Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Citroen Berlingo Reviews

Citroen Berlingo

Welcome to the Citroen Berlingo review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Citroen Berlingo cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£12,005 - £17,655
AA Cars Average
£7,708
MPG
31.7 - 58.9
CO2 (g/km)
125 - 210
Tax Band
D - K
Noise Level
69.4 - 74.5

Citroen Berlingo | 2.0hdi Multispace Forte

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

First car I bought new as the 2.0HDi was impossible to get used in 2003. Comfortable enough for jaunts to Spain, even for passengers, plenty of room for 5 adults and luggage, rear leg room far better than vehicles twice the price.
MPG gets better with miles, now 40-43 even on 80mph foreign motorways with 4 adults and luggage, top speed is unimportant and it cruises at 70 OK, but struggles on long hills when fully loaded.
Not pretty to look at, but "quaint" and being a French diesel it is reliable.
No problems in 10 years apart from the usual tyres, windscreen and other perishables but has been through 2 rear boxes (rot more common on diesels I find) at £40.00 a time, 1 set of discs at 47000(common problem on B'ingos and Xsaras)and although I do only 5500-6000 a year this year has seen some large bills from my independent dealer.
£750.00 for a large service and cam belt/water pump last October and £500.00 this year for replacement rear wheel cylinders and major service (Normally I do brakes myself but it was a week before going to the Pyrenees)
A couple of electrical issues too. The windscreen washer pump failed, as too has one headlight adjuster motor which is a bumper off job and annoying as I often travel loaded and the feature is very important.
A couple of things broken on the inside, one rear seatbelt retaining rivetkeeps vanishing inside the fixings meaning I have to undo it to release it, but as it gets used as a van to transport band gear around in most weekends these things can be excused as it's had a lot of abuse.

The only problem I have now is what to replace it with. Size is important as I cycle to work and the car stays in the garage all week as it never gets used and I won't leave it outside.
The new Berlingo is 200mm longer, meaning it won't fit in the garage with both my motorbikes and ALL van based cars are the same size. .
I like Citroens and the other option is the C3 Picasso, but the load space is smaller and getting a dealer to let me try to fit all my gear inside on a test is nigh on impossible.

Overall I am still very pleased and may even just run it into the ground as it's only worth 49p despite only having covered 59000 miles.

Citroen Berlingo | Beware!

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Car fourteen months old when purchased, no Spare key or Vehicle Security Card with car, costing me £200 for card plus cost of new key.

At 20,000 miles all 4 tyres started to wear unevenly VERY BADLY, despite repeatedly altering tracking this continued, getting less than 5000 miles before tyres were dangerous.
Citroen Dealer no help at all, had vehicle telemetry checked at own expense, all okay.
Repeated contact with Citroen proved to be useless, other owners started reporting same trouble on Berlingo Owners web site, continued to pester Citroen Customer Services until vehicle was taken away by them for repair.
Car returned after two weeks with problem sorted out.

*Dealer had nothing to do with this and could not tell me what the fault was nor what repair had been carried out!

40,000 miles Cam Chain Adjuster self destructed, repaired under Warranty.

65,0000 miles tyres began wearing unevenly again, n/s rear being the worst, tread from inside wearing VERY BADLY.

Vehicle now no longer under Warranty and various Garages (including local Main Dealer) unable to tell me what was/is causing this.

80,000 miles Rusting on floor area just inside rear passenger door (corroding on edges of seam) , also tailgate badly rusted on mounting holes for number plate.

Contact Citroen Customer services, advised that at just under five years old my car is no longer under warranty.

Visit Dealer who advises me (at my own expense) to have a professional body shop measure thickness of paint around affected area then contact Citroen depending on results.

**Look at Citroens Anti Perforation warranty terms and give up!

I'll never go near another Citroen again!

Citroen Berlingo | I adore my Berlingo Multispace

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Surely this is the most practical car on the road! I've carried a flat pack kitchen in the back of my car with room to spare. It'll sit all day on the autoroute down to the south of France and do over 40 mpg. One of the reasons I bought it was the size of the boot and when the one of the back seats is down (they're 1:2 in the back) there's still room for 2 people or lots more luggage. I regularly had the one back seat down to make room for a large, bespoke cage for my cat Oscar to travel in great comfort. The cage stretched from the back door to the rear of the front passenger seat, so there was room for his litter tray, his bed and his food bowls and I could reach him from the driver seat for a stroke at traffic lights. The reason I bought the Berlingo was this amount of space and the overhead air conditioning nozzle (like an aircraft) so Oscar could even have his own air conditioning. All he needed was a trouser press and he'd have had 5* travel! My Berlingo took us everywhere together and I could even stop whenever he woke up, let him out of the cage to stretch his legs and wonder round the interior of the car, without even opening the door. There's nothing about my car I don't love. I work for a Citroen dealership but this is not a company car, it's one that I chose to buy after driving various cars in the range and I absolutely love it. I feel safe and comfortable and even though my dear Oscar is no longer with me, my Berlingo is a wonderful companion and we still have lots of adventures together!

Citroen Berlingo | MK3 Berlingo

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

This car has suffered from very bad Telemetry problems which started around at around 20,000 Miles. (rear subframe problem)
Despite this being fixed (?) by the Citroen Factory (not the main Dealer) the *Tracking goes out of adjustment very, very easily.
The Rear near side tyre wear remains uneven and VERY excessive.

*Best to avoid running over thick sweet wrappers and never ever go near a Kerb not even if its flush with the road surface! (not joking)

Have had numerous other problems, timing belt adjuster self destructed twice at less than two thirds of specified wear expectancy.
Exhaust Shield bolts fail regular and things you would not expect to regularly come loose/fall off.

Citroen build quality really does leave a lot to be desired.

Now at just under 5 years old the Tailgate and also the floor is suffering from corrosion/rust the Floor from inside the near side rear passenger door, just underneath the sliding door track.
The Tailgate from underneath the handle/number plate light.

The 11 year anti perforation warranty does not cover this!

The Citroen Warranty is a waste of time.

You have been warned!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Citroen Berlingo | My Mobile Kennel!!

Added: 16th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1999cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I chose this car because it met all my needs. It is economical to run. The engine capacity is large enough to tow my small caravan.
The 'boot' area fits in two dog cages easily side by side and the height allows for cages to stacked on top of each other.When the cages are taken out and the back seat folded down there is ample room for taking things to the tip, collecting new tumble dryer etc.The large back door is a bonus as it gives shelter from rhe rain at shows as gives ease of access!!
I also like the sliding back passenger doors - very useful in car parks! The interior has plenty of handy stoage areas in doors roof area and a useful 'aircraft type locker over boot area.
I find the seating comfortable, but need a back support as I do in all cars. Older people find it easy to get in and out of the passenger side because the door opens wide and the seating is higher than a normal car.
Servicing is reasonable and done once a year.
My only 'niggle' is the clutch pedal is very hard to depress. I am aware of this but only really realise this after driving a car with a 'soft' clutch.
I love my Berlingo!

Citroen Berlingo | Not all french cars are bad?

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

I bought my car because i needed to carry loads of stuff, i thought if i went with a diesel- iwould be better off.
And i was right, apart from the slight handling differences of a petrol manual to a diesel manual to adapt to over a year of owning a citroen berlingo, i found that it only cost me £10 a week in fuel to run, if one runs it like a saint the tank lasts forever compared to my old petrol car- plus i found the tax was half the value and my insurance group went down a notch- not bad for a barely second hand car that was six months old- although i do miss the power of a petrol car, the berlingo does out weigh the miscomings of buying a 4x4 that idid own previously- all in all why didn't i buy one years ago!
I've noticed loads of people downsizing to such cars and i can see why- cheaper to run and dead easy to drive- no fancy controls and an air conditioning thingy thats really too cold to use on a hot day! (i was freezing on the hottest day of the year!)i wouldn't be without it- shame there's no way of keeping the steering wheel cool when parked in the sun?

Citroen Berlingo | Citroen Berlingo Multispace XTR

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1560cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Having had the earlier model Berlingo, which was very much based on a van but very practical I am very pleased with the later model. It is larger but still surprisingly agile. The 1560cc diesel engine is quite quick and gives a smooth drive with good economy for a large vehicle. Build quality is ok but is Citroen (bits of trim come off). Nothing major but annoying. You have to remember that Citroen parts are cheap!
As I am quite tall the massive head room and huge leg room both front and beck are welcome.
You will never run out of stowage space as there are numerous cubby holes and even an internal roof rack!
The only minor moans are quite a firm ride and fairly rapid tyre wear, which seems to be common on this car.
All round I have been quite pleased with this vehicle and would suggest the model if you need a roomy 5 seat multipurpose vehicle.

Citroen Berlingo | nearly perfect

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1700cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

My annual mileage had dropped dramatically to less than 4k a year - my BMW 5-series was a silly luxury since the annual 'on the road' costs were greater than my spend on diesel. I exchanged it (straight swap - no money changed hands) for a Berlingo to save on tax, insurance and running costs - all of which are lower.

The vehicle is practical, quite well built, economical and has a good driving position. The sliding rear doors are a boon.

The major downside is the suspension - very hard, VERY noisy to the point of being tiring after a few miles. A minor niggle is the sheer size of the rear door - you need a lot of space at the rear to open it (but you can stand under it in the rain).

Were I doing a greater mileage I would change it because of the awful suspension, but I can live with it for 4k a year an enjoy its practicality.

Citroen Berlingo | A Good Workhorse

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Following hip-replacement surgery, I needed a car with easy access and a good driving position. The Berlingo was reasonably priced and relatively cheap to run.
When I bought my first Berlingo, I had 2 daughters at different universities and a need for an adaptable vehicle that would act several times a year as a removal van. 8 years and another Berlingo later, I am still moving my family (and our dog) around the country from time to time. It is very easy to pack in everything needed for holidays.
On board equipment is uncomplicated and non-distracting. Driving position is still very helpful for my condition.
I reckon I obtain realistically economic results from the way I drive - 52 average mpg this year from 1 January to 11 October.
For me, this is the perfect all-round "workhorse" of a vehicle.

Citroen Berlingo | La Parisienne

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 4

My vehicle is a professionally converted camper that started life as a multispace. It's now 6 years old. I've owned it for 3 years. I've had no problems with it at all and with the forte 90 BHP engine, it has all the punch I need while remaining reasonably fuel efficient. The side sliding passenger doors are far easier to load people or goods and the back hatch provides some protection from rain. I also find it especially good in winter / snow, although I now use winter tyres, it handled far better than my previous car even without them. The newer versions may be better but I think the only down side is less comfort / spec inside and limited leg room for rear passengers, but this is not putting me off the thought of buying the same again when the time comes.

Citroen Berlingo | Suits my needs

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1560cc
  • semi-automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Although I'd probably prefer a smaller car, the Berlingo suits my family needs and so I find it reliable and overall a relatively comfortable car. With grandchildren needing child seats and hauling larger items, the car is a useful size and easy to get in and out of especially the passenger sliding doors.

It as an automatic gear box which after a year I'm still getting used to. It's supposed to be more fuel efficient but I haven't really seen that much of a difference from my previous similar car.

It is somewhat more ecologically friendly in that the motor shuts off when stationary, however, I will be thinking about getting a 'greener' car next time around.

Citroen Berlingo | Faithful but well outdated now

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Low powered non turbo, just tows a small caravan, suffers regular front spring/front wheel bearing failure...3 pairs each in 90,000 miles otherwise good and reliable, never let me down on the road. High emission outdated diesel engine has £240 road tax cost so paying for 5/6 new cars road tax who get charged peanuts which I resent. Comfy for the aged, good views through tall windows, rides smoothly over rough ground, rear tyres lasted 70,000 miles, still has orig rear brake shoes at 93,000, good firm tall seats all round.

Citroen Berlingo | almost perfect

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1700cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I am very satisfied with the load space, engine, driving position, economy, on-costs ........

.... but the suspension is TERRIBLE. The smallest fault in the road surface produces crashing and banging and shocks through the vehicle. the vehicle has done only 35k miles.

I have returned the car twice to the garage where I bought it (second hand in 2012)to be inspected - no fault can be found.

Luckily it is my work horse vehicle used for short trips - I couldn't bear it if it were my main vehicle.

Citroen Berlingo | Berlingo Multispace

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I have found the Berlingo very good the onlt grouse I have is the delay on the piuck up when the eco is switched on and there is a delay on the engine restarting and being able to accelerate away. I have had it checked out and the garage says it is ok. I find that I find is safer to switch it off when you are in busy traffic and need to get away at junctions and roundabouts .When in arecent queue on a motorway though the eco really came into its own and it saved me over 35 minutes of idle time.

Citroen Berlingo | 2007 berlingo

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Bought as a pre registered car it had a handful of miles on the clock and was a bargain price.
The insurance is low, and it returns about 50 mpg.
The seating is deceptiveley comfortable.
It is quite nippy.
Spacious, but the rear seats do not fold completely flat.
Footroom is tight between the rear seat squab and the door pillar.
Main problem has been with various shields and baffles around the engine failing.

Citroen Berlingo | Mr Andrew Morrison

Added: 1st of July 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1575cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Hi yes i bought this Van thank you very much for the way you advertise on the AA site it was very helpfull , the vehicle will hopefully last me till i retire as a self employed Painter & Decorator which ive been in the Trade for 39 years ! I will be collecting the Van this Saturday all being well ! Once again Thank you Andrew m

Citroen Berlingo | citroen Berlingo

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Excellent car. Very practical and surprisingly comfortable. It was the smallest car that I could put my tandem bicycle inside in an upright position. I get 50mpg on a run. I love the optional 'Modular' roof that includes roof lights and cupboards. Best car I have owned, and am now on my second.

Citroen Berlingo | Good all round vehicle

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

Brilliant for carrying stuff around. For instance going camping, taking stuff to the tip, collecting stuff from IKEA, etc. Very quick to convert. Excellent for popping pushchairs, etc in the boot. Not the most powerful engine, but we knew that when we bought it. A whole lot of car for £9000.

Citroen Berlingo | Reliable

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

The Berlingo is a good, reliable car to drive. Lots of easy to use space, seats fold down simply. Can take quite a lot of luggage, also good for runs to the local tip or trips to buy larger items eg flatpack furniture. Has useful shelves and pockets for umbrellas, torches, maps etc.

Citroen Berlingo | Berlingo

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 16000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Only had the car for a short while. It is the second Belingo we have had and if it lasts as long as the first we will be more than satisfied with it. Being that bit higher makes you feel that much safer when on the motorways. Very comfortable for a long journey.

Filter Citroen Berlingo Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.