Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Ford Fusion Reviews

Ford Fusion

Welcome to the Ford Fusion review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Ford Fusion cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£2,804
MPG
36.2 - 64.2
CO2 (g/km)
116 - 186
Tax Band
C - J
Noise Level
70.0 - 71.0

Ford Fusion | Ford Fusion

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1397cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Once reviewed as "execrable", the Fusion is far better than I might have feared. £30 tax, normally 50+ mpg, steers well, seats 5 adults in reasonable comfort and has adequate, but not vast, boot space. The front seats are not wonderful. The 1.4 diesel can cruise at motorway maximum all day, but don't expect exciting acceleration. We bought it because it's a little higher than the Fiesta it replaced and makes for easier access for the no-longer athletic. It seems to be popular with older drivers, and I find it deserves their (my) trust. Maintenance bills are low and it rarely fails to start first time. Handling is good. What's not to like? Oh yes, one thing: the plastic trim on the doors is a design fault. The trim can blow off in the slipstream, especially when the oncoming vehicle is HGV. The glue is strong, but not eternal It's a fault well-known to the spares assistant at the local Ford agent.It doesn't improve the appearance and shouldn't have been used. Sorry to end on a sour note in what is a much better car than the motoring press seem to have thought.

Ford Fusion | Fusion Forever!

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1599cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Although my Fusion is getting on a bit now, I still find it very economical and pleasant to drive. The worst thing I would say about it is that it's not as quiet inside as some of my friends' cars which are newer. I like the controls and seats and we chose it originally for me to hump heavy/awkward rugby equipment around in the boot without having to lift it over a car panel and to be able to put the back seats down for even more room (post protectors take up a lot of room and I am a weak female!)It acts a bit like a small estate in this respect. It's very reliable although I do ensure it gets serviced and maintained regularly at our local Ford dealer where we bought it originally as an ex-mobility car. As the years go by, this is becoming a bigger expense so shortly I will have to think about replacing my trusty steed but will certainly be looking at the same model again for value for money and reliability.

Ford Fusion | battery problem

Added: 11th of November 2014
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1600cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I've had my 58 plate fusion for five years, and in that time I've had nothing but problems with the battery going flat when the car isn't used for a few days, it was only the other week when the battery went flat did I find out what was causing the problem, at the time I couldn't remember the radio code, anyway I forgot all about putting the code in, and as I don't use the radio very much I didn't bother, result, the car stood in my drive for about five days, when went out to see if there was any life in the battery, to my surprise the car started, so its was the radio draining the battery, so I haven't bothered putting the code in, now the car starts first time even after standing for a few days,
so perhaps FORDS COULD SOLVE THIS PROBLEM CONCERNING THE RADIO IN THE FORD FUSION SEMI AUTOMATIC,

Ford Fusion | Ford Fusion Review

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The Fusion is basically a stretch Fiesta. It doesn't have too many creature comforts although mine does have air con and a heated screen which is great (although only 3 lines work). There is more engine noise than with a lot of cars but I like the way it drives, the engine has enough poke for me and so far it's been 100% reliable with low running costs and £35 a year road tax. The boot is big enough for my camping stuff or shopping but the car is small enough to get into little spaces.
The boot is unlockable from the key fob or a push button on the dash - you can't unlock it from the back of the car unless you have the key. I think this is a security feature but it took some time getting used to.
I like it and I would definitely recommend this car.

Ford Fusion | Ford fusion

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1999
  • 1100cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I purchased this vehicle from new, and although I have found it quite nice to drive, my husband hates the automatic transmission, as he feels it does not change under the engine has reached very high revs. (he regularly drive automatics for part of the year). I have had several occasions when the vehicle would not start and after trips to the dealer, the battery was replaced by Ford, (the AA told us it was faulty) but the garage refused for a while to believe us. This resulted in leaving us stranded at an airport on 2 occasions.
The family has bought Ford cars for many years now, and although this is a reasonable car, it is the car that I feel least happy with.

Ford Fusion | Practical but not stylish

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
1/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

The Ford Fusion is ideal if you need a car that is easy to get in and out of which has plenty of boot space and leg room. That said, in the style category it looks like a box with windows. My car has had loads of engine problems, but I think I have been unlucky with both the fact that my car had stood for a long time unused before I bought it and my choice of mechanic to fix the problems. I bought this car to accommodate car seats for my twin grandsons - and it certainly ticks all the right boxes for this, but I can't wait to get a more stylish car once they are older.

Ford Fusion | Ford Fusion

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

A great little car with a big interior
I have 18 month Twins and a five year old which can all sit comfortably in the back (includes Child seats and booster seat)
The Boot is large and can easily fit a double buggy
Boot opening is level with the boot floor, so no awkward lip to lift things over.

The rear seats fold flat which turns it virtually in to a small van

Comfortable to drive

Cheap to buy in Comparison to other similar cars

Convenient storage in Dash and under Passenger seat

High driving position makes good overall viability

Ford Fusion | Still love it.

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Had 3 Fusions over last 10 years. Good looking car and extremely practical - 5 seats when you need them, plenty of space for washing machines and tumble driers when you need it. Every bit as comfortable as the Sierra was, and the left arm rest on the driver's seat is very useful. The back of the front passenger seat tipping forwards makes a handy table top. Storage under the front passenger seat is something very few people know about.
Performance not great (eg Audi RS8), but much more than adequate for British roads - don't know about the autobahns!

Ford Fusion | Practical vehicle

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

For myself and family this car is the most practical vehicle we could afford. It gets used for camping trips , carrying all our equipment with ease to some very inaccessible places with no complaints. It is also used for transporting logs, ( we have a log burner). As well as general running about locally. I can regularly get 55/60 miles per gallon,and is more than capable of exceeding the speed limit on motorways ! ! ! It is not pampered in any way but is well maintained both mechanically and body wise. Suits our lifestyle. AlanO

Ford Fusion | Ford Fusion

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

This is a comfortable car, easy to get in and out of due to being higher than other small Ford cars which means you sit higher and have good vision. It is ideal for any one with bad joints as you can slip into it rather than crouch down to get in. It has all the power I need and is easy to drive being an automatic. Plenty of space for grandchildren, shopping, luggage. The rear seats are also comfortable and have good vision. A great little car. I don't think of it as a small car as there is so much space!

Ford Fusion | Useful car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1595cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I have previously owned Ford Focus hatchbacks and am impressed by the Fusion. The seats are comfortable and seat higher than average (similar to the Focus) which is great for an owner not in the first flush of youth!
The car is nippy and gives me confidence when overtaking. The front and rear window heaters were an extra boon last winter.
Plenty of leg room both front and back. Dashboard data helps to run as economically as possible.
Headlamps much easier to change than Focus.
Easy to park.

Ford Fusion | chunky ford

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

I have only just bought my 2006 ford fusion but enjoy the elevated driving postion with good all round vision and the chunky feel of the vehicle.
The zetec engine is much more responsive than my previous vauxhall astra but the ride is slightly harder.
There is slightly less luggage space than in my previous car. I would prefer if the body was about 40 cm longer.
Overall I am pleased with my purchase but if funds had been avaialable would have opted for a Kuga or similar model.

Ford Fusion | EKO CAR

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Although it is not stylish and shabby around the edges it has been a great car.
Miles per gallon at 60 and road tax at £30 it is really cheap to use as a workhorse.
The comfort levels are OK but I do think the suspension could be better but as it is based on the old Fiesta not bad.
Space is great and with the seats down can fit almost anything including 2.4m pieces of wood or 4 bikes even a fridge freezer
I will sad to see it good when I trade up next year

Ford Fusion | Mechanicals and electricals

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The mechanical parts and electrical parts are too light and flimsy for the roads we have these days with pot holes and speed bumps. The car was designed for roads that are like they were 10 years or more ago rather than the rough terrain we are expected to drive on now. Suspensions, wheels and tyres are not up to it. Too much faith is placed in electronic management and chips rather than more robust simple electrical circuitry.

Ford Fusion | Reliable Fusion

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have had my Ford Fusion for 5 years and it has been extremely reliable. It's deceptively spacious and with the back seats down can take a surprisingly large amount of luggage. The higher driving position is great for short people like me and the added bonus of two interior lights makes me feel a lot safer when I'm returning to the car at night. All in all I would highly recommend the Fusion and would definitely buy one again.

Ford Fusion | No ball of fire, but......

Added: 7th of June 2014
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1397cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Mainly used on a short commute to work and weekend shopping,
but still get 50 mpg. Looks like the front end of a Ford Connect, sounds like a tractor when cold, not the fastest vehicle off the line, but she goes. CD player jumps when going over bumps. Heated front screen, air conditioning, good driving position. Old fashioned maybe, perhaps its a pity they don't make them like this anymore.

Ford Fusion | I love my car

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1300cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I am not very tall and a car with a high seating position is ideal for me. It also enables me to get out of the car by sliding down as opposed to heaving myself up. The other main advantage is the size of the boot, as I frequently have to carry boxes and bags when going out to give lecture-demonstrations to WIs etc. These are more important to me than the probable extra cost of fuel.

Ford Fusion | Ford Fusion

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1388cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I find this car extremely suitable for my style of life. My running cost including fuel, insurance, road tax and services/repairs is 25p per mile which I think is very good. The room in the boot when the rear seats are lowered allows me to carry projector stand, screen, stool, laptops, projector and various other bits and pieces when I go out to give talks.

Ford Fusion | Fusion fantastic

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I bought this car on recommendation from other owners. It has proved to be the best car I have ever had in 45 years. Driving position is particularly good, high up to survey the road ahead and splendid all round vision. Together with the mpg and running costs it has also improved by budget and has all the space I need for my lifestyle.

Ford Fusion | Ford Fusion

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I love this car it is reliable comfortable,easy to get in and out of if you have old knees,because it's higher than the escort or focus. Good vision because you sit higher, my grandchilsren love it for that reason too! It has all the power I need and I recommended it to others of my age group and they have bought one and love it too!

Filter Ford Fusion Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.