Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Honda Civic Reviews

Honda Civic

Welcome to the Honda Civic review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Honda Civic cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£16,800 - £27,000
AA Cars Average
£10,570
MPG
31.0 - 67.3
CO2 (g/km)
94 - 214
Tax Band
A - K
Noise Level
68.0 - 73.0

Honda Civic | Superb engineering

Added: 3rd of November 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The 2.2 Civic combines a set of characteristics that are probably unique in the class when it came out. It's highly economical, quick, grippy, and generally refined. I drove a 2013 1.6 Civic diesel and found it bland. Not particularly refined, a harsh engine when accelerating, and a generally average drive. The 2.2 seems so much smoother, faster, and refined. The steering is direct and positive, without being nervous. I am unsure why reviewers think it lacks 'feel'. Perhaps in a slide on a track it does but on roads it is good. The level of road holding is surprising. Higher than my previous Volvo S60 on lower profile tyres which I regarded as swift around corners. How the car generates the level of grip on high profile 16 in tyres is difficult to comprehend. If really leant on round tight corners at speed the weight of the engine can be felt as wanting to go straight on but this can easily be countered by applying more lock. On sweeping fast corners it feels entirely neutral so this issue does not often arise. The ride is good at slow/medium speeds despite the torsion rear end. Better than my my Volvo S60. However, a weakness of the car is that it pitches on the rear suspension over uneven surfaces. And at speed it does not have the massive stability of the Volvo and its directional stability. But it is a good motor way cruiser not at least in the near absence of wind noise and relatively low tyre noise. The engine is superb. Revvy, very smooth, with virtually no lag. It hurtles the car forward at a surprising rate of knots. Once above 20 mph it is very quiet as well. The quality of the exterior is superb, as are the aerodynamics, and the interior is good at the price level. In general the level of engineering and thought that has gone into the car is first rate. It will also probably prove to be be the most reliable diesel that can be bought. Golfs and the Focus lack the engineering integrity of the Honda. I found the driver seat very comfortable but I could not straighten my left leg when resting my foot on the foot rest. Apart from this, and the pitching ride - a result of the relatively crude rear suspension I presume - an outstanding car that is refined, fun to drive, and economical. It has a feeling of quality.

Honda Civic | Honda civic

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
1/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1200cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

This car is not designed with a 5 foot 2 woman in mind. The petrol filler is very high so it is painful to fill as my arms have to be raised to an uncomfotable height. The angle of the seat cannot be made vertical enough for my comfort. Not even a person with their head nearly touching the roof is able to see the front of the bonnet. This makes it quite dangerous to drive because you can't see the kerbs and it is quite difficult to park straight. The steering wheel for a short person obscures the mph indicator or it has to be so low that it is impossible to get your legs under the wheel to get in and out. There is no useful rubber on the brake and accelorater pedals so that my foot tends to slip off especially when wearing leather soled shoes.
On minor points the petrol cap release is in an awkward place. The clock does not change automatically when the hour changes. The important controls eg heating which need to be changed while driving are quite small and not easily changed. The trip meter in not accessible when driving.The seat belt height adjuster does not go low enough to keep it from scraping my neck despite having bought a clip to help.
I did do a test drive but only the uncomfortable angle of the head rest was obvious and I thought wrongly that I would be able to adjust it to fit my shape. I will not be keeping the car for any length of time.

Honda Civic | Does what it says on the package

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

My Honda Civic S-Type is starting to show its age in terms of fuel consumption, features and comfort but I'm still happy enough with it not to be contemplating a replacement yet. That's just me, I don't change cars without a good reason and right now it is still very reliable and dependable.

I'm happy with the performance. It isn't blistering but the 2 liter engine does confer lively overtaking performance and can be great fun if petrol consumption isn't an issue. Driving with a light right foot results in a mid 40 mpg figure here traffic free Powys but it will gulp the juice if you want to exploit those 2 liters.

Comfort? So, so. Driving position is fine. Love the gearstick position. Love the convenience of the steering wheel radio controls. Love the bucket seats. Not so happy about the rock hard suspension but hey, this does make cornering nice and tidy. Just take care over speed bumps and potholes especially if you have low profile tyres fitted.

Two big grumbles. Firstly, the dreadfully large turning circle makes parking a chore, especially in crowded supermarket car parks. My large VW camper is much easier to park. Secondly, the steering feedback is lousy. There just isn't much of it. It feels lifeless.

In summary...this car is a keeper for now. There's a few small rust patches but mechanically it is fine and still fun to drive.

Honda Civic | Our Honda Civic S-Type (Old style)

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

We bought this car as an ex showroom demo model in 2005. Main work has been routine maintenance such as oil/filter changes and tyre renewal. Plus a couple of minor accidental dents fixed. This car has run and run with almost no breakdowns for more than 10 years now. It looks old school and lacks many of the features we have come to expect in more modern cars, no GPS, no MP3, no parking aids but I still love to drive it.

Plus points:
Despite it's rather bland styling it is a performance car. The main giveaway is the red 'S-type badge' and, on our car, the low profile Pirelli tyres on alloy wheels. The eager VTEC 2 litre engine supplying 157 bhp makes for safe overtaking and, yes I admit it, fun driving on the open road. This S-type variant is not so common as it's R-type cousin but is less of a hard bone shaking ride and performance is only slightly lower. Top speed claimed is 130+ mph plus but I've never had the bottle (or off road track) to check that.

Minus points:
Oh dear, that enormous turning circle makes for laborious parking.
Fuel economy is old skool and reflected in the mediocre emission figures leading to a steep excise license fee of 200+ pounds.
Ride is, er firm. You really have to be careful over speed humps. This is somewhat compensated for by the lovely clean cornering at speed.

Honda Civic | Honda? Do yourself a favour&get one

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1996
  • 1396cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 5

I am sure that people the world round already know Honda to be one of the best cars around. In the UK they still have a Grandad's car image, but kids in the know are aware of what gems they are, and if they're of independent mind they won't care that they haven't got a fall-apart Italian number with all kinds of custom panels and accessories that, at best reduce the economy/performance/both and at worst invalidate their insurance. No, Honda should be celebrated by the young and old alike. Year upon year my civic passes its MOT, well it sails through, and yet do I lavish attention upon it? Do I polish it every weekend and service it promptly? I do not. By and large I abuse the thing. I can't remember the last time it was serviced, or cleaned, but it still goes on and not a spot of rust. It returns 40mpg in winter and 50 in summer. No that's not stellar but it is 17 years old and just passed 120k, so a bit of respect, please. If your stop-and-go super-frugal motor is still stop-and-going in 20 years then you can say that yours is the better-unless my civic is still turning - which it just might be.

Honda Civic | Honda Civic 2200cc diesel saloon

Added: 4th of December 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 5

I have owned the car for 10 months and covered 22000 miles mainly motorway and enjoyed every mile driven regarding the car that is. I purposely sought out the 2.2 diesel which is no longer produced pity really as it's a fabulous engine when warmed up pulls like a train and my overall average mpg is 55.8 which I find amazing as I do not hang around while not exceeding the speed limit. I love the colourful dash and the wrap around feeling behind the wheel it just seems so very comfortable and driving long distances is effortless. The boot space and rear seating is good for a relatively small car the seat folding combinations make it quite a capable load carrier in terms of volume. The only gripe I have is the lack of a spare wheel or space saver which is quite common nowadays there is an emergency inflation kit but I had a tear in my tyre wall as a result of hitting a pot hole which was too large for the fluid to fix resulting in a roadside rescue to a tyre depot to buy a new one. Overall I love the Honda and would almost certainly buy another one on my past experiences of this one.

Honda Civic | Honda civic owner

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The model I have has all the extras I could possibly ask for, from sat nav to hands free phone - from Bluetooth audio to parking sensors - from 6 gears to a wonderful dashboard display - from Eco driving to engine auto stop etc, etc, etc. I also like the shape / design of the car. If I could change anything it would probably be the engine size - I chose a 1.4 litre because I wanted to insure my 18 year old daughter as a learner at an affordable rate (having previously had a 1.8 Freelander in which my insurance company would not insure anyone under 21). It's early days yet, but for me there just isn't enough oomph in the 1.4 litre - I thought it would be really 'nippy' compared to my old tank (the Freelander) but I'm a little underwhelmed on that score. However, I should like to point out that I can now perform u-turns in a tighter space (yippee) and, more impressively, I can get all the way to Falmouth in Cornwall from Colchester on 3/4 of a tank of petrol (had to stop to refill with the Freelander). The fuel economy alone is OVERWHELMING!!!!

Honda Civic | Honda Civic Review

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

It has been a very reliable car, so far only the battery has failed.

However, I have had lots of problems with noisey suspension at both the front and back of the car, which Honda do not seem to be able to resolve. This is a shame because apart from the noises I am very happy with the car. Lets hope they resolve this with the new models (mine is an 06 reg, one of the first new shape models to come out).

The space inside the car is excellent especially with the magic rear seats which fold up completely and give a large area to carry large objects in the car without having to drop down the back of the seats to reveal the boot of the car.

Corners like it's on rails!!

I have 17 inch alloys, but if I had to buy another one I would go for the normal 16 inch, as I find the handling too light, it's hard work to drive on some of our terrible road surfaces we have at the moment light with the thinner tyres, they are also very expensive to buy and will remember that next time around!

Honda Civic | civic diesel

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1700cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

owned for 7 years,very economical,spacious,reliable,comfort ok bit hard doesn't soak up the bumps on todays roads so well.sluggish when pulling onto roundabouts or road junctions,but the engine really starts to pull at 2000rpm.have used it for towing trailer tent actually improves the ride comfort.bought car at 68000 miles now has 140000 apart from an alternator change has been good,air con radiator changed under warranty as some failed at 5 years also some had turbo problems, mine hasn't but blanked egr off anyway. would I buy another one only newer?...yes, but they changer the shape which does not seem so cavernous inside.The interior shows very little wear,the outside is still shiny but the engine is a bit of a pig to work on being crammed in a small space but you only need to go in there once a year,so all good really,initially wanted a golf but was too expensive the civic was an excellent 2nd choice and does not seem to have major common problems that afflict so many cars these days.

Honda Civic | Versatile and not a money pit

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I bought the Civic having looked for a reliable, cheaper car than the BMW that I had owned. It is British made (Swindon) so felt happy I was ploughing money into British jobs too. The sites I looked at rated the Civic highly for reliability, cost and customer service. It doesn't make my heart race and the handling isn't like the other one does but I am constantly delighted by the amount of miles to the gallon I get, the reduced road tax and the on board computer. The satnav is even more superior to the Garmin I had before and I love that I can download all my music onto the computer and my car is now CD free. The heated seats are always a joy and for a 'medium sized car' it packs an awful lot in - space wise and technology wise. It is a nice safe option but even my car mad nephews like the look of this car and are amazed at the technology available in this model. Oh, and the rear parking camera always gets my passengers going! It is like my favourite pair of slippers.

Honda Civic | Diesel Civic review

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2204cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I've had the car for 5 years 1 month. A couple of minor warranty issues fixed by dealer, Shepton Mallet Motors. Otherwise rear brake discs have been replaced at 53XXX miles, fronts still originals at 55XXX. Only 1 sidelight bulb has been replaced.
The engine is brilliant, consistently around 52-5 MPG, only twice ever under 50 (both 49,2) it's smooth and very powerful.

There is loads of room for luggage, and the "Magic Seats" are excellent.

The passenger sections are roomy and comfortable, although I find the driver's seat not as good as I had initially thought. I have the SE model, without lumbar support adjustment, which would be much better. The seat back adjusts for rake only with a ratchet, I would much prefer a twist handle adjuster.
The rear suspension on these models is harsh, but apparently better on the later style vehicles.

The car drives as well as the day I collected it, totally reliable. No rattles or squeaks, very happy.

Honda Civic | BEAUTIFUL CAR

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1997
  • 1400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I HAVE HAD AND DRIVEN SEVERAL CARS OVER THE YEARS AND THIS IS MY FIRST HONDA. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS CAR, ALTHOUGH IT IS FAIRLY SMALL AND LOW TO THE GROUND, I FEEL VERY SAFE IN IT.
THE CAR HANDLES EXTREMELY WELL, AND REALLY HUGS THE ROAD AROUND CORNERS, IT HAS A LOT OF POWER FOR A SMALL CAR AND I AM CONFIDENT OVERTAKING OTHER VEHICLES IN IT AS THE EXCELERATION IS SMOOTH AND QUICK.
IT IS ALSO A VERY ECONOMICAL CAR AND I'M ALWAYS AMAZED THAT I CAN DRIVE OVER A HUNDRED MILES ON £20 OF FUEL. IT IS ALSO VERY RELIABLE ON COLD FROSTY MORNINGS, AND THE CAR INTERIOR WARMS UP AND DEMISTS WITHIN 15 MINUTES.
THE CAR IS ALSO SURPRISINGLY SPACIOUS AND I HAVE TAKEN TWO TALL TEENAGE BOYS AND ALL OUR CAMPING GEAR IN IT WITHOUT TOO MUCH DISCOMFORT. THE SEATS ARE COMFORTABLE, I AM 5FT 10INS TALL AND MY HEAD DOESN'T TOUCH THE ROOF EVEN WITH MY HAIR UP!!
ALL IN ALL , A LOVELY CAR, A JOY TO DRIVE AND I'M SO GLAD THAT I HAVE IT.

Honda Civic | My Second Honda Civic

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2015
  • 1798cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I was so pleased with my first Honda Civic that when the time came to replace it after 5 years, I opted for another one with the same engine and transmission. Rear visibility is much improved and the addition of a rear wiper was long overdue. Still not over-enamoured with the digital speedometer but am now used to it. Love the comfortable ride and surefootedness on the road. Love the boot capacity and the way the rear seats fold down flat. Love the power, flexibility and acceleration of the 1.8 l petrol engine. Pleased with 45mpg fuel economy on long runs and like the way the car gives instantaneous feedback on fuel consumption. Gives about 34mpg on average when doing a lot of short runs in stop-start traffic but that is to be expected. I find the local dealership gives good service too which is another plus.

Honda Civic | Honda Civic EX

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 2204cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Great car, economical if you try, space for almost everything. Downsides are a fairly harsh ride, least noticeable on 16" wheels. Few cabin rattles that can be easily dealt with. Seems sensitive to road camber and tramlining. The poor rear view many reviewers mention is only an issue if you don't pay attention to your mirrors and general surroundings.

Interior trim is nice, possibly surpassed in quality by more modern rivals. Engine is loud when revved but quiet at sensible cruising speeds. No DPF! The dash and exterior styling still make these cars feel and look more fresh and up to date than a lot of newer cars, not bad for a range released in 2006.

I would replace it with another one if I couldn't find a car that felt like a nicer place to be when I come to change it.

Honda Civic | Very civilised Civic

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

My 54 reg Honda Civic Executive is comfortable, spacious, economic, reliable and even manages to be fun to drive too. I take a number of trips each year that involve long motorway journeys - the Civic is perhaps not as refined as some newer cars, but it cruises quietly, smoothly and economically at the motorway limit, and I am perfectly comfortable driving long distances in it. Away from the motorway, the responsive v-tec engine and well balanced chassis make it a quick and fun car on country roads, although it is equally happy in urban traffic, where the flexibility of the engine makes it easy and relaxing to drive. Add to this its practicality and it is almost the perfect car (I would just like to be able to plug my iPod into the excellent stereo).

Honda Civic | Ideal for what I want

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I've had the car two and a half years and I've been very pleased with it. It feels solid and sure footed to drive, with plenty of power for all sensible driving conditions. The base model - SE- is well appointed.

I have two minor criticisms.

One is that the design of the rear window can limit visibility sometimes (although the upside is it helps shield glare from car headlights at night.

The other is that I prefer an analogue speedometer to the digital readout because under acceleration it is too easy to overshoot the desired speed (a problem I don't have with an analogue speedometer).

Would I buy another one? Yes, provided I could still get the manual 1.8L petrol model. Would I go for a higher end version? Possibly if the price was right.

Honda Civic | Hybrid, to buy or not to buy?

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1334cc
  • automatic
  • hybrid
  • Saloon
  • 4

I find the Honda Civic Hybrid a very economical vehicle to run. Hugh savings on fuel cost and VED. Although insurance is a bit higher than previous vehicle, Volvo S40. The ride is a bit harsh and on uneven road surfaces, and the vehicle is a bit skittish due to a slightly hard suspension set up. However when the highway surface is good the ride is vastly improved. When the electric motor is operating the ride is extremely quiet. Good space within the vehicle, boot/trunk space adequate with plenty of hideaways within the cabin. EX model has sat nav which is easy to use, once familiar with the set-up. Being IMA (integrated motor assist) there is no need to rely on a charging point to charge battery, the petrol engine does this.

Honda Civic | Honda Civic

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1200cc
  • automatic
  • hybrid
  • Saloon
  • 4

I do think there are some design flaws. The head restraints should be able to be adjustable back and forwards, not just up and down. Some of us have to sit upright, not slouched, and in that position the head restraints are set too far forward and so push your head forward resulting in neck strain. Also the vehicle really needs rear windscreen wipers, (I'm not referring to the car design with the bar across the rear windscreen, which I also do not think a good idea). The seats could do with a bit more support in them as well. I also find that the visibility of space of the front and rear of the car when manoeuvring a bit awkward. Other than that, I am pleased with my Civic.

Honda Civic | Honda Civic 1.8 ES

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A beautiful car to drive with the added bonus of eco running when around town which saves a mountain of petrol whilst still allowing you to enjoy the joy of the drive in normal mode for main roads and motorways. Practical and comfortable, my dog fits in the back easily. The dealer network is good although they would not change the SAT nav which intermittently seems to have a mind of its own (this was unexpectedly poor service from Honda who seemed to think I was lying and could find no fault with it.I don't like being called a liar so, even though this is my 7th Honda, I will be looking elsewhere in the future). Otherwise the car is good and, like all Hondas, bombproof.

Honda Civic | Improving

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

General standards of all aspects of modern cars are improving at a great pace. I worked on all types of cars in the early sixties and have seen incredible changes; I certainly wouldn't be able to diagnose problems on these modern 'virtual mobile computers'. I had a Honda Civic 2.2 TD for nearly seven years and found it to be excellent in nearly every respect. When changing, I decided to go for Honda again, and was very pleased indeed to find that Honda had produced this new 1600 TD, Civic, which I now use. I have had the car since the middle of May of this year and am so far very impressed with emission and noise level, comfort, safety, performance and economy.

Filter Honda Civic Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.