Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Hyundai I30 Reviews

Hyundai I30

Welcome to the Hyundai I30 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Hyundai I30 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£14,000 - £24,025
AA Cars Average
£8,902
MPG
40.9 - 76.3
CO2 (g/km)
97 - 165
Tax Band
A - G
Noise Level
69.0 - 73.0

Hyundai I30 | Not the MPG I was expecting!!

Added: 8th of March 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2014
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I've only had the car (Blue Active) since the beginning of January. I suppose you could say it was a bit of an impulse buy as we lost our car (Citroen DS4) in the Boxing Day floods. I was pleasantly surprised with all the gadgets etc in a relatively cheap car and I when I saw the advertised MPG (70+ average) and the very good rating on various sites, decided to purchase it. The first thing I noticed was that the MPG gauge only goes up to 50 (a bit odd for a car that can do an average of 70+) and no matter how careful my driving, I cannot get anywhere near this figure!!
The car (64 plate) had done just over 12K miles and had a FSH. It's now just about to hit 14K and my average is about 40 MPG (My 6 year old Honda Civic 2.2 CDti with 78K could average 42 mpg!!).
The other small gripe I have is that the windscreen fogs over very quickly almost as soon as soon as the AC is switched off and I select another heating mode (such as the foot well for instance) as you cannot have both on at the same time (something i'm not familiar with in all of my other cars).

It is a very comfortable car to drive and the space for my family of 5 adults is great with plenty of rear leg room, I just wish that manufacturers would stop hyping up the mpg's (when we all know how they achieve them). I've just entered into a 4 year finance deal for this car and not happy with the way I've been misled to be honest. I have a sports car for fun driving and mpg is not an issue with this (even though it's almost exactly what is stated @ 18 - 22 mpg).

This is my daily for work and the other mundane stuff which is an average of 50 miles per day, so it was all about mpg for me

Hyundai I30 | So far so good

Added: 20th of June 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1398cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is my first diesel car. 1.4 turbo. Quite pokey for size of engine but to get best mpg on long journeys use cruise control. Just did a trip from Norwich to Willaston and averaged 66.4mpg. Usually achieve between 48~52mpg. When purchased there was an issue with a.c. unit but was rectified under warranty also steering wheel leather disintegrating also changed under warranty. Driver's inner door seal split, was told not covered as was wear and tear on a car just covered 36000 miles. I has a 12yr old fiat punto whose door seal was the original. Come on hyundai pull the other one.
Cabin space for passengers front and back excellent, however driver space is annoyingly cramped by a stupid centre console trim that serves no purpose and like all new cars the armrests intrude into leg space. The MK1 i30 was better for driver comfort.
All the gadgetry inside bluetooth etc works well.
Boot space is fantastic and as I go camping a lot the roof rails for the roof box are a doddle to fit.
Unfortunately I was a victim of vandalism with a foot long scratch on f.pax door. The only recognised repair shop Hyundai would deal with quoted £997. I found somewhere just as good with 3yr warranty on the work for £560. As I only have 2yrs left on warranty of vehicle and wasn't going to screw my insurance up for a claim on some moronic act.

Hyundai I30 | Peace of mind

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1590cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I don't change my car very often but my 8 year old Skoda Octavia had started to have reliability issues. After a fortnight of disappointing visits to various main dealers, I was watching a Sunday tv film which had a Hyundai sponsoring message. Using the web, I found the nearest dealer and popped round the next day. I was shown an i30 and had an immediate test drive. Within 90 minutes, the deal was done, good part-exchange, £30 Road Fund, top-of-the-range features including heated seats, and a car I could comfortably drive notwithstanding my 6ft and 20 stone physique, plus a 5 year warranty. I service the car once a year - yes the Hyundai approved garage could be a little less expensive - but for the rest of the year I enjoy trouble-free motoring and my comprehensive insurance is just under £200. I could grumble a little about the gearing. I live in the South Pennines and there are plenty of hills with speed limits. It is difficult to cruise in 4th at 30 mph, and in 5th at 40 mph - however motorway driving is a pleasure. I get around 45 mpg. The car is now some 46 months old. I've had just a couple of warranty problems - a tyre pressure sensor has been replaced and there was a door lock problem.

Hyundai I30 | i30 Estate

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

The estate was purchased because we had a need for extended luggage space in order to transport a mobility scooter. For that purpose it has proved ideal. Other considerations were secondary - however, I have been more than satisfied with the performance, handling (I am not a speed-freak) and economy. Little niggles - the air conditioning at the front was designed for a left-hand drive car and is slow to clear a misty windscreen on the right hand drivers' side. Stowage space in the centre console is limited by being split into different shaped holes. Door pockets are rather narrow and it can prove difficult to get small items out of them.
Overall however, these are only minor niggles, and detract only a little from my overall satisfaction with the car.
Service from the Hyundai dealer has been magnificent - apart from normal servicing, the few faults (a minor oil leak, a water leak into the passenger compartment, a broken key) have all been corrected promptly under warranty. I would have no hesitation in going back for another Hyundai in the future based on my experience so far.

Hyundai I30 | Problems with gearbox

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

After 36000 miles the automatic gearbox failed. I was overtaking on the A! near workshop wen tit happened and it was frightening. It needed a replacement gearbox and the radiator needed replacing at the same time. It took the Hyundai garage 12 days to get and replace the gearbox. During this period they failed to update me on what was happening, I phoned on most days but they failed to update be adequately. Hyundai's policy is to provide a complimentary car but they also failed to do this. I was told that all their cars were fully booked for the next 3 weeks. I complained when I collected the car and also in writing. I received a half-hearted apology. Needless to say I will not be buying another Hyundai.
Before this occurred I was also aware of other irritating things, e.g. seat belts awkward to get off, interior lights are poor - its really difficult to see , gearbox got stuck in gear occasionally, and the car comes to a stop rather abruptly. This is a pity since The car drives fairly well and is comfortable.

Hyundai I30 | 2012 model Hyundai i30 hatchback

Added: 20th of October 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1596cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have only driven this vehicle 79 miles since purchasing it today, but I am really impressed. It is the last word in luxury, and as for the critics views about its steering and road noise being bad, I beg to differ. The steering has three adjustments, and whilst the 'comfort' setting is light for manoeuvring the car, the 'normal' and 'speed' settings are perfect on the road. As for road noise, the radio is beautiful, and one can hear that, and conversations, with no trouble at all. The car has every available extra, plus some, and it is a serious rival to most other manufacturers - not least in its lesser price. Sadly it's automatic gearbox puts it in a higher tax bracket regarding emissions, but the ride, luxury, space, comfort, and the car's looks, makes it worthwhile. Thank you, Hyundai, AA used cars, and Edens of Reading, for making me a happy man.

Hyundai I30 | So Far So Good

Added: 21st of October 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1591cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have only had my 'new' car for a day, but have traveled 79 miles in it. It is without doubt, one of the most comfortable and luxuriously fitted out cars I have owned in 60 years. The critics claim that the steering is weak, and road noise inside the car is a problem. I must differ. The steering can be adjusted and whilst the 'comfort' setting is ideal for parking, the 'normal' and 'speed' settings are perfect for driving. The radio is lovely and one can listen to that and conversations with very little background noise at all. The engine and gearbox are as smooth as silk, and driven carefully, the MPG was between 45 and 50.
Comparing the car with similar Honda or Volkswagen models leaves nothing to be desired, other than a much more friendly price. Thank you Hyundai, AA used cars, and Eden's of Reading, for making me a happy man.

Hyundai I30 | HYUNDIA I30 1.6 DIESEL

Added: 12th of November 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

PURCHAST SEC/HAND 9000MILES 8 MONTHS £12,000
GREAT BUY, NO TAX THATS £00:00. CHEAP TO INSHURE £220.00
FIRST YEAR 12,000 MILES.SERVICE £110.00 AT BRADFORD HYUNDIA
MAIN DEALER 44mpg SHORT HILLY JOURNEYS WE LIVE AT 1000feet
55-60mph MOTORWAY JOURNEYS. NO FAULTS AT 20 months 14,000miles.
WEL THATS THE NUMBERS NOT BAD SO FARE,SEATS FIT LIKE A GLOVE AND COMFATABLE, DASH WORKS WELL AND CLEAR.
STOREAGE IN THE FRONT IS AMPLE ALLTHO CUP HOLDERS A LITTLE TO BIG. CONTROLS ON STEARING AMPLE.THE ACTIVE IS PACKED WITH GOOD FEATCHERS WITH GOOD SAFETY FEATCHERS.
BOOT SPACE ADIQUATE.ROAD HOLDING GREAT AT SPEED BUT BETTER TYRES WOULD IMPROVE EVEN BETTER AND REDUCE ROAD NOISE WHICH IS NOT BAD ON THE HOLD.STOP START REQUIRES CHARGEING BATTERY
OVERNIGHT NOW AND THEN TO WORK WELL.
ONE VERY PLEASED OWNER

Hyundai I30 | Hyundai I30 Blue Drive Active

Added: 25th of October 2014
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2012
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I purchased this car 2 years ago and have been back to the garage 8 times with problems other than annual service. The steering wheel surround disintegrated and was replaced under warranty. The rear break light went but I was unable to replace as the screws to the light section were cross threded? There was a hand brake recall. All of these take two visits as the dealer has to assess before ordering parts? Now I find the clutch has gone after 25000 miles. I have been driving for 35 years and have not had any problem with clutches prior. The clutch costs around £70 compared to VW golf of near £200. Maybe this is a clue! The parts appear to be poor quality and therefore not up to the task. The car has drastically devalued. The clutch is not covered under the 5 year warranty buyers beware of lengthy warranty.

Hyundai I30 | Worst Car

Added: 27th of May 2015
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Initially I was very pleased with the vehicle, good comfortable drive, nice styling and a good MPG on long runs returning in excess of 60 MPG. However, since then I have been so glad of the 5 year warranty (at least some of it). The car has been back to the dealer on numerous occasions for electrical faults and mechanical issues. Cost of main dealer servicing is expensive especially when the vehicle failed it's first MOT and (not surprisingly) not covered by the warranty. The paintwork is easily damaged and the additional F1 warranty has also saved a small fortune. Rusty tailgate required re-spray at 3 years old. Now leaking oil. Dealer is very sympathetic and Hyundai UK were half hearted in their response to my concern. Needless to say Hyundai are not on my list for a replacement vehicle.

Hyundai I30 | My car has had numerous faults, Hyundai, Comfort, i30 Diesel Auto.

Added: 24th of February 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2010
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The faults with my car so far:

1. The battery wanted replacing just after 2 years when the warranty has expired

2. The drivers door would was locked & wouldn't open.

3.The dashboard had to be replaced.

4. The nearside headlamp loom had to be replaced.

5.There was hesitation in the auto gearbox when travelling at 30pmh- Fixed

6. Aircon not working-fixed

7. The glow plugs had to be replaced, twice.

8.The car's engine stopped whist moving in traffic- dangerous, dealer unable to find fault.

9. Car refused to start first time. Dealer unable to find fault.

10 Fuel cap did not open. Fixed

So what do you think about this car? Depreciation is poor.

I shall NOT be buying a Hyundai again for obvious reasons

Hyundai I30 | Hyundia i30

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I purchased this car in a special deal and having a 5 year warranty, i am pleased with my decision. It is quite nippy, takes 5 plus luggage in reasonable comfort and will cruise at 70mph for hours on end.
It is a little bland inside and out but at the price , excellent value for money and it still looks good. The clutch is a little fierce but everything works well and the a/c is excellent at reducing the inside temperature on a hot day. It also warms up quickly on cold days. I feel that it is extremely reliable and I would seriously consider another Hyundai or a Kia (the sister company) for my next car though a diesel next time.
I purchased the car from new.

Hyundai I30 | Hyundai i30

Added: 20th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1592cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have had my car for a little under three months and it is very good. It handles well and the flex steering function is very useful. So far I have not reached the fuel consumption levels that were described in the brochure and owner's handbook; hopefully over the next few months the consumption will trend in the right direction. The stop start system is a little quirky and often shows that it has been deactivated, initially this was related to the air-conditioning and ventilation system selections. However recently it has been showing de-activated more and nore. Hope this is not a trip back to the dealer for a system check.

Hyundai I30 | My Hyundai

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

This car drives well and suits my purpose. It has ample passenger and luggage room for the class of car. As I have the car for 6 months approximately what I say next is influenced by this. Fuel consumption although quite good is below that quoted (only 3500 miles covered so far)but around town approx. 34 mpg and on a longer run, to near Nantes in France, about 54 mpg.
It is comfortable to drive with a good gear change and passenger comfort.
Generally I am pleased with this car and would expect with greater use and some adjustment by the local dealer that fuel economy will improve.

Hyundai I30 | My Hyundai i30

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

My car is now 6 years old and runs perfectly, is comfortable and is mostly economcal to run except for petrol consumption. We do a lot of short shopping runs these days and that accounts for the poor mileage. For that reason, assuming my wife agrees, I want to get a hybrid Eco car next year, probably the Hyundai IQONIQ. My local Hyundai dealer is great and has been looking after our cars for many years.

I would recommend the i30 to any young growing family but would urge going for the manual transmission version using petrol, not diesel.

Hyundai I30 | My Hyundai i30

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

My car is now 6 years old and runs perfectly, is comfortable and is mostly economcal to run except for petrol consumption. We do a lot of short shopping runs these days and that accounts for the poor mileage. For that reason, assuming my wife agrees, I want to get a hybrid Eco car next year, probably the Hyundai IQONIQ. My local Hyundai dealer is great and has been looking after our cars for many years.

I would recommend the i30 to any young growing family but would urge going for the manual transmission version using petrol, not diesel.

Hyundai I30 | Hyundai I30

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Bought from new. Covered 62000 miles with no trouble. Always reliable, very easy to drive and sufficient space for our needs. Apart from tyres and regular services at correct times, the car has needed nothing, regularly passing MOT tests with only a tyre needed. Would have preferred a little more economy but, with no oil or water ever needed between services, I am more than pleased.
My second Hyundai (the first was a Matrix and equally reliable) I would definitely be considering another when I change, probably an I20,

Hyundai I30 | Could be better

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

It is extremely comfortable and reliable. The full air conditioning is superb and there is a docking port for an iPod incorporated into the CD player & radio. The big gripe I have is the very disappointing fuel consumption. If I remember correctly Hyundai quoted 70+mpg on a long journey and about 55mpg 'mixed' driving. The best I have achieved travelling at 55mph on a long run is 45mpg.
It is also very underpowered and I would recommend that the minimum should be a 1600cc engine in conjunction with a turbo.

Hyundai I30 | Hyundai i30 Review

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

There are few irritating things about this car, e.g. seat belts awkward to get off, dials difficult to see in poor light, some controls can;t be seen at night because there's no light (e.g. door locks), the car stops with a bit of a shudder, gearbox can get stuck. More importantly the automatic gearbox has just failed after 36000 miles - its still under warranty so should get replaced but my Hyundai garage is taking rather a long time to decide what to do.

Hyundai I30 | HYUNDAI

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

ALTHOUGH SIX YEARS OLD NOW OUR HYUNDIA WAS BOUGHT AS A SECOND HAND FIVE YEAR OLD WITH 10,000 ON THE CLOCK. IT WAS IN IMMACULATE CONDITION. IT IS LOADED WITH MOST OF THE SAFETY FEATURES ONE WOULD GET WITH A MORE EXPENSIVE CAR AND THE BUILD QUALITY IS EXCELLENT.IT REALLY IS BUILT LIKE A GOLF.
THE ONLY SMALL NEGATIVE I HAVE IS THE RIDE IS VERY FIRM, NOT HELPED BY THE 17'' ALLOY WHEELS. ON A MID RANGE CAR SUCH AS THIS SUCH LARGE ALLOYS WERE NOT NECESSARY.

Filter Hyundai I30 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.