Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Citroen Saxo Reviews

Citroen Saxo

Welcome to the Citroen Saxo review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Citroen Saxo cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£1,031
MPG
33.2 - 54.3
CO2 (g/km)
138 - 201
Tax Band
E - K
Noise Level
71.3 - 74.0

Citroen Saxo | Not bad all round.

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

For the size of the engine (1100cc), I find the car quite nippy and pretty good on accelerating when overtaking.
I find the running costs pretty good for a car that is 13 years old.
Economical driving.I get around 50 to 55 mpg. It does not burn any oil or need the water topping up frequently.
The comfort zone is my main dislike and for one reason only, that is; It is horrible to drive in urban areas where there are speed humps. Slow, crawling or normal speed it does not take them smoothly.
Reliability: I have only recently acquired this motor. I have owned it for about 7 weeks and so far so good.(fingers crossed).
The boot is fairly spacious and add to that the hatchback being lowered makes loads of space.

Just a little footnote: I am not a boy racer nor an old fogey driving once a week to the shops. I am 62 years old and up until recently I was employed as a bus driver.
One of the more recent aspects of the company I worked for was, due to rising fuel prices and cuts in government subsidies for diesel, fuel economy driving. This taught me a lot, not only bus driving but driving my car in the same manner.

Citroen Saxo | Great little car

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2001
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

My car is excellent on fuel economy (approx 50 mpg),running cost are very reasonable,even for a car that has done 98,000 miles,it is very nippy and stable at motorway speeds,easy to park, seats are soft and comfy,(unlike today's modern car seats which quite often are very hard)boot is quite spacious for a small car,cheap on tax and insurance.The only things i would say are negative about the car is limited leg room in the rear and pedals are quite close together.
Apart from the last two comments the Saxo is a great all round car for a small family,and i would buy another one without hesitation.

Citroen Saxo | a fine little car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1001cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

This has been a great car - very reliable and economical but sadly now getting old and performing less well, especially with several passengers or heavy load. Its best asset is fact that back seats fold down and it can hold a huge amount of stuff like a little truck. I love it!

Nagging issues are continuing problems with brakes (repeatedly fixed) and minor oil leak into coolant, which causes mechanics to suck their teeth and advise expensive repairs, so far resisted with no adverse consequences.

Parts are expensive. Our time together may be limited.

Citroen Saxo | My saxo

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2000
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 3

I bought my saxo second hand and have spent some money on renewing certain parts, e.g. clutch, timing chain, drive shaft, starting motor and catalytic converter, not to mention a bit of welding, but for a car of this age, one would expect this given she has done 103,000 miles! I would certainly consider buying another saxo when the time comes to renew. She is reliable, and always starts apart from starter motor issues and even then she got me to my garage. I would truly recommend a saxo for low cost travel. Long may she live!

Citroen Saxo | fabulous reliable little car

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

it's more like wearing a Saxo than driving it, but it's nippy around town, happy to cruise at 80mph (although not the quietest or smoothest), can be parked in half a parking space and is very economical in all respects. A bit of a baby workhorse too - shocking what one can put in the back with the seats down. I've had this car for 9 years and it has cost me nothing!

Citroen Saxo | Ideal little runaround

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have owned this car for 6 years and it has given me very little trouble. It is good on petrol and handles long journeys well. The only weakness seems to have been exhaust trouble. Overall though, this is a great, efficient and reliable little car and I would consider buying another in the future.

Citroen Saxo | Saxo Review

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1999
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Fourteen years old and still as reliable today as when it was new. It is a great little runaround and has always given me good service. It is easy to manouvre and fast enough on motorways. I stick to the 70 mph speed limit where possible on motorways and am happy with that.

Citroen Saxo | Citroen Saxo Desire

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

My car was purchased in 2003 at a local garage. I have it serviced annually It has been reliable over the years and is mainly used for social driving only these days. It is very roomy and plenty of space for shopping, luggage etc. and makes a good family car.

Citroen Saxo | from new

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2003
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 3

bought as a small car for ease of parking and cost (heavy discounted as end of the production). Basic model but proved reliable and started first time 99% of time.
Access to back seat passengers somewhat limited, also with 4 passengers was underpowered.

Citroen Saxo | Running into the Ground

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2001
  • 1264cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Citroen Saxo is going so well I am going to run it "into the ground". It has now done 160300 miles and has always started first time. Just road comfort letting it down.

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.