Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Ford Ka Reviews

Ford Ka

Welcome to the Ford Ka review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Ford Ka cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£8,725 - £12,230
AA Cars Average
£4,770
MPG
35.8 - 68.9
CO2 (g/km)
109 - 189
Tax Band
B - J
Noise Level
71.0 - 74.0

Ford Ka | KA 1.2 Start stop

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2011
  • 1242cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Good fuel economy, 52 in town, 62 long, with careful gentle driving, but ! --- Trip meter shows averaged and spot fuel consumption etc., although I have found it reads optimistically by about 10% ; figures above are from the tripmeter.
I reckon on 50 overall being realistic.

Decent boot for size of car. This is Y I bought this instead of the cheaper but very small cars.
Will perform a bit if you keep it revvy but it's not a ferrari :)

Not broken down yet - 18000 miles.

Electronic steering sometimes does not initialise and you have to re-start the car.
I have been reasonably happy, main niggle is an increasing amount of rattling when idling or near labouring.

I'm happy overall wanting a cheap A2B, for running and buying, that's what you have in this car :)
The stop start feature is not as useful as I thought - it deactivates after 5 minutes, or if you open the door, so in an ideal place to use it - gated roads - it doesn't work.
I generally don't use it (it can be deactivated by a button) as I think it flogs the battery, but that's just a guess. The stop start model has better fuel econ than the ones that don't have it. This is an 8v duratec.

Ford Ka | One of the family !

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1999
  • 1297cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

Although my KA is now 14 years old it never fails to amaze me! Nippy, reliable and surprisingly spacious, it starts first time in all weather and never lets me down. The price of a tank of fuel has risen: from around £30 some 7 years ago to around £40 today. I do mainly local trips; the longest each week being a
16 mile round trip. A tank of fuel will last therefore about a month. Pretty good ! The KA is a Ford and is historically reasonable to maintain and service and parts are readily available. I use an excellent local garage. On a personal note, i bought the car at a particularly difficult time in my family's life and it is associated with us moving forward. It has a name and because of its colour, is locally recognisable. I couldn't pull off a bank robber and get away unidentified!
My previous car was a Toyota Rav 4. It was much newer and much bigger of course. I would not go back. I am very much a small car convert. My KA is like one of the family and i dread the day when it no longer runs. It will be black arm bands all round!

Ford Ka | It goes from A to B without costing the earth...

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2006
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

There's not much to say really about the generation 1 Ford Ka that hasn't already been said.

It's quite slow, not particularly comfortable over long distances and is surprisingly thirsty compared to other similar sized cars (mainly due to the old style engines).

That said, it gets me to work and back (45 mile round trip) every day and with the exception of servicing / consumable costs it's been trouble free motoring for the past 3 years.

Despite its lack of punch its remarkably nimble round country lanes - on a recent trip to Cornwall I had a significant amount of fun driving around the coastal roads not really having to worry (too much) about the narrow roads, fun I wouldn't have had in a larger car.

It's bargain basement motoring and I don't regret for 1 second buying it. Although next time I might up size to a 4 door Fiesta instead... as the lack of space and comfort (at times) can be a bit frustrating...

Ford Ka | Ford KA Studio

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2012
  • 1245cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Used for commuting this car has been reasonably economic, 45 - 50 mpg, and is nippy and easy to park. The automatic fuel cut off is switchable on and off and becomes less of a surprise after a short time. Only slight niggle is that it can stall the engine if there are not enough revs when pulling away, this again becomes second nature to avoid. Insurance, on a multicar policy, was very reasonable.
Space for 2 people is fine but a little cramped for rear seat passengers especially if those in front are tall. Headroom is good, seats are comfortable and controls easy to use. This is the base model so has no central locking, aircon or remote audio controls but all controls, including manual windows, are easily reached.
This car is used in place of a motorbike when the weather gets too bad and I am more than happy with its performance in this respect.

Ford Ka | My Little Ka

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2007
  • 1295cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 3

I love my litle car. We go everywhere together. When it comes to carrying passengers, she's not very big and can't carry a lot of luggage. On long journeys, if I carry a flask, I find there is nowhere to put down my cup and pour out my drink, there are few level areas within the car to put my packup while I eat, especially if I have anyone else in the car with me. Her fuel consumption is good, economical to run, and the engine is very reliable - no trouble starting and such things. She's a real goer on the motorway - good acceleration and road holding, though being quite light she tends to get rocked by strong winds. Overall I love my little Ka and wouldn't be without her. Her name is Bluebell because she is blue and my little flower.

Ford Ka | A Trojan amongst horses

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1998
  • 1299cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

I am happy with my Ford Ka, so much so that I do not know what car to buy next time around as the model I have is no longer made and I do not particularly like the new model. Change is not always for the better. This vehicle has propelled me "up hill and down dale" for going into 14 years and I have no complaints. The engine noise is exceptionally quiet and the fuel consumption is acceptable. I have carried humungous amounts of this and that in the boot with the seats down and it has been an exemplary workhorse for me. Only just the other day had to replace the reversing light bulb! I love my KA.

Ford Ka | Small is Good

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

I am about to take delivery of my fourth Ford Ka, the first being the previous model and have changed every year since 2011. I find the car easy to manoeuvre, easy to park in the street where I live which, although a fairly quiet residential street, it can be difficult to find a space, especially at weekends when everyone is home. I have had cause on many occasions to bless my little car! I find it quite a "nippy" little car which suits my needs down to the ground. I cannot complaint either about the costs as the road tax is minimal. So all in all the Ford KA is the best choice for me.

Ford Ka | Great small car

Added: 14th of January 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

This was one of my favourite cars I owned although I have had more upmarket cars since, I still have a soft spot for the Ka! It was perfect for me at the time as I was a young girl, no children and just right for getting me to work and back and wherever else at the weekend.

Nice and easy to drive and park so good for a new driver too. Comfortable inside although it wouldn't be practical for anyone with children as the boot is very small. But you get what you pay for though. A small, reliable car to get you from A to B.

Ford Ka | My Betsy KA

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2004
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Betsy has been my reliable friend for nearly a decade.
A full tank of petrol currently costs £40. Her Co2 emissions were low 10 years ago but i understand there are others that are so good that no road tax needs to be paid at all.

The biggest thing i've replaced has been the thermostat, oh, and some sort of lead that attaches to the accelerator pedal.
That was interesting when that failed!

I've kept her regularly serviced so has not once failed an MOT.

I will need to replace her in a few years but i will miss her.

Ford Ka | Kan't Komplain

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

This is the second Ka I've bought from new and will probably purchase one again.

It's reliable, cost effective and not heavy on petrol. I drive every day - to work and for my busy social life. It's nippy and great for parking.

I like small cars and think the Ka is attractive to look at and deceptively spacious inside. The high gear stick sits in a snazzy control panel - cosmetic but hey ho.

I've driven several hundred miles in one (literal) sitting and have been still fairly comfortable at the end of the journeys.

Ford Ka | My little friend

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2006
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 3

My car is named Bluebell because she is blue. We go everywhere together. She is reliable, hardly ever breaks down because I look after her and she looks after me. She is nippy, has good acceleration and zips down the motorway like a gud'un She sails through her annual MOT and her only problems are ones that would occur in any car under normal circumstances. I would recommend Ford Ka's to anyone but if you go on holiday with more than one passenger and luggage, you run out of space, but for a single person she is ideal.

Ford Ka | I Love My Car!

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1998
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I have enjoyed 9 years of motoring in my little Ford Ka. He's been the cheapest to run, never goes wrong, always starts first time and is a nippy little thing too. Just wish Ford would do something. About rust! Why can Nissan get it right but Ford seem to continue making cars that rust. Sadly that will be why I have to send Bubbles ( the Ka) to that scrap heap in the sky where all good cars eventually end up) shame because I think he's engine and mechanical bits would have done about 200,000 miles!

Ford Ka | high insurance!

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1299cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 3

I find my KA very reliable and does its job for getting me to work and back i travel around 60miles a day around the lake district so it does take its toll on the little thing but it had served me well so far and haven't had any major problems. This is why i find it really disappointing that my insurance is so high im 21 and have 3 years no claims and changed from a 1.9 fiat bravo 2002 sport where i was paying 74.30 a month to paying 130.80 a month on my KA!

Ford Ka | Totally Reliable

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 1998
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

My Ford Ka is 15 years old and has never broken down or not started in the 6 years I have owned it. Used regularly in London traffic and also long journeys. For a small car is very capable on motorway.
Fun to drive and minimal running costs.
Have to watch out for rust with these though, especially on sills. Has some rust in this area but have managed to keep on top of it.
Would have another newer one tommorrow, as long as very free of rust.

Ford Ka | Ford Ka

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 2

It's an ideal car for one person. It holds a vast amount when the back seats are dropped, looks are very deceiving with this car. It's easy to park and to get around in, as it's so small and an easy drive.
The downside is that the car is extremely light and so doesn't grip the road well in poor conditions, a little concerning even for the experienced driver.
It also has power steering and it really isn't necessary for such a small and light car.

Ford Ka | Ford KA.

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2000
  • 1299cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I have been pleased with this car, although these days it needs work doing for each MOT test and possibly can cost more than its value now. The mechanics said that KAs are 'rust buckets' when I queried why welding should be needed two years running, whereas my previous Polo had shown no rust even after 13 years. Nevertheless I have enjoyed the 'nippiness' of the car and it never cost me much during the years of running.

Ford Ka | Good starting car

Added: 20th of December 2012
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2005
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

My Ford KA has so far been a perfect starting car, very cheap to run petrol wise and it's very rare than anything ever goes wrong with it. Fairly speedy & easy to park because it's so small, but still enough room for a decent sized shop. Can get quickly crowded in the backseats! Depending on how long your passenger's legs are, but for a couple of people it's a very comfortable ride. Very cheap to insure as well!

Ford Ka | My Ford Ka

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I bought this car as an ex demo 5 years ago.

It has been absolutely fantastic.

I've never had any problems.

We leave it standing for weeks at a time whilst we visit our 2nd home in France but it has never not started or had any problem on our return.

Its vey nippy and easy to park. Also very economical to run.

I've travelled all over the country in it.

Would certainly recommend to anyone

Ford Ka | Compact and Reliable

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I am now on my third Ford KA - second of the new model. Initially I was not too keen on the new shape, but now that I'm used to it I love it. This will be the second winter with my current car and if it performs as last year then I will be happy. I have had no problems with reliability, find it very easy to park and not too expensive to run. You could say I'm very happy with my KA(r)!

Ford Ka | I love my car

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I have now owned 2 Ford Kas as I find them to be cheap to run and fix and very reliable. I rarely have back seat passengers and when I do it is only for short trips so I don't mind that there are only 2 seats in the back. The boot is rather small but again I don't often feel that I need bigger boots space. I mainly use my car for getting to and from work and university

Filter Ford Ka Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.