Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Honda Jazz Reviews

Honda Jazz

Welcome to the Honda Jazz review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Honda Jazz cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£11,600 - £19,400
AA Cars Average
£8,347
MPG
47.9 - 62.8
CO2 (g/km)
104 - 139
Tax Band
B - E
Noise Level
67.0 - 72.8

Honda Jazz | The other Tardis - the Honda Jazz

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A nippy and versatile super mini.

The folding 'magic seats' really are magic. I've managed to get two teenagers and a complete drum kit in the car (plus me), and it's proved a godsend when it comes to moving stuff around (bikes, pushchairs, the odd armchair etc) or taking bags to the dump.

There's plenty of leg room in the back for adults, and although the rear split seats may be a bit firm for some, my passengers have sat on them on long motorway journeys without complaint.

It's good around town - a tight turning circle and easy to park - and is just as happy batting down the motorway. I used to have an old Beetle which was noticeable sensitive to strong cross winds, or when coming out from behind a lorry. The Jazz probably isn't as heavy, but it doesn't seem as badly affected.

Does around 50 mpg on long journeys and around 45mpg in town. The gear ratios are good, power steering responsive and all the dials and switches are where you expect them to be. I have it serviced by a Honda dealer each year and it's been relatively trouble-free, in spite of its age.

The engine is quiet (when I first had it, I sometimes opened the window at traffic lights to check it was still running) although it can be a bit noisy when you get around 70mph - but that may be tyre noise and maybe not enough insulation.

One small downside is the width of the corner pillar by the windscreen, which can impair visibility, especially at junctions or pedestrian crossings. You learn to look round it carefully and I believe the newer Jazzes have been redesigned so that this is less of a problem.

Honda Jazz | Honda Jazz

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1340cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have owned my Honda Jazz which I bought new for ten years. It has proved a very reliable and economic car to own and I feel I have been looked after very well by the Honda dealership I bought it from. It has been regularly serviced and has never broken down or failed to start. I did experience more than my fair share of punctures with the original tyres supplied with the vehicle but that was probably just down to chance. I regularly get 53 mpg on a long run and something like 46-48 mpg on urban journeys. The amount of space in the rear has proved very useful on many occaisions and I have become quite familiar with the procedure to follow in folding down the rear seats. The upholstery of the driver's seat is now showing its age and is less comfortable becaase the spings have stretched. The vehicle is also a little noisier than it was when new. It is dead easy to drive and the Dual and Sequential Ignition feature means it is unfussy about which gear you need to be in. Being a smaller car I find that owners of prestigious high performance vehicles just have to get past you regardless of how fast you are travelling or whether it is safe to do so.
I suspect that I will be buying another new Jazz next year but this time will select a slightly more up-market model from this range rather than the basic version which I have now.

Honda Jazz | Honda Jazz

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1339cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I've had this car for 7 years now. I use it mainly for short town and country runs, but also for the occasional long distance trip. In Austria I was delighted to find that our skis fitted into it perfectly, once one back seat was down, and I had no difficulty driving it up to the ski resorts.
Several times a year it easily accommodates all the gear needed to camp at a medieval festival - plus 2 or 3 people. Occasionally I have transported items such as a fridge or washing machine, without any difficulty. The ease with which I can fold the back seats down, and put them back up again, still gives me great pleasure.
It puts up with stop start town driving as easily as it cruises at 80 mph on a motorway. I find it exceptionally comfortable to drive. Inside it feels remarkably spacious and there is virtually no wear to be seen anywhere. I have had to replace the exhaust, but other than that have had very few mechanical problems.
When I bought it, I felt I was possibly paying a little over the odds, but it has proved to have been worth every penny. It still gives me great pleasure to drive, and I wouldn't hesitate to buy another Jazz, or to recommend one.

Honda Jazz | 10 Years with a Honda Jazz

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1340cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I bought my Honda Jazz ten years ago in Ocotober 2003. I have now driven over 45,000 miles in it and have been very satisfied overall with its performance, reliability and economy. It has been recalled three times by Honda for upgrades which have been supplied and fitted free. Ten years down the line it has proved to be very reliable. It still has its original battery and exhaust system but the original tyres were replaced within 15,000 miles. It lives oustide my house parked on a driveway which is located 400 ft above sea level at the Eastern end of the Mendip Hills in Somerset. It is a very reliable starter even in cold and wet weather. The driver's seat is now beginning to loose its comfort and I find that fatigue sets in after journeys of over 200 miles because the ride is firm and the level of sound insulation is quite basic. My only criticsm of the car over all this time is that the rear view mirrors don't provide a wide enough angle of vision while reversing and the clock looses abot 2 minutes each month. I will prbably buy another Jazz next year but this time i will probably pay a bit extra to get the higher spec model.

Honda Jazz | Economy

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

This car was selected for its economy, but compromises in other areas are minimal. Average fuel consumption of over 50mpg under mixed driving is easily achieved, as long as you want no more than to keep up with the traffic. Put your foot down, get the revs up and there is adequate performance at the expense of fuel consumption, but at least there is a choice.

Handling is adequate, although I personally find the steering a little quick, and the brakes a little sharp.

There is room for 5 adults, but not a lot of room for their baggage. Drop the back seats down and you have a very respectable carrying capacity which is just as well, as the Honda roof rack has the two rails too close together, and seems to need a top box rather than balancing items on it.

Overall I am pleased with this car, although I have added the optional spare wheel to supplement the puncture repair kit supplied. This had a noticeable but minor effect on the fuel consumption but gives me greater peace of mind. Overall finish and reliability are what you expect of this manufacturer. My other two Hondas are a motorcycle and a lawn mower.

Honda Jazz | Honda Jazz 2012

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1389cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This model has sensors to assist with reversing. The Jazz is not a sporty model, you have to "wind it up" to accelerate but it's really easy to convert this car into a mini-van so space,practicality and reliabilty were the factors which persuaded me to go for a Jazz for the third time. Now retired, this model was second hand and just one year old. I didn't do much research on the vehicle before purchase and I was disappointed by the poorly designed and somewhat impracticable storage spaces around the dashboard; much less practicable than in the older model. The storage spaces on the front doors are larger but have an air space in the middle inviting items to fall out when the door is opened unless you're careful. The climate-management system may be quite energy-inefficient; I seem to be using up more fuel than I would have expected. As with most Hondas you don't get the smoothest of rides and the cabin can be quite noisy, especially so in windy conditions. Glass can mist up quite easily but so far the aircon and front winscreen heater seem to be effective in clearing the condensation quickly.

Honda Jazz | Sure but not sporty

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

My Honda Jazz was gifted to me by an older relative and as its now a ten year old motor it looks a bit dated its also a bit sluggish performance wise in Drive (its an automatic) but to keep up with the flow of traffic you can drop it in to sports mode to make better progress.
Owned the car for 26 month's and had no problems with reliability whatsoever. Its fairly economical in the summer months but my short winter journeys see's 40 mpg drop to 35, but 50 mpg is achievable on longer runs using a light right foot on the accelerator.
Its got electric everything and smart Honda alloys finish it off nicely it just lacks a turbo for a more spirited drive and the suspension could cope with a bit more oomph from under the bonnet. Being an automatic you use the brakes more to slow down but they are still pretty good even though i've not replaced any pads as yet.

Its not sporty but its sure to start and get you to your destination. I would buy a newer shape one when I get to change but would prefer a manual box next time.

Honda Jazz | Practical but not exciting

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This Jazz was to replace an older ('03) Civic (hate the new one!) - we wanted the reliability and practicality but not necessarily the performance. The Jazz is well made and very adaptable, albeit small, and has behaved very well so far. Fuel consumption since we bought it (an ex-demonstrator) is a remarkable 51 mpg, including towns, countryside and motorways. There is space for five - or lots of luggage - with its clever adaptable and reasonably comfortable seats. On the down side, the engine is OK in town and - oddly - on trunk roads, but struggles to maintain pace on twisty or hilly 'A' roads - not helped by the rather slow, notchy gearchange. Another unnecessarily irritating thing is the reflection of the dashboard sill (ie the flat plastic section above the dash) in strong sunlight - it is genuinely distracting. However, on the whole it lives up to its good reputation for reliability, practicality and overall quality. Just wish they still made the old Civic....

Honda Jazz | THE RELIABLE & QUALITY mrk 2 2009 reg HONDA JAZZ ES 1. 4

Added: 24th of June 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1339cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A REALLY GREAT RELIABLE SMALL SUPERMINI CAR BUT ID CALL IT A SMAL SUV ITS A PRACTICAL CAR WITH GREAT SPACE INSIDE WITH A NICE DASH & CLOCKS THE HONDA JAZZ LOOKS VERY NICE THE STYLE OF THE CAR I LIKE THE BIG HEAD LIGHTS THEY LOOK GREAT & SIDE LIGHTS HIGH UP WHICH LOOKS GOOD IT HAS THE MAGIC SEATS WHICH FOLD DOWN WITH GOOD SPACE INSIDE WHICH YOU CAN CONVERT INTO A LARGE ARA TO CARRY BIG LOADS THE BOOT SIZE IN GOOD TOO I HAVE THE 1.4 WHICH IS GOOD MPG & NICE ENGINE POWER WITH SLICK GEAR CHANGE I BOUGHT MY 2009 PLATE USED CAR FROM A MAIN DEALER WHICH HAD HONDA 12MTHS WARRANTY & AA BREAKDOWN COVER MY ONLY GRIPE IS THE CAR DOESNT HAVE A SPARE WHEEL BUT A REPAIR PUNCTURE KIT WITH THE CAR I DONT THINK ITS FARE THAT I HAVE TO BUY A SPARE WHEEL & TYRE FOR MY HONDA JAZZ WHICH I THINK YOU SHOULD GET A CHOICE OF EITHER IN THE PRICE PF THE CAR DEAL OTHERWISE A ITS GREAT CAR IT COSTS A BIT MORE THAN OTHER MODELS BUT WORTH IT FOR RELIABILITY

Honda Jazz | Reliable run-around - great little car

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

The Jazz has been reliable and fuel efficient during the four years we've owned it. We have an iV-tec model at the top end of the Jazz range. There are only two negative things I can say about it: (i) are the suspension is a bit stiff for speed humps on residential roads; (ii) the computerised information dashboard display is difficult to reset (still haven't worked out how to get it to display the car's total trip-meter, nor turn off the warning when the car reaches 50 mph).
Great luggage space for a compact hatchback; easy to fold and stow rear seats. The air con works very well. Fuel efficiency is good for a run-around town car. Totally reliable. Cruise control is simple to use and improves fuel efficiency. The gear box has a very positive feel. Excellent responsive acceleration. Driver position is good and has excellent all-round visibility. I love the panoramic sunroof. All in all, it is a great small car.

Honda Jazz | Meets my expectations

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1246cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Everyone will tell you how reliable and well built Hondas are. After having a previous Honda Jazz that was anything but reliable, but loving the design, layout, look, feel and handling of the car I decided to give it a second chance since public opinion is so positive. My second Honda Jazz has been a dream - clearly my first one was a one-off baddie. I like small hatchbacks, but I also have a family so the Jazz is a great compromise of economy over space and practicality. I can easily park it in my narrow residential street, but I can also pack it to the gunwales for a family holiday, or fold the seats down to transport furniture (I've even carried a seven foot corner cabinet, chest of drawers, strimmer, coal scuttle and many smaller household items all at once). My current car is eight years old, and when the time comes to replace it, I will definitely go for another Jazz.

Honda Jazz | General comment on my Honda Jazz.

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Have had the car for 10 months and find it is excellent and meets all my needs, especially as I am retired. It performs well on local journeys, (eg shopping) and also on longer motorway journeys. Overall petrol consumption since purchase is 42.5 miles/gal.

It feels spacious inside for a small car and can take very bulky loads with rear seats down.

Have a 3-yr maintenance contract which is good value and offered by local Honda dealer, which is an efficient organisation I have used in previous years.

Criticisms:
1. Originally supplied with no spare wheel and was not happy about relying on the injection gadget, especially if stranded abroad. Have bought an emergency wheel.
2. In some positions the wheel spoke can temporarily hide the lighting and screen spray controls which are on a stick attached to the steering column. But this not serious.

Honda Jazz | Jazz - superb

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The Honda Jazz suits my needs perfectly.

It is small, frugal, comfortable, roomy, capable of carrying bulky loads, and easy to drive. There is only one very slight drawback - the performance is steady and suits my needs in nearly all instances, but could just have a little more 'go' when needed.

My best like of the car is its ability to carry awkward loads. I regularly need to carry a wheelchair, and its 'magic seats' make this an easy task - much better than even much bigger cars that I have used in the past. Just lift the seat of the rear - either 1/3 or 2/3 - and you can have a rear passenger, a wheelchair, and a full boot of luggage. No other car I have had has been able to do this.

When I need to replace this car, a Honda Jazz will be top of the list, and any other car will be judged against the Jazz specification.

Honda Jazz | Tardis

Added: 19th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Compact car with ENORMOUS interior space.
SO easy to fold rear seats down to produce large volume space, which I need for trips to the tip with loads of garden waste. Easily accommodates 11 black bin bags full of waste.
Don't like the front window pillars - restrict view quite severely. Likewise back window pillars.
Have had a lot of trouble with the battery going flat because I don't drive frequently and far, to the extent that my mechanic fitted a larger battery and I don't use the interior lights, which is a complete pain. And it still needs frequent trickle charging to avoid a flat battery.
It's a nice little car but not a patch on the 22-year-old Civic I had before, which I would still be happily running if some swine hadn't nicked it.
But here's the deal - I'm a GIRLIE and it's a lovely shade of PINK!!!
(Sorry)

Honda Jazz | A great little car!

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1298cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I don't ask, or expect, the Earth from the Jazz. I try to drive carefully,sensibly and considerately.

The Jazz has been totally reliable in all respects in all my years of ownership from new.

My only criticism would be with the spacesaver tyre provision; Having once had need to call out the AA to replace a punctured tyre( regrettably I have terminal cancer and so am unable to do the job for myself) and finding myself a long way from home, in the evening, beyond the closing time of garages etc. my journey home, on the spacesaver, was worrying and unpleasant. Given the option, which I'm fairly sure would not be the case when I decide to change the car (truthfully, being optimistic about my condition!), I would unhesitatingly purchase a proper full-size spare tyre.

Honda Jazz | Great little Tardis

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1550cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

The Jazz is classed as a small urban run-around but it has the interior space of a small van! I regularly take up to 11 black bin bags stuffed full of garden waste to my local tip in one journey without even having to put one on the passenger seat, and I can still see out safely all round.
The way the back seats collapse to make the huge interior space is simple and ingenious, and no effort for me - although at 72 I do not have the strength I used to have.
The driving position is the most comfortable I have ever experienced.
And sorry to be girly, but it used to come in the most amazingly pretty colours, although this year I think Honda assume we are all using them as hearses - what a dark and dreary selection of colours. (Mine is pink!). Love it!!!!!

Honda Jazz | Honda, Power of Dreams?

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I came across the Honda Jazz because of a good website for the local Honda Dealer. I was looking for a similar small car, and the Jazz was the first one I tried. I immediately fell in love with it and Honda generally. I have not had any major breakdowns yet. It can put the power down (90bhp)... when I need it, and cruises very nicely along the motorway at,mm 70mph. The space for stuff in the boot isn't brilliant but move the back seats and you can get almost any thing in it!
I like the computer which tells me when to change gear, although I have to be brave at 70mph on motorway to change into 4th or 3rd gear up some hills!... I also like the 30mph alarm, very useful for city driving. It could be set also at 50mph but I didn't find that useful in UK.

Honda Jazz | break down your stuck

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2010
  • 1400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

i have never encountered a car that you cannot get spares for, getting tyres is a nightmare, i have to order the tyres and then give up my car for a morning to get them changed, no quick change tyre centre holds the tyres, they are 3 choices and all cost near £100 each. My battery died last, the aa came out to me, they couldn't get a battery, again had to order one in, so again the car off road.
this car has been off the road longer than all my other cars put together.
oh yes i live in cambridge, so i find it amazing that 8 tyre change shops didn't hold my tyre size. God help me if i need a replacement away from home, as the tyre weld i have, instead of spare tyre, will probably not work,

totally awful, cant wait to get rid of it

Honda Jazz | Spacious Little Car

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is my second Jazz and although both have the same size engine the performance on my new one is vastly better. I absolutley adore the 'magic seats' in the back which tip up so easily. It has meant that it is very easy to carry the same amount of luggage as I used to carry in my Avensis. This newer model also makes it easy to put the whole back down for carrying larger items. I am not a fan of the panoramic roof I would far prefer a sunroof. A common failing in modern cars seems to be the lack of individual warning lights for side and headlights. I had a 2 litre car before had my first Jazz but I soon got used to the lack of power and would not go back to a bigger car now.
All in all this is a great car.

Honda Jazz | Honda Jazz

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

We've had this car just over four years. 80,000 on clock. Already needed new clutch - perhaps acceptable given high mileage - but has also needed new gearbox or gearbox repairs (£1300) and the air-conditioning pump or compressor has failed (as is connected to water pump doing without it is supposedly not a long term option. £1,000 given as a round figure for this repair.

The dealer said we had damaged the gearbox, but as my wife and I have been driving for a total of 80 years without destroying a gearbox before, this seems unlikely.

We love the Jazz's size, luggage capacity for a small car, and its handling, but its reputation for reliability strikes a hollow chord with us.

Filter Honda Jazz Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.