Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Ford Transit Reviews

Ford Transit

Welcome to the Ford Transit review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Ford Transit cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£21,774 - £43,914
AA Cars Average
£11,188
MPG
25.7 - 39.8
CO2 (g/km)
186 - 262
Tax Band
J - K
Noise Level
72.0 - 75.0

Ford Transit | Man and van in London

Added: 25th of September 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2014
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 3

My experience with transit vans goes a long way. I have my own man and van business for a few years now and bough 4 brand new transit vans 8 years ago and renewed them last year. The new 2014 transit is perfect for the job done. The 125ps 2.2-litre duratorq TDCi diesel is a really durable solution. The Transit body is engineered to keep coming back after the worst abuse imaginable. In terms of design and comfort - well, it's a Transit van. It doesn't need neither of those.

To summarise I can say that the Transit cannot rely on our goodwill to maintain its share on the UK market. I came to this conclusion when I learned that the company produces the vehicle in Turkey. On the other hand the Transit is a lot better than key rivals in key terms such as practicality, performance, reliability.

There are many other and cheaper solutions for vans in this sector but at what cost. People end up paying a lot more if they go with the cheaper van. The Transit's formula has been calculated for 50 years now and it honestly doesn't need changing. Great vehicle!

Source: http://van-squad.co.uk/ - The man and van company in London I manage.

Ford Transit | Not so sure

Added: 16th of March 2015
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 4

I have had transit vans for as long as I can remember (around 30 years). I always buy them from new and renew every 7 years generally. However, the last one I bought has turned out to be a big liability. I am not sure whether this particular one is a 'lemon' or whether the build quality is just substandard across the board. This one has had a disproportionate number of things go wrong with it. Mostly under warranty, but of course now the warranty has expired and it is beginning to cost me heavily.

It started with a starter motor replacement within the first year, then has included steering column, steering rack, oil pump, and now the dfs-catalytic converter for diesels, along with varying other smaller problems. It currently has 60000 miles on it and I feel hugely disappointed with it. I have to seriously consider alternatives, despite previously having been a big fan of the transit, simply because of its reliability.

I have looked across forums to see if there are any other similar posts but have found nothing substantial. If anyone else has suffered the same sort of things, I would very much like to hear it.

Ford Transit | transit xlwb jumbo

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I find this van both comfortable and economic to run,has excellent roadholding comfortable seating and excellent vision,
I never seem to feel tired at the end of the day from driving either short or long distances, due to the comfort of the drivers seat and settings,
my only criticism would be the fault that often occurs with the erg valve which has a tendency to stick but is easily resolved with a quick visit to my local garage,but seriously ford should have addressed this problem long ago..
and a small moan ..why don't all vans have a/c fitted as standard..after all we van drivers actually use our vans every day,unlike most cars which are parked for around 90% of the day and most of them have a/c as standard fitted..like I said small grouch .but a valid one methinks

Ford Transit | 2001 transit

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2001
  • 1990cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Well! what can I say about a 2001 transit that has covered over 122000 miles and worked HARD,
Performance and running costs are what you would expect of a van of this age ..... a bit sluggish (and I'm being generous!)and at about 30MPG not to bad really for the work it does
The comfort of this van is very good as it feels as though the driver could be sitting in an armchair with a great view of the road ahead
As for reliability this van has been fantastic in the 7 years I have been it's keeper I do get it serviced every 10000 miles
And last but not least space and practicality. This van suits my needs perfectly as it carries all I need day and night

Ford Transit | Transit Sport

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

The ford transit is a good van just confused and dismayed why vehicle manufacturers make vehicles with no spare wheel. Having to purchase a spare defo a question to ask when buying another but why????? Find the van brilliant love the size and design ford still not learned to spray under bonnet and key areas of vehicle while others do. Build quality is ok but still needs to be improved by ford. Don't know if i would buy another ford vw seems to address these problems more professionally. At moment van runs well and i enjoy driving it bought it second hand just disappointing in body standard looks brill but could be so much better.

Ford Transit | Transit 280 SWB Diesel

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 2

Excellent performance, goes like a rocket even when fully loaded, however slightly disappointing fuel economy. Hopeless in the snow and ice
Running costs very reasonable apart from electric rear view mirrors, very expensive if you get one of these knocked off!
Comfort: Driver and passenger seats very uncomfortable, the worst thing about the Transit van. Not suitable for long journeys
Reliability very good
Space and practicality: Excellent, we have the medium high roof and there's loads of room, main reason for choosing the Ford Transit

Ford Transit | Tranit

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2009
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

i have a 58 ford transit not happy with the body condition of a vehicle of the modern age. But for style and comfort a quality van.


Note for future surveys

You ask for make model and body type category not in system for van so had to put under people carrier

Ford Transit | swb transit van

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Reliable, cheap to run and maintain. Drives well but lacks grip in wet/slippery conditions.
Tending to rust on inner wheel arches but otherwise good bodywork.
Good load capacity and comfortable seating.
Overall it 'does what it says on the tin.'

Ford Transit | Transit Van use as Private Car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

A god work horse that is used mainly as the family car, removable camper van set up, towing a caravan, collecting logs and firewood and transporting dogs.
It is little used for the job it was designed for .

Ford Transit | transit swb

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Excellent van, drives well, economical, powerful and plenty of space.
Very reliable and does what it's intended to do.
Only fault is lack of grip in wet/icy conditions.

Ford Transit | Transit Van

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1998
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Mechanically as reliable as the day it left the factory, body work is tatty and underside liable to a lot of rust. Bloody reliable though and I love my old transit van.

Ford Transit | Transit

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 3

Can't stand ford motors but not to much to say bad about it

Ford Transit | Minibus

Added: 10th of May 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2189cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Very spacious very good runner.

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.