Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Fiat Panda Reviews

Fiat Panda

Welcome to the Fiat Panda review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Fiat Panda cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£8,900 - £14,900
AA Cars Average
£6,165
MPG
42.8 - 72.4
CO2 (g/km)
95 - 156
Tax Band
A - G
Noise Level
69.0 - 74.0

Fiat Panda | Panda 4x4 is the best

Added: 7th of August 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2016
  • 900cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Fiat panda 4x4

The panda 4x4 ideas has been around for a while now having started on the original panda back many decades ago. The idea was simple a small cheap car that could go anywhere and it worked. In most vineyards in Italy there will be a old panda 4x4 one knocking around.As it happens the alpine police liked them to because of the light weight good ground clearance and much more. So the panda 4x4 was the car of choice.

So then how good is it now? The panda is now in its third generation and has had some drastic changes made to it. Gone is the cheap simple design instead a rather odd cubed themed car every thing from the wing mirrors to the dials is in the shape of a cube. You may be thinking ahh excellent gone are the scratch plastics the useless heater buttons. In place of this is a pleasant interior. However a basic normal panda costs £500 more than a up! Exclamation mark indeed. Nearly £2000 more then the previous model ouch. The 4x4 models start at almost £15,000 that's as more that a top spec Dacia duster.

So then the big question the one you have been waiting for is it available in horrible brown? No it is not. However it it available in an excellent green is that good enough to for you?

Another small question people who are buying this car may ask is it any good?
Well in short yes. Yes the panda may cost a lot for how big it is but I think it is worth that amount of money especially with the 0.9 twinair engine which at 6,500 rpm sounds like a herd of angry wasps or a really annoying motorcycle engine depending nag on your hearing. The panda 4x4 rides well over bumps and attempts to remaining composed through bends however the body role and the soft suspension don't make it a drivers car. However the panda more that makes up for this s by being very characterful all the floors suddenly turn in to positives.

So in short this is a cheap to run characterful car and it is the only very small off-road car. So if you want a very narrow small 4x4 you have one choice. The Fiat Panda 4x4.

Fiat Panda | Fiat Panda

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Honestly much better than I was expecting when it was first passed down to me in the family!
Definite plus points for me is that it has low running costs, it's fairly economical (usually average around the 45mpg mark) and also relatively cheap to insure, which has been a huge bonus given my age when I got it. For a small 'city' car I've found it handles well, is fun to drive and it's been fairly robust despite me hammering it on motorways and spending a lot of time on country lanes!
Given it's size, I always manage to cram loads into the car - I find it's a bit of a tardis in that respect. Not great for passenger leg-room though!
It's nippy enough around and about, and dead easy to park due to its size and light steering (extra light with 'city function' if you're in a really tight spot!). Not great on hills or cruising/top speed, but then you can't expect too much from a 1.1 litre engine!
I haven't had any major issues in the 4 years I've had mine, but the brake discs/liners do seem to be a bit of a weak point.
Interior is not the best - cheap looking, flimsy and not very hard-wearing. But again, for the cost of the car and what it is ideally designed for, it's good enough.
Overall I've been pleasantly surprised with the Panda and although it's maybe not the most stylish car to be seen in, it has been a very good little run around.

Fiat Panda | Fiat Panda

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I bought my car when it was 9 months old in 2006 from a fiat dealer it had low mileage and had been well looked after by a fiat employee. It has been very economical and reliable and suited my job as a community health worker. It is starting to wear out a bit as its getting on and I've done a heck of a lot of miles in it. For its size it has a lot of room due to the high roof and boxy shape. It has a comfortable driving position being quite high. The four doors are really useful and as there are four they are not very wide and this makes it easier to get in and out of when parked in a tight space in the supermarket. Other people cut me up and try and overtake me due to the rather 'granny car' appearance of the panda. I am a confident driver and do not drive like a granny! Having said that I think the Fiat Panda is the perfect car for the elderly driver due to its design and fuel efficiency. I plan to change the car soon as I am starting my own gardening business and need something larger for my equipment.

Fiat Panda | Little 4x4

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

Small practical little 4x4. Can seat 4, but not much boot space. Cheap to run and service parts are reasonably cheap. Fairly easy to maintain by the competent DIY'er with adequate toolbox. So far it has been very reliable.

Performance, only a 1.2 with 60 bhp, so not powerful, usually averages around 42 mpg, it can achieve 45 if driven conservatively, but if pushed hard and at high speed on motorways fuel consumption will drop to 37-38.

Comfort, it is a small cheap car, but does the job for short local journeys. Although I have just done a 2,300 mile round trip to Scandinavia, averaging 42 mpg without any problems.

Car came with all-season tyres, I find they are wearing reasonably well, expecting to get around 20,000 miles from a set.

In the snow and on muddy ground this vehicle is increadible, partly due to the 4x4 system and the all-season tyres. It is not a mud plugger tho'.

For a small 4x4 it does the job.

Fiat Panda | Panda 4x4

Added: 27th of September 2014
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

Living in the lakes a 4x4 can be necessary if you need to be somewhere when the winter weather turns nasty. Although a large Land Rover type vehicle is ideal for these occasions as a practical daily drive they are both expensive and somewhat cumbersome. The Panda however is both cheep to run and yet still more than capable of dealing with 99% of winter weather.

Inside its nicely laid out with a simple uncluttered dash, and ample space for two adults. Naturally bring powered by a small 1200 cc engine it's performance for motorway travel is limited but it is more than adequate for my needs. Its comfortable enough to make the 65 mile commute to and from work a breeze, although extra time has to be added in comparison to my summer choice of vehicle (A 1200cc BMW motorbike.

Over all I highly recommend the Panda 4x4 as an alternative to a large 4x4 Chelsea tractor if all you need one for is road use in rural winter conditions.

Fiat Panda | Great small car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 5

I have been a driver for many years, this is the first time I have had a Fiat Panda. It suits my needs perfectly - is economical to run, has surprisingly generous space (I regularly drive with 3 large cat carriers and a birdcage in the body of the car) for bulk shopping and can turn and/or park on a sixpence, as they used to say...it has been extremely reliable, has coped excellently with the vagaries of the Scottish Winter climate and very early morning starts (no problem), also was parked outside my house on the road over last year's very bad winter for 4 months of ice & snow, as I was unable to drive for that time - when I was finally able to get out & about again it started 1st time. Very reliable small car, I will be buying Fiat Panda again when it is time to change due to car's age. Excellent wee car.

Fiat Panda | Fiat Panda 100 HP

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
1/5
  • 2008
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I love this car(as a sporty little car)It performs excellently for its engine size,goes like something off a shovel when you need it to(sport button switched on)mainly because of its lightweight size,however because of this(it weighs less than 1000kg)i also find it frightening in wet weather as it tends to aquaplane and drift very easily.

As i am getting on towards 60 years old i feel i am pushing myself and the car to our limits in a fun filled frightful but exciting drive each time,i feel compelled to drive the vehicle as it was intended to be driven, so because of this and its lack of carrying capacity/impractability(for my needs)i do intend to change it for something less sporty and more carrying capacity.

Fiat Panda | i love my car!

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

i've had my fiat panda for nearly 6 years now and it has never let me down, not once! i don't do a lot of mileage but i have been on long journeys and it is so comfortable to drive, i feel like i'm sitting upright so my back doesn't ache when i get to my destination! i love the way the back seat just flips over to make the boot area much bigger! it's fast enough to pull away from junctions etc, doesn't lag behind at all even though it's a small engine, though if you're looking for something super quick then this is not the car for you!! and it's very economical. i would be happy to recommend the fiat panda to anyone looking to buy a small car! i'm as happy with it now as i was on the day i bought it.

Fiat Panda | Panda Perfection?

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Nice enough car with reasonable costs but I found the finish and build quality rather poor. It is however really nice to drive and with good amount of space, suitable for most things.
It is a cheaper car to purchase and perfectly good for it's cost but I would prefer to have a more sturdy and better quality finish.
Easy to drive and park with it's City setting to lighten the steering, which is already very light.
Some good features included, such as rear wiper automatically coming on hen put into reverse and front wiper on, but some features lacking I would expect as a normal part of a modern car, such as rear parcel shelf automatically dropping when back door shut.
I do however recommend it

Fiat Panda | Ideal car for me

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1250cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I do very little driving these days (about 3000 miles a year!), but when I do, I want to be able to sit fairly high so I can see the road and park easily if I have to. The Fiat Panda suits my needs perfectly, especially compared to the behemoth Mitsubishi I had been driving. It is certainly nippy enough to hold its own on the motorway, big enough to hold my weekly shopping or transport three friends in bearable comfort. While it was under warranty the driver's side door lock failed, but it was fixed promptly and courteously at the dealer. Otherwise I have had no problems. It is just the right size for me, yet I don't feel like an old lady driving it!

Fiat Panda | Excellent car

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1242cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I have owned three of this particular model over the past 10 years, none of them have ever let me down, running costs are low, performance good even on German motorways, petrol consumption overall 56.8 mpg over 90,000 miles, can get up to 68 mpg on long run with savvy driving. No complaints, would buy it again. If you are a boy racer or need to have a flash set of wheels to boost your self-esteem, get the chip off your shoulder, or compensate for phallic under-achievement, buy something else and pay 3 times as much.

Fiat Panda | Fiat Panda Eleganza

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1200cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is the third Fiat Panda I've owned, the second from new. I commute around 80 miles a day, both urban and motorway conditions, and I have found the car very comfortable and easy to manoeuvre in what can be very stressful driving conditions (both the road and the weather). It suits my needs as a small car - it is fine just for me but also can take four people quite comfortably and there is a surprising amount of room in the boot. When I need a new car, I will definitely be looking to replace it with another Panda.

Fiat Panda | Fiat Panda Active

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Sensible little car with reasonable running costs ideal for to/from work driving. Has good size load space when back is flattened out.

Not ideal on motorways as tends not to be seen and limited engine size doesn't have much extra pulling power. Seats can be uncomfortable on longer journeys (after an hour my back starts to hurt due to lack of lumber support).

It's never let me down in 5 years of use and is just about to reach 50k miles only reason to get rid would be if a repair cost more than the car is worth.

Fiat Panda | My favourite car

Added: 22nd of April 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

It's too early to judge such things as reliability in the long term and devaluation but in the short time I have had the car, I'm thrilled. It does everything I want it to do. It's economical, easy to handle, responsive, good visibility: a delight.

My only criticism so far would be the boot. The seats do not go down to leave a flat, or even nearly flat, floor making transporting anything larger than the small space at the back would allow rather difficult.

Fiat Panda | A great car for its size

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is the second Panda I have had and I haven't been disappointed. The seats are extremely comfortable and the seat position is high so , as someone who has back trouble, there is no bending to get into the car. The drive is very smooth and steady. The last Panda was really good in snowy conditions - even without winter tyres. I like too, on this model, the petrol tank with no separate cap . So much easier. I will certainly be buying a Fiat Panda again.

Fiat Panda | Fiat Panda ideal for me

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1250cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I mostly use a car for the weekly shop, with an occasional trip to the airport (55 miles away) or a nearby town. The car's size and comfort are just right for me, with the boot holding exactly the number of shopping bags I usually fill. It has never given me a problem since a very early under-warranty failure of the door lock. The driving position is adjustable and therefore high enough for short people like me. Very happy with this car!

Fiat Panda | City car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I got this car as a city runaround to get me to work and back but find it is far more fuel efficient on longer journeys than the short ones it is supposedly built for.
Other than that it is a very good car, no problems with reliability and friends who ride in it often say how spacious it is for a small car and how they enjoy feeling higher off the ground than normal.

Fiat Panda | Fab fun

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Well, what do you expect - it's a Panda. It's never going to be high performance, but its super reliable, boot big enough to get your weekly shop in, seats four adults including two six foot plussers comfortably, road tax on Eco model £35 pa, cheap insurance, and even in London and with average speed rarely above 20mph you still get 50 mpg out of it. I love it.

Fiat Panda | Sweet economy for a simple model.

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2009
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Easy to drive and very good on fuel, the Fiat Panda Eco benefits from an annual road tax of just £30 and being in a low insurance group.

Although fairly basic in design, the car is relable and gives very effective performance. One criticism is the foot controls. The accelerator pedal is very close to the wheel arch and it's easy to make a mistake!

Fiat Panda | MY panda

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

James May on Top Gear has one
He's a motoring TOP GUN.
Eco friendly and cheap to run.
My Fiat Panda is great fun.
Perfect for towns and city runs,
On motorways she goes great guns.
Comfortable Roomy, but limelight she shuns
Not flash, not expensive, but when all said and done.
A reliable,compact, easy to park vehicle perfect for anyone.

Filter Fiat Panda Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.