Jaguar.
Over the last 50 Odd years of driving I have experienced driving a great variety of vehicles, both small commercial and privately owned small and large cars. I am now retired from work and have managed to save enough to enable me to buy a Jaguar. Perhaps it is not a new car, but the quality of build means that I can enjoy the refinements of this modest yet classy vehicle.
This car is the sport version. It is a responsive and fun to drive car. The sports bucket seats are a bit tight for getting in and out of for a pensioner, but they do mould to your body on long trips and are very comfortable. Good solid feel on the open road. Feels like a heavy car, but acts like a sports saloon. I have been pleasantly surprised at the fuel economy. It is still returning a good 45mpg on mixed driving conditions. The modern 'gismos' such as automatic climate control, traction control, trip computer make for a confident drive on long journeys.
The car may be approaching 120,000 and be eight years old, but it still sails through its MOT's without advisories.
It is not over expensive to service. All in all, I am very contented owning and driving my X type. If I win the lottery I will definitely buy another Jaguar.

Jaguar X-Type | My first Jaguar

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 2077cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I bought my car 2nd hand in October 2008 from a Jaguar dealer in part exchange. We chose this car as a retirement gift to ourselves and my wife wanted leather unholstery and I wanted an automatic having always had a manual. I had Mondeos up to then and liked the idea that the X type was built on the same chasis although the ride is different. We have enjoyed the comfort albeit we we only do some 4k a year mainly for weekly shopping, a couple of 2/3 days breaks and visiting relations 100 miles away.
We have the car serviced every two years by the dealer and found them very effecient although costly but that comes with the make!
I use the cruise control quite a lot as it makes me more aware of whats going on as one needs to read the road more. I have split back seats which allows me to buy long items being a keen DIYer and gardener. I like using the auto box when on holiday if we're driving in mountainous areas and find it easy and responsive. I have driven automatics in the past having been a transport manager but owning my own in retirement makes for easiers driving and allows you to concentrate more on the road.
Whether I can aford to buy another Jaguar remains to be seen

Jaguar X-Type | Love This Car

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

This is the second X Type diesel engine car that I have owned. It is generally reliable ? my only problem on both cars has been turbo failure. It is economical on fuel achieving over 50 mpg on reasonable runs and even 30+ mpg around town. The diesel engine is quiet on the open road; the car is well finished inside and out and even though it contains a lot of Ford bits it does look like a Jaguar. The current range of models look too much like unsuccessful designs put together in Bavaria. I was amazed when Jaguar discontinued the X Type ? probably because they thought it was too much Ford engineering. But surveys have shown that these cars are still loved by their owners and even when production ceased they were still selling more of these each year than all the other Jaguar models combined. As they stopped production, they told us they were doing niche marketing. Now they seem to have seen the error of their ways and soon they will have a new smaller car. I hope it doesn't look lie a BMW,
It should be remembered that the X Type was the first production Jaguar with a diesel engine; first with 4 wheel drive; first with front wheel drive.

Jaguar X-Type | Classic X Type

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

This car has had a lot if negative press from motoring journalists which in my opinion has been very unfair. Ok if you are comparing the X Type to a Bugatti Veron or a Bentley, but for a car that cost just over £20k from new it has been good value for money. If Jaguar sold it too cheaply that's not my fault is it? Look at all the thousands of X Types that are still around. A pity it's replacement the XF is another £15 k as this has certainly put me into a difficult position in eventually trading up. I have had well over 40 mph on average out of this car which including urban work and it's size is very good. How many other large family saloons can boast these figures in true honesty?.
It accelerates fast and does so comfortably and with ease. Servicing has not been too bad and although I did have a glow plug issue a while ago when it kept sticking I have had no other problems at all. Call it an old mans car if you wish but when I hit a crash barrier at 70mph in a previous X Type (not my fault) and walked away without injury I am glad to be able to live to be an old man. Great classic. Pity they don't still make them

Jaguar X-Type | My X cellent ideal vehicle

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

This is my third x type jaguar but the first automatic. Most of the time there is only two of us so the interior space is ideal. If we have other passengers we do move the front seats forward as the rear seats do lack some leg room. This is the reason for not giving 5 stars for space and practically.
I find the performance adequate for my needs and indeed don't use full throttle and kick down very much.
The insurance is reasonable and a touring fuel consumption of 45/46 mpg is most acceptable. This does fall in town driving but still good for an automatic that does not benefit from modern engine technologies.
We find the seats support us well and do not suffer any stiffness after long journeys.
From a reliability point I have only had to have the o/s front wheel bearings replaced and tyres have been replaced mainly due, I believe, to a large amount of town driving and parking.
Overall I find the external size of the jaguar ideal and find that competitive vehicles tend to be externally bigger to the extent I will find it difficult to replace.

Jaguar X-Type | JAGUAR X TYPE ESTATE

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

* This is the 2nd X type Jaguar I have owned. Circa 10 years total of motoring where the reliability has been perfect.
* The petrol driven car gave circa 25mpg & the present diesel 45+ mpg (up to 55mpg)
* The present diesel car has all the comfort & technical ability that I want.
* I prefer front wheel drive as I believe there is more control of the car in the wet / ice.
* I believe the car provides a good combination of comfort, safety, performance & space but it would be good to have more adjustment on the steering wheel to suit my wife (tilts only)
* 2nd hand the car was a bargain & I regret that Jaguar stopped production in 2009. (The XF estate is too big & is back wheel drive)
* I have the 2.2 litre model that gives good mid range acceleration / power; press says slightly noisier than 2.0 litre (probably correct)
* I enjoy looking at vehicles & spend a long time pondering what my next car could be? The present time an Audi Advant A4 would be the closest match to the X type but far too expensive.

Jaguar X-Type | Jaguar X-Type 2.5 Auto Petrol (2002)

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Jaguar X-Type 2.5 Auto Petrol 4dr saloon - a beautiful car of its day.
But now it is extremely costly to run, petrol prices have virtually run it off the road. £70 tank of petrol = 230 miles if I am lucky.
It is extremely costly to take it anywhere near a Jaguar dealership for servicing who want to charge me more than the car is worth to service and add parts at exorbitant costs before returning it; so I avoid Jaguar dealerships like the plague now and have it serviced and MOT'd at other more friendly outlets.
It is a luxury large car with wonderful comfort, space and performance; it starts every day in all weathers with a smile.
It has a tiresome engine malfunction light on all the time though, that even Jaguar do not seem able to get to the bottom of, so it stays on ........ constantly.
I won't part with it however until it breaks down and does actually require parts that cost more than its worth to be fitted to get it going again.

Jaguar X-Type | 3 litre V6

Added: 14th of March 2014
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2001
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have had my V6 for five years and it has covered 70k miles. It is a comfortable and spacious saloon with superb roadholding, a lovely smooth engine and auto box with permanent all wheel drive. Brakes are progressive and tyre wear reasonable. Only problems have been front suspension bushes, replacement battery, the original being 13 years old, the odd light bulb and I have just had to replace a leaking power steering hose at £320. My only criticisms are that due to the bulbous cross section of the vehicle parallel parking can be difficult. Also for the taller driver the crazy design of the boot latch means you can catch your head on it quite easily. It is still on the original exhaust and returns 26mpg combined and up to 33mpg on long motorway journeys. Cavernous boot is great but it is a shame the rear seats don't fold down. Would I buy another? Yes but I would get the estate.

Jaguar X-Type | Jaguar X Type Estate

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 4

I have now driven over 30,000 miles in this Jaguar, having bought an ex demonstrator model with just under 6,000 miles on the speedo. During this time the vehicle has not had any breakdowns and has proved to be a reliable purchase. Running costs I consider are reasonable for the type of vehicle and on motorway driving I get an indicated 50 mpg which I think is good for a car of this type with 2 passengers and luggage. Performance is again generally good with fast acceleration (all that I require), good cornering and braking.

There is good space for luggage in the boot and with the state version there is better headroom for taller passengers in the rear seats.

I find that with the current low-profile tyres fitted replacement has to be carried out more often than with conventional cross ply/radial tyres that are fitted to my other cars.

Jaguar X-Type | Used X Type

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I purchased my Jaguar X Type 2.0Estate four years ago, at the time of purchase it had 66000miles on the clock, I have since covered a further 28000 miles. Until this year I have had no mechanical problems recently I have had to change an EGR valve that was six months ago. Last week the glow plug warning light came on accompanied by a loss of power, this was diagnosed by my excellent local garage as an " over boost" they removed the turbo and cleaned it ,this fortunately for my pocket seems to have worked. I find the car economical, roomy,it can carry an amazing amount, it is a joy to drive and I find it very comfortable to drive ,although my wife tells me that it could do with more leg room in the back . I am 78 years old and have no problems with driving the car. Yet!!!

Jaguar X-Type | Best all round car I have ever owned

Added: 20th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

This car I have had from new and although I know I need to replace it I just can't find a equivalent at the right price. The car is used for everything and can take three golfers with all their equipment plus electric trollies.It has never let me down and on a run I get 50mpg, It has the same tyres except I have fitted winter for the next 4 months? It performs well in the bad snowy weather when equipped with these winter wheels. One improvement, it should have been 4 wheel drive, like the petrol version as I believe many Jag owners told the dealers.I change my wife's car nearly every year, her latest a 4 wheel drive BMW m coupe,(not the SUV) pity Jaguar could not have produced a similar version.
A modern x type 4x4 estate would tempt me into giving up my car.

Jaguar X-Type | Jaguar X Type Diesel

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Having owned my Jaguar X-Type Sport Diesel from new in 2004 I would rate it very highly. Judged on reliability it has been first class, never having failed to start and never having let us down on a journey. It has had a few faults, but with 142,000 miles on the clock this is to be expected. None of the faults have resulted in a breakdown. Economy is excellent at 46mpg. The standard of finish of the interior is superb and far better than the acres of dull plastic in most cars. The biggest complaint I have had is the poor durability of the paintwork around the wheel arches. If the worst should happen and the car had to be replaced, I would seriously consider looking for a low mileage used example of the same model in preference to a newer design.

Jaguar X-Type | Jaguar x type estate

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I am quite pleased with my Jaguar, I purchased it secondhand over three years ago in that time I have covered in excess of 22000 miles, not a lot I know but when one considers that a number of the journeys were of less than 6 miles the car has performed well.I made the mistake of using cheap diesel which caused a slight mechanical problem,fortunately I had a AA Gold Warranty so the EGR valve that I had to replace did not affect my wallet. That is the only problem that I have had with it . It is kept regularly serviced and MOT,d, that can be a bit eye watering but. On the whole the car has performed well and been fairly economical and looks set to go on for area years with me yet.

Jaguar X-Type | Lovely little car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

After many years away, it is lovely to have a Coventry built car again. The quality of the components and build are all you would expect of second-to-none British craftsmen.

Everything necessary for regular checks under the bonnet have been well designed and are easily accessible - sensible really, means checks are much more likely to be regularly made.

Altogether a lovely little car, not the size and space of a really large family estate, but all the comfort and a very good size boot.

Only one wistful thought. We do mainly long journeys between 4-500 miles: it would have been nice to have a 17 gallon tank rather than the 14.5 gallons on board.

Jaguar X-Type | X Type 2.2D Sport Premium

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

A great car, my second Xtype. The first was petrol and was less economic. This one on a steady motorway/trunk road trip will happily do 44MPG. Locally I usually get 38MPG. The ride is excellent, the luggage space is fantastic and easily beats many cars you would expect to be better. It has never let me down and to my surprise copes with snow much better than the petrol version. My three niggles are
1.The pathetic "Ford pop" squeaky horn
2.The sat nav is not so good as the one in my first X Type and has less functionality
3 The 10 minute timer on the heated seats unneccessary and a pain.

All in all I love the car and wish it was still in production

Jaguar X-Type | Jaguar Xtype deisel Estate

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

A great car with teriffic comfort and load capacity. My only issues are :
1 The fuel consumption is not quite as good as I would really like.
2. The 10 minute timer on the heated seats is uneccessary and irritating.
3. The SAT NAV software is nothing like as good as the one in the earlier Xtype saloon I owned, and is very expensive to update. It also has no road condition facility whichh for a luxury car is poor.
4. The horn sounds like a Ford Popular - a pathetic squeaky beep - not suitable for this type of vehicle.

These are samll niggles which mean I would give it 9.75 out of 10. If this was still in production I would buy another one

Jaguar X-Type | Jaguar X-Type

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

In almost 10 years of ownership my Jaguar X-Type has proved to be extremely reliable. It has now done 144,000 miles and has never broken down and never failed to start. The car is comfortable and handles very well, with all the performance I need. The interior is very well appointed. The boot is large enough for all eventualities. Running costs are very low for such a spacious and well finished car. The main complaint, if I had to make one, is that the paintwork around the wheelarches has not proved to be resilient.

If I were suddenly faced with having to replace the car I would seriously consider another similar but later model.

Jaguar X-Type | Jaguar x type

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2004
  • 2967cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have owned the car since new and other than consumable items subject to natural wear ( brake discs, pads etc. )the car has been very reliable. I recently replaces an O2 sensor, but given the age of the car, not a problem. Rear suspension getting noisy; sounds like new bushes required somewhere. I am assessing this shortly. It is fairly comfortable, although rear seat space/legroom is a bit restricted, although fine for front seat passengers. It is a comfortable car to drive. The 3.0 litre engine is pretty flexible, although thirsty. Bodywork has remained sound.
All in all reasonably satisfied although I have owned better cars.

Filter Jaguar X-Type Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.