Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Honda FR-V Reviews

Useful links:  47 Used Honda FR-V in stock
Honda FR-V

Welcome to the Honda FR-V review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Honda FR-V cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£4,323
MPG
33.6 - 44.8
CO2 (g/km)
167 - 199
Tax Band
H - J
Noise Level
70.5 - 72.8

Honda FR-V | Honda FRV

Added: 17th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Why did they stop making this car - I have had a lot of people admiring it and coveting it! We also have a Honda Accord V-tec estate.

I like the seat arrangement with 3 proper seats in the front and rear and even though the middle seats are a little narrower, thefront and back can be moved backwards to give shoulder room if nec.

The car is very easy to get in and out of - my friends like this too.

The car drives well. Fuel consumption is from 36mpg to 42. I use cruise control a lot and keeping the revs below 3000 certainly improves fuel consumption. Handling is quite good even along narrow roads and it has not a bad 'turn of speed' when needed.

Having the gears and handbrake on the dashboard took a little getting used to but now it is a very comfortable and convenient way to use these controls.


It is not a very pretty car to look at. The slopped rear window mean the rear windscreen wiper is rather small and does not cover clearing the window.

There is a surprising amout of room in the luggage área and if the back searts are put down the space is very good. The space is wider than the Accord because the wheel casino does not protrude into the boot space.

I like being able to flatten the wing mirrors if I think there is a risk of clashing with another car and also when parking.


All in all this a a super car - and my husband and grandchildren love it too!

Honda FR-V | Good all rounder

Added: 20th of September 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2196cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Iv owned my frv 2.2 CTDI for 2 years. Reason I bought it ! Well it was a toss up between a Mercedes B class and the frv and to be honest I think they resemble one another in shape and you get more for your money with the Honda and an extra seat as and when needed. So you can go out with 2 other couples instead of 2 cars. I also go camping a lot so comes in very useful then. I do car boots and only get charged for a car when the boot space has a larger square cubic area than a small van! I have 3 grandchildren and a dog so can take them all out with ease. A disabled mother who loves this car and can get in and out with no assistance as she just pivots round on the leather seat and virtually slides out. As seats are bum level, flooring is completely flat with no foot well to trip in and out of. I also have a towbar which effortlessly can pull a fully laden trailer of rubbish down the dump. So had only some maintenance like the wishbone replaced by a local garage not Honda as would have been double the price. So yes if you want versatility this is a fabulous car much better looking than the multipla which looks like something out of total recall the taxi? And shorter than most of the ugly 7 seaters

Honda FR-V | The extra seat does it

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2002cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Not classed as a people carrier, but with six seats (three front, three back) it gives you a little extra than a regular hatchback. I love this car; the boot space is big enough for my mother's wheelchair and her zimmer frame for when we take her out. All the rear seats fold flat so you could effectively fit a couple of appliances in there if you needed to. The diesel is pretty good on fuel economy; I've driven to Lincolnshire and back (120 miles each way) and have still got at least a quarter of a tank of diesel left. The six speed gearbox is easy to use and the car handles well. I tend to go into 5th gear at 50mph and 6th or cruise at 60 mph. My car has good climate control but also a sunroof which is an added bonus for warmer days. Honda advised me a while ago that the FR-V has a timing chain so you shouldn't ever have to change it as you would with a timing belt. The middle sit in the front folds down, but I tend to leave mine up all the time. Legroom in that seat isn't brilliant, so an older child or small adult would be best suited sitting there. It's a terrible shame that Honda have ceased production of the FR-V as I couldn't recommend them highly enough.

Honda FR-V | Honda FRV 2.2 cdti

Added: 12th of July 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Having held the car for 8 months now apart from brake pads and discs that were changed recently it's been faultless consistently average over 55 mpg almost 60 mpg on a long motorway trip that's with 19" rims aswell the engine is solid and reliable I doubt I will part with this car very easily it ticks all boxes..

Lots of room
Economic
Cheap tax
Honda Reliability
6 seats
Timing Chain
No DPF
175 BHP

Only a few minor bad bits..

Rear window view is diabolical but it's same on most Honda's.
Pads discs calipers need to be checked regularly as its a big heavy car these things wear out quickly as I've experienced.
No low oil warning so again need a manual inspection.



Iby D

Honda FR-V | Honda FRV

Added: 20th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

The car has been trouble free for the 10 years I have had it since new. Driven some 122000 miles accross Europe. Car is very practical in terms of space & flexible in terms of layout.

Good sized boot given the 6 seats, & comfortably copes with luggage without having to alter layout.

Very easy to drive, with unusual gear change on the dashboard, which is actually much easier to use.

Love my car, and am disappointed that Honda have decided to stop produ7ction in the UK.

Honda FR-V | Best family car end of !!

Added: 27th of October 2014
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Well I needed something else to fit the family in ( 5 of us ) there's no way we could all fit in the porsche 911s . So decide rather ten spending a fortune on a another new car I need to get some a second hand . What a car ! lovely drive plenty room for the family great performance from the Diesel engine pulls very well . I think I'll be keeping mines for a good few years . Very Happy indeed : )

Honda FR-V | Why did Honda stop making these?

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

...possibly poor marketing, but this must be one of the best cars ever produced; not quite as big as most people carriers and drives more like a car, but able to fit six adults plus you still have a large boot space! Seats fold down nicely too if you ever need to transport larger items. Lovely drive, Honda reliability, just the perfect family car. Going to hold on to it as long as we can!!

Honda FR-V | Honda FRV

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

A very reliable car, no issues since I have owned it.

Plenty of passenger room.

Good sized boot space, given it is a 6 seater.

Very easy gear stick & love the position on the dashboard.

Handles very well, good turning circle.

Pity Honda are stopping production.

Honda FR-V | Honda fr-v

Added: 14th of March 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2204cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Spacious and well put together.Yet to do a lot of miles,but having driven one before can say that without being exciting (wasn't built for that) this is a great family car. Don't know why Honda stopped building them in 2009..

Honda FR-V | Good car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Very reliable, comfortable & with excellent passenger space.

Honda FR-V | Good Car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Excellent car wish they were still selling in this country

Honda FR-V | Honda FRV

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

2 adults, 3 kids. This car is exactly what is needed.

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.