Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Citroen C5 Reviews

Useful links:  64 Used Citroen C5 in stock
Citroen C5

Welcome to the Citroen C5 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Citroen C5 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£20,195 - £29,900
AA Cars Average
£4,183
MPG
27.4 - 62.8
CO2 (g/km)
117 - 245
Tax Band
C - L
Noise Level
70.3 - 74.0

Citroen C5 | Citroen C5 Hatchback (2003)

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1997cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Approaching the 110,000 mile mark and having owned the car from 8 months old, I think I've got the measure of it pretty well! Citroen are a much maligned brand in the press, but this is my second one (1st was a Xantia) and having totalled around 200,000 miles in them both, I can't say that I find the criticisms justified.

With a car of this age there seems little point in doing too much detail analysis, so this is more of a general overview.

The C5 is a great comfy, capacious, economical work horse. It's been to some pretty unforgiving places in the mountains of northern Spain and the Lake District where only 4x4s seem to venture (the adjustable suspension height really coming into it's own dealing with the dirt tracks!), it's cruised the motorways of the UK to far flung corners loaded to the gunnels with walking gear, partner and dog on many many holidays, it's been strained to it's limits loaded with building materials and it's ferried us around towns in our finery for fancy do's, yet it has remained reliable, and in near perfect condition with every gadget and gizmo still fully functional. You really couldn't ask any more of a car, and all for a lot less money than any of it's mainstream rivals cost.

Well perhaps the greatest recommendation - I'll be replacing it with the current version in the not too distant future.

It's not perfect, but the flaws are tolerable - the steering is a little too 'woolly' around 40mph but that is dramatically affected by tyre choice, with the right tyres it's not really a problem. It's not really an 'enthusiastic' drivers car, it's very safe and always behaves with no nasty vices and even impresses 'performance' car owning friends with how it copes, but the experience is just not that rewarding when pushing it, so perhaps it's best driven more sedately.

Fuel consumption is really quite impressive (for such a big car) if you drive it right (there is a 'technique' to driving diesels to get the best of both performance and economy, and not everyone seems to have it!), 55+mpg cruising on motorways at 70mph, 43mpg on mixed roads, mid to high 30's around towns, I've actually achieved 800 miles on a tankfull on quiet A roads!

Not many other cars to rival it on comfort and versatility.

Citroen C5 | I love my C5

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 5

I guess we all have our prejudices when it comes to cars but that's seldom based on any practical test. I know some people don't rate Citroens but I bought a Citroen Xantia TD 13 years ago when I needed a car for a new job that involved covering a large area of the country. The Citroen diesel engine was recommended by the garage I had used for years and it felt like a "comfortable shoes car". Everything fitted well, it was very comfortable, reliable and extremely fuel efficient. Several years later I bought a Xantia Hdi, with 8K on the clock, which was sprightly and even more fuel efficient and 4 years ago I bought my current C5. (My husband took on the first Xantia when I bought the second and it was still going strong when he traded it in for a newer Xantia. My Hdi now belongs to to my son and, again, it's still going strong. Neither Xantias needed a new clutch while I had them (a lot of motorway driving means you don't change gear much, despite the mileage!)and my son hasn't had to put in a new one either. They've all been diesels and second hand, but purchased from the superb local main dealer, where I've always taken them for MOT and servicing, etc. This dealer gives me discount (10% and 20%) on labour and parts and I have a free MOT for life.
I love the C5; I don't like driving small cars - I had a Renault Clio once and found it "pokey", underpowered and very difficult to park because of the small turning circle. The C5 (1600cc) is so very comfortable and, although not quite as fuel efficient as the Hdi Xantia (2litre), it still gives good mileage per tank. Although I don't need such a large car now I'm retired, I shall think about another Citroen when I replace it - and probably another C5.

Citroen C5 | Citroen C5 diesel estate new in 2001

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 1980cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

The car was bought 1 year old and had previously been used by an executive at the manufacturer's UK office. Its mileage was 11,400 miles and cost just under £11K. Initially the battery did not have the power or capacity to last for long, but after 2 or 3 new ones fitted over the first 4 to 5 years of ownership and an update of software by the Citroen dealer it has been fine since. The car is comfortable and spacious and has been required to make regular fully laden trips to our holiday home in Brittany. It has returned an average of 46 to 48 mpg throughout its life. Servicing is 12 monthly by the same dealer who I bought it from at a cost of £250 to £350 a time. Citroen spare parts are very expensive, which can push annual costs up considerably as the car ages and at 12 years old the average spent at the dealers amounts to £1000 or more including the annual service. It has covered just under 100,000 miles and now is used only for longer trips which averages out at about 7000 miles per annum. It is on its fourth set of tyres from new. Depreciation has dropped its current part exchange value to under £1500. The C5 is my fourth Citroen, and when the time comes to replace it I shall look again at the Citoen range, possibly downsizing to a C3 Picasso petrol engined vehicle as I'm 75 years old and prefer a higher driving position and easier access with still some reasonable load carrying capacity.

Citroen C5 | New shape (2008), C5: Up to a point

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 2000cc
  • semi-automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

The C5 saloon (new shape), registered in 2008 looks good, feels good and drives quite well, until it breaks down and that has happened rather more often than I would like and certainly more often than it should for the money paid to purchase it.
1. Starter motor; failed and had to be replaced.
2. Warning lights come on for all kinds of reasons and engine cuts out and car stops.
3. Taken to both main agent and local very well established independent garage and nothing shows on diagnostic computer.
4. Electric motor fails on both front doors; acknowledge here contribution from Citroen for 'known' fault in early models
5. Car stops for fifth time with four different warnings on screen; taken to local garage, no faults shown, but engine fuel drained and filters replaced.
6. Fuel sensor fails; full 'bar' has to be replaced, (cant buy the four things on the bar individually; as one could on the previous model).
7. Engine stops a sixth time in quite precarious and frightening situation; take to main dealer; "it sounds like the under bonnet fuse box; bring it in for a diagnostic for £95"
8. It is the under bonnet fuse box! - £65. Seems like another 'known fault' to me.
9. Car has been going well for past five weeks- although I have been away for one of them.
10. Overall a disappointment; in spite of opening remarks; which I still agree with.

Citroen C5 | Citroen C5 estate.

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I have been using Citroen cars for a number of years now and I continue to use them because I like them and find them very comfy and easy to drive. Reliability has always been excellent for me and I don't thing I have had to call out the emergency services on more than a couple of occasions during the last 20 or so years.
Because of the nature of the "cargoes" that I periodically carry around I need a relatively large capacity space for this and a van is not a suitable vehicle for me. Power is not a prime concern and therefore my present model has a smaller, though equally powerful, engine than my previous model. As a result, it is (a little) more economical on fuel and, having a more efficient engine with a cleaner exhaust, it qualifies for a reduction in road tax.
I find the instrumentation for the driver clear and the ability quickly to change from imperial to metric units when driving abroad very useful. Cruise Control is available though I have never used it. (I prefer to keep full control myself at all times).
I bought this car second hand 3 years ago, with a low mileage and in genuinely excellent condition, and I presently see no reason to change it in the next few years.

Citroen C5 | my first new car after 45 years driving

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

So many reviews read, so many dreams and thoughts. A Beamer - no too common. Ditto -Audi. Another Alfa? Dare I risk it - all those tales of failed electrics, breakdowns? But the style, the style? Where else could I find it? Which cars have caught my eye since coming back to this country? I mean ownable and practical cars. The Citroen C4 coupe. Bought a second hand one and it proved fine. And the other car? A C5 Estate in a car park. Something about the front design - its poise, was that it? I've had a few Citroens in the past. A quirky GSA. A darling 2CV with a striped roof. A BX with that suspension and the diesel engine. All that Gallic style. Driving with a shrug. The Citroen offer on the C5 Estate was unbeatable - 26% discount on list price. With trembling hand the deed was signed and dazed, I stepped out into the sunshine the owner of a new car...and when I have doubts about the wisdom of that act, I turn on the back massager in the driver's seat, turn up Radio 4 just a little more and ease out into the overtaking lane.

Citroen C5 | Roomy, comfortable, good economy

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I bought this car in 2011 with 89,000 miles on the clock. It currently has 113,000. The engine is rather small for the body size but gives a really smooth ride that suffers a little with a full load on a steep incline. Storage space is excellent and I regularly exceed 50mpg in all-round motoring.
Problems are showing in aspects of the management computer, mainly in discrepancies between speedometer speed and cruise control speed display. The variation is approximately 8%. Enquiries, to date, suggest that repair/replacement would be uneconomical and I am keeping my eyes out for any further deterioration. Further to this I had to have one of the front suspension units replaced due to a minor leak. This is an expected expense on a car of this mileage.
Having said that it is a lovely car to drive and I would consider another, more recent version of the C5 estate next time I buy.

Citroen C5 | CITROEN C5 ESTATE

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I use my car for either long journeys or local journeys when I need to carry large amounts of tools or equipment. I find my vehicle suits my needs very well as the car is comfortable, the performance is adequate and the fuel consumption is reasonable (Average 40mpg). I travel about 9,000 miles a year and because of it's age I consider that the car is fully depreciated and I have a budget of £1,400 a year to cover servicing, repairs and tyres. Although it is old, I like to keep it in good mechanical repair and if something goes wrong I will have it remedied. As it has done 140,000 miles I have considered replacing it and could afford to do so but have decided to keep it as long as major items like the engine and gearbox remain reliable

Citroen C5 | Love Hate Relationship

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1995cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

My love for Citroen's started at a very early age with my uncles citroen DS in the mid to late 60's we would bomb down the autobahn floating on a cushion of erm hydro pneumatic gas, the best ride I ever experienced! So began a relationship with the Citroen marque, I have owned 2 BX's a CX, XM, Xantia, and now the Mk2 C5 which I had converted to run on gas, it is spacious and comfortable and with the conversion pretty economical to run, fuel wise, however it has not been the best in the reliability stakes unlike the BX's and has been off the road several times needing expensive repairs! I wouldn't recommend an ageing one, however I quite like the new C5, but saying that my wife hates them but I love em warts and all.

Citroen C5 | My Citroen

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A good performing car with plenty of power. The most comfortable car that I have ever had. Equipment is ammazing but a bit confusing. Not expensive to run if one drives correctly. 37 miles per gallon on a long run. Main gripe is it is expensive for servicing, parts and labour.
I have only done 24,000 miles in seven and a half years so quite a low milage. I have had trouble three times with return to dealer red light showing. Quite expensive to put right. I mean, the car is only just run in.
On a whole I would still buy the new c5 if I could afford it. They are far to pricey now.

E.A. Bucknall

Citroen C5 | A great estate

Added: 20th of April 2014
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 2700cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

The car has an excelent ride, a very powerful engine (more power than we usualy need). It would make a very good towing vehicle. Folding the rear seats down is simple and creats a great deal of room for carring a load to the tip, or the charity shop. We can usually carry my wife's larger purchase's without a problem and the powered talegate is a joy to use. As yet we havent had occaision to use all of the many usefull "gadgets"built in to this car. The only disapointment is that one of the heated seats dosen't work, but that can be fixed. All round, so far so good, we are very satisfied with our purchase.

Citroen C5 | Citroen C5

Added: 17th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 5

My car is 10 years old now and is still as reliable as it was when new. Having driven a Series 3 and Defender Land Rovers for 10 years before buying the Citroen, I was very bias and against having to drive a "Normal Car".

The Citroen, however, never fails to satisfy my everyday requirements and has also proven to be versatile and easy to drive in poor weather conditions.

The suspension system is excellent and I can raise the height to drive through flood water.

The car is also very good at driving on ice and snow.

All in all, If I could afford to, then I would buy the latest model.

Citroen C5 | Car Review

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

My C5 is the most comfortable car I have driven (I have been driving for 37 years). At four years of age it managed 62 mpg on a one and a half hour run from Canterbury to Cambridge. Full of extras (VTR+ sport package)and stylish. Designed for long distance travel with up to 5 people comfortably carried in a quiet interior.

Only real fault - it is a big car. I know it, but a lot of other drivers don't realise it until they are close up!!

Citroen have had a poor reputation in the past, but the new C5 has a good finish, good engineering and value for money.

Citroen C5 | Citroen C5 Estate

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 1980cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I have owned the car since 1 year old. Apart from some initial trouble with the length of battery life the car has and still is performing well. It has consistently achieved 45 to 50 mpg overall, which is good for a car of its age. It has travelled 98,000 miles and is serviced once a year. The repair bill is rising at the regular service and occassionally in between. Citroen spares are costly. The car is on its third set of Michelin tyres, each set covering about 40,000 miles. Altogether a satisfactory car with a large load carrying capacity.

Citroen C5 | Citroen C5 diesel estate

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 4

I bought this car when it was 3 years old with about 80 000 miles on the clock. It now has 120 000 and shows no signs of stopping.
There have been some of the usual expenses you expect from a 2nd hand car; tyres, battery and diesel particulate filter.
I used it for my daily commute and to tow a boat.
It has performed both tasks admirably. It has been particularly good at towing.
I find the driving position comfortable and the car reliable which is why I still have it.
It costs me somewhere between £500 and £1000 in maintenance each year.

Citroen C5 | A very nice car.

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1998cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is one of the best cars I have bought over 50years.
Comfort being the main reason with style, economy and equipment coming a close second. I put the economy down to the type of driver I am. No quick acceleration and no hard breaking. It really does help'
Expensive to insure and the servicing and spare parts are too expensive. Saying that, I really do like this car and I hope it will last me for many more years to come. I cannot afford another car of this quality at my time of life.

E.A. Bucknall

Citroen C5 | C5 V6 - power and luxury

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

IF you can get a used C5 in full working order, there's nothing better for comfort, space and luxury. There's room for 5 big people, and tons of luggage, or more wine than can conveniently be drunk. With automatic lights and wipers, and an effective cruise control, any journey is a waft, With an auto V6, a motorway journey hits 30+mpg, and around town it's still 20+. You can get one for £1000 or less, so it's nearly free motoring

Citroen C5 | Too many niggles

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

This car when i bought it was a great looking car and is very economical how ever it has many niggles annoying niggles. keeps cutting out sometimes in lane 3 of a motorway. pollen filter shows faulty once every 3 weeks then re sets. steering lock poor.
and now its developed a leak everytime it rains.. hey ho i ran a jaguar x type for 6 yrs why did i sell it?

Citroen C5 | Great Cars.

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 2179cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Bought new and used only for lengthy journeys and for towing a caravan. Now has covered trouble free 60,000 miles. Fuel consumption is best at a constant 60mph plus 45mpg to 51MPg solo around 28 to 30mpg towing a 23ft caravan.

My Citoen XM is now 23years old has also given the same brilliant service.

Citroen C5 | Citroen C5

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Very comfortable indeed especially on long journeys. Great for towing my caravan. 1600 engine performs more economically and with the same power as my previous 2.2 diesel. Very aerodynamic and therefore a little low to get in and out of for the less mobile! Very satisfied with my car over the past four years

Filter Citroen C5 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.