Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Citroen Xsara Picasso Reviews

Citroen Xsara Picasso

Welcome to the Citroen Xsara Picasso review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Citroen Xsara Picasso cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£1,722
MPG
32.8 - 57.6
CO2 (g/km)
130 - 205
Tax Band
D - K
Noise Level
71.0 - 74.0

Citroen Xsara Picasso | My Citroen

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 4

I do rather like the Xsara Picasso - this is my third, having the lost the 1st to another driver not wanting to stop at a T-Junction and ramming mine, the 2nd one I bought because I was running out of time on the hire car and lasted a while - went to Italy and back - then exchanged it for no. 3 as it needed too much doing and the cost outweighed the value so am still happy and wish I could have had this car when my daughter was little - putting the pram in the boot would have been a lot easier for one - it has plenty of storage for sure and, so far, a sturdy engine - I tend to keep my cars for a long time where possible, the longest 10 years - an old series 3 bmw - loved that car - and love this one too - my daughter loves it cos she can watch her dvds by placing the player on the tray/table behind the front seats - handy for the MacDonald cups too - plus the space and how many toys she can get into the back..... Its good on the back too - my hubby and I both appreciate that. It's not one of the newer models and am not sure I would purchase the new one - but would need to test drive to see if it would be suitlable....

Citroen Xsara Picasso | 12 years of practicality

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 4

It's not the most exciting car I have owned, but it has been boringly reliable over the 12 years I have owned it (since new)- no major components have failed, and it has never broken down.
Performance, handling and roadholding are adequate, whereas comfort, space and practicality are pretty damn good, and the driving position is commanding with good all round visibility.
My main reason for buying it were the flexibility and sheer load carrying capability.
It has done 5 years taking offspring and their ever increasing belongings on the six times a year journeys to and from university (being able to remove some or all of the rear seats is very useful). It has also served as a useful load lugger on twice weekly visits to cash and carry's for the last 12 years.
I have treated it badly - I have never washed it, and the inside is pretty disgusting, but it has rewarded me with 12 years of reliable motoring.
Two Criticisms - the turning circle is not great, and the heating/ventilation/aircon struggle at times due to the large expanse of glass.

Citroen Xsara Picasso | Life is full of compromises

Added: 21st of January 2014
Performance
1/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

If you have the sort of life that involves taking offspring to and from universities, one or more dogs on walks and all-too-frequent trips to the city dump, a Picasso is just the job. Edging slowly to its 10th birthday, ours has served the family well and without protest. With the rear seats down, the boot is cavernous enough to accommodate a smaller car. I swear it has an echo.

On the minus side, don't expect anything you could confidently describe as 'performance'. I've been out-accelerated by artics and if I WERE to travel in excess of 70mph (hypothetically, of course, on a private road and all that) I feel certain that the car would begin to shake alarmingly once I reached, say 76mph.

Also, there's a serious condensation problem that requires the aircon to be switched on whenever the air is a bit damp which, living in England, means all the time.

Citroen Xsara Picasso | Ideal for family

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

I bought the car so that 5 adults could be transported in comfort and safety. The Picasso fullfils this criterion well. It is also very useful for large loads even without folding flat or removing the rear seats.
I like the ability to move the centre rear seat forward so that the person using it has plenty of elbow room.
Over several years the fuel economy has varied between 43 mpg and 57 mpg depending on season and number of Dad's taxi runs into the local town.
As an older driver I very much like the high sitting position and the ability to see over walls and hedges in the countryside. This is coupled with ease of access and plenty of headroom for someone who weighs 17 stone and is 5 feet 10 inches tall.

Citroen Xsara Picasso | Citroen Mine

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 4

I have to admit that my dads nickname for this make of car was 'Citriole' [cucumber] but after having driven the Citroen Xsara Picasso for a number of years now find it to be a great car and wish I'd had this car ten years ago when my daughter was born as it would have made things a lot easier such as transporting the pram, bags, shopping and my back. There are a couple of things that need to be added for comfort but that goes for most cars in relation to the female form but think we're getting there. I drove to Italy and back 3 years ago, not in this car, but same type/model and we thoroughly enjoyed the journey - it was a pleasure to drive and we covered over 3,000 miles return trip.

Citroen Xsara Picasso | Economical & practical MPV

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

It was inexpensive to buy (when 5 years old) and is cheap to run, circa 38mpg. So far, it has cost me only insurance (not expensive), MOTs, 2 new tyres, replacement wiper blades and a pair of head-light bulbs. It is extremely practical from 5 good size seats and a generous boot to two seats and cavernous space. I like the higher driving position and it cruises comfortably on motorways.

Dislikes: Seats are OK but not as comfortable as my previous car and the ride is on the firm side but I can live with these.

Downside: the digital speedo cannot be seen in bright sunlight and/or when wearing sunglasses. This is one serious design flaw.

Citroen Xsara Picasso | Citroen Xsara Picasso

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

I bought this car new, nearly 10 years ago and it has been a good allround family vehicle/workhorse. fuel economy is good at a consistent 49.6 miles per gallon and has achieved 53/54mpg on long distance runs especially on the continent when fully loaded. The seating configuration is good and comfortably seats 5 with plenty of leg room in the back and the level access to the boot is great for loading. No drag or lack of performance when carrying 4 or 5 people with luggage. I like the height adjustable driving seat and the high driving position which adds to the all round visibility.

Citroen Xsara Picasso | nice car

Added: 5th of April 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Id been told about this car so was glad to find one with the panoramic sun roof. Has low mileage for its age. Its genuine. The mpg is good and compares favourably with the merc Aclass A170.

Advertised on the AA Cars with cruise control.... It does not have it. Which is a disappointment but didnt put me off buying it.

Looking at it clearly at home its had a rear shunt at some time. Repaired well. There is a contant knock on gear change and exceleration.

I will get in touch with the garage and see if their 30day warrenty will cover it.

Citroen Xsara Picasso | Happy

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Have had my car for almost 7 yrs and completed 100,000 miles in that time Other than routine servicing, brakes & tyres etc I have incurred no other maintenance costs. Am still on the original clutch! My car is reliable, fuel efficient and practical & robust! When a deer jumped onto my car (landing across the bonnet) from a height of approx 12 feet, the damage was minimal- needed a new bonnet and wing but the car remained drive able. I think about upgrading my car occassionaly but cannot justify it simply as my car still ticks the right boxes!

Citroen Xsara Picasso | Xsara Picasso

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

A box on wheels that wobbles about in the wind, has really poor cornering, poor visibility parking in tight spaces - front and back. In heavy rain the noise inside is unlike any other car I've ever driven, and the fans are very poor at keeping the windows demisted. The combination of the two is very distracting when driving. Poor rear windscreen heater - very slow response. 0-60 in about a million years - and that's not trying to be a boy racer.
Lots of space.
Cheap and nasty and the sooner I can move back to a Skoda/VW the better.

Citroen Xsara Picasso | POOR STEERING

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Upon purchasing the car the 1st thing I noticed was how close the pedals were together esp the accelerator to brake. Even now I occasionally go to press the brake whilst part of my foot is still on the other.
You sit bolt upright as opposed to a saloon car, the drivers seat esp does not go back far enough ( Im 6ft 4" )
The power steering is also very poor.
On a plus point it is very reliable and i prefer the elevated position, I certainly wouldn't consider buying another one as not very good with fuel consumption

Citroen Xsara Picasso | Not pretty

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

An ugly little people carrier (does that mean the people or the car ?!) But what a useful vehicle. Aged parents find it easy to get in and out of, + its load carrying capacity is great, with individual seats folded or removed.
Great MPG and picks up really well (in a straight line) so good for overtaking.
Suspension sloppy, so ride can be "boat-like" if you try to corner too fast.
When the time comes to renew, will keep it + relegate it to 2nd vehicle in family to be used as a "van" for all my DIY activities

Citroen Xsara Picasso | CITROEN REVIEW

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1997cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

A good all rounder with excellent economy and low insurance/road tax. One or two little problems beginning to appear (wheel bearings, suspension) but due to age and poor roads locally this is to be expected.
Will probably change cars within the next 12 months and go for a petrol car as our needs have changed and petrol cars available give a good all round comparable economy.

This is the third Citroen we have had (C5 and Xsara Picasso ) and we have found them excellent value for money when buying used cars.

Citroen Xsara Picasso | I have no Idea what a review title looks like

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The running costs and fuel efficiency are worse than we expected when we bought it. |In every other sense it has done exactly what we want from it. It is large enough to carry treenagers and friends, luggage, including sports and camping gear. The car has been utterly reliable and for a small diesel engine its performance is better than I would have thought. My wife and I have different drining styles ( she's faster!) but it suits us both for practical purposes. We obviously weren't looking for a rally car.

Citroen Xsara Picasso | The Family Bus

Added: 7th of November 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

What can I say fantastic car! I bought my picasso August 2012 it had 84k on the clock now it has 123k

In the time I have kept it the only thing that unfortunately went on it was the clutch but I expected that of its age and mileage however 1 day in the garage and £300 later the work horse was back. From then onwards no problems only normal wear and tear items such as brakes and stuff that you would expect with a any car.

I would definitely buy a picasso again a very practical and reliable car

Citroen Xsara Picasso | Citroen Xsara Picasso

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1997cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I bought my car as a used vehicle, about one year old, after renting a similar one on holiday in France and finding it very good to drive, roomy (I used it to transport furniture, etc, for our cottage)and economical. I've since driven it all over the UK and from Newcastle to Bordeaux on three occasions as well as local driving every day and been very happy with its performance. It may be rather boring and middle-of-the-road but its reliable, comfortable and virtually trouble free.

Citroen Xsara Picasso | Xsara Picasso

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1997cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

This is a good family car, roomy, comfortable, large boot for carrying loads. Its economical and averages 50mpg but does better on long motorway runs and continental touring. The seat heights are especially good for older people or those with a back problem and the drivers seat can be raised and has an adjustable lumbar support.
Good all round visibility and seat configuration. When fully loaded with people and luggage there is no lack of performance even after almost 10 years.

Citroen Xsara Picasso | ..a hairdresser's car..

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1598cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Not much to look at but was cheap and spacious. Has proved to be very reliable over the last five years (now 9 years old). Passes MOT every year without problem and has very few minor faults. Cheap to maintain (thanks to good local independant garage) and has been a very good runner returning approx 44mpg over a three month period of urban and foreign motoring.

Citroen Xsara Picasso | Average family hack

Added: 19th of November 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2001
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Purchased as replacement for ageing although superb Seat Alhambra 1.9 Diesel. OK vehicle, returns approx 40mpg not bad for mainly town work;air con and central lock long since given up. Cheap to run, does as expected as family hack, my C1 is much more fun but far less practical. Would I buy it again,yes probably,what can you expect for <£2000.
Regards Andrew

Citroen Xsara Picasso | One small niggle

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I bought this car as my husband is disabled and we need to accommodate his mobility scooter in the rear. It fulfils all our requirements on space and accessibility. The only downside is that it requires a large turning circle and if I could not use the disabled parking spaces I would need to use several forward/reverse manoeuvers to get into a normal space.

Filter Citroen Xsara Picasso Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.