Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Hyundai Getz Reviews

Hyundai Getz

Welcome to the Hyundai Getz review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Hyundai Getz cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£1,980
MPG
37.2 - 62.8
CO2 (g/km)
118 - 183
Tax Band
C - I
Noise Level
70.0 - 73.0

Hyundai Getz | Excellent value for money

Added: 13th of December 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1341cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I have had my Getz now for 2 and half years and it has really been a great car for me. I paid £1200 for a second hand model with 54000 miles on the clock. I was after a reliable, economical, safe car however on a tight budget and I think this car was the perfect choice.
It has ticked all the boxes I needed in a car. It has only had a few minor issues which have been easily repaired and cost me no more than £60 on average. It does have some irritating problems: changing from second to third gear requires 3000 revs for a smooth transition, the pedals are very sensitive so it takes a while to really get used to driving, the rear window is very small making reversing slightly more challenging. But this only takes a couple of weeks to get used too and then its no trouble really.
I use my car to travel all over south Cornwall (from Lands End - St. Austell) and it copes just fine with me alone or another passenger. However on the few occasions that I have had a full car it is noticeably more difficult to tackle hills and any crawling traffic, so I would not recommend the car for a family.
The car is great for older people, my Grandma is often a passenger and the large doors and high seats make it easy to get in and out safely. Plus, the interior is very roomy for such a small car.
I spend on average £50 on petrol over 4/5 weeks, covering around 70miles a week on average, so it is cheap to run compared to most cars.
I am a student nurse so reliability and low cost (to buy and run) were my priorities when looking for a car, and I can definitely say this car ticks the boxes.

Hyundai Getz | Hyundai Getz 1.1

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The Getz has a big car feel in a small car, which takes some getting used to. The drivers cabin feels spacious due to the high driving position, but there is a lack of places to put anything. The boot seems a bit on the small side but with the backseats down, is huge.

Driving feels a little basic, it doesn't seem to help you drive, your always having to do something, but everything works and works well.

Its not as nippy as you might like and lacks power in the 40 to 60 mph range. The engine speed is a little slow and can stall on slow manoeuvers, though you do get 50+ miles to the gallon on not particularly long runs.

Its a great car for general use, commuting, shopping, occasional holiday. I'm not sure I would want to drive hundreds of miles a day in it and it doesn't make me want to just go out for a drive

Hyundai Getz | Plain but practical

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1341cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Ordinary small hatchbacks like the Hyundai Getz are one of the best cars you can own. They do nothing brilliantly, yet are capable of so much. Five adults? Bit of a squeeze but yes. Shift a washing machine? Might have to slide the front seat forward a touch but in it goes. 200 miles in a snowstorm past rear drive performance cars spinning their wide tyres? Forgive me for that smug look.
The Getz hasn't much personality but it was cheap to buy, is a good balance of performance and economy and has a comfortable driving position with good clear instrumentation. The interior has a few clever features without being fancy. Maintenance costs have been minimal, related to normal wear and tear and I do about 18000 miles a year.
I've actually been surprised at how much I like it and am looking to Hyundai again for it's replacement.

Hyundai Getz | The Getz

Added: 21st of December 2012
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2006
  • 1086cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

For my first car I can't really complain it has served me well. It isn't the most stylish looking of cars in my opinion but it is very reliable and cheap to run. The only downside is the back windscreen is very small restricts your view sometimes hard when trying to reverse, but other than that a very smooth drive. For a cheap car it has everything you would expect Radio/CD, Air conditioning, Electric windows, Remote locking, Power assisted steering, ABS, Driver airbag, Passenger airbag. Surprisingly, although the car has a small shape it does have a good size boot which is handy when shopping. Insurance & Tax Very cheap. I will be looking to upgrade my self shortly but whoever owns the vehicle after me I'm sure will be very pleased.

Hyundai Getz | Overlooked Gem

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2002
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

The Getz 1.1 GSI petrol manual from 2002 has given me an average of almost 45mpg over the last 7 years (60,000 miles). During this time it has only needed (apart from service items and a set of tyres) a wheel bearing, an exhaust system, and some cv joint rubber covers. Its small size makes it easy to park, and it feels remarkably roomy in the front seats. Performance is acceptable up to about 50mph, after which it tails off. Handling is good and predictable - but it is not a sports car. The hatchback means small items of furniture etc can be transported, and the ride is fairly good. The small tyres are relativley cheap to replace. One niggle is that the front lights have gone a bit "cloudy" inside, but they still work OK.

Hyundai Getz | The Car that GETZ you around

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2007
  • 1493cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I can thoroughly recommend the Hyundai Getz as the ideal car
for most situations travelling in the UK. It is especially ideal for a pensioner like myself and is very comfortable for any distance that my wife and I travel whether locally or for
longer distances.
The running cost is pretty economic and the space is comfortable for both of us and is indeed good if we have a couple of passengers.
The tax is only £30 p.a. and the Hyundai Service via an official Hyundai Dealer is excellent.
The Getz is in fact the fourth Hyundai I have had in the last twenty years and have been satisfied with each one.

Hyundai Getz | Getz 1.1 gsi

Added: 18th of April 2016
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Better ride than a fiesta and more miles per gallon, plus a higher ride and less noise
Add in air con as standard and a grand less on the forecourt used than the ford and
Its a no brainer .
Sorry fiesta, but I've had both and I know which one I prefer

Hyundai Getz | hyundai getz

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2007
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Used as a Driving School car. Learners love it and a few ex pupils bought one for themselves when they passed. Only downside is indicators on the `wrong side` as compared to European makes. On newer models i.e. the i10, i20 etc Hyundai have changed this.

Hyundai Getz | Best decision

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Best car i have ever had, in 10 years i only had one fault and that was in the power steering pipe when i developed a leak, i think that was not bad considering its age and i would be happy to get from the same manufacturer again

Hyundai Getz | Happy motoring

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

This is one of the easiest cars I have ever driven. It responds quickly and the all round vision is excellent.
Because it is the sports model it is quite expensive to run and to insure, but is a pleasure to drive.

Hyundai Getz | Just Right

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This car is just right for my needs in terms of size, running costs, fuel efficiency, reliability.
It is easy to drive and park and comfortably carries four adults. An ideal car for today's busy roads.

Hyundai Getz | Hyundai Getz

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1084cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have had this car for just over 6 years and have had hardly any trouble except for a jammed boot lock. It has passed the MOT every year with only my own maintenance and is good on fuel use.

Hyundai Getz | a suitable car

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2004
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

The Getz is a nippy reliable handy car for carting kids and friends to their many events and for getting to work and back. Has little street cred but that's not an issue...

Hyundai Getz | 1.3 cox hyudai Getz

Added: 27th of June 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1349cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I love my Getz only had it a few months but I did my research on the car 1st.
It is my first car but I can't fault it so far enough room and is a nippy little car

Hyundai Getz | my Hyundai getz 57 plate

Added: 1st of March 2015
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Big car feel in a small car . an honest car , smooth, silent, better than a fiesta mk6. Only issue is a difficult reverse gear . but this is common on fords too,

Hyundai Getz | Hyundai getz

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2003
  • 1348cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

The car is very reliable and easy to drive. It doesn't do as many miles to the gallon as I would like.
Interior space is good and the boot fine for my needs.

Hyundai Getz | Runs good and looks good

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2004
  • 1300cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

With using Redex every other time I fill up it runs a treat, body work is not to bad at all to say its 10 years next year!
I would buy another Hyundai AGAIN .

Hyundai Getz | Good little car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1096cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

This car is a fantastic little car. My only issues with it are the small engine size (does come in 1.3L version) and lack of air conditioning

Hyundai Getz | best purchase

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

i think its the best car i have ever owned, often get commented on how well it looks for its age and how nippy and comfortable it is

Hyundai Getz | Hyundai Getz

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have had my car now for approx. 15 months. It is very reliable and reasonably economical to run. Very happy.

Filter Hyundai Getz Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.