Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Citroen C3 Reviews

Citroen C3

Welcome to the Citroen C3 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Citroen C3 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£8,995 - £14,840
AA Cars Average
£6,086
MPG
39.2 - 83.1
CO2 (g/km)
87 - 172
Tax Band
A - H
Noise Level
70.2 - 74.6

Citroen C3 | Citroen C3, HDi EGS

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1400cc
  • semi-automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Delighted with the car overall. Smooth, comfortable and relaxing to drive, surprisingly spirited performance form the relatively modest power plant.

I have some reservations about the EGS gear box.
There are occasions when it seems hesitant about gear selection and chooses to change up or down at not particularly appropriate times. For example, when tackling a hill with variable steepness and embarrassingly, when attempting to make a quick move at a roundabout or when joining a major road with fast moving traffic from a minor road.
There are times on familiar roads when one needs to change to manual transmission and use the excellent "Paddle shift."

The EGS box is more suited to a fairly experienced driver who is prepared to learn some new driving techniques.
For the majority of the time it behaves well but is not a full automatic and requires sympathetic handling when the road is challenging.
I enjoy getting the most from the modest power of this type of car but it will not suit everyone.

Citroen C3 | Citroen C3

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Due to the huge price rise in my insurance premium, bearing mind I have had no accidents, hold a clean licence and hold 20 years NCD. I was looking for a practical runner so I was really surprised to find that this ticks all the boxes. Although it is the basic model it is pretty nifty around town and very economical. I only need to fill up every payday and it lasts for work, shopping and everything in between. The boot is surprisingly large for the size of car and the seats are comfortable for all passengers with plenty of leg room, we are all 5'8" - 5'11". From standing start uphill/incline it may be a little slower getting motivated but everything else makes up for this little runabout considering its small engine size. If you want practicality & reliability then this is the car for you, a good all rounder.

Citroen C3 | CITROEN C3

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have found this car reliable with low petrol consumption, easy to drive and park. It's an ideal car for local journeys, and also runs very well on longer journeys.
The seats are comfortable and at a good height - I am 5'8" tall, have a knee and hip replacement, but have no problem with getting in and out of this car. I often take older people in it (older than my 70 years!) and they also have no problem with getting in and out.
It is useful being a hatchback as this gives extra carrying space when needed.
I am very happy with this car, have no problems with it and would buy the same again.

Citroen C3 | C3 for me

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

My car is regularly serviced and garaged - two important aspects for its longevity. I feel safe, in control and enjoy driving. The vision is excellent and the controls easily accessible. There are no distractions to compete with my concentration. The bodywork is in excellent condition and the interior as good as new. If petrol was cheaper I would certainly drive more but having a pensioner's bus pass short trips are avoided.

I regularly drive on the motorways and the C3 performs well. In inclement weather it holds the road well.

If only it was made in the UK!

Citroen C3 | Review of Citroen C3

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1395cc
  • semi-automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The car is comfortable and spacious and the boot is a good size for a small car. Because it is diesel the running costs are reasonable. The car tax is also low. The heater & a/c work well. The only complaints with the car is that the turning circle is quite small, it is not easy to see out the back when reversing and the car does not like travelling at very low speed i.e. when stuck in traffic and shudders as if it will stall. It can also do this when having stopped to enter a roundabout. Having looked at other reviews on this car these seem to be common problems.

Citroen C3 | My red c3

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1398cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Although its a small car it is very roomy inside because it seems higher than other makes of car tall or large people are not touching the roof. Plenty of glass makes it feel large. Although it is a small engine it's acceleration is nippy. I find it economical on petrol while I drive it although my husband is less economical when he is driving. The only negative for me is the boot it could do with being longer especially when carrying cases and baby pushchairs/prams. Overall I love my C3 as it has never let me down, it is fantastic in the snow and ice.

Citroen C3 | citroen c3

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Originally bought the car for the wife but it has proved so economical to run I use it a lot! £30 a year and up to 70mpg on a long run and cheap insurance is not to be sneezed at. Previously owned a 1.4 version which did less to the gallon and did not drive half as well. Handling not suited to boy racers-high ride height and wallows a little but copes with potholes!
would NOT change it for a newer version due to dpf's and dmf's and oil sludging issues as yet unresolved on most diesel engines. The cost of these issues far outweigh any fuel saving.

Citroen C3 | C3 Citroen

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2010
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have bought 2 cars of this model and found their speed for both city and motorway ideal for my needs. However the first one had a problem at 80,000 miles with the cooling system, and I was advised that the car could no longer be relied upon. I need a reliable car for motorway travel once a month and also have to travel to Belgium 3 to 4 times a year and find this car ideal for performance and space to transport goods.
For parking in a difficult cul de sac this car is also very adaptable.

Citroen C3 | Simply the best

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2003
  • 1360cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I have had this car for six years having taken it over from a friend who had to give up driving. I have been completely happy with the performance and reliability of the car. To an extent, things have started to go wrong now, which is only to be expected given the age of the car. My plan is to keep the car until such time as something major goes wrong. I had a Citroen Saxo prior to this which also gave good service, so my opinion of Citroen cars is high.

Citroen C3 | No Cup Holder!

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Very happy with my C3 1.6 e-HDi 90 Airdream VTR+ and regularly achieve over 65 mpg. It's very comfortable with plenty of room for 5 adults. The cabin is very light thanks to the large windscreen which extends above the heads of the driver and front passenger. The radio/CD sounds great and there's handy AUX and charger sockets near the handbrake. I just wish the glove box was larger and space to secure a cup or bottle in the front wouldn't go amiss.

Citroen C3 | Doris Macdonald

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1650cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I bought this car for it's comfort and being high from the ground and it has proved to be good. It is quite economical to run and although I bought a diesel for economy developments in the prices of fuel have shown that diesel can be expensive too but that is the case with all fuels. When electric cars reach a reasonable price level I will look at those as being eco friendly and hopefully economical to run as well as being comfortable too.

Citroen C3 | Love it!

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have loved my C3 since I bought it. Really comfortable to drive, with higher seats than most cars. All display on the dashboard is visible and easy to use. I've had the odd problem with the car since buying it second hand, but nothing major.
It's reliable, it's efficient with petrol, it's comfortable, it has the space needed for my family.
I would buy another C3, and have regularly recommended it to my friends and family.

Citroen C3 | Best car I have ever had

Added: 20th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1360cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have had this car since new and it has given me complete satisfaction. Repair work has been minimal and only to be expected as a car gets older. It still responds well to acceleration; the engine noise is exceptionally quiet. The interior is comfortable, particularly in respect of head roomso is good for taller perople. Having previously had a Citroen Saxo, I would not hesitate to recommend Citroen cars to anybody.

Citroen C3 | MIXED FEELINGS

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1190cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I BOUGHT THE CAR BECAUSE IT WAS ON SPECIAL OFFER. IT IS RELIABLE AND SOME FEATURES ARE GOOD SUCH AS THE LARGE WINDSCREEN AREA. OTHER FEATURES APPEAR TO BE COSTCUTTING SUCH AS THE POOR QUALITY VISORS WHICH ARE NOT USABLE IF THE FULL WINDSCREEN IS OPEN. there IS ALSO ONLY ONE ELECTRONIC KEY AND THIS SEEMS MISERLY. IT IS NOT AS GOOD FOR FUEL USE AS I WOULD EXPECT BUT IT IS COMFORTABLE AND HAS A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF BOOT SPACE.

Citroen C3 | A USEFUL CITY CAR

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

MY CITROEN C3 IS A USEFUL CAR TO OWN IN A CITY AS IT IS FAIRLY ECONOMICAL AND EASY TO PARK. THE INTERIOR FINISH IS RATHER CHEAP ESPECIALLY THE VISORS WHICH ARE VERY FLIMSY AND CANNOT BE USED IF THE WINDSCREEN IS FULLY OPEN, VENTILATION ON THIS MODEL IS ALSO POOR AND I HAVE TO RELY ON THE AIR CONDITIONING FACILITY. THERE IS PLENTY OF ROOM FOR FOUR PEOPLE AND AMPLE BOOT SPACE.

Citroen C3 | My C3

Added: 19th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2012
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have had my car just over the year, i that the only fault is the amount of space between the pedals, i find that if i put my foot fully on the brake pedal, when i operate the clutch pedal i can catch my foot on the brake pedal causing a sudden jolting stop,the only way to avoid this happening is to operate the brake pedal with half of my right foot covering the pedal.

Citroen C3 | boring but reliable

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I only bought this car as it was really easy for my 91
yr old mum to get into as the seats are not too low.
It's fairly nippy & easy to drive.
The sun visors are no good, too small & inefficient.
The turning circle is atrocious for a small car & embarrassing when trying to manoevre as people automatically assume that you are a useless driver.

Citroen C3 | Citroen C3 1.6 hdi 90 Exclusive

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Nippy to drive, economical - genuine 55mpg, some way short of claimed figures but cheap on fuel, £30 a year tax, carries 4 comfortably, 5 is a real squeeze though. Legroom in rear poor, fine in front though!
Well equipped small car - cruise control, climate control, auto light and wipers etc. Very happy with it, and plan to keep it for a while!

Citroen C3 | Great runner

Added: 9th of September 2015
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Economical to run and repair. Great around town. Boot size good for size of car... mine has a very handy modu-board (why did Citroen not include this in newer models?). It is not very comfortable to drive on long journeys however (other seats seem more comfortable than the drivers seat.... perhaps drivers seat has just worn out).

Citroen C3 | Ok for the price

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The car is suprisingly confortable for its size and price. The engine is also quite reliable. There are some minor cosmetic things that not well thought: the door handles lose color after a few months of use, the rubber that covers the outside roof rails fell one day. Otherwise, it is a reliable and cheap little car.

Filter Citroen C3 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.