Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Ford Escort Reviews

Ford Escort

Welcome to the Ford Escort review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Ford Escort cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£23,414
MPG
34.0 - 42.2
CO2 (g/km)
182 - 195
Tax Band
I - J
Noise Level
74.0

Ford Escort | Brilliant car

Added: 1st of December 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1996
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have owned this car since it was almost new (Ford owned it for six months and sold it with 16,000 miles on the clock at a good discount off the new price). It is a high spec 16 valve Ghia with air conditioning, alloy wheels etc. The car is very comfortable, and the chenille upholstery is still in extremely good condition. This car is the right balance between being spacious inside, and easy to park. It still beats most other cars off the lights and gives good miles per gallon (litre) on long journeys.

It does rust a bit around the wheel arches, so it has needed some cosmetic attention, but that's not surprising when it is almost 17 years old. If only I could buy another newer model, as I've not found another car I like as well as my Escort.

Ford Escort | IT'S A VAN

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 2

Please note my 'car' is a VAN which I bought solely because I live alone and can use the extra space for helping out others and carrying my own (occasional) purchases. I am retired and use my van usually only once a week for grocery shopping. I also own a small motorbike which I use very occasionally and only ever in good weather.
The van gets re-fueled about once per year (full tank) has never let me down and is perfectly adequate for me. Everything on or in the van works perfectly well, running costs are not a problem but I resent being lumped together with all other van users when it comes to insurance, i.e. higher premiums and unable to drive any other vehicle.

Ford Escort | Wells

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Although ageing, my Escort has done 91,000 miles, it has always been serviced at the recommended intervals (but not by a Ford main dealer since 2003) and has proved both economical to run and very reliable. Since I retired in 2009, it has only covered about 5000 miles per year and, according to the garage which services it, it looks good for another 2-3 years of MOT without major repairs. Purchased from new and never raged, this has been an excellent car. If its eventual replacement does as well, I'll be well pleased.

Ford Escort | FORD ESCORT

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

MY THIRD ESCORT AND WILL KEEP THIS ONE UNTIL IT DIES ON ME.
I GET OUT AFTER 200+ MILES AND NOT EVEN STIFF.
USES LITTLE PETROL, NONE OF THEM HAVE EVER BROKEN DOWN EXCEPT FOR A BATTERY OR 2. JUST WISH THEY WERE STILL MADE...FOCUS NOT SO COMFY FOR A 5'3' FEMALE AND THE NEWER ONES HAVE A BIG BOX BY THE GEAR LEVER WHICH MY ELBOW SMASHES INTO.... LUCILY MY CAR A V REG, SAILED THROUGH MOY AGAIN NEEDING NOT EVEN A NEW WIPER..
BRING BACK THE ESCORT?

Ford Escort | best car ever made

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1997
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The Ford Escort is the best car ever put on the road for all the classifications listed above. I have not changed my car for the simple reason that they are no longer available and I have seen no car which, for me, would equal the comfy reliable and inexpensive to run car that I have now. It still beats most modern cars away from traffic lights and performs amazingly well on long runs.

Ford Escort | Ford convertible

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1997
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

This is my 3rd Ford convertible and have had this car 5 years - loads of boot space, can seat 4 people, have had no real problems with it just general maintenance. Other newer convertibles do not have the same boot space, even with larger models than this. Will be very sorry when she has to go.

Ford Escort | MY SIERRA

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1992
  • 1996cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

It is an absolutely lovely car, a little but of rust. but apart from that in good condition. It has never let me down since I have had it, and previously it belonged to my son. Fuel consumption is excellent, and I love it. It will break my heart when, and if, I ever had to get rid of it.

Ford Escort | escort

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2000
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

Do not go to Halfords for an MOT and service with your ford escort, you will regret it financially. I am a pensioner and it has cleared me out.

Ford Escort | The Hawkmoble

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

good reiable car had it for 10yrs with very little trouble and passes mot with only minor/regular wear faults

Ford Escort | hawkmobile

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

had it ten years now been very reliable and good running costs not to many faults only normal wear and tear

Ford Escort | brillaint

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

third escort , all have run with no problems. wish they still made them! nicer than the focus to drive..

Ford Escort | Escort

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1998
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Had car for 11yrs found it reliable cheap to run

Ford Escort | Ford Escort

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Very reliable for an old car served me well.

Ford Escort | Escort

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1988
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Car is functional

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.