Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Honda Accord Reviews

Honda Accord

Welcome to the Honda Accord review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Honda Accord cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£22,765 - £30,930
AA Cars Average
£6,783
MPG
26.2 - 53.3
CO2 (g/km)
138 - 256
Tax Band
E - L
Noise Level
68.0 - 73.1

Honda Accord | Love my Honda

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2108cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 6

From when I first saw the Honda in reviews I just knew it was the vehicle for me.
Sitting in the show room when I first looked at it in the metal, it just said 'hello' to me. It was a preregistered vehicle so it made a saving on the list price (a bonus point)
Driving for the first time proved it to be exactly the car we needed at the time. The odometer read 58 miles and the Honda dealer confirmed that was genuine and upon my own inspection and expertise I also confirmed it.
Now eight years on, OK it now done 61K but still goes just as well as ever. As one of the adverts from Honda used to say "it just works" and it has without fail. Regular service and generally looking after it and it sit out side in all weathers it still continues to average of 44 MPG Perhaps not too good by current standards but hey its is 8 years old!
It has full leather,and heated seats where the fronts are electric, duel control air. con. and, now out of date, the standard Honda Sat. Nav.
Only once have we had the need to seek outside assistance to recover the car. A resulting very large hole in the rear tire due to something large picked up at the local recycling yard. As with lots of cars now it has no spare only a bottle of sealant - which is about as much use as a chocolate fire guard in this instance. Bring back spares or at least space savers.
Would I buy another Honda - yes, Accord probably no, personal circumstance change and really they suggest that we do not need to carry as much stuff around. Then there is the price of fuel. Cars with better economy now the norm.
Overall my time with the Accord - brilliant, satisfying and trust worthy - comfortable. We could not have been better served.

Honda Accord | Honda Accord 2.0l VTEC SE Exec 5-Door manual petrol MY 2002

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Reliable, other than an air-con hose twice requiring replacement (a known issue, I think).
Fairly good performance, though not as much of a power band as I'd like or would have expected from a VTEC (I think earlier VTECs may have had a more pronounced step).
Really a four-seater and getting three child seats in the rear is nearly impossible, due to bucketed rear seats.
Very large boot, so a good family car in that way.
Comfortable for four adults, with nicely supportive and bucketed front seats.
Ride is more 'sporty' than 'comfort'.
Handles well, despite rather narrow (195) tyres.
Could do with traction control as front tyres can spin-up pulling out of side roads in the wet.
Only problems (apart from air-con hose) have been due to botched accident repairs by 'approved' repairers, one lambda sensor failure and slight clouding of the headlight lenses.
Fit & finish good.
OE horns are weedy and were replaced.
Front discs replaced at approx. 55,000 miles
Clutch went at approx 65,000 miles.
OE exhaust still hanging together at 70,000 miles.
Not that economical: probably 33-37 mpg, when used as a suburban runabout.
Overall, it's a pretty good car, though its 'repmobile' aspirations slightly compromise its use as a family car.

Honda Accord | Honda Accord 2.2CDTI.

Added: 31st of March 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1988cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

This is by far the best car I have ever owned , I have had it for over 8 years now and with regular servicing have never had any major faults only the usual like new tyres ,wiper blades and now as it is getting a little older I am having to replace the brake calipers as they are starting to rust and seize up now and then , but after 125000 miles the engine is as sweet as a nut . Like other owners have said ,it has most of the things you would want in a car without paying extra for it such as electric front seats that are heated , sun roof , heated mirrors , cruise control and built in multi cd player , If I had one gripe it would be the wayward handling that is not as precise as some cars , I have only ever fitted the top type of tyre on the car but the steering is still the same . Would I buy another one , you bet I would , I have been thinking of down sizing to a smaller car but I love my Accord so much that I will probably keep it until it has to go to the scrap yard and looking at some of the 200000 plus Hondas for sale on the internet , I have got a long way to go before that happens , GREAT CAR WITH BRILLIANT RELIABILITY.

Honda Accord | Honda Accord

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 2199cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

My time with the Honda Accord is almost at an end and I would have to admit, I will miss it. It has been an excellent, comfortable, reliable means of transport.
Magazine reviews criticised the handling, which I could not really fault, slightly understeery which is pretty common in modern cars but cornered without drama or fuss.
Slightly hard ride over bumpy surfaces.
Quiet, smooth diesel engine with adequate rather than dazzling power. Averaged about 42 mpg over it's life, despite no real effort on the part of the driver to eek out the miles most of the time.
Another criticism; the complex dash arrangement, while this may annoy magazine journalists who sit in a car for one day, in normal ownership no problems encountered.
If I had to raise a gripe or two; the lack of a spare wheel, stupid spray can and pump. The paint is a little soft and prone to stone chips on the bonnet leading edge.
The CO2 g/km is a little high and rules the car out of my next pick, yes company car driver, and why do Honda insist on sticking with a 5 speed auto that hurts the g/km even more.

Honda Accord | Honda Accord 2.2cdti EX

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I've had this car for 6 years now, it drives like a dream, is totally reliable, very good on fuel, has all the boys toys, is well ahead of it's time in respect of the toys, it's simply a joy to drive, love the sat nav, voice control, lane keeping assistance, distance keeping aid, cruise control, rear parking aid, electrically adjusted and heated seats, etc etc
The cons
It's quite heavy on front tyres, the paintwork scratches very easily, the alloy wheels are easily damaged on even the smallest of kerbs if you're not careful. They also corrode around the centre hub as does the'H'symbol in the centre of the wheel. I had all wheels and centre pieces changed under warranty after 3 years and they're in the same condition again already. Personally I don't find the drivers seat supports my lumber region very well despite lumber support adjustment being available. But the negatives end there. Would I buy another one, if I was offered a good deal, yes I would, but the new prices far exceed what I would want to pay.

Honda Accord | Trouble free mororing

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2128cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Bought the Accord in pre reg form with 59 mile recorded, from main dealer (Honda)
Over the eight years I have owned the car no faults have occurred and every thing just works as(in the old Honda adverts said)
It had had its recommended service via the dealer and although by to days standard it was expensive. This was due to non availability of having servicing deal thrown in with the new car price!
Performance is reasonable and more than adequate for to-days roads and driving conditions.
Economy again for 2.2ltr diesel is fair although unfair to compare this with to-days super controlled engines Over the eight years it has averaged 44.5 mpg
Its comfort is very good and is full leather with heated seats. Being an estate version room for luggage is more than adequate.
Only the detail of NOT having a spare wheel was a problem when a blow out took place, and I do mean BLOW out. No amount of the puncture repair sticky stuff would seal a hole the size of a fist! Simply a very good car well done HONDA

Honda Accord | Our Car.

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1999
  • 1998cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Workingas a Patrol supervisor for the Automobile Association for nearly 30 years, working on experiance, my choice on retirement was a Honda Accord for its reliability. Now some 14 years down the line, I still own my Honda.and still very reliable.
My mileage is now less than 3000 miles a year, Tax top rate (more than a 4X4), which I consider the omissions tax so unfair, as I can no longer afford, and not want a new car. Car,road fund licence should be worked out on mileage. A long standing friend in the motor trade who Sevices and M.O.T my car,like many other poeple agree with this.
If I didnt live out here in "sticksville", with little means of public transport, I would save a little by giving up driving, but with my wife not to flexible it is not a alternative.

Honda Accord | Honda Accord iCTDI Sport

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2204cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

This is my 17th Honda Accord and my 3rd iCTDI Diesel.

This car has never let me down and other than servicing and tyres, there is has been no need to spend any money on it.

I am amazed that this car is not in the Guinness Book of Records for frugalness.

I achieved a staggering 839+ miles on one tank of fuel!
Changing gears under 2000 RPM and driving around urban and extra urban roads at 40 to 50 MPH.

I would only want to change to a Honda Accord 2.2 iCTDI Ex giving me full leather heated seats, electrically adjustable ones at that, a sunroof and headlight washers. I don't mind the Tourer or the Saloon as I've been fortunate enough to own both and like them equitably.

Honda Accord | Car for family life

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1994
  • 2300cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 5

My Accord has see two babies become adults. It can take Ikea flat pack or Uni clobber. Drives with a sport option or cruise control and prefers long distance driving as one tank will get me from London to Plymouth. It has been regularly serviced and its 19 year life got through one radiator, one set of disks and an engine (the cam belt broke the day before it was due to be changed) and assorted bits of rubber. Reliable, comfortable, and can fit a surprising amount of stuff as the back seats fold down. Despite being 19 years old it even has ABS, air bags and electric windows.

Honda Accord | Comfort

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Mainly use this car for longer journeys (have small car for local shopping). This Accord has 18" wheels which tend to give a bumpy ride on poor roads, otherwise very comfortable. car has many extra features - e.g. Satnav, bluetooth, auto settings for lights and windscreen washers, also cruise control and voice replies for e.g seeking nearest petrol station. Perhaps a few too many, but came with the secondhand demo.model! Next time would be happy with a few less features to remember.
Pricipal benefits to date are reliability and economical service cost by Honda agent.

Honda Accord | Honda Accord

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Very reliable, it ahs never been into a garage for a mechanical repair in its 10 years. Boot is big enough for a set of golf clubs to fit straight across the boot - not at an angle and without needing to take the driver out of the bag.
Gear box is fantastic - I have recently driven hire cars suchs as Audi, Seat and Renault and their gear boxes are all hopeless compared to the Honda.
Ignore the reviews in What Car as they are obsessed with promoting the Ford Mondeo for some unknown reason.
My next car will be another Honda - it will certainly not be a Mondeo.

Honda Accord | Honda Accord Tourer

Added: 20th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I purchased this car when it was 6 months old & it has been reliable throughout. This being my fourth Honda I purchased it because of Honda reliability and its carrying capacity for a reasonably priced vehicle. It has good comfort on long journeys & is very economical which exceeded my expectations.

The only negative that I have experienced is the lack of leg room for the rear seat passengers. With me being 6 feet tall I need the driver seat back a long way so making the rear leg room small.

Overall a great vehicle which fulfils all of my requirements.

Honda Accord | /////////////

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 2100cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I have owned several Hondas and been pleased with them but I would raise two points:
- the currency of the Satnav data base was two yesrs out of date on purchase and the cost of updating from Honda was extortionate
- I have just been advised, after my last service, that my emergency tyre repair kit is time expired, it has/had a life of three years. I don't recall anyone telling me about this at sales time - or with any of my previous Accords with similar kits. A replacement is £49-odd - I think this is offside.

Honda Accord | Honda Accord EX automatic

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I ran a '99 1850cc Honda Accord EX as a firm's car which I was able to buy for my wife at 90K miles...
I bought a new '08 Accord for myself after the experience with the above. The new Accord has been disappointing. Build quality is noticeably poor in relation to the earlier car (rust appearing underbonnet where fittings not plated sufficiently). Road noise is excessive & performance / handling nowhere near as good as the earlier car (which we still own).
It's upside is Hondas legendary reliability.........

Honda Accord | Honda Accord

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 1800cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Superbly built, reliable, generally economic to run but I'm prepared to spend money on servicing and repairs. Comfortable, reasonable space and feels safe. Good road holding, excellent power steering, unlike my '53 Civic which has the awful electronic steering. I also like the classic look of the body which is much preferable to later Honda (and many other) designs.

The only problem is that I really need an estate to move some of my work around but would prefer to carry on with this until I know which

Honda Accord | Best car I have ever owned

Added: 4th of April 2015
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I bought this 15 years ago and it still has the original exhaust system. The only part I replaced is the oxygen sensor. I changed the timing belt at 50k and asked the garage to keep the old one so I could examine it. It was like a brand new one without any noticeable wear. I would go anywhere in this car, even now. It just goes and goes quietly and smoothly. I've had five Honda Accords since they first came out. Even the aircon is original and never been recharged. Buy Honda - you won't regret it.

Honda Accord | Reliability!

Added: 11th of December 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Bought my W reg Accord 1.8 SE hatchback in 2002. Am a low-mileage driver so have still only done 74000 miles. It goes like a new car and the only things to have gone wrong could be described as fair wear and tear. I have never had such confidence in a car. The only slight criticism is that it is a bit cramped in the rear seats. Very comfortable in the front though and huge boot. An effortless cruiser. Have thought of changing it but for what? Wonderful car.

Honda Accord | Honda Accord

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have owned this car for two years and despite having done 86,000 miles it is immaculate. It has never gone wrong and the oil stays clean between changes. No rust has appeared. All the wonderful extras it comes with still work and I have never owned such a reliable workhorse, even towing a caravan.

Well done Honda, what I might spend extra in fuel I more than save on running costs. I love my Honda!

Honda Accord | Honda Accord 1.8

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1999
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 5

I have had this car for 11 years, since it was nearly new and it has been excellent. In all that time the only thing I have had to do other than regular servicing, new tyres and the usual stuff, is a new ignition switch. I love driving it and find it so reliable...which is why I have been loathe to change it and have kept it all this time. I only hope my next car is as good, although I doubt it!

Honda Accord | 10 year old Accord estate

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2300cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

The car is a luxury configuration and is smooth, comfortable and the body work has held up well. Only the aircon is showing its age as its in need of more than just a gas top up. Performance (speed when needed)is superb but my My only gripe is(and I should expect it)fuel! its quite high 21 to 30 mpg depending on journey. Its certainly the best I've driven for long distance motorway journeys.

Filter Honda Accord Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.