Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Fiat 500 Reviews

Fiat 500

Welcome to the Fiat 500 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Fiat 500 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£9,500 - £17,000
AA Cars Average
£8,971
MPG
44.8 - 76.3
CO2 (g/km)
90 - 149
Tax Band
A - F
Noise Level
70.0 - 73.5

Fiat 500 | Bella Bambino

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

The Fiats modest size makes it a perfect runabout for 1 or two people. The headroom is very generous in the front so even a tall driver and front passenger have a comfortable space. There is plenty of room in the boot for grocery shopping and the back seat drops down easily if you need extra space for your 'stuff'. I have often carried items back from the DIY store that really don't look as if they will fit, but they do. You can fit a 2.4 metre length of wood diagonally across from the front dash to the back!
The Fiat 500 is super easy to park and using the 'city' setting on the steering it is extra nippy in tight spaces or busy traffic.
A full tank of petrol (about £40 Oct 2013)will give you about 440 miles and with road tax only £30 annually the fiat is hard to beat for economy.
Drawbacks that need consideration are that its extreme light weight contributes to a lack of road holding on ice and snow so extra care is needed in bad weather. Also window condensation can be a problem in wet conditions.
To round up, the Fiat 500 is a perky little runabout, cheap to run and LOTS of fun to drive!

Fiat 500 | PLEASANTLY SURPRISED

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I purchased this car on the basis of cheap insurance, tax and petrol.I was pleasantly surprised how reliable this car has been.I've now owned it for going on 3 half years and intend to keep it at least another two.
When looking to upgrade my car i have even told my husband i will probably purchase another Fiat 500 just a higher spec.
Mine is the Pop model and to be fair for a basic spec its got the little extras that in some other makes of cars you would have to pay extra for, like the blue and me for your phone and city parking.
Brillant for getting in little car park spaces and i sometimes take it to do the weekly shop which people are surprised how much boot space there is for such a small car.
My only negative is the back passenger seats have a very confined space. You can fit 2 people in the back but i don't think they would be very comfortable on long journeys, this is our 2nd household car so this is'nt a problem for me.
All in all definately worth a look

Fiat 500 | GREAT ECONOMIC RUNABOUT

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
1/5
  • 2011
  • 1298cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I bought this car because of the unrelenting cost of fuel and excise duty. It costs £20 for tax per year and does between 60 and 70 mpg. It is very comfortable for a small car and I have no worries driving long distances in it. It is also funky because I was able to personalise it with a sunshine roof, decals, fog lamps etc. It is perfect for me and my dog, however if my husband comes too because the dog takes up the whole of the back seat, it is extremely difficult to carry much shopping, luggage etc. This would be the only reason for me changing the car in the future because we are unable to take advantage of its economy if we are going anywhere where we need to take stuff with us. Everyone makes comments about my car so I am very pleased with it, but it is what it is - a small, economic and funky vehicle

Fiat 500 | Surprisingly roomy

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

Although our Fiat 500 is technically my run-around, and popping to work car, we often also use it for family trips.
A weeks shopping easily fits in the boot, the family of 4 fit comfortably inside, and it's great fun to drive.
Very economical on fuel, cheap to insure and tax.

Only downside is that the tank is very small, so needs regular top-ups. And as I have the 1.1 model, it's not brilliant at up-hill speeds when full of passengers.

Might go for a bigger engine next time, but will definitely buy another Fiat 500 next time

Fiat 500 | Fiat 5000

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2009
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Great little car that is perfect for both city and country driving. Can be a little uncomfortable on long drives but for everyday use its perfectly fine. You can get 400+ miles from a tank of fuel that, currently, cost less than £40 and with low road tax it means it won't break the bank. Space is limited, even for a small car, but you can get a weeks shopping in the boot and with the back seats folded the 500 can cope with most jobs.

Over all this is a fun car to drive that really does put a smile on your face everyday.

Fiat 500 | Fiat 500

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1242cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I've had my Fiat 500 from new - some 5 years - it is still fun to drive, still attracts comments on it's lovely design and styling.

It's reliable and remarkably spacious inside - small boot but adequate for my weeks shopping and when I have larger items the back seats fold down easily giving ample space.

I frequently travel from North Wales to Exeter to visit my son which is all motorway travel and my little car copes very well and the journey is always comfortable.

I would recommend the Fiat 500 every time!!

Fiat 500 | My gorgeous Fiat 500c

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

Love this car, cheap to run, looks great. Love my soft top, it can open all the way or in stages, I have it open all year round even if just for a little while. I will definitely buy another one, there are so many funky colours and ways to customise, I can't wait till I can afford to upgrade. Wish the seating and seatbelts were a little more comfortable but that's my only gripe.

Fiat 500 | Fiat 500

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I just love everything about this car. I have the basic model but it feels and looks like a much higher spec model . The boot although looks small holds a surprising amount. It is good on fuel . I have had this car for 5 years now ( the longest I've ever kept a car for) and nothing major has gone wrong with it , I've had cars for a lot less time that have had major faults!

Fiat 500 | Fiat 500

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 3

This is the most fantastic car I have ever owned------fun, funky, and yet it is all I require.
I have had 4 large adults in it, I constantly carry my golf clubs and trolley , and it goes like the wind. I love to overtake all the cars in the fast lane ( for a short time ) .
I feel young and with it when I drive this car, and I feel much older when I drive my husband's BMW.

Fiat 500 | Fiat 500 Pink

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

Apart from being stared at and waved at by small children! this pink car is great fun to drive.
Very economical and cheap to tax.
Limited space though and has a very small boot. Back seats do fold down though.
The USB point is rubbish though and despite buying a very expensive adaptor from Fiat I've never been able to connect my phone or iPod :-(

Fiat 500 | Fiat 500 Pink

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

Apart from being stared at and waved at by small children! this pin car is great fun to drive.
Very economical and cheap to tax.
Limited space though and has a very small boot. Back seats do gold down though.
The USB point is rubbish though and despite buying a very expensive adaptor from Fiat I've never been able to connect my phone or iPod :-(

Fiat 500 | Delightful

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

I love my volare blue fiat 500. She is gorgeous and does nearly everything I would like it to. I would like the automatic lights that I had on my Vauxhall Corsa as I found that very useful. I would also like the clock to change automatically. However my car is cute, reliable, much roomier than expected and perfect for short or long journeys.

Fiat 500 | Fast, economic and fun

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
1/5
  • 2011
  • 1298cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 2

My diesel Fiat 500 which I ordered direct from Fiats with lots of extras to personalise it for me is fantastic. Cheap road tax, 60 - 70 mpg, comfortable and nifty it's the perfect car for me. Not much room as my dog takes up the whole of the back seat but for 1 - 2 people for shopping or long distance it's perfect.

Fiat 500 | My TwinAir

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 875cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

this is my second 500 changing from a 1.2L to a TwinAir. The performance is incredible for the size especially the acceleration for safer London driving. This is mainly a commuter car - total monthly cost is less than public transport season tickets and half the time so it does pretty much all I need very well.

Fiat 500 | Fiat 500

Added: 29th of January 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

I have not had the car 24 hours yet - but love it already. I bought it from Global Automobiles in Blackburn and they gave me lots of information regarding the cars performance, reliability and running costs which was really helpful. Its the first time I have bought a car on my own and they made it so easy.

Fiat 500 | Its a Fiat

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2008
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Essentially the least depreciating car I've ever had. But its a Fiat none the less; so it was okay till it got to about 30,000 miles before it started having issues.

At the end of the day the lack of depreciation just about balances the repairs.

No hope of me buying a Fiat again.

Fiat 500 | A great car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 3

Not only does my Fiat look good but it is efficient, easy to drive and great to park in small spaces. Don't think I would like to do a long journey with more than two adults in the car but is brilliant around town and going to and from work. I would definitely recommend a Fiat 500.

Fiat 500 | fiat 500

Added: 5th of October 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Great little car as a second car for my wife. We received excellent service from Bristol Street motors in Peterlee. The deal we received was Taylored around our needs. Would definatly recommend the above garage. Vcars made it very easy to find the car we were after in our area.

Fiat 500 | Fiat 500

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

In the past I have owned both a Skoda Fabia and a Vauxhall Corsa (most recent car) but recently purchased a new Foat 500. I absolutely love it. It is safe, economical, easy to manoeuvre and park and quirky!! The best car I have owned in 40 years of driving.

Fiat 500 | Fiat 500

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 500cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

This suits me fine. I work from home so mostly I am doing journeys of less than 10 miles although I occasionally do 100 mile round trip for a meeting or to visit a relative. It is not great for transporting a large dog, but not impossible.

Filter Fiat 500 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.