Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Ford Galaxy Reviews

Ford Galaxy

Welcome to the Ford Galaxy review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Ford Galaxy cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£25,165 - £33,825
AA Cars Average
£13,754
MPG
21.7 - 54.3
CO2 (g/km)
139 - 312
Tax Band
E - M
Noise Level
68.0 - 75.0

Ford Galaxy | excellent

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 4

I have owned the Galaxy for 2 years and have been very impressed. All the seats are comfortable and have plenty of space even when full of adults.
I have loaded it up with wood, towed a car and a trailer, it completed all these tasks with ease.
I usually get between 600 to 700 miles to a tank full.
Excellent turning circle.
It is a seven seater, when the two rear seats are folded down it gives you an enormous boot space which is sadly lacking in most vehicles and was a big deciding factor in buying this vehicle.
I only broke down once and that was down to the battery and since that was replaced there have been no problems.
My only niggles are down to design. Please could all boot space be lined with rubber or plastic to make it easy to clean, when you have two dogs jumping in and out it soon becomes dirty, but having a material lining makes it difficult to keep clean.
Also where the rear seats fold down there is a space under a flap at the rear which collects dirt and traps paws, I have had to place a strip of rubber there to stop this happening.

Ford Galaxy | GALAXY STAR

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Bought with family in mind, but regularly used just for my wife, me & our dog. The 7 seats are a bonus when required but it's usually in 5 seat mode, thus leaving plenty of 'boot space'. Very comfortable & roomy (needs to be as I'm 6 feet 8 inches tall). With drivers seat fully back plenty of leg room for passengers behind. Very economical on fuel, can't give exact figures but it does approx 600-700 miles on a full tank dependant on speed/journey type (urban/rural/motorway).
Reasonably cost effective on spares/service charges.
Can highly recommend this model. If you are considering purchasing one, do not buy an automatic (other sources have revealed numerous problems with them). The old adage of "you're never bored with a Ford" is absolutely true of this model ... but for all the right reasons.

Ford Galaxy | My Galaxy

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

I bought my Galaxy, used (one previous lady owner), in 2006. I fell in love with it from the moment I saw it and, as I had previously driven Ford Escort and Transit vans in the course of my work, it felt like coming home. It is one of the best vehicles I have driven, coming very close to my old Rover 2000TC and several Triumph Herald's that I've owned over the years.

The Galaxy gives a smooth ride and is easy to handle; it is roomy inside and I've used it for collecting my new cooker and tumble dryer - just fold down the centre and back seats and you could carry quite a bit in it.

I love my Galaxy and wouldn't want to swap it for anything else.

Ford Galaxy | Galaxy Zetec

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

I continue to be very satisfied with the overall versatility of the Ford Galaxy Zetec diesel. The initial purchase price is the highest I have paid for a car, but excellent reliability, relatively low maintenance costs and good fuel consumption and my intention to keep the car for more than five years, make the purchase price worthwhile in my opinion. The only surprise has been the necessity to change both front tyres every year - this is apparently common on the large bodoed Galaxy.

I would recommend a Ford Galaxy and I would certainly consider buying another one in the future, as long as I continue to need a big car.

Ford Galaxy | Grandkids luxury transport

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

When i retired i wanted a Ford Fiesta ,but due to grandchildren having to be taken here and there a Fiesta was not big enough , football kit ,swimming kit ,clarinet ,school choir , Boy's Brigade ,Boy Scouts and now the youngest has just enrolled in the Girls Brigade .
with all this to contend with the Galaxy is nearly perfect ,with 45+mpg ,all the seats for family transport , motorway cruiser , all you have to add is a roof box and an interior mirror to watch boisterous children , hopefully my next will be A SELFISH car two seats ....

Ford Galaxy | Ford Galaxy

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

This car suits me down to the ground as I can remove the back 2 seats & have a large dog crate in for my dogs but still carry 4 passengers in comfort. There is plenty room & it gets good mileage to the gallon. It's a great car to drive & so comfortable to be in. It can be expensive for servicing & repair costs but I just enjoy driving it. I had a Galaxy previously & to try to reduce the running costs changed to a Renault Grand Scenic but it just was not the same & I changed back to the Galaxy without hesitation.

Ford Galaxy | GALAXY

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2008
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Far too electronic, has a tendency to "think for itself", far too many unwanted gadgets, but no spare wheel, can you believe it, NO SPARE WHEEL !!!, a basic it would seem. Have bought my own sparewheel, constructed a metal frame and keep it in the rear area of the car. Have had five punctures in 20 months, and used the spare twice.

Car designers and makers are in a world of their own, to clever by half, maybe they ought to talk to some car owners once in a while, and see what is really wanted or needed.

Ford Galaxy | Galaxy 1.8 TDi

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Superb work horse. Very economical both on long runs and around town. Swallows up anything you need to carry. Extremely versatile with seating. The rear seats are adult size and comfortable on long journeys with sufficient head and leg room. The rear doors are full size, no problem for access for young or old. Seating is multi adjustable for any size of driver and controls are easy to reach and use.

I would highly recommend the car to anyone. I have had three in a row...

Ford Galaxy | Bargain Basement

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1990
  • 2300cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Bought at scrap metal price 10 years/93,000 miles old with a gearbox defect, fixed gearbox and it has since given 13,000 miles' reliable service. Depreciation almost nil, service parts cheap, roomy, comfortable, versatile (though seats are heavy to remove, it makes a great van). Comfortable for long trips and often carries seven people. Has a/c and even a spare alloy wheel.
Only downsides: £225 road tax and 25mpg, but it isn't used every day as we have a small runaround.

Ford Galaxy | Practical Reliable

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

This is my second galaxy. First was a P reg. This one ( 03) has noticeable improvements on the P. Headed windscreen makes for far quicker demisting of windscreen which was serious problem with earlier model. 6 speed gearbox not an improvement on the 5 speed of earlier model with quite serious ( 10%-15%) effect on fuel consumption.

love the practically of the car despite only me and wife at home.

Ford Galaxy | Thirsty bus!

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Very practical and versatile family bus with a lovely smooth ride for passengers!
It's great for carting the family plus any stragglers around!
I can fit my bikes and plenty of kit in, even a couple 8x4ft sheets of ply (with a little grunt).
Let down a little by fuel consumption. On the motor way it is fine (I can hit 50mpg if careful) but round town it can get a little thirsty.

Ford Galaxy | My Galaxy!

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

As a people mover it is brilliant - masses of space and v comfortable.
It is a competent and relaxing drive.
I did not choose it for its economy, I achieve about 25mpg, but I only travel 5000 approx miles per year.
As much as I love my car, the build quality does not match my previous car - VW Touran, some of the internal bodywork is falling off!

Ford Galaxy | excellant

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2004
  • 1900cc
  • semi-automatic
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

The ford galaxy has been a good car the only down side has been the space. when the maximum number of people are seated (7) then there is no room for luggage. Secondly the driver and passenger seats are comfortable at any time however the passenger seats ie middle and rear seats are very uncomfortable for long journeys.

Ford Galaxy | Ford Galaxy

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

We bought this from new. Problems with electric windows - now don't work at all and too expensive to fix. Heater stopped working as did the battery in key fob. Rather expensive to run however has been an excellent runner and used for several house moves for family. Comfortable ride.

Ford Galaxy | 1.9 Galaxy

Added: 19th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Like vehicle for all round practically.
Fuel consumption not as good as a previous 5 gear version.
Current version has 6 gears. Possibly due to much of my use is in town.
Not sure if new versions have parking aid but if not should have.

Ford Galaxy | Ford Galaxy MPV 2006

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Brilliant car! Towed our Caravan to Holland and back, car packed to the gills with pots for ceramic show, plenty of power, economical, comfortable, beautiful. Best car I've ever owned, and I've had some good'uns :-)

pete

Ford Galaxy | galaxy

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 1900cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

I bought my galaxy as a used car 4 years ago, I have not had any trouble with it, although not great on fuel I think for the comfort and reliability and safety I think its worth the extra I pay for fuel

Ford Galaxy | Keeps on going

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1998
  • 2300cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Despite the age and mileage this car just keeps on going. It has required various parts fixing, mainly sensors going and wiring breaking, but relatively these have been inexpensive repairs.

Ford Galaxy | My Galaxy

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2003
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

This vehicle is over reliant on computer control its unreliability is due to its computer. Its too easy to steal the catalific converter even after 10years there is no secure up grade.

Ford Galaxy | Great Car

Added: 20th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

We bought this car recently to update from our other car of the same make. Nice looking, comfortable alot more so than the other model. Plenty of room and good performance.

Filter Ford Galaxy Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.