Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Hyundai I40 Reviews

Hyundai I40

Welcome to the Hyundai I40 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Hyundai I40 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£19,765 - £29,220
AA Cars Average
£13,113
MPG
36.7 - 65.7
CO2 (g/km)
113 - 179
Tax Band
C - I
Noise Level
72.0 - 73.0

Hyundai I40 | Ticks my financial boxes and more

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1700cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I average over 60mpg on my off peak 80 mile round trip into London with a few local evening and weekend runarounds. Factor in £0 first year and only £30 next year for RFL and a low insurance premium, a pre-paid 3 year service plan and 5 year warranty all my financial boxes are met.

I also bought this car because of the high amount of standard kit and its size. I am spoilt for equipment that would cost a lot extra in other cars and the quality of materials used and "feel" are certainly not compromised in order to undercut rivals. Looks are subjective but I love the design that sets this car apart from Mondeos, Insignias, Passats & Octavias which I consider are the main competitors.

The driving experience surpasses my expectations as regards quiet motorway cruising, engine torque pull (I have the 136ps engine) and the steering is more positive than some report. I had the excellent Mazda 6 before and this i40 is not as far behind regarding road manners IMHO.

On the downside I can confirm the reported problems regarding tight gear selection when cold and you have to learn to choose a lower gear at times to keep the engine above 1500rpm but overall I am very happy to be covering 20k miles every year in this car.

Hyundai I40 | A lot of car for not a lot of £

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1700cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Well built and well sound proofed, especially on the motorway where it also gives better than 60mpg in summer.
Just £30 RFL and low insurance premiums also make me smile and not at the cost of poor performance as the 136ps diesel I drive has plenty of strength, although you do need to work the gears to keep above 1500rpm.
So much kit as standard....sat nav with reversing camera, auto-lights and wipers, cornering lights, climate control with screen de-mist sensor, electric drivers seat adjustment....the list goes on and on and all for under £22k new.
I am more than pleased with build and specifications and enjoy the different design looks compared to others in this segment.

Hyundai I40 | i40 Tourer

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1700cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 4

I find the car to be very comfortable to drive. The automatic box is very smooth in its changes. Although a very long vehicle it turns well and is easy to manoeuvre helped by a very good reversing camera in conjunction with front and rear parking sensors.
The 1.7L engine though small for such a large car is very quick and the kick down works well.
Fuel economy is good for an automatic and on a recent trip where over 1600 miles were driven over 10 days it averaged 50.2 mpg.

Hyundai I40 | HYUNDIA I40 TOURER

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1599cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

Very comfortable car with huge boot(the reason for buying)
Previous cars VW golf plus .
PERFORMANCE not as good as VW
Engine quite sluggish and you must use the gear much more, DOES NOT like drop in revs.
Gear box somewhat vague and waggle, could be bettered and made neater.
On the whole as my boy racer and excessive days are long gone very impressed with this car.

Petrol consumption average

A good warranty and service package.

Hyundai I40 | great family car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1695cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Loads of space for people and luggage - the first car I have ever been able to drive without the seat fully back, allowing more room for back seat passengers. Ride is comfortable and fairly quiet, especially once at cruising speed on a motorway. I think it looks great. Low and sleek from the outside, but spacious and expansive inside. I feel that based on cost i'd choose the i40 over the pricey Volkswagen passat or Ford mondeo.

Hyundai I40 | Hyundai i40

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2015
  • 1700cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

A large mondeo sized car, mine has the new duel clutch auto system and is excellent. The boot is huge but not easy to load because of a hlgh lip. The seats are are not the most comfortable but i find most cars these days are not very good. Leg room is exceptional and the car is very reliable, it has good acceleration and will return around 45mpg.

Hyundai I40 | star family car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1700cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

although not as efficient as advertised, but what car is, the vehicle is relatively cheap to run where your journeys are longer. very comfortable ride for driver and passengers. Rear seat have lots of leg room. All seats very comfortable. Base level Bluedrive model is a little underpowered at take off but is fine once underway.

Hyundai I40 | Spacious

Added: 19th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1700cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I've had my Hyundai i40 Blue Drive for approximately 18 months and found it a joy to drive, economical and very spacious, especially the boot. The only down side I would complain about is having no wiper on the very large rear window, whereas the estate version that has a much small window not at an angle and has a overhang has one.

Hyundai I40 | DRiving experience

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1700cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I find this a very comfortable car to motor in. Acceleration and handling is really good and the extras fitted make driving a pleasure.

Hyundai I40 | Hyandai i40

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1700cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Excellent fuel economy with Bluedrive technology.Regularly get over 50mpg.

Hyundai I40 | I40 stop start

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2015
  • 1700cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Only problem is the stop/start which only works when it wants to

Hyundai I40 | HYUNDIA

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

VERY COMFY CAR.
NEED TO USE GEARBOX A LOT.
SMART LOOKER

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.