Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Honda CR-V Reviews

Honda CR-V

Welcome to the Honda CR-V review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Honda CR-V cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£21,505 - £35,465
AA Cars Average
£16,134
MPG
28.5 - 50.4
CO2 (g/km)
149 - 235
Tax Band
F - K
Noise Level
70.0 - 73.7

Honda CR-V | Good second hand choice.

Added: 7th of February 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have owned my 59 plate EX for 3.5 years and trouble free motoring, and at present I am looking to exchange for a newer model in the same spec, so far no problems with the vehicle although as a mechanic I look after the service myself using Honda parts which are not to costly if you know where to look, I suppose I change the oil and filter more often than I should and the fuel filter as well which is a bit of a pain to get to, however being old school I do not believe in long life servicing, you may find you have to upgrade your rear diff oil and regenerate your diff at the same time, it seems moisture gets in through the axle breather and breaks down the oil, plus as most of these vehicles are never in 4 wheel drive the clutch plates in the diff tend to stick together, this can be done by your Honda dealer and I don think its to expensive, if you get a groan on full lock on reverse this may be the fault , worth getting it checked.

Good points, 100% reliable if you look after them, excellent comfort and driving position, reasonable fuel economy if you drive it correctly, plenty space and easy access, more so for us with sore backs, all in all a good second hand buy, to expensive new in my opinion.

Complaints, I wish they would put a green LED light to indicate when the AC is on as with the rest of the heating controls rather than peering at the screen, squeaky clutch pedal on some models is a pain and an expensive fix to replace the clutch slave cylinder, WD40 or such cures for a certain time but will not cure the problem, I find the arm rests are to close to your body for any comfort and generally don't fold them down, the panoramic roof blind can stick at times but the more you work it the better, I found the standard low beam bulbs not very bright and would recommend upgrading to Night Breakers or such like, its a bit of a pain to insert a CD and all seems over complicated on the unit, sound quality is good though, beware of second hand vehicles with tow bars as the clutches are not the strongest , clutch and duel mass flywheel is a very expensive repair, ensure you have a god road-test before hand. However in general trouble free as with most Hondas, plenty choice out there as well.

Honda CR-V | Honda CRV

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

This 2012 model is the second CRV I have had, and am nearly as pleased with this one as I was with my first which I bought second hand.
I enjoy the comfort and the practicality of these models. I have 2 giant breed dogs, namely Newfoundlands and although it is a bit of a squeeze,they both curl up round each other and then simply sleep. I enjoy the on demand automatic 4 wheel drive and it has cut in a couple of times when I have been in trouble and 'taken over' the problem restoring stability very quickly and easily.
The ACC Adaptive Cruise Control is fantastic, with the only problem there is a lack of torque from the engine and therefore although it tries very hard, the car loses speed going up a long slow rise. On these occasions, the set speed flashes, but the optimum gear change lights do not flash to tell you to change down. I have an alarm set for 30 mph, a normal facility not dependant on ACC, and this is very useful.The rear view camera which comes on in reverse is great for helping with parking and the facility to have the nearside mirror dip to watch the kerb is great.
I have one or two complaints with the HiFi side of the sound system, but only because I have not been back to the Dealer for help and an explanation -but that will happen in time.
This vehicle is lowsy on fuel consumption, averaging about 31 mpg but I am now retired now and so not doing a high number of miles anymore so I can live with this fuel consumption. I would say that the gearbox is maybe set wrong since I am seeing 3,000rpm at 70 mph. My last Vauxhalls and Fords all did 80mph before reaching 3,000 rpm.
On the whole, however, I am very happy with my luxury, easy to drive & SAFE car.

Honda CR-V | Best 'girlie' 4x4

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

My current Honda CRV is the 3rd I have owned and it would be my choice for the next car I buy too.

The car is spacious and rugged with a huge luggage capacity when the seats are folded down. 5 people can travel a considerable distance in comfort and the raised driving position is a dream.

Handling is very smooth and the 2L engine has great power when needed. Easy to manoevre in all situations with easy power steering.

I use my car for my work and need something reliable and none of the CRVs I have owned have ever let me down - ever. The only thing I have needed to replace after 5 years is the battery, new tyres and windscreen wipers.

I confess to knowing nothing about engines and am grateful not only for the reliablity of the car, but also for the 'girlie' 4x4 which automatically engages when road conditions require it. Not good for macho trail blazers I'm sure, but certainly gives me peace of mind on the road in bad conditions.

The car has a wealth of comfort inducing gadgets - satnav, heated seats, intelligent cruise control, sensor windscreen wipers, audible warning if you approach a car too quickly, reversing camera and parking sensors - all amazing!

Sadly there is one gripe and that is the cost of running the car. I only get an average of 300 miles on a tank of petrol and the car tax and insurance are high too. However, every time I think of changing to a more economical car I can't bear to leave the sheer luxury and joy of the Honda CRV behind, so always cut back on other things instead.

Overall a great car (and not just for girls!) that won't let you down and that you will thoroughly enjoy driving.

Honda CR-V | Honda CRV

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I like the higher driving position and the confidence that 4wd brings. I like big wheels and tyres that cope with the pot holes better than normal cars. If the roads were better I would probably not want to pay the premium of having a 4*4 and would prefer a normal estate car.
My CRV has covered nearly 100000 miles and in that time apart from normal servicing I have had to have a new alternator and a new AC pump.( both several hundred pounds)
We also have a Peugeot 307 of similar vintage which is better equipped having auto lights and wipers which the Honda lacks.
The Honda has a poor turning circle sometimes making the vehicle difficult to manoeuvre in tight spaces.
It is very comfortable in the front on long journeys but the rear seats are a little hard.
I can pack a lot into the car partly because a full size sparewheel on the rear door frees up a lot of space in the boot.
I think every car is a compromise of some sort but this one makes a good job of being an estate car that can cope with rough and slippery conditions. I generally average about 39mpg ( diesel) This might improve if I removed roof bars and turned the ac off, neither of which I often do.
All in all I have been very pleased with this vehicle and if I can afford it will buy another.

Honda CR-V | Little things mean a lot.

Added: 15th of August 2015
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2014
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I bought a CRV 2.2 SR Navi i-DTEC in November 2014 new from a franchised dealer. The vehicle runs well and I am achieving the stated MPG, however I am appalled at the at the poor design etc. Within the first few weeks I returned the car to the dealer as the car's bluetooth kept cutting my cutting my mobile phone off, it was on the "list" of compatible phones on the Honda website, it took two full system reboot to rectify. The rear plastic wheel arches do not fit tight to the bodywork and is loose on the leading edge. This "fault" existed on every CRC they had in the showroom. The windscreen wipers throw water back onto the screen in heavy rain conditions. The dealer said " what do I expect from a massed produced car", I have since changed dealers. In addition, the max-min gauge on water coolant bottle is obscured by being fitted against the interior bodywork, the rear view camera gives a distorted/compacted view as a large area of the screen is taken up by the bumper. The new dealer told me that these were "normal". There are several other small but irritating issues. I drove a Lexus saloon prior to buying the Honda and I regret not buying the Lexus NX. I very mush doubt I will buy a Honda again.

Honda CR-V | A good, reliable car

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

Asking around, when looking for a car after an elderly gentleman had kindly written my previous one off, the Honda CR-V kept cropping up as a more than suitable replacement, (my previous car being a Peugeot 806 which is the worst vehicle I've ever had the misfortune to own and drive).
Buying one of these cars, in my humble opinion, turned out to be the best piece of advice I'd taken for a very long while. Although now being around ten years old and, I'm not being nasty when I say this, not the most exciting car to drive, is a far, far better alternative than what can only be described as the piece of junk it replaced.
I've now had the CR-V for around two years and can honestly say, apart from a regular service and the odd tyre replacement, has not cost me a fortune to run and has not let me down once. The only reason I've given four stars for performance and comfort is that, as I said previously, the car is now ten years old and I realise, a bit of wear and tear is fully understandable, but it seems far less on this make and model than others I care to mention.
HONDA YES!, PEUGEOT, NEVER AGAIN IN ANY SHAPE OR FORM!!

Honda CR-V | Honda CRV EX Auto

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

This car offers an excellent driving position, comfort and reliability. Long journeys are a breeze. The fuel consumption is not as good as expected - average around 37mpg though if you are a canny driver staying around 50mph, you could improve a lot on that.
The back seats are not the most comfortable for long journeys though none of my passengers have complained. The new model has done away with the front seat arm rests (folding) which is a shame.
The sliding and reclining back seats for extra space and comfort is very useful and to fold everthing down is simple.
The performance far outweighs that of the petrol version and The button on the Automatic gear stick which drops you quickly down to 3rd gear is great for overtaking and descending steep hills.
The EX model of the CRV gives so many extras that are often add ons in other makes and models. Well worth the extra cost.
Would I buy the same model again? Yes.

Honda CR-V | Reliable workhorse

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1999
  • 1780cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

The CRV is built solidly with a bomb-proof engine (especially if you change the transmission fluid at appropriate intervals). It's got a comfortable interior with plenty of features laid out in an intuitive pattern - the heightened ride gives slightly better vision on the road too.
The downside of the higher suspension is some noticeable roll when you take corners at speed - it can be alarming at first but you learn to drive within the cars' capabilities (and your own!). The engine has lots of power though - it can get you into and out of difficulty very quickly and smoothly.
It tends to drink petrol however - mpg in the 20's costs plenty if you use it frequently on longer journeys.
Servicing costs at independent garages seem reasonable - with not much out of the expected going wrong - even in an old car like mine. It feels safe, it feels solid and I like this old car very much.

Honda CR-V | Thoughts on CRV

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1998cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

Our 2004 2.0 CRV Ex is a capable vehicle, mainly, as we are getting on a bit with troublesome joints,the sills are higher and access is easy and straightforward for us. The ride is comfortable (after a Honda Accord Sport), and all-round vision is good, except for the rear middle headrest, which I have taken out temporarily to aid rear vision. Controls are easily reached and the electrically-heated seats are a boon! Being an automatic, it is easy to drive and the miles drift by with no manual gear-changing stress. Petrol consumption is acceptable as we are both retired and it is used for recreational purposes only.
The only complaint we have is the side hinged rear door, which is inconvenient if a car is parked too close at the rear.
All in all, an easy to live with vehicle but the new generation seems a bit claustrophobic by comparison - but designs move on.

Honda CR-V | CRV number 5

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

This is our 5th CRV so they must be good. The positives are their reliability,space, build quality, flexibility and positive, comfortable ride. As a tow car it does a good job.
The remodelling of the mark 3 seemed a bit unnecessary with a transmission tunnel separating the front seats and a reduction in storage areas in the front. The rear quarter lights were made smaller and there was some design tweaking which made the car more angular. In my opinion much of this was superflous "improvement". However the remodelled engine and management system are showing a real improvement on the fuel consumption compared with our previous (2 year old) CRV but of course we'd like it to be even better!
A final positive is the fact that they are built in Swindon. I like the idea of employing efficient British workers.

Honda CR-V | Honda CRV EX Auto

Added: 16th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

In purchasing this car I was looking for a car with comfort and a 4x4 option when needed. The car fits the bill. Although I have not yet experienced it in snow, in all other aspects I have only one concern. The fuel consumption is poor. My previous Volvo S80 Auto with a 2.4 engine would return an average of 42.6MPG where this car will only give me 35MPG. The best I have had driving smoothly and not over 50MPH is 44MPG. On motorways driving at about 75MPH I got 46MPH with the Volvo but the CRV only returs about 37MPG.
Having said that, the CRV is very spacious, has a great turning circle, a good driving position and my top of the range EX model has all the equipment you need as standard.
Would I want anything else from it? A bit better fuel economy but I love it just the same.

Honda CR-V | My ideal car

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 1997cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 4

purchased second hand - one previous owner - in 2002. The vehicle caught my eye on a dealers forcourt and I've never regretted buying it. The design, colour (a pale gold) and 2litre performance, all fitted the bill, plus features that one would not have anticipated for the type of vehicle. The comfort and upholstery have been maintained in my 13 years of ownership and when the weather permits I can open my sun roof or park and use the on-board picnic table. Mechanically it has been very sound and little has had to be replaced except tyres and broken side windows plus a stolen radio on the 3 occasions a ratbag broke into it. I would be loathe to part with my CRV because it has given me so much pleasure over the years and has never let me down.

Honda CR-V | Jim Butcher

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2198cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Bought the car because I wanted a reliable, comfortable and reliable car. This is the second CR-V I have owned and this one is more advanced than the previous. MPG is much better and comfort is equally as good. The boot is spacious and
better layout than the previous version. The engine is extremely quiet especially for a diesel model, gearbox is smooth and gear change is effortless. Road holding is good and cornering also. Technology is typical Honda, lots of gizmos. The auto position on the headlights is particularly interesting as it changes from full beam to dipped even when it senses lights from oncoming vehicles. The DAB radio is really efficient but does trip out on occasions although it quickly resets itself.

Honda CR-V | Good Engine,shame about the rest of the car

Added: 21st of April 2016
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
1/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2016
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

2016 1.6 160BHP 4X4 CR-V very disappointed with this car. I personally wouldn't recommend buying another one as this of poor build quality,very uncomfortable seats that gives neck and back ache,very poor value for money ,very tinny sound to the car ,poor door finish when you open the tail gate up .

Even though this car has only done 250 miles the only things i can say that are good is the engine and some of the gadgets that come with the car but over all i cant wait to sell it as i personally thing its a lot of money for the car as the starting price should really be from £20,000.

I wish i hadn't sold my Audi for one of these, big mistake i have ever made.

Honda CR-V | My Honda CR-V

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1998
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

My Honda CR-V is a very reliable car although due to it's age is more expensive to run than newer models due to older technologies. As I do not travel long distances this does not worry me too much.
It is very spacious and I like the high driving position, and this makes me feel safer should I experience another accident (not of my own making) whereby I feel if I was in a smaller/lower vehicle I may not be here to write this review.
I bought this older model as a cheap temporary run-around after the accident, but I have been so impressed by it's overall performance that I hope to keep it for a few more years yet.

Honda CR-V | Brilliant, a bit thirsty

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 4

Bought this car in 2004, when it was just over two years old.
Apart from petrol consumption (22-23 mpg) everything about the car is very good or excellent.
It is not a performance vehicle with that shelf thing at the rear, it is a brilliant family car. We bought it to suit us as long as possible, as children were small at the time, and we wanted a car that will accommodate 4 grown ups and their luggage.In other words, as children were growing we had no problems with legroom, accessibility, size of the boot etc.
Unless something happens, we expect the car to be with us for at least five more years.

Honda CR-V | Great work and play car.

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 2100cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

I have used this car for work where I travelled all over the country carrying colleges and work equipment in comfort for both driver and passengers.
Really usefull features like two entry ways into the spacious boot, large door opening or hatch window opening.
Flat floor space throughout the whole cabin giving a feeling of space on long journeys with five adults plus lougage.
I have also used it sucssfully for holidays in this country with family plus two dogs.
Comfortable driving position with a high level of vision makes long journeys a pleasure.
Good fuel consumption for an automatic.

Honda CR-V | Crv 2.2 Exec 2012

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Comfortable high seated automatic diesel. Fairly economical for size of car, and easy to drive, but reverse needs care. Not the best tow car except for light caravans being limited to 1500 kg.
Boot space smaller than expected without rear seats lowered. Not god for two sets of golf clubs and trolleys. Good driving position and ease of entry and egress for those with back problems. Fits in garage easily as same length has Passatt estate. Reasonable service costs and service intervals.
Very costly to upgrade satnav disc. No DAB radio on this top of range car!!

Honda CR-V | Honda CRV Diesel Auto

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2199cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I find the CRV Auto an extremely comfortable and reliable car to drive and live with.

It is practical as a people carrier and a load carrier with excellent capacity when converted to an estate format.

This is my second CRV and I will probably replace it with another.

Its ability in poor road conditions, especially snow and ice, are excellent. In my job as a Local Authority Roads Manager I cover a significant milage in all conditions over the winter period. The traction control on the CRV has coped exceptionally well even during blizzard conditions.

Honda CR-V | Honda CR-V

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

I bought this car as I have a small boat (1.1ton) to tow and needed something of a certain weight and size. The Honda tows perfectly although the automatic transmission model would make life easer in town traffic. The only drawback is the size overall which I don;t like and as soon as I sell the boat I will downsize to a smaller car. Very comfortable as it was the top of the range with Honda sat nav, heated seats, proximity warnings front and back electric mirrors and leather upholstery. My second Honda (previously had a Civic) and I have no complaints.

Filter Honda CR-V Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.