Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Citroen C1 Reviews

Citroen C1

Welcome to the Citroen C1 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Citroen C1 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£6,995 - £9,645
AA Cars Average
£5,812
MPG
61.4 - 68.9
CO2 (g/km)
99 - 109
Tax Band
A - B
Noise Level
69.0 - 71.2

Citroen C1 | It was my choice.

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2010
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I chose to buy a new car which would be economical to buy and run, knowing that there would be inevitable compromises in certain other areas. If you want a compact and reliable car for lots of short trips, this one will suffice. It has enough space for an average shopping load, and (without shopping) four average sized people. It's quite nippy in urban situations, and holds its own on motorways. However, it's not good for longer journeys, (over 100 miles), carrying passengers with luggage, or pulling up long hills at medium speeds. After three years, the bodywork appears to be likely to stand the test of time; and it's been totally reliable mechanically and electrically. I also think its design/look will age well. Extras are available at added cost when buying new (eg air conditioning) but these don't make much sense if you're going for cheap and cheerful. I don't regret opting for this car.

Citroen C1 | Citroen C!

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I find this car to be very reliable and economic to run, the tax is only £20, I get a good mileage from the fuel I use. It's a bit noisy and there's not much 'umph' to it but I usually use it for short, local journeys so it's not a problem.
It's surprisingly spacious and I've taken 4 adults on a long journey (over 300 miles)everyone said how comfortable it was which they were surprised about, they'd expected to find it more cramped.
It's awkward to climb in and out of the back seats for older people, but that's the only awkward thing about it. The newer models have automatic locking and electric windows, both of which I missed when I brought my C1 six years ago. I'll looking for more recent C1 when I replace my current car.

Citroen C1 | Long-term C1 review

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I have had my C1 from new and in under 6 years have covered 170,000 miles, in both the UK and Europe, in a variety of conditions, including high temperatures and well below zero (down to -20C). It has performed superbly, consistently returning 60mpg plus on long journey, around 55mpg on city traffic. Despite its small size, it has been the most reliable car, and comfortable, out of my previous vehicles.

It is also cheap to run- with low maintenance costs. It has only recently had a new clutch and brake discs. tyre useage is greater than 40,000 miles per set.

Overall, a superb car!

Citroen C1 | OK but........

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2011
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

Bought specifically for the work run to save on daily costs. Very pleased with economy. It is a nippy car with reasonable comfort but don't buy one for the shopping! Up until now it has been reliable having had it's regular services however it developed a engine rattle which was more obvious when cold. The last service followed with the dealer investigating. To cut a long story short the engine was suffering with excessive "piston slap". I have to commend the dealership and Citroen as the decision was to fit a new engine under warranty but I hope that is the end of it!

Citroen C1 | Affordable and Fun with limitations

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2007
  • 999cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

Very economical, jolly little car which is fun to drive. Ideal for nipping around the city. Limited space inside - small boot and cramped back seats which I rarely use except for the odd lift. You wouldn't want a long journey in the back and with 2 doors, getting in and out is tough if you're not pretty nimble.
The back shelf is really annoying as it's always flipping up and doesn't link properly to the hook on the back door so i'm always having to grapple with it one way or another.

However - overall it's a really good value car and I have enjoyed having it.

Citroen C1 | Super Citroen

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2006
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I bought my Citroen C1 5 years ago as a second hand car. I drive around 13,000 miles per year (mostly commuting) and it's a very reliable and economical little car. The room for the back seat passengers is greater than you might imagine (I have the 5 door model) and, although the boot space is limited, there is space for a couple of large supermarket shopping bags.

One tip though - don't try and fit a 6 feet tall CD tower in. I ended up having to wind down the front passenger window and slide it in on the diagonal. And I picked a rainy day to do it!

Citroen C1 | Citroen Vibe

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 1020cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

This is an excellent, reasonably priced car which is economical to run. Low insurance, high mileage and only £20 road fund tax.
It tackles local and long journeys with equal aplomb.
It looks good and parks in very small spaces.
I suppose negatives would be the manual windows, though this can be seen free exercise and manual locking which is not a problem in itself but the locks are not very sturdy and break easily.
These minor niggles are more than compensated by the positives and I intend to purchase another one when I decide to renew my car.

Citroen C1 | great car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

My husband got me this car to replace my large estate car. At first i was a bit disappointed with downsizing but my trips to work are long and fuel was increasing. Within two weeks i loved it for all reasons, it was comfy, my petrol bill more than halved. Can still fit a weeks shopping in the boot and my children can't mess with windows or door buttons due to it being 2 door. plan to keep it til the end of the 5 year lease we have it on and will replace with same or buy this one.

Citroen C1 | Its an A to B car...

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2011
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I use my C1 for getting to work and back everyday, it is a no frills car but does have the basics that are needed to commute.

Running costs are low, and servicing cost are good from my main dealer.

The C1 is not a car for luxury. It is very much an A to B car. My only complaint is that the road noise is quite loud and can be quite pronounced when running on a rough road surface, that said it is a good car for the money.

Citroen C1 | Does the job

Added: 2nd of July 2015
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2009
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

I have owned this car for 2 years now and it's the most reliable, cheap to run/maintain/tax car I've ever had. I use it for my 400mileweekly commute (which cost about £37) it's not a 2litre turbo so don't expect tons of pulling power, but it does the job. Only criticism I have, I'm a 6ft 4in 16st bloke and the seats are not that comfy on long journeys.
The c1 is the perfect commute car.

Citroen C1 | Citroen C1.0

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Excellent economical town run about, also good on short motorway trips. Great Value for money and seems to hold it's value in the second hand market.

Cheap to service, reliable to date, and seems to have good reports. It is spacious for a small car and ideal when family all have own cars, and use for second car. Cheap insurance for young learner drivers, and road tax is negligible.

Citroen C1 | Love it

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Very practical run around car, cheap to run, low tax. Did have a major problem with the power steering when it was 5 year old it was expensive to repair and had to go back to a dealer ( Peugeot were cheaper than Citroen) and apparently it was a common fault with this vehicle, no problems since.
It takes its time to get to 70mph but it will get there!!!

Citroen C1 | The Citroen C1

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 3

This little car is cheap to run and is an excellent city car. Easy to park, it is great for short distances. I find it lacking in power when loaded with 4 people and I would not like to drive it on motorways because of the noise and lightness of the vehicle.
Easy to park and good vision apart from the front pillars which obstruct the view somewhat.

Citroen C1 | The C1 model

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2009
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Excellent little car, very economical, the three cylinder engine means you have to give it a lot of welly through the gears but it soon reaches cruising speed on the motorway. All in all it is the best small car I have had for economy and reliability. Not very comfortable and the specs are awful.

Citroen C1 | Superb C1

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

It never fails - totally reliable, cheap to run, and performs extremely well for a 1 litre car. I can't recommend it enough. Extremely fuel efficient - 65mpg on journeys of 25 miles or more. 55mpg or more on short journeys. Brilliant buy 6 years ago and absolutely no trouble since.

Citroen C1 | economy

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

A great little car, very reliable and economic. Really it is only suitable for two people but the fuel savings are good. On long runs 70 to the gallon, round about town it is 50. Road tax £20, low insurance. All in a very good little runabout for a retired couple like ourselves.

Citroen C1 | Nice and nippy

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2008
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Great for running around town.cheap to run, makes you smile only parting with £20 for road tax. Will take six carriers of shopping in the boot . Fold the seat down and you have loads of space. The main draw back is it is not quiet to be in but it is not a real drawback .

Citroen C1 | My Car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2012
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

As an Area Manager I would do 1000 miles a week in a 2 Litre car... now retired I enjoy driving my little C1 all over the place... and what Oooomph around town. Luckily I don't do too much Motorway Driving, although it's not that bad!

Citroen C1 | Citroen C1

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

The car is easy to drive and fuel consumption is good.
Boot area is not large but is OK for my normal use.
Small rear side windows and door pillars make it difficult to see what is coming when joining a road at a narrow angle.

Citroen C1 | Great little runner

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Comfortable and reasonably roomy. Very reliable and economical and fitted with a small but very efficient engine which provides more than enough torque (power) when needed at low or high speed.

Filter Citroen C1 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.