Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Citroen Xsara Reviews

Citroen Xsara

Welcome to the Citroen Xsara review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Citroen Xsara cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£1,283
MPG
30.1 - 62.8
CO2 (g/km)
120 - 224
Tax Band
C - K
Noise Level
70.2 - 73.9

Citroen Xsara | Citroen Xsara Forte

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 1396cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

My beloved car is coming up to her fourteenth year. I know in automotive terms that is old but cannot bear to part with her. She has proved to be so reliable over the time I have had her. We do a lot of miles together. My youngest daughter and her family live 100 miles away, my sister and family live 178 miles away and my parents live 217 miles away on the south coast. They have suffered bad health this last year and I have constantly had to make the round trip of over 400 miles plus trips backwards and forward to various hospitals etc. So A***** for reliability. We are fast approaching 120,000 miles - perhaps we'll just grow old together until we both fade into the sunset!!!!

Citroen Xsara | XSARA HATCHBACK

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I purchased this car new in February 2004.
At 65.000 miles she is running beautifully and the bodywork is in as new condition.
Regularly serviced, the car has caused no problems at all. I am looking to buy a new vehicle and, after 10 years of excellent service from the Xsara, I will probably choose another new Citroen.
I should add that my reason for buying a new car is purely for an update in motoring technology. My Xsara will probably run on for another 10 years. I will miss her. I am 74 four years of age and have driven since age 17 [57 years]. The Xsara is the best, most reliable and economical car that I have owned to date.

Citroen Xsara | 20 Year Old Xantia Diesel hatch

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1993
  • 1901cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Its lasted 20 years and gives good overall reliability and performance. Its quite roomy and comfortable (Hydrostatic Suspension System). When I come to replace it I hope to find another Xantia, but a slightly newer year.

By the way, its not a Xsara (yuk) its a Xantia. The drop down list for model type did not include this classic and the review would not let me continue unless I filled in the box marked model. I am surprised seeing that registration year went right back to 1950 but for my registration year (1993) it did nor even have Xantia in the list. Hopeless!!!!

Citroen Xsara | Good but ageing

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 1999cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The Xsara scores highly on comfort and space/practicality for: gently curved driver's seat with adjustable height; split rear seat 2/1 to extend the boot; good leg room in rear. The engine is powerful, acceleration is good, it corners well and is a reassuring weight to drive. Diesel consumption is good with about 450 miles per tank. However at 12 years old its age is showing hence the low score on reliability. I should have bought something newer years ago, but the Xsara is a very satisfying car to drive.

Citroen Xsara | citroen xsara dw8 diesel year 1999

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 1999
  • 1886cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

In short.

bullet proof engine (diesel dw8 ) current mileage 188000 miles.Cambelt changed once in that distance, driving style sedately.


underbody protection, no perforations, paintwork nothing significant.

economy is fair, 50+ mpg urban or motorway.

serviceable parts very cheap, ie (filters tyres wipers)

ride quality a bit dated, but reasonable at time of manufacture.

overall 8/10 marks.

Citroen Xsara | I would definitely recommend Citroen

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have had my car since 2003 and find it very comfortable on both long and short journeys, I have had no rust problems whatsoever, parts are very reasonable and I have no intention of changing it in the near future. It has good acceleration if needed.I would have no hestition in recommending Citroen cars, definitely the best I've had in my lifetime.

Citroen Xsara | xsara VTS

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 3

Vastly underrated car! I may have just been lucky and got a 'good one' but over the last 6 yrs it has cost me very little in maintenance other than the usual 'consumables', it's quick, comfy, spacious, has great equipment as standard including a good sound system and in my opinion, looks great! Sporty without being flashy!

Citroen Xsara | My Citroen

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1999cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

My car is extremely comfortable for my needs,I have two very large dogs which fit in the luggage area with ease,my car performs excellent on motorways but not very well round urban areas as you have to change down to third gear at 30mph or under but overall I am very pleased with this vehicle.

Citroen Xsara | Citroen Xsara Hatchback 1.4LX

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 14000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A nice car to drive if functionality is required. Clutch went after 50000 miles, radio became problematic and a flat battery knocked out the central locking. The current Citroen equivalent model would be a good car to purchase,to drive for 5 or so years.

Citroen Xsara | Citroen Xanthia 2l

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1973
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

The only car I know that ALWAYS starts on the first turn of the key!!
Very comfortable ride due to hydraulic system.
Expensive to fill with petrol £70 but what car isn't these days.

Citroen Xsara | Great Motor

Added: 7th of August 2015
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Lovely car and hope to drive it for a few more years and will get another Citroen automatic when time comes to change.

Citroen Xsara | Citroen Xsara

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2001
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

For the year of the vehicle it has been a pretty reliable motor. had a few things go wrong but generally ok

Citroen Xsara | Citreon Xsara

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

This is a 2nd hand car but runs very well and is very economical. I do 10,000 plus miles a year in it.

Citroen Xsara | CITROEN XSARA

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Bought new in 2004. Excellent car, still in good condition at 65,000 miles. Very happy with my choice.

Citroen Xsara | happy

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

happy with car, meets my needs, i dont do many miles a week now, but need a car

Citroen Xsara | Reliability

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Good reliable car suitable to my needs

Citroen Xsara | Boring

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Boring

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.