Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Citroen C4 Reviews

Citroen C4

Welcome to the Citroen C4 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Citroen C4 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£12,995 - £19,785
AA Cars Average
£9,211
MPG
33.6 - 74.3
CO2 (g/km)
98 - 200
Tax Band
A - J
Noise Level
71.6 - 74.8

Citroen C4 | "007 Citroen C4 VTR+ diesel auto

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1600cc
  • semi-automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I love my C4. With it's automatic clutch and 6 speed auto/manual gearbox, I have never had an overall consumption of less than 58.7 mpg. Add to that £30 road tax and cheap insurance and I know of no comparable car which comes near it.
This is not to say that it's a dull car as it is a joy to drive and very well kitted out with cruise control, a terrific radio & cd player, auto wipers, auto light and all electric front seats among a host of other goodies.

In two years, it's never let me down and has sailed through it's MOTs with the exception of a broken rear coil spring caused by the atrocious road conditions in Oxon and Northants. I pay a small monthly sum for maintenance so pay nothing at service time which is done once a year. I do around 9,000 miles a year and during that time neither the water nor oil levels have needed topping up. New front disks and pads at 100,000 miles, two front tyres and the afore mentioned coil spring have been the only non service costs in two years, so I'm more than happy. This is my fourth Citroen and by far the best.

Citroen C4 | Easy on the pocket

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I brought this car the beginning of this year and traded in my earlier model Citroen C4 (2010) after I had to wait 9 months for a replacement Heated Rear Screen damaged by valeters.

My new C4 is the latest version and being an ex-demo car it comes fully loaded. Although I have had a few issues with the "Stop-Start" Eco. feature the car has not give me any other issues to date. The fuel consumption is very good but nothing like the claimed figures quoted in their brochures. The car is good for long journeys and comfortable as mine has the leather upholstery and massage/heated function works well.
The door mirrors fold when the car is locked and features dead locking and alarm. The navigation is easy to use and the "Bluetooth" and MP3 radio sounds great as this car has the optional "Denon" HiFi amplifer and Bass Woofer in the load area.

Citroen C4 | Citroen are much better than the motoring press reports

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The Citroen detailed is our thirty first. build quality has always been good, power has been first class and fuel economy is in a class of its own. The motoring press always rave about BMW, Mercedes, Volkswagen, all Japanese cars and of course Fords will always be rated as top of the heap. Reports on Citroen products always give the impression that the writer has never been inside the vehicle under review. Citroen diesel engines are always scorned yet these PSA engines are widely used by many car manufacturers, a fact never revealed in reports.
Having driven many different Citroen models I would rate all of them very highly.
Without hesitation I would recommend Citroen cars as being superior to the competition.

Citroen C4 | C4 diesel

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Had it 4 years, not lost a penny to it apart from tyres and MOT Etc. most reliable, safe & comfortable car I've owned. Cheap to insure, good fuel economy, I'm just praying that it won't break down after this review!! My neighbour used to change cars like everyone else changes their socks, he bought one at the same time as me and still has it, refuses to change it! Only moan is the driver doors lack of a key locking mechanism. It's French, so they keep it on the passenger door. My plip key's broken and Citroen want £180 to replace it. They're having a laugh. It's inconvenient, but when I think of what I have to do to earn £180, then sorry lads but you can just jog on! Apart from that, good motor

Citroen C4 | Citroen C4 Review

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1600cc
  • semi-automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The average consumption according to the car's computer is 58.7mpg. Using fill up figures, it is actually slightly less at 55.3mpg. My mileage is less than 10,000 per year and I pay a small sum into a company and get my car serviced and safety checked at a Citroen franchise once a year which is paid for by said company. Expensive items over 2 years are 2 new tyres, new front discs and pads all round and a rear coil spring thanks to the state of the roads today. So not anything I would not expect with total mileage from new being 107,000. I expect to still be using this car for several more years yet.

Citroen C4 | Comfy, economical and fun.

Added: 15th of May 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1598cc
  • semi-automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Plus points:
Good engine, plenty of torque and smooth with little turbo lag
Economical, 60+ on the motorway, never below 50 on the work run.
Excellent comfort yet fun place in the bends, good turn in and grip.
Lots of cubby holes, decent boot which is a good shape.
Gear box responsive in sport and manual mode.

Negative points
No digital radio or MP3/phone input.
Auto changes slow and slushy.

Citroen C4 | citroen C4

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Reliable rather than sporty. Handles long journeys well.When fully laden runs well on Motorways but struggles a bit uphill. Well streamlined . Use cruise a lot and most controls automatic. Easy to drive .Not economical on short drives around town. Only grouse is turning field of vision is restricted a bit by front stanchion. Large windscreen also appears easily chipped for some reason ?

Citroen C4 | problem car at first

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

problem with nonstop wipers at first ..they were on nonstop for 17 hours.. but heres the good thing, i bought the car from the main dealer with a years citroen guarantee.. every thing was replaced ..i/i..motor,relay,plus the main interface unit ,plus computer downloads must have cost about about a £1000,, otherwise very pleased with the car...morale is best to buy from a main dealer

Citroen C4 | Reliable family vehicle

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Coupe
  • 3

We have owned this car from new and have driven 132,000 miles in it. Given the costs incurred over the course of its life we are very pleased with it and would buy the same car again in the same circumstances. The only complaint is that the CD player is temperamental. The key to owning a car like this and have it running as well as we have is a mechanic that knows the make well.

Citroen C4 | Citroen

Added: 20th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1598cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Have purchased Citroen cars for many years, large and small, and have never been let down by one of them. Now have a C4 and find it very reliable, maintenance very reasonable and very good on use of petrol. In fact I love driving it. It will perhaps be my last car. As the years are passing by quickly, I will know when I am to give up. Thanks from this family to Citroen.

Citroen C4 | buy right

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

when i first bought the car i had a windscreen wiper problem they did not do as they were told, finally staying on for 17 hours but the garage fixed them as i had bought from the main citroen dealer, with a 1 year guarantee. wiper motor,relay and finally the main interface was replaced.costing probably about £1000. lucky i bought it from the main dealer... car is now fine

Citroen C4 | Good car!

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1600cc
  • semi-automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Very pleased with the C4. Economy round town is about 49 MPG and on a motorway or country run can reach 59 MPG. Semi auto gearbox is excellent and it is very comfortable. Only major gripe is the 'ECO' mode for the radio, which cuts out after a maximum of 30 minutes! It cannot be played for more than 5 minutes without running the car engine - not very eco to my mind!

Citroen C4 | economical but ...

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I chose the car because it is cheap to tax, not too bad to insure and I get over 50 to the gallon on long runs. However, it is not particularly quiet - not the engine necessarily but the noise from the road is louder than previous cars. Have to play the radio at higher volume than I'm used to. That's my only negative comment about it

Citroen C4 | Review

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I would buy another Citroen based on the one I currently have but I do have it serviced regularly by a Citroen garage - it has never broken down in the (almost) 8 years I have had it and very confortable. Only disadvantage is that is expensive on fuel on short local runs - for which I mainly use it at presnt.

Citroen C4 | C4 VTR+

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Fantastic little car that is fun to drive when you get off the beaten track but is totally reliable in traffic and on city streets. Plenty of room inside with nooks and crannies for all your gear. Cheap to run and cheap to service if you stay away from the main dealer and find a good independent.

Citroen C4 | RELIABILITY AND COMFORT

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

BOUGHT THIS SECOND HAND CAR 3 MONTHS AGO AT WHICH TIME THE 2011 REGISTERED CAR WAS 21 MONTHS OLD. TOTAL MILEAGE WAS ONLY 1300 MILES. IT IS VERY COMFORTABLE AND RUNNING COSTS ARE EXCEPTIONAL WITH AVERAGE OF 48/50 MILES TO THE GALLON EASILY ACHIEVED.I AM DELIGHTED WITH ITS RESULTS.

Citroen C4 | Review

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I bought the car second-hand over five years ago. There have been two or three problems over that time but nothing that £200 spent at the garage wouldn't resolve. Overall it is reliable and economical and not really much less pleasant to drive than a similar up-to-date car.

Citroen C4 | Loads of character

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The C4 Picasso is a good, medium sized, practical vehicle which is fun to drive. Plenty of load space in the back when the rear seats are folded down. Nice high driving position. Fuel economy is not particularly good.

Citroen C4 | Good car

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A good all round card that is reliable, comfortable and full of good tech. The only thing I would say is that the fuel consumption could be better and it does have a slightly loud cabin noise.

Citroen C4 | Citroen C4

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2006
  • 1400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have had my car for 4 years and it was 3 years old when I bought it. It has been reasonably reliable - my only gripe is that it drinks petrol - not very economic at all.

Filter Citroen C4 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.