Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Jaguar S-Type Reviews

Jaguar S-Type

Welcome to the Jaguar S-Type review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Jaguar S-Type cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£3,934
MPG
22.5 - 41.5
CO2 (g/km)
179 - 314
Tax Band
I - M
Noise Level
70.0 - 74.0

Jaguar S-Type | I love my Jag!

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2700cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Having an older brother who owned a garage, I had access to all his stock. As a teenager I had the opportunity to drive Jaguar cars which were my favourites.
So,as a young man I drove E Types, XK150s, S Types (Inspector Morse variety) & many XJ6 models also the odd XJS. All were a delight.
I purchase one of the last modern S Type cars. The model being the XS 2.7 Twin Turbo Diesel. I love this car.
It is comfortable economical & reliable.
I chose the model MINUS wood interior & cream leather preferring the black carbon fibre look with silver sports trimmed door cards & black leather interior. 19" alloys & Jaguar lowered suspension with full body kit front/rear spoilers ;sill mouldings etc PLUS Type R front& rear mesh grills ( which are ALL factory fitted) complete the look.
Every time I drive the car it puts a smile on my face until I approach speed bumps! These have to be very carefully negotiated as the car is so low riding,
A wonderful car in my view & I am seriously contemplating attending a Nurburgring open day to try it out on the circuit.
Having seen Jeremy Clarkson attempt this in an earlier version of my Jag, I am sure I could beat his time!!

Jaguar S-Type | Chris's Jag

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have owned the Jaguar S Type since 2001 and rate the car very highly. It is powerful and responsive and returns an expected petrol consumption for a 3 litre car of its age.
It is supremely comfortable for both long and short journeys.
I half expected servicing and repairs to be expensive when I bought the car but have been proved wrong. (My previous Ford Mondeo, though excellent in many ways, was more expensive to maintain over 14 years.)
I found the Jag to be extremely reliable and very few non-service jobs have had to be done. It is still running on the original exhaust and the original battery was only replaced last year!
I have found the interior space to be good but not over-generous.
One extremely useful practical feature is the ability to lay the rear seat backs horizontally and create a vast load space.
I sincerely hope that it will last for many more years to come and fall into the "Classic Car" bracket.

Jaguar S-Type | Ron's Jag

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2003
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I've had the car from new and it has now done over 160K miles. It has never broken down and apart from normal consumables (tyres, brake pads, brake discs)has only had four things replaced - water pump, heater valve, an ABS sensor and one of the ties on the rear suspension. It purrs around town, it's great for long distance journeys, which are effortless, and it still likes a bit of twisty road now and then although the suspension is getting a bit looser than it used to be. One issue that has caused problems a couple of times is a wheel nut jamming so I make a point of loosening and tightening them every month or so as I don't want to be stuck at the roadside with a puncture. Overall it has been, and still is, a great car to own and I don't want to swap it or lose it.

Jaguar S-Type | My 'S' Type

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 2997cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

This car is the most comfortable car I have ever had for long distance and around town driving.
Totally relaxed when driving car feels sure footed in any circumstances, providing you change the tyres to winter tyres when the temperature drops below 7-8 deg. this transforms the car.
Plenty of space in the cab for 4 people to relax and enjoy the ride.
Boot space is sometimes limiting but that is not very often.
Would recommend that you change the space saver spare wheel for full size, why they fit a speed restricting wheel with this type of car I don't understand( not that I saying you should speed).
The style is one of the most beautiful Jaguar has produced (My opinion)looks great in Metallic Jaguar Racing Green.

Jaguar S-Type | S Type

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 4196cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

My car is very comfortable to sit in, has plenty of room - the back seats fold down to enlarge an already big boot .It has numerous safety features - multiple air bags, ABS, cruise control, Dynamic Stabilty Control and crumple zones. As well as these it also has the option for the car to switch the lights on and also the wipoers. The drivers seat has two memory settings which not only move the seats all ways, except sideways, but also set the mirrors,the steering wheel - in and out & up and down - and ,in some models, the pedal box is also adjusted. My car also produces 300bhp which can move you on very quickly if you need to get out of trouble.
My Jaguar is very good looking and has 'grace, space & pace.

Jaguar S-Type | Nice but thirsty.

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2001
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Good car generally. Get a lot of car for your money buying used. Seems to be quiet a status symbol though in reality it's probably worth less than same age 'ordinary' cars. Decent performance but very thirsty on petrol - 20 MPG (if your lucky and drive sensibly) around town going up to about 30 MPG on motorway runs. Not had any major mechanical problems with it just normal servicing and wear and tear stuff. Still fairly restricted for room in the cabin despite it been such a large car. Boot is long but quiet shallow again restricting space available. Heavy depreciation. Take a very big hit in first few years. Good buy as a used car when most of depreciation has gone.

Jaguar S-Type | Jaguar

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 2970cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

When I bought the car as an ex demonstrator from the main agents(Stratstone) I considered the car gave me the comfort,performance and reliability as good as any other make.
The car has cost me nothing in repair charges,and I have it serviced annually by the main dealership. I average 8500 miles per year,but consider that a smaller car would save me money,but I do wonder if I would get the same comfort and reliability.
I will start looking for a new car around the spring of 2014.
and make comparisons.My current car is very reliable and I never consider IF I should embark on a journey because I know it is reliable and will take me to any destination.

Jaguar S-Type | warranty

Added: 3rd of May 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2700cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

had big bother with car after 2 weeks which eventually was traced to the brake servo and they asked me to bring it back but I had no way of getting back home and they don't do courtesy cars so they allowed me to bring it to a local garage which I know to be genuine and they diagnosed the fault and gave them a quote to repair it and they agreed to pay up. So as its a bank holiday I'm not sure if they've paid the local garage but I really hope so. The car is running brilliantly at the moment and if all goes well with repair cost's then I will be one happy punter
Patrick Dunne

Jaguar S-Type | Don't knock it until you try it

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 4196cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Too many people underestimate the Jaguar S Type and consider it to be an old mans car.
OK but they are missing a truly good car.
I have owned mine for nearly seven years and it has never let me down and it goes like a train when needed. For a V8 and 4.2 litres it is economical at appx. 25/26 to the gallon.
The new Jaguars are 1. Too expensive. 2. Ugly. 3 Too much emphasis on oil burner technology. Wish they produced a mid priced petrol 3 litre engine.
I'll stick to my S Type until it rolls over and dies.

Jaguar S-Type | Luxury.

Added: 21st of September 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Recently changed to S Type after 5 years with an XJ6. This car is much more modern feeling than the XJ and livelier. There is quite a sporty feel about it for such an executive saloon. People do seem to notice you in this car. Incredible value for money, probably one the least expensive cars in the car park by a long way. Why drive around in a tin can costing thousands more. Spend some of the money you save on buying a Jag on the extra petrol you'll use, and drive around in luxury!

Jaguar S-Type | Soul destoying

Added: 10th of March 2014
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
1/5
  • 2005
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I'm sure that for many people in the world that this vehicle is a comfy ride - nice.
But, it has no personality and poor response.
If you are essentially someone who does not enjoy driving, then you might love it.
If however you like to drive... then stay well away from this soul destroyer.
It doesn't matter what colour it looks like it is on the outside, this vehicle is Beige in every single way this word could be used.
Drive it and you may become beige too. Be warned.

Jaguar S-Type | so much for so little

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 4000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

As with most big engine older cars - not many people consider them, therefore they make a superbly cheap way to experience comfort and performance. They normally have been pampered in their early years. My S type is a truly amazing performer giving me comfort and a real turn of speed when I want to play - which can be quite often!! The car cost me just £2000 a year ago which is ridiculous for such a quality machine. Go on - be brave - indulge yourself!!!

Jaguar S-Type | S-Type

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2005
  • 2700cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

More than sufficient performance with reasonable fuel economy of around 35 mpg overall.
The S-Type is the most comfortable car I've ever owned and is very easy to drive, even my wife enjoys driving it. I don't use a main dealer for servicing but my garage is a Jaguar specialist and has reasonable service charges (£50 per hour). Only faults in 3 years are a parking brake module failure and stone damage to the air-con condenser.

Jaguar S-Type | My S-Type Jaguar.

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 3000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

My car has served me very well. I have never had a major problem or repair since buying it 4 years ago.

It runs smoothly and well and for the size of the engine is quite economical.

As the majority of my travel is long distance it is comfortable and safe and does not leave me tired at the end of a long journey.

I may well exchange it for a newer model but will stay with Jaguar.

Jaguar S-Type | jaguar s-type

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Have owned my s type for over a year now,its done,118 thousand miles,and is still quite,you could stand a 50p piece on the engine,with it running.Yes,its not great on fuel consumption,but,you pays your money,and takes your choice,i would not own any other make of car :)all the extas you could ever want,and,dont go thinking its an old mans car,always puts the others in there place :)

Jaguar S-Type | Margaux

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

She's a delight. Very comfortable, very reliable, great on long journeys. She isn't cheap to run or maintain, and she needs a proper parking space not some tiny niche, but I wouldn't be without her. It's unfair to group space and practicality: lots of space for people, not much for luggage, and hopeless for carrying furniture or a large family with babies. That suits me fine.

Jaguar S-Type | A few problems for me

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2006
  • 2700cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Because I am over 80 I am considering changing car to one that gives easier access, a little shorter for easier parking, also higher for better vision. Will be glad to change to avoid the burning smell from the car from new when I have just stopped. Dealer had 3 attempts to rectify and gave up. they improved it slightly by removing the fuel heater fuse. Not too impressed!

Jaguar S-Type | My Car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have'nt done many miles in my car since buying it in 2004,but have been extremly happy with its performance.
It performs well is very comfortable,i hope to run my car for the forseable future,as i see no need to change it.
I have had a few repairs which were costly,but i new this might be the case when i purchased this car.
Its a great car and i love it.

Jaguar S-Type | Wonderful but expensive!

Added: 11th of June 2014
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 2700cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

By a long way the most enjoyable and comfortable car I have ever owned in nearly fifty years of motoring. I drive around with a smile on my face, except when (as has happened all too often) something goes wrong - and then I am grumpy because Jaguar dealers, though very good, are also VERY expensive. But at the end of the day its definitely worth it......

Jaguar S-Type | Why so worthless ?

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2002
  • 4196cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

My 4.2 SE is just 11 years old and is now relatively worthless (£1700)
No point in changing because there is nothing out there that compares with the comfort, power and for me the reliability over the last 7 years of ownership.
The car may be old and I may be old but I'm not silly enough to waste money on another car that doesn't come up to the Jag.

Filter Jaguar S-Type Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.